Rating:
9.6
Carcass - Necroticism: Descanting The Insalubrious
21 October 1991


Disc I [CD]
01. Inpropagation
02. Corporal Jigsore Quandary
03. Symposium Of Sickness
04. Pedigree Butchery
05. Incarnated Solvent Abuse
06. Carneous Cacoffiny
07. Lavaging Expectorate Of Lysergide Composition
08. Forensic Clinicism/The Sanguine Article
09. Tools Of The Trade [bonus]
10. Pyosisified (Still Rotten To The Gore) [bonus]
11. Hepatic Tissue Fermentation II [bonus]

Disc II [2008 re-release bonus DVD]
The Pathologist's Report - Part III
01. Mikes Musical Input
02. A Label For Release
03. Corporal Jigsore Quandary
04. Achieving The Sound
05. The Album Imagery
06. Classical Carcass
07. Meaning Of The Album Title
08. Back To The Rehearsal Rooms
09. Red Dwarf "Smeg & The Heads"
10. Death Threats
11. Interview 1992


People already know this band, they already know this album as well and most of them really love what they hear when playing it; I've always seen this piece differently, for me it's more than just a great album to play, I think this album clearly represents the art of versatility, musical appreciation and evolution more than anything I've heard in Extreme Metal all over the years.

Carcass used to play a raw kind of metal which was very different from what 1988 was used to, the Goregrind genre appeared thanks to their debut album called "Reek Of Putrefaction" and people has been ripping their sound off ever since. Yeah, many bands rip other bands off, that's quite common, but have you ever seen a band that gets copycatted by two different genres? The interesting thing about Carcass is that they pioneered two exceedingly different genres in their times; the brutally and insanely sickening "Goregrind" genre and the mid-paced and mildly aggressive genre known as "Melodic Death Metal".

"Necroticism Descanting The Insalubrious" is just the transition between both genres, while the solos tossed by Michael Amott are Melodic and "Gothenburg" styled (depicted in tracks like "Symposium Of Sickness" (lead: "Necromonism"), "Pedigree Butchery" (lead: "Choicest, prime cuts") etc.) the intense rhythms and beats show the old hostility that Carcass used to execute in their old albums (the overly brutal "Corporal Jigsore Quandary" is the best example to this). That's the final formula actually, Melodic solos with brutal riffs, but this simplistic formula was then improved in their following albums.

This album is probably their best masterpiece (yes they have more than one); the genre mixture makes it suitable for every single metal-head around, and it is actually a must for everyone into both sides of Metal (Melodic or Extreme). I suggest you to buy this immediately, you won't regret it believe me.

Best Tracks: "Corporal Jigsore Quandary", "Forensic Clinicism/The Sanguine Article", "Incarnated Solvent Abuse"

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Carcass
Album: Necroticism: Descanting The Insalubrious


 


written by Herzebeth | 17.01.2007

Staff review by
Undercraft

Rating:
9.5
Carcass is one of the most influencial bands in the entire Death Metal scene, starting as a Grindcore outfit in the 80's and moving to more straight Death Metal territories later, these brits shared with the world their brutality and their undecifrable lyrics (only understandable for doctors)
With Necrotism they reached their highpoint as a brutal band, 'cos they moved to more melodic teritories with "Heartwork".

Read more ››
published 27.11.2003 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 128  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 17.01.2007 at 12:47  
Ahhh, totally agree with you man, great review!
This is one of the best extreme album ever IMO...
Cthulhu - 22.01.2007 at 07:20  
I more or less agree man. I rate this as the best death metal album of all time, better than such often cited albums such as Morbid Angels' 'Blessed Are the Sick' and Death's 'Human', though they are awesome albums in their own right. Like you said man, it is the flawless fusion of brutality, melody, technicality, and originality that make this album so good. Anyone who still hasn't heard this, go buy it now. 10/10
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 10.02.2007 at 21:40  
Of Fucking Course Man! haha, i can't agree more with this review, it's weird, i didn't see this review before.
I think i was partying or some like that
10/10 xD
BlueMobius - 19.07.2007 at 05:23  
I finally got a copy of this today, and I am glad I picked it up. This album may tie or be even better than Heartwork, IMO. I like the mix of brutality and melody, it's just right.
BreadGod - 19.07.2007 at 09:27  
I completely agree with the review. The melody is catchy and the sound clips they use on some of the songs are somewhat scary.
tuerda - 06.03.2009 at 02:44  
Great review! I never thought of it that way but you are absolutely right. I personally believe that both Heartwork and Symphonies of Sickness are superior albums, but this one is really quite awesome. I had often thought of it as a transition album, but you are right, it is more than that. You have expanded my mind. Thank you.
AyΣm - 26.03.2009 at 10:22  
One of the best Death Metal album ever released. The best death metal song "Incarnated Solvent Abuse" from all the death metal scene is here. The apogee of death metal
Uirapuru - 18.04.2009 at 17:27  
Great death metal album.. and also the album where we can see their music changing into their new material sound.
Deadmeat - 01.09.2009 at 20:46  
So, I have to say that It Dissapointed me. I find it unispiring. i dislike the production. i dislike tha fact that almost all the songs are 6-7 minutes. they sound totally boring. when 1 song starts i say "wow nice start" but after the 3rd-4rth minute i dont want to listen to it anymore. this album has some nice music but imo the songs are writen in a completely boring way.. and i am totaly sad about that cause i expected much more from this album. why i rated it with an 8?? cause it is carcass...
Andresopeth - 08.04.2010 at 15:35  
My favorite Carcass album, the fact that the songs lasts 6-7 minuts is so interesting because if you are really carefull songs do not follow an specic structure and order, the songs arrangment are very ingenious and the guitar solos are simply amazing. I also love the vocals, i think is the album in which Walker voice is better, lyrics are very interesting too, i very striking the amount of medical terms they use and how complicated to understand they are, i have found a lot of Proteins, Cellular Luiquids and Chamical compunds to fabricate madicines in their songs, very ingenious. I totally agree with this is a must have album for every metal fan in the world.

My favorite tracks: Incarnated Solvent Abuse, Corporal Jigsore Quandary and Pedigree Butchery
Maxx666 - 02.07.2010 at 23:14  
Just can't get enough of it. Such a beauty

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Carcass - Necroticism: Descanting The Insalubrious 9 20.01.2011 by Akram
Reviews The Berzerker - Dissimulate 4.5 30.09.2006 by Bas
Reviews Caliban - The Awakening 4.5 22.09.2007 by Collin
Reviews Arcanar - The Dusty Sovereign 4.5 16.10.2007 by annodomini
Albums Carcass - Tools Of The Trade [EP] 4.5 01.04.2012 by musicalkaratekid



Hits total: 5488 | This month: 51