Rating:
10
Opeth - Deliverance
12 November 2002


01. Wreath
02. Deliverance
03. A Fair Judgement
04. For Absent Friends
05. Master's Apprentices
06. By The Pain I See In Others


Sweden's premiere progressive black metal act Opeth have unleashed their most anticipated release to date, their sixth album, Deliverance. This release marks the first part of a projected two album instalment, with the second part Damnation due to be released in March.
Opeth first came into prominence with their fourth release Still Life back in 1999. But it was the follow up Blackwater Park in 2001 that really broke the band into the mainstream. So with expectations on high, Deliverance has to deliver the goods. And thankfully, the album is right up there as one of their best to date. Opeth have been reluctant to vary their unique style over their six albums [not to mention criticised], but there are some very noticeable changes within Deliverance.

The opening number ?Wreath? is both intense and without a doubt one of the heaviest moments in Opeth's recent history. Vocalist and guitarist Mikael Akerfeldt utilizes his best death metal growl throughout the track, while Martin Lopez's drum work simply amazes throughout the album. There's a great melodic solo around the three quarter mark, while it's only towards the end where there's any sign of letting up. No time is wasted as the title track soon follows up with the same aggressive path set before hand, but with melodic softer moments punctuating the heavier moments. There's more variation throughout this track, and is closest as the band gets to Blackwater Park. There's more than a hint of Steve Wilson's [Porcupine Tree] influence towards the end of the track too with the use of piano and the repetitive guitar riff. The sombre ?A Fair Judgement? has Steve Wilson stamped all over it, while still retaining the all-important Opeth sound. The doubled up vocals work remarkably well, proving Opeth's subtle moments of progression. After the short acoustic ?For Absent Friends? [the only track under the ten minute mark], the band return with the slow and heavy bludgeon of ?Master's Apprentices?. The blend of acoustic passages and brutal black has been perfected by Opeth in the past, but this track certainly seems to widen the gap between the extremes and pull them together at the most crucial of moments. The grand finale ?By The Pain I See In Others? is one of the most experimental numbers in Opeth history. The use of effects for Mikael's vocals is strange to say the least, while the many sections that make up the song [like the odd waltz breakdown half way through] seem to flow effortlessly, even though in theory it shouldn's.

Deliverance is by no means an instant album, but then again, which Opeth album is? What are apparent though, are the remarkable precision of the musicianship, the production [from Opeth and Steve Wilson] and the amazing depth of Mikael's song writing. While many are claiming Deliverance fails to break new ground, I for one simply hear plenty of progression on the album. This album marks huge steps forward for the band, which in turn will on put more heighten awareness for their next release in March.


Band profile: Opeth
Album: Deliverance


 


written by Justin | 18.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
danielllewis

Rating:
8.4
Opeth seems to be one of the most popular metal acts out there. I guess the reason for this is that their music is so accessible to fans of any sub genre seeing as they're progressive death metal. But with their 5th release, "Deliverance", the band have taken a much more death metal approach than usual, resulting in their heaviest album.

Read more ››
published 15.07.2009 | Comments (26)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 189  
Search this topic:  


bLeaK_poiSoN - 11.02.2007 at 16:39  
This album includes the worst band of Opeth. I think For Absent Friends should not be a part of Deliverance.
Doc Godin - 14.02.2007 at 06:44  
definitly not worth a 9.9, great album, but can get kind of dry at some points, like any prog band. Still Life, Blackwater Park and Ghost Reveries were all better than this, and Id give them a 9 at most.
Blackwater Park - 11.03.2007 at 03:43  
Agreeing with Dr.Rock on this one, not worthy of a 9.9 i'd say 8-9 just because the concept album Still life, shits all over it! None the less great album!
Bitch Boy - 11.03.2007 at 04:20  
Progressive black metal?? I know there are a couple of elements from black metal but we can't saw they are "prog black".

Anyway, I agree with the rest of the review, Deliverance is a very great and intense piece of work.
Doc Godin - 14.03.2007 at 06:17  
Written by Guest on 11.03.2007 at 03:43

Agreeing with Dr.Rock on this one, not worthy of a 9.9 i'd say 8-9 just because the concept album Still life, shits all over it! None the less great album!


Still Life was a concept album? explain this to me, cus i didnt know it before.....
Empty Spaces - 18.03.2007 at 04:22  
Great album!! Opeth is one of the few bands that can make 13 minute songs and not bore me...
Blackwater Park - 31.03.2007 at 18:44  
Quote:

Still Life was a concept album? explain this to me, cus i didnt know it before.....

Not meaning to sound stuck-up or anything here Dr. but it'll be more beneficial to use wikipedia, i speak to much shit, you wouldn't understand me..Basically its a story about love and murder, wikipedia that shit man!
all the best.
Warman - 21.06.2007 at 16:05  
Damnation>Deliverance

This is still a great album, like all Opeth releases I've heard so far. This is probably not one of their best albums though. Good review.
BloodTears - 16.10.2007 at 18:18  
I also think the rating is too high, I would give it a 9. Its not as good as other Opeth's releases, say Still Life, Blackwater Park or Orchid even but it is excellent nevertheless. Or maybe I just prefer them to Deliverance I don't know. Anyway its hard to compare Opeth albums, to decide which ones are better, thats the best thing you can say about them. I think I said that before too.

This album has very strong songs "wreath", "deliverance", "master's apprentices" being my favourites, it has nothing to do with the fact that they are the heaviest songs on the album. "deliverance" being probably one of the most recognizable opeth's songs. the vocals on "master's apprentices" are just stunning as are the lyrics. "a fair judgement" and "for absent friends" have beautiful melodies, they are intimate songs.
Mr. Doctor - 14.03.2008 at 16:52  
Written by Warman on 21.06.2007 at 16:05

Damnation>Deliverance
This is still a great album, like all Opeth releases I've heard so far. This is probably not one of their best albums though. Good review.


Mmmm I can't agree on that xD
This album owns Damnation IMO.. And not because the heavyness [because this is by far the most brutal and heaviest album by Opeth...] But because I see more progression in this album... It's very Original.
Damnation is quite monotonous sometimes [not always.. just sometimes @___@]

I listened today Deliverance and I did notice that It's an album that growns on you.
"Master's Apprentices" and "By The Pain I See In Others" [I love this track... It's just so damm strange and original] are probably my favorite of this album...
I give this album the rating: 8,8
Uirapuru - 24.03.2008 at 05:03  
worst opeth album... just a few flashes of good melodies... avarege.
-Soulreaper- - 01.07.2008 at 17:15  
The album is really freaking good. If anyone slightly likes Opeth, I dont see how they could possible dislike this album.
Mr. Doctor - 17.11.2008 at 17:55  
This album totally growns on me. It's not a nine, I'm sure of that. But it's still an awesome album by this guys. Master's Apprentices is a fucking killer.
DanielViking - 17.11.2008 at 22:28  
It's a great album... but 9 is too much. maybe 8
BlankFile - 25.12.2010 at 00:35  
I love this album because its fucken heavy and dark. Its Opeth at its best!
opeth771 - 28.12.2010 at 02:01  
Wreath and A Fair Judgement are underrated songs
ErnilEnNaur - 15.12.2011 at 20:10  
Not as good as the unbeatable Morningrise and the classics Still Life and (obviously) Blackwater Park, but almost as good as Ghost Reveries. This album contains some of their best riffs. I could headbang for a week in a row to Master's Apprentices. Though that would make drinking coffee a difficult task. Oh well, not even Opeth are perfect. 8.6/10

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Opeth - Deliverance 5.5 15.07.2009 by Andresopeth
Albums Opeth - Deliverance 4.5 19.11.2011 by Regolith
Reviews Opeth - Heritage 4 20.09.2011 by Lit.
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - Death Cult Armageddon 3 20.07.2006 by dark awakening
Reviews Dream Theater - Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence 3 24.02.2009 by IronBlackZepp



Hits total: 9576 | This month: 55