Rating:
10
Moonsorrow - Kivenkantaja
2003


01. Raunioilla
02. Unohduksen Lapsi
03. Jumalten Kaupunki/Tuhatvuotinen Perintö
04. Kivenkantaja
05. Tuulen Tytär/Soturin Tie
06. Matkan Lopussa


After the sophomore opus of Moonsorrow "Voimasta Ja Kunniasta " in 2001, the band recorded Kivenkantaja (Stonebearer) in 2003. Well, I've bought it in early 2004, I chose it among thousands of albums, maybe the title called out to me, but whatever is the reason, it's perfectly done with its influences featuring extravagant, bombastic, heathen metal.

I've been a big heathen metal fan for 3 years. With Moonsorrow I can understand what this band is able to do musically and lyrically, especially when Moonsorrow always retains the same high ratings in each album. No matter how many times you've listened to it it never becomes boring; one of my most played CDs (look at my audioscrobbler) and it never loses its influences of Nordic themes.

Well, let's speak about the music. If you like clear, strong, powerful, epic and melodic music you should love this album. The album starts with a 13:36 song called "Raunioilla", and ends with "Matkan Lopussa." During this album you'll be transported far away into an atmosphere plentiful with sadness and cheerfulness at the same time and ambient but melodious. Songs came out from medieval age, warriors and the chant of their swords came to my mind when I listen to this album for the first time….a fucking great feeling!!

Moonsorrow has always been about two principal things: "trollish" epic sound, and very long songs that have a very unique folkloric atmosphere like no other. But let's begin describing the music: "Raunioilla" ( "At The Ruins") is the longest song and probably the best. It starts with an orb of misty dark-ambient atmosphere then falls into melodious parts with accordion and acoustic guitar. The keyboards are combined with the guitar and the choir perfectly to create more symphonic/melodic atmosphere followed by a very heavy deep vocal slightly fitted with the music. And despite the long minutes it never feels boring. I could continue to describe it for a while but this kind of music can't be described only by words, you should listen to it over and over. All that you have to know is that "Stonebearer" is a mixture of miscellaneous Heathen Metal albums.

Overall, Stonebearer is a very good album, during these 53:48 minutes I've been proud to own it. I could listen to it thousands and thousands of times and never get bored. Contrary to Voimasta Ja Kunniasta you can start with any track - be sure that you are proudly listening to something no band performs quite like Moonsorrow.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Moonsorrow
Album: Kivenkantaja


 


written by Mindheist | 25.07.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 250  
Search this topic:  


hottercraft - 18.01.2007 at 20:19  
Hey, this album is absolutely awesome, I'll give it my 10 too
Lokomotiv - 19.01.2007 at 01:42  
This along with Voimasta Ja Kunniasta are the masterpieces of Moonsorrow... I had personally felt rather dissapointed with their last two albums.
lazarus - 23.01.2007 at 01:56  
Just listening Raunioilla at the beginning you can notice already that this album is a masterpiece. But one of the songs that caught my attention was Tuulen Tytär/Soturin Tie, I really like it, and also the last track which is a very good ending.
Doc Godin - 24.01.2007 at 01:21  
Great album, not worth a ten, i find it pretty drawn out at some points, seems like just for the sake of being epic.
Major - 28.03.2007 at 22:20  
I agree with Dr.Rock, it is a bit drawn out at some points. I give it 9.5.
Mizer - 31.08.2007 at 12:29  
Great album! In my opinion the best of Moonsorrow so far. Overall sound/music on the album has become grander and more refined, and especially growls have gotten much better than on the previous album Voimasta Ja Kunniasta. No matter how many times you'll listen to it, it never becomes boring. I wouldn't give it full 10 still.... It's 9,5.
Tod_Engel - 24.09.2007 at 20:44  
It almost deserves 10, but something is missing. I don't know what it is. It's really epic and that's why I love it, but sometimes... the songs seem too long. It needs some concentration to dig into this record. Favourite song for me is Unohduksen Lapsi. It starts with a (fkin') majestic intro riff. Other songs, like Raunioilla, Jumalten Kaupunki/Tuhatvuotinen Perintö and Kivenkantaja have some very epic moments too. Still 9/10 from me : )
Hamird - 26.06.2008 at 21:27  
great album. it deserved to have such a high points but 10 is a little much! 9.1 is fair enough!!
Demonic Tutor - 09.10.2008 at 22:59  
Killer album, hot favorite of mine lately
UncommonWolf - 25.11.2008 at 06:03  
I've somehow been able to think back on my life while listening to Unohduksen Lapsi, and eerily enough it fits like a glove. Between Cancer and people giving me shit in school, to trying to become a boxer soon, I get a great feeling when I listen 2 this song. The rest of the songs are great tho too
Elio - 25.11.2008 at 18:07  
Why the hell there isn't a post from me here? Well, this is an incredible album, all the songs are special in their own way. Yeah, 10 for sure.
DanielViking - 25.11.2008 at 22:24  
Just want to say that this is the best album of this band and the guy who maked the critic listened the album very well... my salute to him. 10!
Introspekrieg - 25.11.2008 at 22:50  
Definitely a classic, really opened my eyes to a whole new world of epicness. But as said, if epicness is bad then it loses points for being draw-out. At home, 10/10. In the car, 9.5/10. (I need technical death metal with lots of different time signature for the ride.)
Solstafir! - 20.08.2009 at 00:19  
Great, Great album! Can't stop playing it!
Ellrohir - 28.09.2009 at 09:27  
Cant help myself...i like this album most
Uirapuru - 30.12.2009 at 20:40  
Best Moonsorrow album! The others look crap next to this one. One of the best i've ever heard.
Paradox0 - 13.12.2010 at 01:03  
This is probably the most EPIC album I've ever listened to.
MechanisT - 09.01.2011 at 21:56  
Usually I don't like folk metal, but I'll make an exception for this one. This album is one of the best that folk metal can offer...
ErnilEnNaur - 07.03.2011 at 23:35  
Written by Doc Godin on 24.01.2007 at 01:21

Great album, not worth a ten, i find it pretty drawn out at some points, seems like just for the sake of being epic.


I feel the same way about most of Moonsorrow. They use synthesizers to create a pseudo-symphonic soundscape that makes the songs feel epic, but I am left unimpressed by this. It makes all of their songs sound nice, rather than interesting.
Kheille - 27.07.2012 at 19:16  
If I would have to choose 2 albums to take on a desert island (with proper audiosystem) they would be Kivenkantaja and Varjoina Kuljemme Kuoleman Maassa.
Moonsorrow is the only band that I haven't gotten bored of at any point, and after years of listening still enjoy as much as when I first discovered them,
and the previously mentioned albums are in my opinion their best.
I wonder how much the fact that I'm finnish (so I can understand and sometimes sing along the lyrics) has to do with it.
This one's one of the few that actually deserve a 10 in my books.
DreadfulYgg - 08.11.2013 at 18:28  
I really like this album, but it's not a perfect 10. It loses steam toward the end, I think. That being said, I do like how calm the last song is. It's a nice way to close out the album and helps to bring you back to reality. So yeah, not my favorite Moonsorrow album, but a very good one certainly.
Oriax - 07.07.2014 at 15:27  
One of my favorite albums to get high on :-D

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Moonsorrow - Kivenkantaja 4.5 05.04.2012 by Never To Dawn
Reviews Moonsorrow - Voimasta Ja Kunniasta 4 13.10.2006 by Unholy_Emperor
News Moonsorrow - French Tour 2007 3 19.03.2007 by Jeff
News Moonsorrow - To Tour Australia For The First Time 3 04.08.2013 by Ellrohir
Albums Moonsorrow - Varjoina Kuljemme Kuolleiden Maassa 3 11.07.2010 by Uller



Hits total: 7899 | This month: 89