Rating:
10
Iced Earth - Alive In Athens [Live]
27 July 1999


Disc I
01. Burning Times
02. Vengeance is Mine
03. Pure Evil
04. My Own Savior
05. Melancholy (Holy Martyr)
06. Dante's Inferno
07. The Hunter
08. Travel In Stygian
09. Slave To The Dark
10. A Question Of Heaven

Disc II
01. Dark Saga
02. Last Laugh
03. Last December
04. Watching Over Me
05. Angels Holocaust
06. Stormrider
07. The Path I Choose
08. I Died For You
09. Prophecy
10. Birth Of The Wicked
11. The Coming Curse
12. Iced Earth
13. Colors [2008 reissue bonus]

Disc III
01. Stand Alone
02. Cast In Stone
03. Desert Rain
04. Brainwashed
05. Disciples Of The Lie
06. When The Night Falls
07. Diary
08. Blessed Are You
09. Violate


I won't spend much words on this live album. Recorded during two live shows in Athens in 1998, it is simply the best live album I've ever heard: perfect sound, often heavier than in the studio albums themselves, clean and clear. You'll understand what being at a IE's concert mean. Raw power.

Barlow's voice is outstanding, this is the demonstration that he doesn't use any electronical devices for the recordings?.he simply sings like God. Schaffer is a metronome with his guitar and so are all the other band members who play with undoubtable precision and power.

In the european relase we have 31 of the best IE's songs in 3 cds... What more could you possibly need?! Some songs (in my opinion) sounds better in this live cd rather than in the original album.

I won't describe you the whole CD song by song, they're all perfectly played. Moreover, you can hear the crowd of Athens screaming "ICED EARTH!!! ICED EARTH!!!" and Matt presenting the names of the songs.

If you don't know Iced Earth, this will be a perfect start, with all their best songs - if you already know them, this album is anyway worth being owned... just to hear your favourite band play the 16 minutes of "Dante's Inferno" live without any mistake whatsoever and immediatly restart for another song without a minutes pause... Cocaine? No, they are just professional and talented musicians.


Band profile: Iced Earth
Album: Alive In Athens


 


written by Sephiroth | 18.09.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 99  
Search this topic:  


iaberis - 15.11.2006 at 04:09  
Indeed a great album. The best live album I've ever heard.
But I've also heard that this is not actually a live album... it was recorded in a studio, that's why you listen the crowd only at the begining and the end of each track...
I don't know if this is just a rumor or a true deception...
Eternal Flames - 15.11.2006 at 07:20  
Simple but brilliant review. Definitely one of the best live albums ever and it really shows IE in their pure glory.

As for the rumour of it being recorded in the studio, I have never heard anything about that and I doubt it is true because they're releasing an Alive In Athens DVD soon too.
iaberis - 20.11.2006 at 20:59  
Written by Eternal Flames on 15.11.2006 at 07:20

As for the rumour of it being recorded in the studio, I have never heard anything about that and I doubt it is true because they're releasing an Alive In Athens DVD soon too.

Yes, we'll see soon if the sound is indeed live when the DVD will be released...
Eternal Flames - 22.11.2006 at 06:45  
Yeah we will see. I'm not necessarily saying that it is not true, but I don't personally think it is true because you can hear some singing along at times. For example, on Slave To The Dark you can hear the crowd improvising along with the guitar after the first verse.

I mean, it could be true and it could not. I personally hope that it isn't, but we'll just have to wait and see.
Glabrezu - 09.12.2007 at 23:28  
No doubt. Best Live ever!!! They played all best songs better than in the cds.
They also played Dante's Inferno xD!
Stalker - 16.12.2007 at 16:37  
Wow, Ive heard this album just yesterday, and damn, isnt this some heavy shit?! Man, certainly one of the greatest live albums Ive heard ever, if not THE greatest!
Valentin B - 16.12.2007 at 19:59  
absolutely flawless, i just can't see how anyone can go wrong with this album..
IconMaiden - 02.04.2008 at 04:10  
I was born when i listened to this album. i remember the first time i saw it in Greece when a friend gave it to me to listen. that was 6 years ago and since then only maiden has been more dear to me than iced earth.
IconMaiden - 02.04.2008 at 04:10  
In my opinion, this is the best ANYTHING ever released. I can't live without this.
Vitriolic Hate - 13.03.2009 at 00:40  
One of the best live albums ever!!! lml
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 02:58  
Among the best live albums ever released. And Iced Earth's greatest work in all their career.
Icedburden - 27.07.2009 at 10:52  
I agree with the review 100%. Only song I really wanted that isn't there is Reaping Stone. But I'll live.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Iced Earth - Alive In Athens - The DVD 8.5 21.12.2006 by ylside
Reviews Iced Earth - Horror Show 7.5 13.05.2007 by
Melodic metal forum Iced Earth - Alive In Athens (DVD) 7.5 06.12.2006 by SETHULHU
Reviews Iced Earth - Burnt Offerings 7.5 05.07.2006 by
Reviews Iced Earth - The Dark Saga 7.5 12.09.2006 by Dam3k



Hits total: 3815 | This month: 27