Rating:
9.0
Keen Of The Crow - Hyborea
2007


01. Prologue
02. Where Dead Kings Lie
03. Hyborea
04. Left For The Wolves
05. The Eye Of The Serpent
06. To Reach Emptiness
07. Burning Away
08. Valeria
09. Seeking Fury, Becoming Wrath
10. Stygian Black Lotus
11. Epilogue


Doom Death Metal
Label: Grau Records
To buy the album => http://www.grau.cd
USA: 2007
Length: 56:13

Line-Up on the CD:
Vocals: Dan Ochoa
Guitars: Seth Arthur
Guitars: Ron Slater
Bass: Justin Christian
Drums: Rhett Davis


Warning, warning!!! If you pretend to like Doom Metal and didn't even know the existence of Keen Of The Crow until today, I hope that my review will be like a revelation for you. No doubt, we're (only in March) already in front of one of the best Doom/Death Metal albums of the year! Featuring ex Morgion's bassist and drummer, Keen Of The Crow will probably become one of the sensations of the style. Why? Well, just because our band from USA found the way to create for their first album a magnificent Doom, deep and full of emotions. Believe me, you cannot miss this album!

The music of Keen Of The Crow is Doom /Death Metal a la Morgion, Mourning Beloveth or My Dying Bride. With an alternance of heavy slow riffs with strong Death vocals and ultimate break with amazing clean vocals and superb arpeggios, we're in front of a really beautiful Doom Metal. The eleven songs of the album are long (between six and nine minutes) slow in general of course, that's Doom after all, but they're extremely powerful. I'm not talking about rhythm or anything like that, it's just that the songs, probably in reason of the really good interpretation of the band, are able to give you shivers. They're strong, and extremely emotional, the music of Keen Of The Crow is deep and not so easy and even if it's Doom Death, sometime we can even think to bands like November Doom or even Opeth (in reason of the different progressions that we can find in the songs of Keen Of The Crow).

It's hard to find something bad on this release, the musicians are all really good, the singer Dan Ochoa is able to sing with two different good voices (a clean and Death one) and all in all, with its great production, "Hyborea" is full of hits. "Where Dead Kings Lie" with its break or "Valeria" which is disturbing dark ambiance are two good examples of the great quality of the album. And don't worry, the other songs are not worst, at the opposite this album is really homogeneous so you can expect 56 minutes of pure happiness.

"Hyborea" is a pure success. Of course, don't expect some funeral Doom or some extreme Doom here, no we're in front of classic and not so hard of access Doom. But really, this album is a bomb which remind me the quality of the albums of Mourning Beloveth (and that's a good sing!). If you like Doom and want to listen to something else than Swallow the Sun or My Dying Bride, I really recommend you this first album which is probably one of the best releases in the style since a lot of time.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 


written by Jeff | 27.03.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 44  
Search this topic:  


Jeff - 27.03.2007 at 20:33  
Marcel can confirm it,

It's a masterpiece...

Buy this album please.
Lucas - 27.03.2007 at 20:36  
I heard it and it is really awesome. Such a shame, that recent news about the bandmembers. Was just getting into them.
Christ_13 - 28.03.2007 at 01:57  
I download the album today in part because of the entusiastic review and it seems very good.. cool!!!
Christ_13 - 28.03.2007 at 02:06  
ah, I don't bought the album because the review seemed too entusiastic.. maybe Jeff has a comission on it, i don't know lolol (PS: the fact that i don't have money don't was a decision factor lol)
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.03.2007 at 08:45  
This is a brilliant album, I don't think any other doom album will top this one this year. Hyborea shows you how weak Hope by Swallow the SUn really is. This is a pure masterpiece.
But why did Lyrinan have to spoil my perfectly good SUnday at work while I was listening to this by telling me that 3 of the 5 mebers (Ochoa amongst them) left the band on Friday 23rd of March and thereby disbanding the band? SHit, album was released on the 19th and ONLY 4 dya s later this band is no more.
I know it is way too early but this album will most probably deserve to win the doom metal category.
Götter - 28.03.2007 at 08:46  
Okay, I listened to the album and found nothing so special about it. It's definitely not comparable to Morgion.

Well, there is one special thing - most or all of the album appears to be Conan The Barbarian-themed, complete with sound clips from the film, which is a good thing in my book.
Nefarious - 28.03.2007 at 23:45  
Agree 100% Definetly my favourite doom album of the year so far. I just cant stop listening to this
Asitis - 31.03.2007 at 11:51  
And this review is yet another one confirming my need to buy it
Jeff - 31.03.2007 at 12:11  
Yeah BUY it damn !!!
Susan - 02.04.2007 at 08:53  
Yes, this album is magnificent. So many different sounds winding down together in the land of doom. Ahhhh

It's definitely as good as Jeff says; go buy it!!

Too bad about the band's recent drama, it would have been so easy to predict great things from them!
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.04.2007 at 16:05  
Written by Götter on 28.03.2007 at 08:46

Okay, I listened to the album and found nothing so special about it. It's definitely not comparable to Morgion.

Well, there is one special thing - most or all of the album appears to be Conan The Barbarian-themed, complete with sound clips from the film, which is a good thing in my book.


I don't know what sort of version you heard, but on the cd I got there are no sound clips from the film. It does feature rearrangements of some of the film music though.
Götter - 02.04.2007 at 16:52  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.04.2007 at 16:05

Written by Götter on 28.03.2007 at 08:46

Okay, I listened to the album and found nothing so special about it. It's definitely not comparable to Morgion.

Well, there is one special thing - most or all of the album appears to be Conan The Barbarian-themed, complete with sound clips from the film, which is a good thing in my book.


I don't know what sort of version you heard, but on the cd I got there are no sound clips from the film. It does feature rearrangements of some of the film music though.


Actually, there are sound clips. Such as the one in the end of the movie where Thulsa Doom speaks to the crowds in front of his temple. It was in one of the songs. And there were others too if I remember correctly.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.04.2007 at 16:54  
Written by Götter on 02.04.2007 at 16:52

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.04.2007 at 16:05

Written by Götter on 28.03.2007 at 08:46

Okay, I listened to the album and found nothing so special about it. It's definitely not comparable to Morgion.

Well, there is one special thing - most or all of the album appears to be Conan The Barbarian-themed, complete with sound clips from the film, which is a good thing in my book.


I don't know what sort of version you heard, but on the cd I got there are no sound clips from the film. It does feature rearrangements of some of the film music though.


Actually, there are sound clips. Such as the one in the end of the movie where Thulsa Doom speaks to the crowds in front of his temple. It was in one of the songs. And there were others too if I remember correctly.



Mmm, I'd better relisten the album then. Becauise after having played it about ten times last weekend I still can't remember coming across sound clips from the movie.
Götter - 02.04.2007 at 16:58  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.04.2007 at 16:54

Written by Götter on 02.04.2007 at 16:52

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.04.2007 at 16:05

Written by Götter on 28.03.2007 at 08:46

Okay, I listened to the album and found nothing so special about it. It's definitely not comparable to Morgion.

Well, there is one special thing - most or all of the album appears to be Conan The Barbarian-themed, complete with sound clips from the film, which is a good thing in my book.


I don't know what sort of version you heard, but on the cd I got there are no sound clips from the film. It does feature rearrangements of some of the film music though.


Actually, there are sound clips. Such as the one in the end of the movie where Thulsa Doom speaks to the crowds in front of his temple. It was in one of the songs. And there were others too if I remember correctly.



Mmm, I'd better relisten the album then. Becauise after having played it about ten times last weekend I still can't remember coming across sound clips from the movie.


Well, I've seen the movie probably at least ten thousand times or so, thus I can detect anything Conan a mile away. 8)
Lokomotiv - 05.04.2007 at 21:21  
Good album, although I don't know what's of death/doom on it... I agree with Götter... NOTHING to do with Morgion
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.04.2007 at 11:11  
Written by Lokomotiv on 05.04.2007 at 21:21

Good album, although I don't know what's of death/doom on it... I agree with Götter... NOTHING to do with Morgion


Musically it has nothing to do with Morgion that's true. But Hyborea is still death/doom. Not standard dath/dom but death/doom nonetheless.
The Morgion is connection is due to the rhythm section of Morgion being the rhythm section here too.
Lokomotiv - 06.04.2007 at 18:15  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.04.2007 at 11:11

Written by Lokomotiv on 05.04.2007 at 21:21

Good album, although I don't know what's of death/doom on it... I agree with Götter... NOTHING to do with Morgion


Musically it has nothing to do with Morgion that's true. But Hyborea is still death/doom. Not standard dath/dom but death/doom nonetheless.
The Morgion is connection is due to the rhythm section of Morgion being the rhythm section here too.


Well, different perceptions... I see it as a mix between dark metal and metalcore, but I am a total ignorant about genre deffinitions and my only way to label bands, is seeing how it sounds, not feeling able to give technical arguments.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.03.2011 at 19:58  
What a damn fine record.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Obscenity - Where The Sinners Bleed 4.5 04.07.2006 by Herzebeth
Reviews Ascension Of The Watchers - Numinosum 4.5 05.02.2008 by jupitreas
Reviews Old - Down With The Nails 4.5 14.08.2006 by jupitreas
Reviews Tenochtitlan - Epoch Of The Fifth Sun 4.5 18.09.2006 by Promonex
Reviews Tankard - The Beauty And The Beer 4.5 23.05.2006 by pante2llica



Hits total: 5709 | This month: 41