Rating:
8.4
Equilibrium - Turis Fratyr
2 February 2005


01. Turis Fratyr
02. Wingthors Hammer
03. Unter der Eiche
04. Der Sturm
05. Widars Hallen
06. Met
07. Heimdalls Ruf
08. Die Prophezeiung
09. Nordheim
10. Im Fackelschein
11. Tote Heldensagen
12. Wald der Freiheit
13. Shingo Murata [Digipack bonus]


Already when seeing the coverart and hearing the 34 seconds long intro you'll have a quite solid idea of what this album holds in store for you. Pure epicness. And beginning with the first song, Wingthors Hammer, this epicness gets combined with very fast and solid folk metal.

In fact the only slow songs we got here are the keyboard / folk instruments -only instrumentals (the intro, Heimdalls Ruf, Im Fackelschein and Wald Der Freiheit). As you can see there are quite a number of instrumentals for an album with thirteen tracks. And also in the non-instrumental tracks we have a lot of tranquil, epic and atmospheric instrumental parts replacing the fast-paced drumming and the riffing at frequent intervals.

The guitar riffs are mainly very melodic and happy sounding. While the drumming almost doesn't vary at all in terms of drumming patterns, it does vary greatly in terms of speed, always fitting perfectly with the rest of the instruments. The bass is mainly played fast. The vocals are another highlight in the band. Sometimes reminding of thrash metal and sometimes of black metal. Sometimes consisting of shrieks and at other times being very guttural. In any case they are always extreme.

Despite the singing being quite fast most of the time the lyrics are very well decipherable, if you can understand German that is. Most of the lyrics of this German sextet, one woman and five men, are sung in their native language. They are about feasts, mead, Norse mythology and fallen heroes.

Although enjoyable at times the use of sound samples (birds, rivers and that kind of stuff) seem to be used a little bit too frequent here, and while enjoying the first few you might find yourself rolling your eyes after the sixth or seventh ambiance part. Don't get me wrong, they are good and set up a perfect atmosphere, but they are just being used too often.

Although this is much better then most of the other folk metal albums I have heard, it is one of the best in fact, it is not at all one of the most creative ones. The songs are good, but they all sound very similar to each other. Reflecting on this very good album I think about their future with mixed thoughts, they are good musicians, but except if they come up with something new I doubt their next album will be worth hearing at all. The music is good, but it is always the same.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Equilibrium
Album: Turis Fratyr


 


written by Bas | 23.09.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 143  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 23.09.2006 at 22:47  
i never listen to the metalstorm radio all that much, but if it wasnt for that radio - i wouldnt know about this band

i like this album a lot, its very consistent
i just cant wait to hear more from them

but nooooo, you cant get sick of the cute birdies singing. hahaha
Stigmatized - 24.09.2006 at 01:54  
Good review and a fair rating. The album is damn good, one of my very favorites.
Katatronik - 09.10.2006 at 22:29  
This is a very amazing album, thinking that it's their first album. Really powerful and... true! In my opinion, rate: 9
DieH@rd - 10.10.2006 at 17:57  
Briliant! Absolutley briliant!
Cant wait for next album...
Bas - 10.10.2006 at 19:05  
Written by Baz Anderson on 23.09.2006 at 22:47

but nooooo, you cant get sick of the cute birdies singing. hahaha

i wouldnt ever get sick or tired of eating cute birdies, but i dont have to hear them singing the whole time
hottercraft - 17.10.2006 at 17:05  
This album was the best Viking Metal release of 2005, it was better than the Moonsorrow's one (and I love Moonsorrow... )
Danny Thomas - 22.02.2007 at 09:33  
i agree with cradle of bodom i'd rate it a 9. i am actually listening to it right now, its got so much energy!!! i like it almost as much as some of my ensiferum and finntroll.
Susan - 06.03.2007 at 08:02  
Listening to the album is a metal orgasm. I just discovered it a few days ago and can't believe my ears. I'm very excited to hear the new release and see what direction this band will possibly evolve. They did it once, can they create magic a second time I wonder!
White Winter Sun - 07.03.2007 at 20:52  
This album of viking folk metal is a true pleasure for goals with honey (understand ears)

I love especially Widars Hallen's track.
BlueMobius - 18.07.2007 at 07:57  
I love this album. It is really beautiful and heavy at the same time. I'm looking forward to their next release!
HELLilac - 20.07.2007 at 05:46  
I discovered this band and this album a few months ago and considered it a great discovery. It's the most beautiful folk/viking album I've ever heard. This album is perfect for me.
hard_tom - 07.09.2007 at 21:36  
BIG THANKS to all, who rated this album "brillinat" so it eds in top 10 releases of the year 2005.
Otherwise I´d never have know about this GREAT record. Since one month my favourite album - together
with other vikings Turisas and Ensiferum.

Simply my cup of tea - remember the times of "Enthrone Darkness Triumphant" ?
FeskarN - 06.10.2007 at 13:54  
Discover this band for a coulpe of weeks ago and it grabs me for the first time i listen to it. I love thise awesome melodies and synths! Cant stop fucking headbanging!^^ One of my favorites band at the moment! cant wait for the new album!
aglok - 22.10.2007 at 00:55  
Live they are even better than on CD
Lito - 06.01.2008 at 07:40  
This album is great, this atmosphere makes me feel very nice, my rate: 9
Opium - 06.01.2008 at 08:44  
Let's see... It was fresh at first, but after each following listen, I become somewhat bored of this album. The vocals and keyboard become irritating after a while, there's little variation here, which is a key problem. Definitely worthy of a 6 and nothing more.
Janne - 04.05.2008 at 12:42  
I don't think Equilibrium play viking folk metal... folk, maybe a bit, but absolutely not viking. I would say extreme folk if i must say something. The album: To first listening it was great, very powerful but when I heard it 10th time it was a bit boring. (maybe the problem is in me so I'll write again after the 30th listening )
and it's sure that I'll see them live in november.
Ellrohir - 25.09.2009 at 12:36  
One of masterpieces for me
Uirapuru - 29.12.2009 at 18:24  
The review was perfect. Great album!

Also dont see whats so viking about them
Ellrohir - 29.12.2009 at 18:38  
Written by Uirapuru on 29.12.2009 at 18:24

Also dont see whats so viking about them


agreed here...Moonsorrow are viking metal, such a music that Valhalla is shaking when they play

viking metal...Thyrfing maybe, but Equilibrium? no way...i love them, but not as viking metallers...
MétalNoir - 26.01.2011 at 23:12  
This album is a masterpiece, just as Sagas. I'll never get bored of Widars Hallen, one of the very best folk metal songs ever.
Wes - 21.03.2012 at 05:19  
Just discovering this album after loving Sagas for years!
This album is amazing so far, god! Honestly this band is one of the few that has lasting quality for me.
10/10 easily. There is nothing else in the genre like this band.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Equilibrium - Turis Fratyr 6 03.02.2011 by svobi_666
News Equilibrium - Album Tracklist Revealed 3.5 28.04.2008 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Killer Klown - Gain 3 04.05.2009 by destroyah
Reviews Arcas - A New Dawn 3 10.09.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Forhekset - First Step To Nowhere 3 19.12.2007 by Lucas



Hits total: 4723 | This month: 42