Rating:
9.5
Ensiferum - Victory Songs
20 April 2007


Disc I [CD]
01. Ad Victoriam
02. Blood Is The Price Of Glory
03. Deathbringer From The Sky
04. Ahti
05. One More Magic Potion
06. Wanderer
07. Raised By The Sword
08. The New Dawn
09. Victory Song
10. Lady In Black [Uriah Heep cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [DVD]
01. Iron Tour
02. Photogallery


Everybody that is interested in this area of metal will know of the whole goings ons with Jari leaving after "Iron" in 2004 and then the anticipation and expectations for "Dragonheads" and this new album with Petri Lindroos taking over to fill in the large abyss Jari left. "Dragonheads" was more of a teaser for this new album than anything else, including just one actual new song - but now after some minor setbacks we finally have the highly awaited new Ensiferum album and this is the real deal.

Short introduction tracks of little relevance seems to be the popular thing nowadays but I cannot complain about the introduction to this album due to it presenting a lovely melody, and also because of its link to the last, and title track "Victory Song" that brings the album around almost into a circle. "Blood Is The Price Of Glory" kicks things off in the right direction sounding aggressive as ever and still keeping the trademark melody in there, but the magic of the album really doesn't start until we get to "Ahti", from here on the band shine so brightly, possibly like they have never done before providing their unique style of folkish metal that uses elements of power metal and entwines them perfectly with traces of black metal going from Markus and Sami's clean, almost sing along vocals to blastbeating and Petri's extreme vocals.

As well as "Ahti", single "One More Magic Potion" and almost ballad like "Wanderer" are real highlights in the album that will still be classics in this bands discography some years down the line. It is clear that the band has not lost any of their wondrous songwriting abilities and are still able to deliver the goods just as well as they always have been able to. This album is pretty much along the same vein as their other two albums; there aren't any major changes at all. Petri fits in like he has been a part of the band all along, and so hopefully band will now have a stable line-up for a good number of years.

Closing the album is the truly epic ten minute, and appropriately named "Victory Song" that really just epitomises the whole album. Galloping horse sounding drums to introduce the song, majestic melodies and a super catchy sing along chorus make this song, like pretty much everything else on this album, something really special and different to listen to. It has been quite some time now since I have been so engrossed in a new album that it makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck, it is such a pleasure to listen to and is a real gem of an album. Anyone remotely interested in folk music or power metal should fall in love with this album as soon as they hear it.


Band profile: Ensiferum
Album: Victory Songs


 



Written on 23.04.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 52  
Users visited: 288  
Search this topic:  


thorus - 23.04.2007 at 19:59  
I fully agree with you. This album will definitely be on my list of the top5 albums this year, without any doubt.
Valaskjalf - 23.04.2007 at 20:19  
you must be joking....if this is worth 9.2/10 then the previous 2 albums must be like 34/10
RavenLord - 23.04.2007 at 20:24  
Stylistically, nothing has really changed from Iron to this album...it's a natural progression, with Jari having left the band. Whether or not you like Petri's vocals, the instrumentation is as good as ever, and all the elements of folk and metal are perfectly entwined. Unlike Vlaskjalf, I can't find any filler at all on this album, and Iron had Tears, Slayer of Light and Mourning Heart, which all seemed a bit unnecessary. About an 8.9 from me (not quite as good as the first two).
Asat0r - 23.04.2007 at 21:15  
I've been waiting for this album for a while, I really hope I'm not let down. Now I must find some money so I can order it.
Stigmatized - 23.04.2007 at 21:26  
This album didn't really hit me. It's good, and sounds heavier than the first 2, but it doesn't grab you like the others.
Carrion - 23.04.2007 at 22:15  
Hum, we'll just see. I do like Pete's vocals so I think it will be good.
BORT - 23.04.2007 at 23:31  
Great album
Flame - 23.04.2007 at 23:52  
This album is great, but first two are much better.
Trinity Blood - 24.04.2007 at 02:12  
compared to the previous albums this album is boring and nothing special
Lokomotiv - 24.04.2007 at 03:24  
just two or three good songs, this album can't match the previous ones
cruel pain - 24.04.2007 at 08:11  
itz awesome..!! great job petri...!!!!
Both Bears - 24.04.2007 at 14:05  
didn't impress me I liked Iron and such
Opium - 24.04.2007 at 17:04  
Written by Lokomotiv on 24.04.2007 at 03:24

just two or three good songs, this album can't match the previous ones

I have the exact same thought regarding this album, there were a few killer tracks, although overall it lacked in so many areas. Though it's not a bad album, it simply doesn't make me want to listen to the whole thing again. I'd personally give it 8.0.
Arcik - 24.04.2007 at 17:58  
FINALLY!!!!
i coudnt w8 any longer
hard_tom - 24.04.2007 at 22:57  
Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....
Doc Godin - 25.04.2007 at 00:59  
Written by Asat0r on 23.04.2007 at 21:15

I've been waiting for this album for a while, I really hope I'm not let down. Now I must find some money so I can order it.

Wow, exact same thing I was going to say....every word, seriously.
GGFH - 25.04.2007 at 09:12  
A great album from a great band!!! 10/10
marts - 25.04.2007 at 23:29  
^^

I love it 9.5/10
maxou - 26.04.2007 at 13:27  
It's sounds really catchy...i'll put 9/10, sounds really good, perhaps not as good as the other two, bu really really great...ahti, victory song, blood is the price of glory are just exellent !
Mariela. - 28.04.2007 at 16:21  
Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....


I couldn't agree more..Ensiferums album was great and now we just have to wait and see what the new wintersun album will sound like! too bad it is delayed again =/
The Voice - 28.04.2007 at 16:54  
Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....


I did not see any news here...but on wintersun website it's pretty clear, TIME will be release in 2008 (at best)
cruel pain - 12.05.2007 at 11:39  
the previous 2 albums were better....
Danny Thomas - 13.05.2007 at 05:23  
theres only 1 strong that stands out to me on the first 4 songs, but the second half of the album is very good. overall i love this album, but i agree its not as good as the first 2
.:Jux:. - 22.05.2007 at 20:35  
Strong follow-up to the Iron album. I am very suprised that they pulled it off, because Dragonheads EP was very weak. 10/10
RavenLord - 22.05.2007 at 22:13  
Changed my mind...it's about a 9.2 in my book, and slightly better than Iron (although nowhere near as good as Ensiferum and Wintersun).
SnowSword - 22.05.2007 at 22:30  
Its the best album of Ensiferum excellent review
Damg - 21.06.2007 at 00:39  
I really liked it a lot, especially "one more magic potion", for me it's an excellent album, but not ensiferum's best.
HELLilac - 19.07.2007 at 08:03  
I like this album just as much as the previous 2. Of course people are going to say there's no sign of musical progression in this album but if it ain't broken why fix it?

Every tracks is good but Wanderer and the title track are super killers.
Infurnace - 19.07.2007 at 13:55  
It's a really good album, absolutely. Great review man! Definitely one of the top albums released in 2007, so far. "Wanderer" and "Raised By The Sword" are my favorite tracks.
Valaskjalf - 21.07.2007 at 13:58  
This album sucks mammoth balls......cant believe someone can give this 9.5/10 wtf?? Its a TERRIBLE disappointment, an abomination....its just...bland. I downloaded it, and tried to listen to it but jnothing stuck with me, the songs are crap in comparison to the first two albums and say what you want, when Jari left the whole soul of Ensiferum left with him because the songwriting is boring, the vocals annoying and the single from the album is about the worst song on it. Hard to believe people can even attempt to compare this with "Ensiferum" or "Iron", let alone think this can top it...pfft

5/10
Doc Godin - 04.09.2007 at 01:38  
I love this album. Review is somewhat accurate for me. its in my list of top 5 albums of the year.
Stalker - 04.12.2007 at 21:07  
I like it less than "Iron" but more than "Ensiferum". Good album IMO, but Iron is killer.

P.S. Am I only one who thinks that melody in "The New Dawn" is basicaly the main riff of Rhapsody's "Dawn Of Victory"
BurbotsRevenge - 27.12.2007 at 06:06  
im actually quite impressed with this album, its no 'iron' but its still pretty awesome
Abattoir - 28.12.2007 at 01:05  
Great album, no doubt...in their style of course...must love it
BORT - 10.01.2008 at 19:24  
once again great album
ozzysong - 02.02.2008 at 03:57  
Totally agree, awesome album from the intro to victory songs
Opeth771 - 22.06.2008 at 03:59  
Awesome album, 9.5/10 for me. I really like Petri!
Hamird - 22.06.2008 at 12:17  
I like this great album too... I think Ensiferum is one of those bands which is improving every year.. but I liked Meiju Enho, who left the band
Ellrohir - 22.06.2008 at 13:21  
one of the best releases in last year
plastikman - 14.08.2008 at 22:20  
I have read some of the replies here and feel a bit ambiguous.

I think this is a GREAT album, well as good as both the debut and Iron...

It's easily my favorite black folk metal band...
Powerslavex - 27.11.2008 at 17:05  
Another great album !
Xlaw - 01.05.2009 at 20:20  
This albums is a killer, liked it A LOT! more catchy than the previous 2
Rosaka - 05.05.2009 at 19:24  
All the albums are very good! I'm glad that Lindroos is doing great job as a singer and that there were no major changes in quality or style.
chematss - 06.07.2009 at 18:09  
9.5 out of 10??!? It's way too much..
Wes - 15.09.2009 at 23:18  
I know, while this album is good, its not good for Ensiferum.
The songs are cartoony, not epic or serious in any way. Just silly.
The power metal vocals and amorphis like vocals are so out of place, this album is kind of a joke at times.

What makes Ensiferum great is their Jari style chants and intense harsh vocals along with a mature melody.

This album fails at both of these. its just kind of bland, nothing unique. I'd give it a 7.

From Afar is good for Ensiferum. I think From Afar achieves everything they need to, truly great album, maybe even their best. I hope more people notice it >_>
Ellrohir - 16.09.2009 at 12:05  
Future will tell but i guess many people will think the same
Uirapuru - 30.12.2009 at 19:20  
It does not get any close to the ''Ensiferum'' and ''Iron''. This is hugely overrated. Around 7 is more than ok to me.
AngelofDeth - 14.12.2010 at 21:40  
Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....

haha and fours later......still waiting.

couldnt help but laugh when i saw the date on this post. no offense tho, im still waiting too..
D.a.n - 27.07.2011 at 16:31  
Written by AngelofDeth on 14.12.2010 at 21:40

Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....

haha and fours later......still waiting.

couldnt help but laugh when i saw the date on this post. no offense tho, im still waiting too..


Considering today's date, I think this post fully deserves to be necroed
Magician - 20.12.2011 at 04:50  
Im waiting too!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ensiferum - Unsung Heroes 7.5 27.08.2012 by Loathera
Reviews Ensiferum - From Afar 7.5 08.09.2009 by Galar
Articles Ensiferum, Naildown - Bradford, England, 8th April 2007 6.5 10.04.2007 by Baz Anderson
Articles Ensiferum - Nottingham, England, 21st September 2012 6.5 22.09.2012 by AngelofDeth
Articles Ensiferum, Metsatöll - Nottingham, England, 7th October 2009 6.5 08.10.2009 by Raiden



Hits total: 11296 | This month: 62