Yaldabaoth - That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

3 users:
7.00
Band: Yaldabaoth
Album: That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate
Release date: February 2020


01. Fecund Godhead Deconstruction
02. Megas Archon 365
03. Gomorrahan Grave Of The Sodomite
04. To Neither Rot Nor Decay
05. That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate
06. Mock Divine Fury


Alright then, Coronavirus. What jamz you got to throw my way?

In the midst of a global pandemic that has resulted in a city wide lockdown that's presented me with a hell of a lot of free time, it was just last week that I was roaming through Order ov the Black Arts, bored, stir crazy, and hungry for new black metal discoveries. A share of this Yaldabaoth album by a fellow group member, and particularly the artwork, caught my attention. Deciding to investigate further for the music, a cold, dissonant, and mechanical assault greeted me. Yaldabaoth, a (probably) one man black metal beast from Anchorage, Alaska, is just what I needed during these confusing and somewhat harrowing times: something sounding gritty, aggressive, and apocalyptic.

Sticking to a mostly midtempo approach throughout, on the debut That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate (say that five times fast) Yaldabaoth delivers a style of black metal equal parts frenetic, hypnotic, and engaging. There's a very riff heavy approach across the whole album that, while not exactly deserving of the "catchy" label, certainly keeps things interesting and easy to pay attention to, and there's very little (if anything) on this release that could be dubbed as "filler" in any way. Additional sprinkles of melody and atmosphere here and there hint at deeper layers of a more ethereal, hypnotic approach as well, but largely stay as mere hints, as it's mostly the brooding, pounding black metal sound that dominates.

Throughout my listen to That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate, the fact that Yaldabaoth hails from Alaska kept coming to mind. I think there's definitely a bit of parallel with the sound of Icelandic black metal here, because with Alaska you have the same sort of situation where a cold, desolate, unforgiving landscape yields a similarly dark, brooding, and quasi-atmospheric take on black metal. While I wish Yaldabaoth had gone just a wee bit deeper into the melody and ambiance with this release, it still has far more going for it than what it lacks. Hopefully this project sees a little refinement and maturation in the songwriting department in the future, but with this debut things are definitely off to a pretty strong start.

Probably my favorite thing black metal this year along with Zalmoxis. Go whet your palate.



 



Written on 26.03.2020 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 85 users
26.03.2020 - 20:46
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Isn't Yalbadabadoo that shit that Fred Flinstone said?

Alaskan black metal sounds dope, I'm surprised there isn't as much of a scene gaining traction there
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 21:23
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 26.03.2020 at 20:46

Alaskan black metal sounds dope, I'm surprised there isn't as much of a scene gaining traction there

Same, like I said here the environment seems to be really similar to Iceland and Scandinavia so there are plenty grim and frostbitten vibes to go around. Plus so much interesting shit to write about.... I'm surprised we haven't been getting more Alaskan BM concept albums about Eskimo and moose and shit. This needs to happen.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 22:32
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Think positive about Alaska, you dont need be in isolation, Closer nsibour is one day walk away.
I dont like such bands what hides members
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 22:58
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 26.03.2020 at 22:32

I dont like such bands what hides members

You said the same thing on my Vengeful Spectre review a few weeks ago. Who gives a fuck? Stop spamming my reviews with your incessant whining about this shit.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 23:49
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
When its cold...and when it's dark...the Alaskan moon will obsess you
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 00:24
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by TheBigRossowski on 26.03.2020 at 23:49

When its cold...and when it's dark...the Alaskan moon will obsess you

The Alaskan *Aurora borealis
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 17:53
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
For an instant I thought it was a new Jaldaboath album
----
2016 - 2017
2018 - 2019
Loading...
26.04.2020 - 18:44
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Nuked all comments related to k7's initial derailment. Let's keep review threads for review comments. Profile discussions have their own appropriate places throughout the forum.

---

This is going on my list of things to catch up on. I've had lots of music nights to unwind from long work hours, so hopefully I'll catch up with this soon as it seems like I'll quite enjoy it.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...

Hits total: 1054 | This month: 99