Vanden Plas - Far Off Grace review



Reviewer:
8.6

81 users:
7.99
Band: Vanden Plas
Album: Far Off Grace
Release date: 1999


01. I Can See
02. Far Off Grace
03. Into The Sun
04. Where Is The Man
05. Iodic Rain
06. I Don't Miss You
07. Inside Of Your Head
08. Fields Of Hope
09. I'm In You
10. Kiss Of Death [Dokken cover] [European bonus]


Some people will tell you one day that you don't have to buy a CD for its artwork. For once, don't listen to them! I have bought 'Far Off Grace' for its good-looking presentation without knowing anything about the band and it's one of my favorite bands since the first time I've listen to this album. Seriously, it was a chance that I bought 'Far Off Grace' because it has made me discover the true face of music. This unique mix between Dream Theater's progressive style and heavy metal riffs you can't forget, that's what is the music played by Vanden Plas!

Reading the documentation of the album, I realize that Vanden Plas were German and it was surprising for me, as well-known German bands are usually specialized in power or true metal. But Vanden Plas style, which can be called heavy prog metal, is out of the standards. Just listen once to 'Into The Sun' and you will understand. Beginning with a powerful song 'I Can See', this album is full of pure musical jewels. The eponym song 'Far Off Grace' is incredibly beautiful but 'Where Is The Man' is surely one of my favorite song on this album. If you like more heavy style, go to track seven! 'Inside Of Your Head' has a title that is absolutely true. Finally, the strange lyrics of 'I Don't Miss You' and 'I'm In You' would let you weird minded.

See, 'Far Off Grace' is not only a very good album, it has its own atmosphere that includes different kinds of songs from pure heavy to progressive, with beautiful ballads. Unique.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 25.08.2003 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 21 users
11.09.2018 - 17:14
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Ah, so this is the first even MS review?
----
Sometimes you need a little wishful thinking just to keep on living.



2020 goodies
Loading...
15.10.2018 - 00:16
Dream Taster
The Enemy Within
Written by RaduP on 11.09.2018 at 17:14

Ah, so this is the first even MS review?


Almost. Not the first ever MS review, but the oldest one that is still up (the previous reviewing staff requested to delete a few older reviews as they were leaving).
Loading...
15.10.2018 - 21:19
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Dream Taster on 15.10.2018 at 00:16

Written by RaduP on 11.09.2018 at 17:14

Ah, so this is the first even MS review?


the previous reviewing staff requested to delete a few older reviews as they were leaving

why?
----
Sometimes you need a little wishful thinking just to keep on living.



2020 goodies
Loading...
17.10.2018 - 16:32
Dream Taster
The Enemy Within
Written by RaduP on 15.10.2018 at 21:19

Written by Dream Taster on 15.10.2018 at 00:16

Written by RaduP on 11.09.2018 at 17:14

Ah, so this is the first even MS review?


the previous reviewing staff requested to delete a few older reviews as they were leaving

why?


Because they wished to publish them on another site at the time. And the fact that they were written in even more broken English than mine, I figured it would be better off to relaunch the site without those reviews anyway. There were only a few that got deleted, maybe like 5 or so.
Loading...
17.10.2018 - 20:33
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Dream Taster on 17.10.2018 at 16:32

Because they wished to publish them on another site at the time. And the fact that they were written in even more broken English than mine, I figured it would be better off to relaunch the site without those reviews anyway. There were only a few that got deleted, maybe like 5 or so.

Regardless, this is still a nice piece of MS history.

Hard to believe this was more that 15 years ago. And that you're still around and active too.
----
Sometimes you need a little wishful thinking just to keep on living.



2020 goodies
Loading...
18.10.2018 - 13:53
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by RaduP on 17.10.2018 at 20:33

Hard to believe this was more that 15 years ago. And that you're still around and active too.

It's cool how this was considered a great album cover at the time too
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
22.10.2018 - 20:24
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Milena on 18.10.2018 at 13:53

Written by RaduP on 17.10.2018 at 20:33

Hard to believe this was more that 15 years ago. And that you're still around and active too.

It's cool how this was considered a great album cover at the time too

God bless the hindsight we have now

In 15 years we'll think Mirror Reaper has a kitch cover
----
Sometimes you need a little wishful thinking just to keep on living.



2020 goodies
Loading...

Hits total: 4354 | This month: 23