Rating:
7.2
Nightrage - A New Disease Is Born
21 February 2007


01. Spiral
02. Reconcile
03. Death-Like Silence
04. A Condemned Club
05. Scars Of The Past
06. De-Fame
07. Scathing
08. Surge Of Pity
09. Encircle
10. Drone
11. Spiritual Impulse
12. A New Disease Is Born [instrumental]


I think most of you are waiting for a review talking about the new vocalist of the band, well that's not gonna happen for two particular reasons: a) This is the first time I ever hear a complete Nightrage album from the beginning to the end and b) I never liked Lindberg's vocals in the first place.

This new album does sound different musically speaking; the band used to be melodic for sure, but now they just lined towards Metalcore way too much, there are a lot of clean vocalizations ala Afi and some With Passion spastic screws here and there. The album is jammed with insane riffs though, the structures kept the Melodic Death feeling active and obviously they (I'm talking about the songwriting here) end up sounding a lot like In Flames with those arrangements.

As you can see it's not a very original album, but it has a lot of good moments indeed, songs like "Death-Like Silence" are really intense and almost brutal in a swedish way, the violent moments work out perfectly for the entire CD creating a very decent atmosphere and a hardcore-like vibe. The execution is very solid as well, in the terms of abilities this band is actually great, the instruments throw a lot of complex sounds throughout the entire album making things quite interesting in the end.

I'm not too fond of the Emo-ish passages (clean vocals, jumpy breakdowns and cheesy melodious moments), but "A New Disease Is Born" ends up being an enjoyable listen after all, it's surely not the world's most precious materpiece but the fans won't be dissapointed.

Best Tracks: "Death-Like Silence", "Scars Of The Past"

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Nightrage
Album: A New Disease Is Born


 


written by Herzebeth | 16.04.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 50  
Search this topic:  


dismaleuphony - 16.04.2007 at 06:56  
I got similar feelings when I listened to this CD. I'm disappointed, and yet I didn't totally mind listening to it. It's just forgettable. It's albums like these that make me wonder what's going on during the songwriting process, as it's obvious the result is generic. I really enjoyed their past releases.
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 16.04.2007 at 08:39  
I did like Tompa's vocals xD now, i didn't like this album, sounds too much Metalcorish and since they are sweden, that shouln't happend.
Nixx - 16.04.2007 at 11:35  
I really liked their earlier CD (Descent into Chaos) more, only reason I bought this CD is to support them (and cos it was cheap where I found it).
I agree with some of the things you say though (@ OP), it's good to hear that they still have the "sound".

But if they go more metalcore, I'll stop buying their CDs, 'cos, no offense to metalcore fans, but I really don't like metalcore
Sunioj - 16.04.2007 at 21:34  
Written by Guest on 16.04.2007 at 11:35

I really liked their earlier CD (Descent into Chaos) more, only reason I bought this CD is to support them (and cos it was cheap where I found it).
I agree with some of the things you say though (@ OP), it's good to hear that they still have the "sound".

But if they go more metalcore, I'll stop buying their CDs, 'cos, no offense to metalcore fans, but I really don't like metalcore



Ya know, I watched the video and all I could think about is killswitch engage, it just uninspired me, and I even like some metalcore bands too.
Collin - 16.04.2007 at 23:54  
Herz , my friend, this is a miracle: I agree with one of your reviews (everything happens...). Being a fan of Lindberg and having really liked Nightrage's previous releases, I've been quite disappointed by this one. I liked Nightrage because I thought they were the most violent melodic death/Gothenburg metal band around. Now, they have mellowed down a bit, which is still ok since as you pointed out there are still some cool riffs and stuff. It's almost metalcore-ish at times but I have nothing against metalcore as long as it's well done.

The really bad point is the vocals. Oh, the man can sing, but I think it's the first time I agree with your use of "Emo". His clean vocals really sound like an annoying cliché angry-teenager-focused emo guy. Highly irritating.

Anyway, it's overall not too bad for a few listens, but as dismaleuphony said, it's forgettable. I expected much better.
Herzebeth - 17.04.2007 at 18:15  
Written by Collin on 16.04.2007 at 23:54

Herz , my friend, this is a miracle: I agree with one of your reviews (everything happens...). Being a fan of Lindberg and having really liked Nightrage's previous releases, I've been quite disappointed by this one. I liked Nightrage because I thought they were the most violent melodic death/Gothenburg metal band around. Now, they have mellowed down a bit, which is still ok since as you pointed out there are still some cool riffs and stuff. It's almost metalcore-ish at times but I have nothing against metalcore as long as it's well done.

The really bad point is the vocals. Oh, the man can sing, but I think it's the first time I agree with your use of "Emo". His clean vocals really sound like an annoying cliché angry-teenager-focused emo guy. Highly irritating.

Anyway, it's overall not too bad for a few listens, but as dismaleuphony said, it's forgettable. I expected much better.



Oh my god, I'm taking a picture of this page so I won't forget this moment ever hehehe...
RYLIUK - 19.04.2007 at 23:47  
Damn!! this cd sucks!1 its like they haven´t ever recorded an album, i can see the influence of... Metalcore??? oh no i hate metalcore, really this album doesn´t sounds like early nigthrage, i don´t like them much before, now I like them even lesss!!!!
White Winter Sun - 20.04.2007 at 01:19  
Feelings mitigated from the first listening. Like lot of others, I prefered their past releases. But this album isn't completely bad there for that.
Herzebeth - 25.05.2008 at 08:06  
I can't remember me Writing this review...
HeavenDuff - 25.08.2008 at 07:57  
Clean vocals are not emo...
I don't know why, but I realise that lots of metalheads seem to missunderstand the concept of clean vocals in a melodic death metal band. You couldn't be more wrong when saying that the vocals sometimes sounds like AFI... I just can't see any similarities...
Clean vocals are just making the songs better. Just listen to the combination of clean and scream vocals on Spiral... the chorus in that song is probably one of the most awesome things ever written in metal music.

And as they are Melodic Death Metal, it's kind of normal that they will somehow sound a little like In Flames, but you can't bash on a band for something like that, and to be really honest, I never ever thought that Nightrage could sound anything like In Flames... except for the obvious fact that they both use guitars... (haha)
And em, if you don't like "melodious moments" as you said, why are you even listenning to MELODIC death metal bands ?

Maybe you should look for Technical Death Metal bands or heavier stuff, cause that kind of vocals is not rare in Melodic Death Metal bands, and even legendary bands like Soilwork still use that kind of clean vocals.
iaberis - 06.12.2008 at 09:20  
I don't care if you guys whine about the band being metalcore or emo (wtf?) influenced. The album is cool and I like it! I like the metalcore influence, I like the clean vocals, I like the melodic sound and I love the acoustic parts. 8.5/10 from me.
Metalbound7 - 09.10.2009 at 04:07  
The worst album of the band, its not that bad but Strimell vocals.... well he fits better on a Metalcore or a screamo band lol
Adjuchas Shaman - 06.02.2010 at 18:24  
I personally prefer Tomas Lindberg's Vocals. They are harsh and had a sort of percussive quality to them when he was with At The Gates(check out Thr Red In The Sky Is Ours, those were his best vocals.). Also, I think clean vocals are "emo" only when they are off key and breathy.
His Eminence - 06.02.2010 at 19:50  
This is their weakest album imo. Still enjoyable, but nowhere near the level of Sweet Vengeance. I enjoy Strimell's harsh and clean vocals, but his clean vocals did not fit in with Nightrage at all.
Kuroboshi - 14.02.2011 at 07:37  
I think dismaleuphony was right when he said that it's just forgettable. I find that to be the problem in general with Nightrage albums, with perhaps Sweet Vengeance as an exception. It's groovy to listen to, but I can't remember anything from it. In one ear, out the other.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nightrage - A New Disease Is Born 7.5 19.12.2010 by Ag Fox
News Nightrage - New Label, Enter The Studio In September 4.5 28.07.2014 by Kuroboshi
News Nightrage - New Video Online 4.5 11.05.2010 by MsNitch
News Nightrage - New Video, Album Streaming Online 4.5 21.02.2007 by Katatronik
News Nightrage - Working On New Album 4.5 05.11.2008 by Unconsecrated



Hits total: 3682 | This month: 37