Ensiferum - Victory Songs review



Reviewer:
9.5

847 users:
8.42
Band: Ensiferum
Album: Victory Songs
Release date: April 2007


Disc I [CD]
01. Ad Victoriam
02. Blood Is The Price Of Glory
03. Deathbringer From The Sky
04. Ahti
05. One More Magic Potion
06. Wanderer
07. Raised By The Sword
08. The New Dawn
09. Victory Song
10. Lady In Black [Uriah Heep cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [DVD]
01. Iron Tour
02. Photogallery


Everybody that is interested in this area of metal will know of the whole goings ons with Jari leaving after "Iron" in 2004 and then the anticipation and expectations for "Dragonheads" and this new album with Petri Lindroos taking over to fill in the large abyss Jari left. "Dragonheads" was more of a teaser for this new album than anything else, including just one actual new song - but now after some minor setbacks we finally have the highly awaited new Ensiferum album and this is the real deal.

Short introduction tracks of little relevance seems to be the popular thing nowadays but I cannot complain about the introduction to this album due to it presenting a lovely melody, and also because of its link to the last, and title track "Victory Song" that brings the album around almost into a circle. "Blood Is The Price Of Glory" kicks things off in the right direction sounding aggressive as ever and still keeping the trademark melody in there, but the magic of the album really doesn't start until we get to "Ahti", from here on the band shine so brightly, possibly like they have never done before providing their unique style of folkish metal that uses elements of power metal and entwines them perfectly with traces of black metal going from Markus and Sami's clean, almost sing along vocals to blastbeating and Petri's extreme vocals.

As well as "Ahti", single "One More Magic Potion" and almost ballad like "Wanderer" are real highlights in the album that will still be classics in this bands discography some years down the line. It is clear that the band has not lost any of their wondrous songwriting abilities and are still able to deliver the goods just as well as they always have been able to. This album is pretty much along the same vein as their other two albums; there aren't any major changes at all. Petri fits in like he has been a part of the band all along, and so hopefully band will now have a stable line-up for a good number of years.

Closing the album is the truly epic ten minute, and appropriately named "Victory Song" that really just epitomises the whole album. Galloping horse sounding drums to introduce the song, majestic melodies and a super catchy sing along chorus make this song, like pretty much everything else on this album, something really special and different to listen to. It has been quite some time now since I have been so engrossed in a new album that it makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck, it is such a pleasure to listen to and is a real gem of an album. Anyone remotely interested in folk music or power metal should fall in love with this album as soon as they hear it.


 



Written on 23.04.2007 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments

Comments: 54   Visited by: 306 users
23.04.2007 - 19:59
thorus
Account deleted
I fully agree with you. This album will definitely be on my list of the top5 albums this year, without any doubt.
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 20:19
Valaskjalf
TheImperturbable
you must be joking....if this is worth 9.2/10 then the previous 2 albums must be like 34/10
----
IF THE MILK IS SOUR...I AINT THE KINDA PUSSY TO DRINK IT
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 20:24
RavenLord
Stylistically, nothing has really changed from Iron to this album...it's a natural progression, with Jari having left the band. Whether or not you like Petri's vocals, the instrumentation is as good as ever, and all the elements of folk and metal are perfectly entwined. Unlike Vlaskjalf, I can't find any filler at all on this album, and Iron had Tears, Slayer of Light and Mourning Heart, which all seemed a bit unnecessary. About an 8.9 from me (not quite as good as the first two).
----
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 21:15
Asat0r
I've been waiting for this album for a while, I really hope I'm not let down. Now I must find some money so I can order it.
----
To become the strongest, I am left with no regrets. Even if I am damned to Hell.
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 21:26
Stigmatized
..........
This album didn't really hit me. It's good, and sounds heavier than the first 2, but it doesn't grab you like the others.
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 22:15
Carrion
Account deleted
Hum, we'll just see. I do like Pete's vocals so I think it will be good.
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 23:31
BORT
Great album
Loading...
23.04.2007 - 23:52
Flame
This album is great, but first two are much better.
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 02:12
Trinity Blood
compared to the previous albums this album is boring and nothing special
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 03:24
Southern Wind
Account deleted
just two or three good songs, this album can't match the previous ones
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 08:11
cruel pain
carpathian flame
itz awesome..!! great job petri...!!!!
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 14:05
Both Bears
didn't impress me I liked Iron and such
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 17:04
Opium
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 24.04.2007 at 03:24

just two or three good songs, this album can't match the previous ones

I have the exact same thought regarding this album, there were a few killer tracks, although overall it lacked in so many areas. Though it's not a bad album, it simply doesn't make me want to listen to the whole thing again. I'd personally give it 8.0.
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 17:58
Arcik
arcikbtw@gmail.com
FINALLY!!!!
i coudnt w8 any longer
Loading...
24.04.2007 - 22:57
hard_tom
Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....
Loading...
25.04.2007 - 00:59
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Asat0r on 23.04.2007 at 21:15

I've been waiting for this album for a while, I really hope I'm not let down. Now I must find some money so I can order it.

Wow, exact same thing I was going to say....every word, seriously.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
25.04.2007 - 09:12
GGFH
A great album from a great band!!! 10/10
Loading...
25.04.2007 - 23:29
marts
Account deleted
^^

I love it 9.5/10
Loading...
26.04.2007 - 13:27
maxou
Account deleted
It's sounds really catchy...i'll put 9/10, sounds really good, perhaps not as good as the other two, bu really really great...ahti, victory song, blood is the price of glory are just exellent !
Loading...
28.04.2007 - 16:21
Mariela.
Account deleted
Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....


I couldn't agree more..Ensiferums album was great and now we just have to wait and see what the new wintersun album will sound like! too bad it is delayed again =/
Loading...
28.04.2007 - 16:54
The Voice
Account deleted
Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....


I did not see any news here...but on wintersun website it's pretty clear, TIME will be release in 2008 (at best)
Loading...
12.05.2007 - 11:39
cruel pain
carpathian flame
the previous 2 albums were better....
Loading...
13.05.2007 - 05:23
Danny Thomas
theres only 1 strong that stands out to me on the first 4 songs, but the second half of the album is very good. overall i love this album, but i agree its not as good as the first 2
----
Our children are dead. Burnt in the ruins that were left by war.
Loading...
22.05.2007 - 20:35
.:Jux:.
Strong follow-up to the Iron album. I am very suprised that they pulled it off, because Dragonheads EP was very weak. 10/10
Loading...
22.05.2007 - 22:13
RavenLord
Changed my mind...it's about a 9.2 in my book, and slightly better than Iron (although nowhere near as good as Ensiferum and Wintersun).
----
Loading...
22.05.2007 - 22:30
SnowSword
Account deleted
Its the best album of Ensiferum excellent review
Loading...
21.06.2007 - 00:39
Damg
Account deleted
I really liked it a lot, especially "one more magic potion", for me it's an excellent album, but not ensiferum's best.
Loading...
19.07.2007 - 08:03
HELLilac
I like this album just as much as the previous 2. Of course people are going to say there's no sign of musical progression in this album but if it ain't broken why fix it?

Every tracks is good but Wanderer and the title track are super killers.
----
AS SOON AS YOU'RE BORN, YOU'RE DYING..
Loading...
19.07.2007 - 13:55
Infurnace
It's a really good album, absolutely. Great review man! Definitely one of the top albums released in 2007, so far. "Wanderer" and "Raised By The Sword" are my favorite tracks.
Loading...
21.07.2007 - 13:58
Valaskjalf
TheImperturbable
This album sucks mammoth balls......cant believe someone can give this 9.5/10 wtf?? Its a TERRIBLE disappointment, an abomination....its just...bland. I downloaded it, and tried to listen to it but jnothing stuck with me, the songs are crap in comparison to the first two albums and say what you want, when Jari left the whole soul of Ensiferum left with him because the songwriting is boring, the vocals annoying and the single from the album is about the worst song on it. Hard to believe people can even attempt to compare this with "Ensiferum" or "Iron", let alone think this can top it...pfft

5/10
----
IF THE MILK IS SOUR...I AINT THE KINDA PUSSY TO DRINK IT
Loading...

Hits total: 14081 | This month: 67