Rating:
10
Kamelot - Epica
2003


01. Prologue
02. Center Of The Universe
03. Farewell
04. Interlude I (Opiate Soul)
05. The Edge Of Paradise
06. Wander
07. Interlude II (Omen)
08. Descent Of The Archangel
09. Interlude III (At The Banquet)
10. A Feast For The Vain
11. On The Coldest Winter Night
12. Lost & Damned
13. Helena's Theme
14. Interlude IV (Dawn)
15. The Mourning After
16. III Ways To Epica
17. Like The Shadows [Japanese bonus]
18. Snow [Limited Enhanced Digipack bonus]


Like the title suggests, the new Kamelot album is very epic - probably more than any other album I've heard, more orchestrated, more dramatic. And it totally destroys the entire Kamelot catalogue, taken together! I'm dead serious here - the previous Kamelot albums were great, but hardly any match for the glowing brilliance of Epica. It's a conceptual album with 10 songs and 6 interludes, which help to create the atmosphere [and definitely succeed in it!]. These interludes are also the only chance for you to catch your breath, because ALL 10 songs on Epica are absolute mindblowing masterpieces with no single flaw. NEVER I've heard an album with all songs so equally brilliant and powerful, which capture you and don't let go until the end.

The lyrical concept of the album is quite complicated and loosely based on Faust by J.W. Von Goethe. The story revolves around three main characters - Ariel, who sets out on a journey to find the ultimate truth, Helena, his beloved, and Mephisto, devil disguised as a beautiful woman who tries to seduce Ariel.

The limited edition of Epica also contains a bonus track, Snow, which is just as perfect as any other song on the album, but doesn't quite fit the concept, which explains why it was left out.

It's always nice to hear an album with so much quality in it - I would've give it 11 of 10 if I could, and I never even was a big Kamelot fan. THE perfect album.


Band profile: Kamelot
Album: Epica


 


written by Ivan | 18.09.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 209  
Search this topic:  


jesh - 05.10.2006 at 12:35  
I can't believe no one has commented on this review! All I have to say is, thank you SO much Ivan. Reading your review introduced me to what is undoubtedly one of the BEST power metal bands of all time, and I'm forever in your debt.

I have listened to this album, and The Black Halo every single day for the past 6 months. It's that good. I have yet to get tired of this band at all, and I must say, each time I listen to it I seem to get more vivid images in my mind, feel more emotion in the music.

Personally I feel that this and The Black Halo are equal in terms of power metal goodness. I can't even express how amazing this band is. I just bought Karma too, and am almost as impressed! This is definitely now one of my favorite bands of all time. If the next album equals even Karma, I'll probably fall on the ground and die from orgasms.
The Alchemist - 05.10.2006 at 19:40  
This is a great album indeed, really interesting concept.
I think that this is the best album from Kamelot, great songs, great lyrics, powerful music...

My favorite songs are: "Center of the universe", "On the edge of paradise", "Descent of the archangel", "III Ways to Epica" and the bonus track "Snow"
I think that this is a great album that requieres to be listened many times to get completly into it, I still have to listen to it carefully
Nixx - 18.04.2007 at 17:22  
This is as close as you can get to a "perfect" power metal/symphonic album.

"Center of the Universe", "Farewell", "The Edge of Paradise" just simply mindblowing!
This album truly shows how great a singer Khan is aswell, completly flawless in my opinion!

If there's one power metal album you HAVE to hear before you die, this is definitly it.
And Kamelot with this album also proves that they're the best clean vocal power/sympho metal band out there right now.
(same with The Black Halo).

(yes im aware of the fact that this review is old, still doesn't change the fact about how great this album is).

A truly deserved 9.9 in my opinion.
iaberis - 19.04.2007 at 05:10  
Yeah it is a really good album, maybe one of the best of Kamelot, but I'd give it an 8, maybe a 9... It has some amazing songs, but not all of them are great, if I remember correct, these interludes really got on my nerves when I listened to it...
+{Jonas}+ - 30.01.2008 at 18:51  
It deffinitely deserves teh 11, it's an amazing album, and teh very fact of taking teh concept of Faust makes it amazing.
Paradox0 - 12.05.2008 at 21:16  
I remember first hearing this album and not thinking much of it. Then I listened to The Black Halo (more specifically the title track) and it put that album, and this, into perspective. Not too bad of an album. I guess I was expecting something more powerful in terms of Angra or stratovarious, found the instrumentation uninspiring, and for some reason I didn't like Khan's voice.
However, after listening to said track, everything started to fit in. What makes this album good is its deviation from such precedents as earlier power metal (adding a bit more debth). Khan's voice just seemed so much more unique as well. Instead of being a rip-off/imitation of Bruce Dickenson he uses his own unique singing style. Probably an 8.5 for me, almost all of the songs are good, but they seem to lack that punch I was looking for.
Angel_Lament - 15.05.2008 at 12:54  
One of the best Power Metal Albums!!!
I Love This album
Especially Center of the Universe. Farewell, Descent of the Archangel, Lost & Damned, III Ways to Epica and Snow
I would give it 11/10 if Possible!!!!
its one of a kind.....
KAmelot Rules!!!!
Uirapuru - 25.05.2009 at 21:09  
Excellent thematic, but the music is not as perfect. Good album thou.
BlankFile - 04.09.2009 at 01:59  
It reaches the quality of Karma, definitly another great release by Kamelot.
Destructo - 14.03.2011 at 05:16  
This album is utterly brilliant. With absolute pleasure of having heard a CLASSIC,I give this a full 10.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Kamelot - Epica 4.5 21.11.2010 by Luneth
News Kamelot - Announce N. American Tour With DragonForce 3 14.09.2014 by Steadydrummer619
Albums Kamelot - Falling Like The Fahrenheit [Single] 3 07.02.2013 by Dargor
News Kamelot - Sign With EarMUSIC, New Album Details 3 26.06.2010 by The Shape 1973
News Kamelot - Rhapsody Of Fire Singer To Replace Roy Khan On Tour 3 17.12.2010 by ZGoten



Hits total: 11256 | This month: 68