Necrophobic - Dawn Of The Damned review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

189 users:
8.37
Band: Necrophobic
Album: Dawn Of The Damned
Release date: October 2020


01. Aphelion
02. Darkness Be My Guide
03. Mirror Black
04. Tartarian Winds
05. The Infernal Depths Of Eternity
06. Dawn Of The Damned
07. The Shadows
08. As The Fire Burns
09. The Return Of A Long Lost Soul
10. Devil's Spawn Attack [feat. Schmier]


So, the members of Necrophobic gathered around the pit to watch the dancing hellfire, and with the flame tongues reflecting on their eyes' pupils they asked each other: can we make another album as great as Mark Of The Necrogram? Or even greater? The flying demons laughed sardonically and maybe even mockingly, as if such back to back brilliance was impossible. But the Devil appeared and asked Necrophobic

D: Do you intend to show that your songwriting has matured after all these years or will you opt to prove that you remain fixed on harmonious and blasphemous brutality?
N: Yes.
D: Do you want Dawn Of The Damned to have crystal clear production or do you prefer it to sound raw and unhinged?
N: Yes.
D: Do you want the cover art to be evil and devilish or nocturnal and fiery and red like the cover of Mark Of The Necrogram, thus hinting at the connection of the two?
N: Yes.

Following these responses the Devil said, 'Let the maw of Hell open wide'. And with "Aphelion", the gates of the Underworld unlocked.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be icy, melodic death and black metal the way Dissection once made it'. And "Darkness Be My Guide" was so.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be infernal riffs raging like wildfire'. And "Mirror Black" was so.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be Rotting Christ's aura hovering over the blackened melodies'. And "Tartarian Winds" was so.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be epic hail to the darkness of the night and the silence of the dead'. And "The Infernal Depths Of Eternity" was so.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be groove created by the forces of the damned battling in the thunderstorm'. And "Dawn Of The Damned" was so.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be addictive hooks and lyrics to curse along to'. And "The Shadows" was so ("What are you doing here? Stay away! Stay away!").

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be extravagant leads and breathtaking solos'. And "As The Fire Burns" was so.

And then the Devil said, 'Let there be this year's most haunting outro of duelling guitars'. And "The Return Of A Long Lost Soul" was so.

And, finally, the Devil said, 'Let there be thrash like Slayer's early days and let Schmier from Destruction sing along'. And "Devil's Spawn Attack" was so.

When Necrophobic finished Dawn Of The Damned, the Devil listened to it and he was pleased. Very pleased. The fans were, too.

"Let darkness be my guide
Let the everlasting light fade and die"


 



Written on 31.10.2020 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 109 users
31.10.2020 - 11:41
Nejde
This review is pure genius!

Also one of the best releases this year. Necrophobic is like a fine wine, just gets better with age.
----
"When you are dead, you do not know you are dead. It's only painful for others. The same applies when you are stupid." - Ricky Gervais
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 11:52
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Something tells me that it isn't actually what happened, and instead the real story is as boring as a bunch of dudes brainstorming riffs and trying to get the snare to sound right.
----
Father: How can a picture of a field be sad without a sad person looking sad in the field?
Young Woman: That's an interesting problem. Yeah, I struggle with that.
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 12:10
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 31.10.2020 at 11:52

Something tells me that it isn't actually what happened, and instead the real story is as boring as a bunch of dudes brainstorming riffs and trying to get the snare to sound right.

Party pooper
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 12:33
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Is this pelvis or bonnerhand here.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 12:48
musclassia
Always fun when we get front page reviews that break from the norm. Yeah, this is a quality album by a quality band
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 12:56
metalbrat
Was that a review 'on request '?😄. Nicely written... Different from your usual style... Only doubt, whether its same what you intended?
👏👏👏👏
----
In the beginning I was made of clay. Then I bit the apple and they changed me to metal 🤘
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 13:16
nikarg
Mod
Written by metalbrat on 31.10.2020 at 12:56

Was that a review 'on request '?😄. Nicely written... Different from your usual style... Only doubt, whether its same what you intended?
👏👏👏👏

I had the skeleton of the review in my mind before you asked for it so I intended it to be like that from the beginning
I also reviewed Mark Of The Necrogram and the two albums are very similar-sounding and because of that I wanted to do something different. I am happy it has a good response, I just wrote down my thoughts for every song and sprinkled some imagination on top.
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 17:59
tintinb
God, Nikarg, you outdid yourself. Just like the band did.
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 22:30
SatanicBlood
Sebastian actually went on the record to confirm this was a continuation of Necrogram. The cover is the inside of the building from the previous album.
This album grew on me, didn't take hard at first because Necrogram was such a pummelling album, but now I like it even more.
----
http://idolatryblackmetal.bandcamp.com

Canadian black metal
Loading...
01.11.2020 - 03:39
tominator
At best deranged
This was an amazing review to read!

I really liked the previous record and this one clicked even faster. So overall, I think I slightly prefer this one over Mark Of The Necrogram. But to be honest, both are simply excellent efforts in my opinion.
Loading...
01.11.2020 - 11:11
nikarg
Mod
Written by SatanicBlood on 31.10.2020 at 22:30

Sebastian actually went on the record to confirm this was a continuation of Necrogram. The cover is the inside of the building from the previous album.

I had no idea but it makes sense because this one feels and sounds like Necrogram part II, which is great. Both albums slap.
Loading...
01.11.2020 - 17:49
sgtrobo
Fantastic review, love the method, super creative.
also happen to love the album, so far it's my 2nd fave Necrophibic behind the debut, and is in my personal running for AotY
Loading...
02.11.2020 - 00:57
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Adorable and very entertaining review, mate!

Your rating is pretty fair as well, I'm glad that you're keeping the golden mean between sober assessment and euphoric admiration.
IMO it's a very solid and good or maybe even very good album, but all these full score ratings are well wide of the mark.

Storm Of The Light's Bane: X/10
Hrimthursum: X-1/10
Dawn Of The Damned: X-2/10

It's really just as simple as that...
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
02.11.2020 - 01:29
nikarg
Mod
Written by Starvynth on 02.11.2020 at 00:57

Adorable and very entertaining review, mate!

Your rating is pretty fair as well, I'm glad that you're keeping the golden mean between sober assessment and euphoric admiration.
IMO it's a very solid and good or maybe even very good album, but all these full score ratings are well wide of the mark.

Storm Of The Light's Bane: X/10
Hrimthursum: X-1/10
Dawn Of The Damned: X-2/10

It's really just as simple as that...

Thank you!

Your equation describes exactly what I was thinking when rating it. And this is how I've been doing it since I started rating again: I am thinking which album is the 10/10 for each genre that the album I am reviewing belongs to and I rate the latter accordingly.
Loading...
13.11.2020 - 17:18
sgtrobo
Written by Starvynth on 02.11.2020 at 00:57

Storm Of The Light's Bane: X/10
Hrimthursum: X-1/10
Dawn Of The Damned: X-2/10


Storm Of The Light's Bane: X/10
Nocturnal Silence: X/10
Dawn of the Damned: (X-0.5)/10

unfortunately, can't do 9.5, which is what I'd prefer to give the album.
Loading...

Hits total: 1418 | This month: 1074