Deathwhite - Grave Image review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

44 users:
7.93
Band: Deathwhite
Album: Grave Image
Release date: January 2020


01. Funeral Ground
02. In Eclipse
03. Further From Salvation
04. Grave Image
05. Among Us
06. Words Of Dead Men
07. No Horizon
08. Plague Of Virtue
09. A Servant
10. Return To Silence


I don't know who Deathwhite are, but they make some pretty sad music.

I wasn't kidding. The identities of the members of Deathwhite are something like a state secret kept by the CIA or something. So for some reason, we're gonna have to live with just the knowledge that there's four dudes from Pittsburgh who make some melancholic gothic doom in the vein of Katatonia, Soen, Woods Of Ypres and Swallow The Sun. If that's your thing, hop on board.

What this reminds me most is another album from this year that I reviewed, namely the new Dawn Of Solace. It indeed doesn't feel as Finnish as had way less melodeath in it, but the gloomy morose feeling is there, and just as much delivered by passionate clean vocals, though this time from an anonymous singer. It is mostly this emotional performance that really sells the album, not to give the other members any flack, but his voice is something really easy to connect to. And it is mostly from the vocals that the album's alternative rock influence is felt the strongest. There's definitely a bit of Tool's Maynard in his voice but not strictly limited to that, with a lot of grunge and post-grunge (aka the only post genre that is miles worse than its predecessor) inflections too. So if you needed some gothic doom to remind you of the early 00s, you have Grave Image.

Of course, that is a bit reductive of the album. I feel like Deathwhite tackle post-grunge much much better than most actual post-grunge album did, but that might also be because their melancholy is supplemented by the gothic doom, which in turn has just some smudges of melodeath and meloblack in the instrumentation to add some edge to it. The riffs are obviously heavier than anything you would've heard in a bona fide post-grunge album, and the gloomy heaviness with the morose lightness make for some immersive backing to the already very immersive vocals. It isn't really as cheesy as something you would put in a "Rock Lee vs Gaara AMV" (which is partly how I got into heavier music), but it is still accessible enough for a heavy album to be appreciated by people who aren't into metal, and with great enough songwriting and heavy enough guitars to be appreciated by people who are.

I wouldn't mind Deathwhite becoming massively popular, especially since as of the writing of this review I can claim that I was a fan before they were famous. I know that's unlikely to happen, but I'm doing my part.

"Return to silence
Return to dust
Return to stillness
Return to us
"



[Also this is apparently my 250th review for MS, cheers to as many more!]


 



Written on 22.03.2020 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 104 users
22.03.2020 - 21:15
Bad English
Masterchief
I smell a copy cat, nik what will we do give him Green and send to pireus. He use your Lyric quote.

Good reviev good band, its amazing sad and melsnholic music, i spend 5 h on Google try find their names to visiblize this amazing band, i get pissed to their, but here music do the talking
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
22.03.2020 - 23:28
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 22.03.2020 at 21:15

I smell a copy cat, nik what will we do give him Green and send to pireus. He use your Lyric quote.

Good reviev good band, its amazing sad and melsnholic music, i spend 5 h on Google try find their names to visiblize this amazing band, i get pissed to their, but here music do the talking

I don't think I'll be using nik's signature lyrics to end the review from now on, but it felt fitting for this one
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
22.03.2020 - 23:35
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 22.03.2020 at 23:28

Written by Bad English on 22.03.2020 at 21:15

I smell a copy cat, nik what will we do give him Green and send to pireus. He use your Lyric quote.

Good reviev good band, its amazing sad and melsnholic music, i spend 5 h on Google try find their names to visiblize this amazing band, i get pissed to their, but here music do the talking

I don't think I'll be using nik's signature lyrics to end the review from now on, but it felt fitting for this one

I like it. Its his signature. This is special band in some way
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.03.2020 - 00:53
nikarg
Mod
250 reviews, this is freaking awesome, mate Well done!

I like this album too. In fact, these three gothic/doom releases (Deathwhite, Angellore, Dawn Of Solace) have been surprisingly enjoyable for me.
Loading...
23.03.2020 - 01:15
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 23.03.2020 at 00:53

250 reviews, this is freaking awesome, mate Well done!

I like this album too. In fact, these three gothic/doom releases (Deathwhite, Angellore, Dawn Of Solace) have been surprisingly enjoyable for me.

I can't fucking believe it myself. But you should expect more soon.

Pretty strong year for goth metal, even though this one is closer to alt, angellore is closer to doom and DoS is closer to melodeath.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
23.03.2020 - 08:58
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by nikarg on 23.03.2020 at 00:53

250 reviews, this is freaking awesome, mate Well done!

I

Can he reach 50 000
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.03.2020 - 14:22
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by Bad English on 23.03.2020 at 08:58

Written by nikarg on 23.03.2020 at 00:53

250 reviews, this is freaking awesome, mate Well done!

I

Can he reach 50 000


It's reviews, not total posts.
----
Loading...
23.03.2020 - 14:53
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 23.03.2020 at 14:22

Written by Bad English on 23.03.2020 at 08:58

Written by nikarg on 23.03.2020 at 00:53

250 reviews, this is freaking awesome, mate Well done!

I

Can he reach 50 000


It's reviews, not total posts.

I did not know that, thank you for letting me know you have 50k, i did not know it
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
24.03.2020 - 00:21
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
Added to favorites. Great shit!
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
24.03.2020 - 14:58
OpethFlames
Definitely one of my favorite albums so far this year. The vocalist is great and I thought the drumming on certain tracks was superb as well. Awesome band!
Loading...
24.03.2020 - 16:50
tintinb
Writing 250 reviews is no mean feat. Always love reading your reviews, here's to many more in the future.
Loading...
24.03.2020 - 17:03
JoHn DoE
Nice review, very enjoyable album
Loading...

Hits total: 1051 | This month: 22