Rating:
8.0
Tyranny - Tides Of Awakening
3 October 2005


01. Coalescent Of The Inhumane Awareness
02. Sonorous Howl From Beyond The Stars
03. Upon The War-Torn Shape Of Cold Earth
04. In The Arcane Clasp Of Unwritten Hours
05. Entreaties To The Primaeval Chaos


From hell…

As time passes by I feel more intrigued by this genre called Doom Metal. Melancholic, depressive, gloomy, you can find a million adjectives to describe it, but no word can really express what you feel inside when you hear a good Doom release.
With this release I felt something that almost no record has made me feel: fear.

I recall listening the first Tyranny Ep, to be honest I didn't like it at all, and now I understand, the timing was totally wrong, I was not prepared for the crushing sound of Tyranny.

Tyranny is not your typical Funeral Doom Metal band, these two Finns take the Funeral a step further and create dismal atmospheres and soul-crushing themes.
This is ultra-slow, crushing, depressive Funeral Doom Metal, riffs that repeat a thousand times before moving to the next one, deep undecipherable growls and an eerie ambient. Really scary, and I'm not lying, this record is really scary, I can't imagine listening this alone in the woods at night, it just won't happen.

What else could you feel with this album? The music is so dense and dismal, and I begin to wonder where did this music came, because I really see this as the soundtrack of the depths of hell.

Songs are quite lengthy, clocking around 10 -15 minutes each, if you're a casual Doom lover you might be overwhelmed by this album, if you know your Doom, you probably have this already, but if not, this is a must try for all real Doom fans out there.


Band profile: Tyranny
Album: Tides Of Awakening


 


written by Undercraft | 14.10.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 70  
Search this topic:  


deathovertime - 14.05.2008 at 20:03  
I agree completely with this review, personally I think it's one of, if not the best funeral doom release to date. I wouldn't really call it scary, I think that's the wrong word, but it is very dark and eerie. This album alone tops those of other funeral doom bands.
tuerda - 27.03.2009 at 04:27  
Dark you say? Dark? This is pitch black! This is truly excellent, but even fans of other funeral doom acts might find this a bit too much.
Marcel Hubregtse - 27.03.2009 at 14:54  
Written by tuerda on 27.03.2009 at 04:27

... but even fans of other funeral doom acts might find this a bit too much.


I agree with you. One has to be an immense fan of pitch black funeral doom to be able to get into this.

Btw I find it a brilliant album
Kurimus - 22.04.2009 at 18:20  
Oh my oh my... This is just great. Pitch black you say? Then gimme more oh yes!

Have to get more into the songs and structures to say objectively, but it shure as hell sounds great!
Kurimus - 03.05.2009 at 14:33  
Does anyone know if there's anything going on with them nowadays?

I mean this was released in 2005 and there's no news no nothing about them in their Myspace or the official website and it's 2009.... And firebox's website tells that their not even on the label anymore...
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.05.2009 at 17:13  
Written by Kurimus on 03.05.2009 at 14:33

Does anyone know if there's anything going on with them nowadays?

I mean this was released in 2005 and there's no news no nothing about them in their Myspace or the official website and it's 2009.... And firebox's website tells that their not even on the label anymore...


They are still active. They performed live in Helsinki about a month ago, I think. And I know that Profetus will be doing some shows supporting Tyranny later on in the year.
Kurimus - 04.05.2009 at 17:45  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.05.2009 at 17:13

Written by Kurimus on 03.05.2009 at 14:33

Does anyone know if there's anything going on with them nowadays?

I mean this was released in 2005 and there's no news no nothing about them in their Myspace or the official website and it's 2009.... And firebox's website tells that their not even on the label anymore...


They are still active. They performed live in Helsinki about a month ago, I think. And I know that Profetus will be doing some shows supporting Tyranny later on in the year.


Ok. that's at least good news I hope they are planning to release new materia in the future... (Materia intended. )

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Tyranny - Tides Of Awakening 6 20.01.2013 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Moonsorrow - Verisäkeet 3 05.10.2006 by
Reviews Mahavatar - Go With The No! 3 08.08.2006 by
Reviews Aberrant Vascular - Actaeon 3 09.01.2013 by Array
Reviews Skyclad - Wayward Sons Of Mother Earth 3 28.04.2010 by Chainer



Hits total: 2560 | This month: 28