Opeth - Ghost Reveries review



Reviewer:
9.6

1889 users:
8.97
Band: Opeth
Album: Ghost Reveries
Release date: August 2005


Disc I
01. Ghost Of Perdition
02. The Baying Of The Hounds
03. Beneath The Mire
04. Atonement
05. Reverie/Harlequin Forest
06. Hours Of Wealth
07. The Grand Conjuration
08. Isolation Years
09. Soldier Of Fortune [Deep Purple cover] [special edition bonus]

Disc II [Special Edition DVD]
+ Beyond Ghost Reveries: A Documentary
+ A 5.1 Mix Of The "Ghost Reveries" Album
+ The Director's Cut Of The Video: "The Grand Conjuration"


Last year, I was at a CD store and this album, for some odd reason, seemed to call out to me. Maybe it's because of the amazing cover art or maybe it was just me, I'll never know. I've only been a metalhead for a short time (2 years). The first real metal band that I listened to was Iron Maiden, then I heard about Slayer, and the Lamb Of God, Children Of Bodom, Tool, In Flames, Trivium, etc. Previous to being in the music store, I had heard about Opeth from a friend and I had actually heard two tracks from the new release, those being, GHOST OF PERDITION, and THE GRAND CONJURATION. I thought that these two tracks were absolutely mindblowing, and so as I was saying, the album called out to me, so I bought it. What a good choice I made.

GHOST REVERIES is definietely one of the best (if not the best) albums from the year 2005. Sure there are some that would give the nod to NEVERMORE'S THIS GODLESS ENDEAVOR, a fine album in its own right. Others yet may give the nod to some of the mainstream releases from the year (Chimaira-Chimaira, As I Lay Dying-Shadows Are Security, Trivium-Ascendancy, The Black Dahlia Murder-Miasma, The Red Chord-Clients, Between The Buried And Me-Alaska Children Of Bodom-Are You Dead Yet?). I do enjoy most of the mainstream bands of metal, but the fact remains that most mainstream metal is not all that great.

With GHOST REVERIES, Opeth does become a bit more mainstream, but they still sound like Opeth, of course. Purchasing this album would be the start of what would become my favorite band. After this album, I bought Still Life and Blackwater Park. Out of these, Still Life is definitely the best, by far.

The highligts of this are GHOST OF PERDITION, THE BAYING OF THE HOUNDS, REVERIE/HARLEQUIN FOREST, HOURS OF WEALTH, and THE GRAND CONJURATION, although all the songs are pretty good. The only track that I never really got into was BENEATH THE MIRE, because I didn't really like the guitar riffs and it just sounds different than most Opeth songs.

The first track GHOST OF PERDITION is absolutely AMAZING. All band members show off their abilities in this song. I especially love the intro. Its quiet with acoustics and then all of a sudden BAM! It gets heavy and there is Akerfeldt's amazing, demonic growl. He may be the best metal vocalist that I have ever heard. How he can growl like so and sing in such a soothing, heavenly clean voice is beyond me. He's up there with Dickinson, Halford, Barlow, Maynard James Keenan, Chris Barnes, George Fisher, Jonas Renkse, and all of the other great metal vocalists there are but I can't think of right now. Anyways, GHOST OF PERDITION is really good and has both of Akerfeldt's vocal styles. Opeth also write good lyrics, but i'm not going to go in depth with them. The acoustic parts are very good and Martin Lopez shows why he is one of my personal favorite drummers.

All other tracks are good, except for Beneath the mire. Atonement with it's weird, eerie, pshychadelic, sound really surprised me actually because Opeth doesn't do stuff like that, but it turned out really good, so I can't complain. REVERIE/HARLEQUIN FOREST is another great song. A great opening riff and it is almost all clean vocals. It is the longest off the album but hey, it's 12 minutes of pure greatness. I love the track after it too; HOURS OF WEALTH is an acoustic track. The best part is the opening two minutes, with the acoustic guitars and the keyboard of Per Wiberg. Acutally, the whole track is great. The single from the album, THE GRAND CONJRATION, is another good track. It starts out with a crushing riff for the first few secong and then starts into another great riff (very similiar to Slayer's ALTAR OF SACRIFICE if you ask me, it too starts out with a crushing riff and leads into a good riff). The almost whispered vocals are great. The main riff here actually reminds me of a riff found in BLACKWATER PARK, the song, found somewhere in the last 2-3 minutes. All in all, THE GRAND CONJURATION is great, but it fails to top GHOST OF PERDITION.

A great album from a great band. Every metalhead should own this album. Probably 2005's best album and it is worth all the money that you pay for it. Yet another Opeth masterpiece.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 10

Written by spirit_inblack | 12.07.2006


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 57   Visited by: 356 users
27.03.2008 - 18:01
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Who thinks Opeth are mainsteam? I still don't get that.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
27.03.2008 - 18:14
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I would give it a 8,0
It's my least favorite Opeth album.

So vocals are very overproduced IMO.
I can't feel anything when I hear this album... It's like Beautiful music... nothing more... without soul or some kind of feeling.

But there are 3 thngs that are PERFECT on this album:
- The Grand Conjuration
- Isolation Years
- One of the best cover arts that I've seen in my fucking life....

Edit: One of the most stupid commets I've ever said. [damn, I'm doing the same thing as Dr. Rock] Anyway. The vocals are not overproduced or anything like that. I was just pissed off or probably surprised over the change of sound that Opeth did after Deliverance since I thought that fater Damnation it would be something in the vein of Deliverance/Blackwater Park but I was wrong and that's why I get pissed off... stupid I know.

This album has grown on me and I learned to love it. Not the best but it's indeed really really good.

8,7 is the now changed rating.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
23.06.2008 - 09:37
Hamird
HIV+
My rating for this album is 9.9 + 0.1 which means a pure master piece, is this album. I like this album more than other albums done by Opeth.
When I got the album and put on my disk-player, Ghost of Perdition started and that was the time, I understood no one can growl as well as Akerfeldt in Death metal music, and then I listen to the rest of album and at last I said no band can perform progressive/death metal as well as Opeth do..
Loading...
19.08.2008 - 17:46
Elio
Red Nightmare
Great album indeed...but I don't think it deserves such a high rate!
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
19.12.2008 - 21:58
Infocalypse
Written by BloodTears on 27.03.2008 at 18:01

Who thinks Opeth are mainsteam? I still don't get that.


I think Opeth are mainstream. Every metalhead knows them. Bands who are not mainstream are usually known only in their own lands... or in the underground. Like Absent.
Loading...
19.12.2008 - 22:16
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Infocalypse on 19.12.2008 at 21:58

Written by BloodTears on 27.03.2008 at 18:01

Who thinks Opeth are mainsteam? I still don't get that.


I think Opeth are mainstream. Every metalhead knows them. Bands who are not mainstream are usually known only in their own lands... or in the underground. Like Absent.


People know them in the metal community. Mainstream usually applies for people outside it, as I understand it.
That's why I said that.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
19.12.2008 - 22:19
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by BloodTears on 19.12.2008 at 22:16

People know them in the metal community. Mainstream usually applies for people outside it, as I understand it.
That's why I said that.


I view the word "mainstream" as a band that plays a genre that is generic and easy to listen for the people outside metal... And also a kind of music that MANY bands [over]plays

So that's why I can't view Opeth as a mainstream band.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
19.12.2008 - 22:34
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.12.2008 at 22:19

Written by BloodTears on 19.12.2008 at 22:16

People know them in the metal community. Mainstream usually applies for people outside it, as I understand it.
That's why I said that.


I view the word "mainstream" as a band that plays a genre that is generic and easy to listen for the people outside metal... And also a kind of music that MANY bands [over]plays

So that's why I can't view Opeth as a mainstream band.


Within metal OPeth certainly are mainstream. Just look at their sales figures and the fact that everyone knows them. Same applies for Dream Theater, Megadeth, Slayer, Iron Maiden etc.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
19.12.2008 - 22:37
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.12.2008 at 22:34

Within metal OPeth certainly are mainstream. Just look at their sales figures and the fact that everyone knows them. Same applies for Dream Theater, Megadeth, Slayer, Iron Maiden etc.


Within the metal community.. I agree... But in general music.. No way IMO.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
19.12.2008 - 23:00
Infocalypse
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.12.2008 at 22:37

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.12.2008 at 22:34

Within metal OPeth certainly are mainstream. Just look at their sales figures and the fact that everyone knows them. Same applies for Dream Theater, Megadeth, Slayer, Iron Maiden etc.


Within the metal community.. I agree... But in general music.. No way IMO.


There are many metalheads on the world. Metal becomes popular.

The most metalheads like metal because of the melodies (In Flames, Amon Amarth etc.) - and it is not what metal shall be having! Opeth is a band that like both groups of metalheads - the simple and the more expecting. IMO.
Loading...
20.12.2008 - 11:23
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.12.2008 at 22:34

Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.12.2008 at 22:19

Written by BloodTears on 19.12.2008 at 22:16

People know them in the metal community. Mainstream usually applies for people outside it, as I understand it.
That's why I said that.


I view the word "mainstream" as a band that plays a genre that is generic and easy to listen for the people outside metal... And also a kind of music that MANY bands [over]plays

So that's why I can't view Opeth as a mainstream band.


Within metal OPeth certainly are mainstream. Just look at their sales figures and the fact that everyone knows them. Same applies for Dream Theater, Megadeth, Slayer, Iron Maiden etc.


I totally agree that within metal they are mainstream. But outside metal they are certainly not Some people know them sure but that's not enough.

Whereas Iron Maiden for instance are mainstream inside and outside metal.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
20.12.2008 - 22:58
Hamird
HIV+
Written by BloodTears on 20.12.2008 at 11:23

I totally agree that within metal they are mainstream. But outside metal they are certainly not Some people know them sure but that's not enough.

Whereas Iron Maiden for instance are mainstream inside and outside metal.


I think we must forget about outside Metal.. Because if they were so smart they were inside Metal and not in the outside (joking)
But seriously I don't care about what people outside Metal think about such great bands like Opeth. Especially these days which Metal is known by bands which are not totally Metal in our opinion.. So the important point about Opeth is that they are one of the foremost bands within Metal today..
Loading...
01.01.2009 - 19:52
In Bone Factory
Wonderful
Ghost Of Perditin is one of reasons that i admire metal.
----
a hammerhead goobrian
Loading...
16.03.2009 - 13:44
JunN_Vai
What a f**king GREAT of Ghost Of Perdition....!!!!!!:bow:
Loading...
28.09.2009 - 18:34
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
I now have opinion to get this album...should i? reviews sound very promising...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
28.09.2009 - 21:57
spirit_inblack
harshhead
Holy shit, I really rated this extremely high, but that was three years ago.
Loading...
28.09.2009 - 22:36
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
I am buying it anyway...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
28.09.2009 - 23:35
Abattoir
Written by Ellrohir on 28.09.2009 at 22:36

I am buying it anyway...

Definitely, it is a priceless album
Loading...
29.09.2009 - 12:09
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
Lol, again...i still cant live with the fact, that "priceless" is positive word... i was again wondering what is wrong on this album for the first time...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
09.10.2009 - 03:17
advent
Another masterpiece....Opeth never dissapointed me....well i didn't count watershed...but they will be my fav. band,,,i think it's hard with any band to keep up with them in progressive metal....they have kind of music no one have in metal scene.
Loading...
11.10.2009 - 15:29
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
This is by far my favorite Opeth album - Reverie/Harlequin Forest might be the best epic prog metal song OF ALL TIME
Loading...
26.04.2010 - 01:21
@gent_-_orange
Opeths best IMO.
----
Alone he sits, A vanquished Lord upon an oaken throne, presiding o'er this conflict that chills him to the bone, for each tarnished blade that festers is a thorn thrust in his side and his pain alone bears witness to the folly of mankind.
Loading...
21.02.2011 - 20:01
BlankFile
One of the best!
Loading...
21.02.2011 - 20:25
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
I much prefer Blackwater Park, Still Life and Morningrise, but this one's still a 10/10 album. Reverie/Harlequin is the best track, even though they re-used the riff from serenity painted death.

EDIT: more like a 9/10 album. The Great Conjuration gets sort of boring, the riff is unimaginative and repetitive as hell.
Loading...
21.02.2011 - 21:16
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 21.02.2011 at 20:56

If you mean the riff which opens Reverie/Harlequin Forest and begins in in Serenity Painted Death somewhere at 1:28; it's not the same riff, although there's some similarities. If you mean some else part then tell which one. Great album.


It's not the opening riff, it is the riff that starts at 2:52 in Reverie/Harlequin Forest, right after "Instruments of death before me" and at the time you mentioned in Serenity Painted Death. In Reverie/Harlequin, it's simpler and sharper, but it's basically the same. Still, it's their riff and they can do whatever they want with it.
Loading...
29.12.2013 - 04:19
mbcameron
This is honestly my favorite Opeth album. I always thought it really hit the perfect blend between the cleaner progressive stuff and the death metal aspects whereas other albums of theirs seem to lean a bit too hard to one or the other. I like the mix.
Loading...
20.01.2014 - 04:10
Strawberry
The Baying of The Hounds Intro is fucking awesome!
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 15733 | This month: 35