P.H.O.B.O.S. - Phlogiston Catharsis review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

9 users:
8.33
Band: P.H.O.B.O.S.
Album: Phlogiston Catharsis
Release date: September 2018


01. Biomorphorror
02. Igneous Tephrapotheosis
03. Zam Alien Canyons
04. Aurora Sulphura
05. Neurasthen Logorrh
06. Taqiyah Rhyzom
07. Aljannashid
08. Smothered In Scoria


A lot of the metal bands out there who like to fancy themselves as the heaviest of the heavies really ought to sit down and listen to some P.H.O.B.O.S..

It's been a good minute since this French monstrosity of the mechanical apocalypse has graced listeners with a new full length album, but in 2018 here we find ourselves with Phlogiston Catharsis. There's not much to see here in the way of "new ideas" for P.H.O.B.O.S., but considering the fact that their colossal blend of doom, industrial, and black metal is already quite unique when compared to the rest of the metal spectrum, there really doesn't need to be. As listeners familiar with the band's earlier work have become accustomed to, on Phlogiston Catharsis one can find all their trademark techniques: repetitive, doom-influenced rhythms that get quite groovy at points, undershades of black metal riffage to help give the music a darker and more trancelike edge, and of course that cold, pounding drum machine that really reinforces the music's cold, industrial atmosphere.

Despite the fact that it doesn't really shake up the game too hard for P.H.O.B.O.S., Phlogiston Catharsis is nonetheless a fine example of how this band has really had the tendency to maintain a common aesthetic across their releases while slightly changing up the formula with each one. Comparatively speaking, in this regard Phlogiston Catharsis seems to have a greater vocal presence than past releases, with the gravelly yells of Frédéric Sacri appearing at a considerably higher frequency than with past releases. Songwriting wise, it seems to follow more in the nature of Atonal Hypermnesia in that the black and doom metal aspects of the music are more balanced out, as opposed to having the doom sound dominating like on the band's first two albums. And lastly, the production definitely seems to be the finest from the band yet, being all around better mixed and audible than possibly any prior release while somehow not compromising the hazy, gritty aura about the music.

Although P.H.O.B.O.S. have demonstrated remarkable consistency across their discography and it's quite difficult to pick a favorite release of theirs, it wouldn't be too far fetched to say that Phlogiston Catharsis is the band's best effort yet. Here the fusion of the three dimensions of their sound (doom, black, and industrial metal) feels tighter than ever, making the album enjoyable from many different perspectives, and the increased vocal presence makes the music a bit more impactful and easier to latch onto without it becoming overly accessible. For fans of the more extreme members of the doom metal family, or just for those who like heavy effing jamz in general, Phlogiston Catharsis is a must listen. Easy album of the year contender in this reviewer's book.

The lava beckons.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


 



Written on 01.09.2018 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 86 users
02.09.2018 - 15:01
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
MY BODY IS FUCKING READY
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
02.09.2018 - 15:02
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Man I listened to those tracks that are available and damn, this feels like first listening to Godflesh all over again
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
02.09.2018 - 15:02
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Can't wait for it to be online
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
02.09.2018 - 15:11
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 02.09.2018 at 15:02

Man I listened to those tracks that are available and damn, this feels like first listening to Godflesh all over again

Yeah it's more in the vein of that darker, old school industrial sound than anything else I think. But that's obviously not all there is to the sound, this thing is almost like Godflesh and Black Sabbath had a baby and then raised the child on Blut Aus Nord albums
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
02.09.2018 - 15:17
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 02.09.2018 at 15:11

Written by RaduP on 02.09.2018 at 15:02

Man I listened to those tracks that are available and damn, this feels like first listening to Godflesh all over again

Yeah it's more in the vein of that darker, old school industrial sound than anything else I think. But that's obviously not all there is to the sound, this thing is almost like Godflesh and Black Sabbath had a baby and then raised the child on Blut Aus Nord albums

Yeah there should be way more industrial metal like this instead of just metal with electronics
----
Professor Isak Borg: And the punishment?
The Examiner: I don't know. The usual, I suppose.
Professor Isak Borg: The usual?
The Examiner: Loneliness.
Professor Isak Borg: Loneliness?
The Examiner: Precisely.
Professor Isak: Is there no mercy?
Loading...
02.09.2018 - 19:52
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Apothecary on 02.09.2018 at 15:11

this thing is almost like Godflesh and Black Sabbath had a baby and then raised the child on Blut Aus Nord albums

Yep. It sounds like a volcano spilling its guts, hot lava scorching everything in its path. Very good album and great artwork too.
----
Follow me on Instagram

Loading...
03.09.2018 - 04:11
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by nikarg on 02.09.2018 at 19:52

It sounds like a volcano spilling its guts, hot lava scorching everything in its path

Lol that's as good a descriptor as any. Pretty on point too actually, I've noticed with this band that there seem to have always been a lot of underlying themes of the planet's geology, plate tectonics, stuff like that. Definitely want to ask the guy more about that when I get around to interviewing him
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
03.09.2018 - 15:31
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Apothecary on 03.09.2018 at 04:11

Definitely want to ask the guy more about that when I get around to interviewing him

Looking forward to that
----
Follow me on Instagram

Loading...

Hits total: 2025 | This month: 2025