Opeth - Morningrise review



Reviewer:
10

1344 users:
8.85
Band: Opeth
Album: Morningrise
Release date: June 1996


01. Advent
02. The Night And The Silent Water
03. Nectar
04. Black Rose Immortal
05. To Bid You Farewell
06. Eternal Soul Torture [2000 reissue bonus]


Before we get to this album, I would like to get an answer to a rather difficult question. Exactly what is Opeth's style ? The riffs are similar to progressive, but Opeth also has death vocals mixed with clean ones and acoustic guitars, plus on top of that the whole album has a dark atmosphere that surrounds the listener each time he/she listens to it. Here you will find everything, aggression and emotion, calm and anger, heaviness and mellowness, everything in one song, yet never sounding like different parts, but always in a flow.

The whole album consists of five wonderful songs and from those songs comes that unbeliavable energy that Opeth has as a progressive/death metal band. The shortest song on this brilliant album is 'Nectar' with ?only? 10:08 while 'Black Rose Immortal', which is my personal favourite song from them 'til today, lasts 20 minutes. All of these songs are perfect just the way they are.

Written by marco | 18.09.2003


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Talvi
Rating:
10
Actually, many people know Opeth. It is a love it or hate it band. You can love how the music flows without following typical structures. You won't expect those heavy riffs after the relaxing acoustic break. But you can hate how each song looks like some random riffs put together. Well, this review is from one who does love, at least, this album.

Read more ››
published 22.07.2006 | Comments (27)

Guest review by
ToMegaTherion
Rating:
9.0
Many questions have been asked of the style and coherence of Opeth's music. Yet despite the debate and questioning Opeth remain one of the world's leading metal bands. The first of a long line of excellent albums by Opeth was released following their debut Orchid the year before. Morningrise is often regarded as the defining album for the band with a diverse range of sounds, often confusing in composition but nevertheless contrived expertly. It is an epic album full of epic songs, with elements of Death Metal and acoustic blues to mix things up. The album progresses and weaves through a barrage of riffs, solos and an undying unprecedented patience and passion for the music expressed by Mikael Akerfeldt.

Read more ››
published 01.10.2009 | Comments (19)

Guest review by
andreosokin
Rating:
8.1
Morningrise is considered to be an iconic album for death metal fans, but the word iconic also applies to Opeth's history, because it certainly gave them that boost of popularity in the underground metal scene of the '90s. Just look at the album ratings on various music database sites and you'll see what impact it had on the listeners.

Read more ››
published 01.11.2016 | Comments (10)


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 152 users
30.09.2009 - 11:00
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
My most favorite album of theirs...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
21.12.2009 - 10:25
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
I have been listening a lot to this album in the last couple of days and I found myself unable to define its genre. I don't think it is Death Metal. It has extreme vocals, but the music something else. There are certain folk moments, Dark Tranquility-like riffs, and a Black Metal feel to it. But then I wouldn't really call this Progressive either. Totally vague right now.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
21.12.2009 - 13:26
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by K†ulu on 21.12.2009 at 10:25

Totally vague right now.


That's why nowdays I use two labels: Good Music and Bad Music
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.12.2009 - 13:38
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.12.2009 at 13:26

Written by K†ulu on 21.12.2009 at 10:25

Totally vague right now.


That's why nowdays I use two labels: Good Music and Bad Music


Nonono, that's totally subjective... You can use Music-that-i-like and Music-that-i-don't-like labels.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
21.12.2009 - 13:41
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by K†ulu on 21.12.2009 at 13:38

Nonono, that's too subjective... You can use Music-that-i-like and Music-that-i-don't-like labels.


Pfffff, what the F***... I decide what's good or not
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
27.09.2011 - 20:24
Regolith
Great album. Every single song is good. The recording qaulity is sub-par but, hey, it was '96. 'The Night and the Silent Water' is my personal favorite. The acoustic part is beautiful.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 09:33
Dr. Strawberry
Opeth's style is not consistant.
I would call
1) Morningrise, My Arms Your Hearse - Progressive Death Metal
2) Still Life, Blackwater Park - Post Death Metal
3) Damnation - Post Death Rock (correction : Post Rock)
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 11:54
mz
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 12:09
Dima
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 12:13
Zaph
The Nothingth
Can we go back to using words?
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 13:20
raveneffect
Post Death Rock

Loading...
25.02.2015 - 19:53
Dr. Strawberry
Written by raveneffect on 25.02.2015 at 13:20

Post Death Rock



Oop ! I've realized that "Post Death Rock" was not a correct term to label it.
I would call Damnation a Post Rock album instead of a Progressive Rock album.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 19:59
Ilham
Giant robot
That's even worse. Stop trying. Game over.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 20:04
Dr. Strawberry
Written by Ilham on 25.02.2015 at 19:59

That's even worse.

To me it looks better !
I don't think Opeth produced any Progressive Metal album after My Arms, Your Hearse.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 20:07
Zaph
The Nothingth
Digging himself deeper and deeper.
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 20:10
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by Dr. Strawberry on 25.02.2015 at 20:04

To me it looks better !

Do you even know what post-rock is? Have you even tried thinking about the absurd genres you keep inventing and wrongly attributing on this forum? Have you tried to even listen to one post-rock song?




Here, take this as a lesson. Learn. You're lucky it's free. Oh wait no it isn't, it comes with a price: your credibility.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 21:00
musclassia
Is there really any hope of trying to continue with someone who claims that the likes of Still Life, Blackwater Park and Ghost Reveries aren't progressive metal albums?
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 21:02
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
GY!BE are fucking awesome. That is the only good thing that came out of this conversation.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 21:09
Dr. Strawberry
Quote:
Quote:

Do you even know what post-rock is? Have you even tried thinking about the absurd genres you keep inventing and wrongly attributing on this forum? Have you tried to even listen to one post-rock song?
Here, take this as a lesson. Learn. You're lucky it's free. Oh wait no it isn't, it comes with a price: your credibility.

No...no...no. We're off topic enough and I am not going to continue talking about this...

A musical style/ genre is a general direction and it can be presented in many ways, you can't show a single video to bring everything into conclusion.
For example, (If you would like to call Damnation a Progressive album) Genesis is a progressive band but their presentation is different from Rush, Camel or Opeth (Damnation), we name them progressive bands as the traits are are from the same root eventhough their presentations are totally different.

As for the defination of Post Rock. I don't really deny Damnation is a Progressive Rock album as there are progressive elements in there, but there are too many Post Rock elements involved, actually already overwhelming those progressive elements therefore I think Post Rock is a better label (with or without vocals is really not an important factor). There is no right or wrong but which is more appropriate in one's point of view.
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 21:30
Lit.
Account deleted
>"We're off topic enough and I am not going to continue talking about this... "
>*Continues to talk about it.*

Loading...
25.02.2015 - 21:41
Ilham
Giant robot
Lost cause (idiom): God Buster.
</off topic>
Loading...
25.02.2015 - 22:19
mz
Written by Ilham on 25.02.2015 at 20:10


video

Here, take this as a lesson. Learn. You're lucky it's free. Oh wait no it isn't, it comes with a price: your credibility.


This is one of my all time favorite tracks. Thanks for bringing it up honey
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
26.02.2015 - 02:40
raveneffect
Written by Dr. Strawberry on 25.02.2015 at 21:09

For example, (If you would like to call Damnation a Progressive album) Genesis is a progressive band but their presentation is different from Rush, Camel or Opeth (Damnation),


Lost it here. You do realise that Camel is probably Opeth's nrº1 inspiration band and the ammount of tribute they pay to them is staggering. There is TONS of Camel in Opeth's Proggier albums. Even Genesis is present in Damnation, the guitar style is very reminiscient of Steve Hackett.

Also, King Crimson doesnt have shit to do with Yes and they're both pillars in Prog Rock. What would you call them then? Flower Power Rock?

I'm begining to think you've never heard these bands in your entire life
Loading...

Hits total: 5708 | This month: 24