Rating:
9.6
Dream Evil - The Book Of Heavy Metal
24 May 2004


01. The Book Of Heavy Metal (March Of The Metalians)
02. Into The Moonlight
03. The Sledge
04. No Way
05. Crusaders' Anthem
06. Let's Make Rock
07. Tired
08. Chosen Twice
09. M.O.M.
10. The Mirror
11. Only For The Night
12. Unbreakable Chain


The Book of Heavy Metal is the 3rd album of the Swedish Heavy/Power Metal band Dream Evil.

The first thing about this album is that it is really different from the first 2 albums. This album is totally a heavy metal Masterpiece! The first thing you hear on the album is a great scream MEEEEEEEEETAAAAAL, and then some heavy riffs and cool drumming. You will know what is coming. All the songs on this album are really good, the lyrics of this album are about metal metal and more metal (not like the previous albums that were about dragons, battles, evil dreams, and stuff like that). I think they are more mature now; the lyrics are a lot better, the sound is better, the quality is better than ever.

My favorite songs on the album are The Book Of Heavy Metal, The Sledge, Chosen Twice, No Way and Unbreakable Chain. The album is catchy at some point, some songs need to be listened a few times to get into them but I tell you this is one of the best Heavy Metal albums ever made. It sometimes sounds 80's style and sometimes totally new, so if you are a Heavy metal fan you should have this album, believe me you won't be disappointed; you will feel like headbanging and jumping all the time.

So, the album is very impressive and the guys are really good players. Fredrik Nordstrom is a great player, songwriter and producer, Niklas Isfeldt is a great singer, he really fits in this kind of music, Peter Stalfors, Gus G and Snowy Shaw, are awesome too. I guess you all know Snowy and Gus from their other bands (Snowy from Mercyful Fate and King Diamond; Gus from Firewind, Nightrage and Mystic Prophecy).

As I said the album is really heavy but it has also a melodic side; songs like Chosen Twice and Unbreakable Chain are very good melodic heavy ballads. I give this album a 9 because the lyrics are still kind of cheesy, but well you canl be the judge of that. I tell you this album will blow your head off if you are a heavy metal fan, but don't expect something extremely heavy, this is more like Classic Heavy Metal.

Must hear: The Book Of Heavy Metal, The Sledge, Into The Moonlight, Only For The Night.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Dream Evil
Album: The Book Of Heavy Metal


 


written by Dreamwar_86 | 11.01.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 85  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 25.02.2007 at 23:48  
i wouldnt give this such a high rating.. especailly the 'originality' part..
hahaha - these guys arent original at all, but that is part of what makes them so good
Dreamwar_86 - 26.02.2007 at 02:42  
true . thanks for your comments the
ThunderAxe1989 - 06.10.2007 at 03:32  
As an album, it could have been much better. But this really has some awesome tracks worth listening to !!! The opening track is probably the best on the record. I hail these guys for keeping true metal alive!
IconMaiden - 01.04.2008 at 04:25  
I really loved this, as unoriginal as it was. I'm surprised its score is so low.
Metalbound7 - 15.11.2008 at 01:17  
Totally agree with you Dreamwar, a Metal Masterpiece. the intro is just Epic. MEEEEETAAAL!
BestMetalstormer - 10.12.2008 at 13:00  
I really love the lyric of The Book Of Heavy Metal song. IMO this is very best song for this genre, the high pitch vocal, with riff and drum, reminds me some epic element atmosphere. But well, this is the most original song of them. I find other songs of them, Dream Evil different than.
Rafiek - 19.12.2008 at 17:20  
The song "book of heavy metal" used to be my alarm clock. Every morning at ..... to goddamn early ..... I would wake up to the scream MEEETAAAL. There is no way you can keep sleepping after that. Love the song. But I think I heard it a little to much.
winter - 27.05.2010 at 03:27  
Great band, great album... hail dream evil
Paradox0 - 23.07.2010 at 18:23  
Really as TRUE as you get as far as bar-chested, fist pumping classic heavy metal. Each song sounds like its part of a best of of some other band and perhaps thats what drags this album down. Its really as good as it gets as far as what their going for, and in that the originality suffers. I just could't get over the fact that I've heard everything on this album before from another band. The best song is definitely the title rack, although the line "Wear nothing but black skin tight leather, My skin's clad with metal studs" just brings the image of a man wearing gimp suit rather than heavy metal iconography. 7/10
Zenzero - 13.01.2011 at 18:18  
The best and last good album by them!
The Shape 1973 - 13.01.2011 at 22:10  
Written by Zenzero on 13.01.2011 at 18:18

The best and last good album by them!

In The Night is pretty close.
Zenzero - 13.01.2011 at 22:43  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 13.01.2011 at 22:10

Written by Zenzero on 13.01.2011 at 18:18

The best and last good album by them!

In The Night is pretty close.

I have all the album except that, but I listened to that and I don't like it... I'll try again!
United sucks!
The Shape 1973 - 13.01.2011 at 22:48  
Written by Zenzero on 13.01.2011 at 22:43

Written by The Shape 1973 on 13.01.2011 at 22:10

Written by Zenzero on 13.01.2011 at 18:18

The best and last good album by them!

In The Night is pretty close.

I have all the album except that, but I listened to that and I don't like it... I'll try again!
United sucks!

I'm not a big fan of United either. It is worth listening to In The Night again though, its the best since Gus and Snowy left.
Angelic Storm - 14.01.2011 at 08:13  
This is probably my fave Dream Evil album. Yep, the lyrics are completely ridiculous, but it wouldn't be a Dream Evil album if they weren't! lol

Its been quite a while since I heard this album, but I do recall loving a lot of the music on it. The title track is the best song on it, and might just be the best song they've ever done. (with the possible exception of "Chasing The Dragon") "Unbreakable Chain" is absolutely awesome as well. Most Dream Evil albums are extremely patchy, but this one had a level of consistency, and most of the songs on it are very good.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Dream Evil - The Book Of Heavy Metal 10.5 22.02.2014 by Mountain King
Albums Dream Evil - Gold Medal In Metal (Alive & Archive) 6 26.02.2010 by Novas
Melodic metal forum Dream Evil 6 03.11.2006 by
Reviews Bang Your Head: The Rise And Fall Of Heavy Metal 5.5 26.03.2008 by GT
Articles The Lost In Rock And Heavy Metal: Armageddon 4.5 09.12.2012 by AndMetalForAll



Hits total: 3488 | This month: 26