Black Tongue - Nadir review



Reviewer:
N/A

17 users:
7.65
Band: Black Tongue
Album: Nadir
Release date: October 2018


01. The Eternal Return To Ruin
02. The Cathedral
03. Second Death
04. Black Fawn Temple
05. Ultima Necat
06. Contrapasso
07. Abuse Ritual
08. Parting Soliloquy
09. A Dying God Coming Into Human Flesh [Celtic Frost cover]
10. Crippled Before The Dwelling Place Of God


It's wonderful to see that "deathcore" stopped being an insult a while ago. Black Tongue is one of the bands to thank for that.

Their debut, The Unconquerable Dark, blew my mind and expectations three years ago. Their doomy, apocalyptic sound corroded my ears and presented a bridge on which followers of deathcore and many extreme metal worshipers could meet and greet each other. Very late in 2018 (more like early 2019) I was made aware that a new album had been released and the result couldn't be more desirable for the group of somewhat more conservative metalheads. The truth is that Black Tongue has achieved an even greater balance of genres. While the more in-your-face approach to "slow doomy deathcore" isn't as obvious as it was in their debut, it is interesting to see them inject more influences of death metal and even black metal (see "The Cathedral" and "Contrapasso") into their sound.

Moments of dark, introspective ambiance flow nicely as passages in between the brutal riffs and vocals - the latter having improved, if you ask me, as the savage growls and scream seem to vary more in their delivery. Clean spoken words are hidden here and there along with harsher noisy sections that truly grab you by the throat. One of their truly dark moments happens to be their rendition of Celtic Frost's modern classic "A Dying God Coming Into Human Flesh" (a favourite of yours truly). It's quite astonishing to see how well this song fits with Nadir and I can only hope that this song further inspires them to seek more experimentation within the dark and extreme corners of metal.

Nadir is a far more aggressive and less doomy album than Black Tongue's debut. It still carries the slow and atmospheric undertones implemented in the debut, but it shows a more mature yet still very hungry band. I'm sure both newcomers and those who enjoyed the debut will find plenty to love here as well.


 



Written on 09.01.2019 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 79 users
09.01.2019 - 18:39
Bad English
Masterchief
That cover i will check out i am curious
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
09.01.2019 - 19:14
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Prob my fav deathcore band
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
09.01.2019 - 23:29
VIG
Viggg
This is definitely my favorite deathcore band. Although I preferred the debut, for the reason that it was more doom-y.
Loading...
09.01.2019 - 23:38
Czerny Reiter
A step down from the debut, unfortunately.
Loading...
10.01.2019 - 00:01
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Czerny Reiter on 09.01.2019 at 23:38
A step down from the debut, unfortunately.

I sort of see it as one step forward and two steps back. I approve of the more varied and agressive style and the ambient-passages are better written here. That being side I still think the debut grabs you better overall. The atmosphere is just more immense on that one.

Written by VIG on 09.01.2019 at 23:29
This is definitely my favorite deathcore band. Although I preferred the debut, for the reason that it was more doom-y.

If we are not counting Ion Dissonance as deathcore but as mathcore or something like that, then yeah. Probably these guys are my favorite in the genre so far.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.01.2019 - 01:29
Czerny Reiter
I definitely meant the "unfortunate" qualifier. The Unconquerable Dark made me take notice of an up-to-then unlistenable subgenre. This one may merit some revisitation, but I doubt I'll end up a costumer.

On a more positive note, I did end up listening to the initial EPs, which are top fucking notch.
Loading...
10.01.2019 - 09:56
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Czerny Reiter on 10.01.2019 at 01:29

I definitely meant the "unfortunate" qualifier. The Unconquerable Dark made me take notice of an up-to-then unlistenable subgenre. This one may merit some revisitation, but I doubt I'll end up a costumer.

Ion Dissonance and Xibalba (the later featuring a Review by yours truly :p ) might be other points of reference for good examples of the genre.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
11.01.2019 - 23:58
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Two Rod reviews in under two weeks? That's got to be a new site record!
(just ball busting, mang)

You made this sound pretty damn tasty, and I'm always down for some -core/metal type fusion that doesn't amount to watered down, "extreme pop music" sounding crap. I'll take your word for it that this is definitely some of it.
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...

Hits total: 1112 | This month: 1112