Rating:
8.6
Angra - Rebirth
13 November 2001


01. In Excelsis
02. Nova Era
03. Millennium Sun
04. Acid Rain
05. Heroes Of Sand
06. Unholy Wars
    1 - Imperial Crown
    2 - Forgiven Return
07. Rebirth
08. Judgement Day
09. Running Alone
10. Visions Prelude [Adapted from Chopin's Opus 24 in C minor]
11. Bleeding Heart [bonus]


Sweet miracle of life, Angra is not dead! Exit Andre Matos [vocals, piano], Ricardo Confessori [drums] and Luis Mariutti [bass guitar] - who are all in the new Matos band called Shaman - and welcome Eduardo Falaschi [vocals], Aquiles Priester [drums] and Felipe Andreoli [bass guitar]! With this new line-up, the two guitar players/music writers Kiko Loureiro and Rafael Bittencourt have issued a new opus.

After having waited a long time with my old Angra's "Holy Land", I've finally got my "Rebirth" CD. And listening to it, I'm surprised to see that their music sounds more progressive and it seems that the new drummer is used to play such parts! The magic touch of the duo Loureiro/Bittencourt is still there, with incredible solos and the vocals are great with a surprising new singer. This guy sings in a way close to former singer Andre Matos, even if their voices sound different. It's hard to explain, you'll have to listen to them both to understand what I mean.

The moment of surprise finished, I can listen peacefully to this new album and it totally rules! Even Eduardo Falaschi has written some lyrics and all tracks are masterpieces. From 'Nova Era' to 'Acid Rain' through old school songs like 'Unholy Wars', the new Angra is really good. My favorite song of "Rebirth" is 'Millenium Sun' with its calm beginning and the progression of its music.

For those, who like the German band Vanden Plas, they might recognize the keyboards of Gunter Werno on "Rebirth": one thing that shows that this album is full of surprises and quality...

Grab this one off the shelves and make your own opinion, as for myself, I left the skeptic ranks to join the supporting fan base behind the Brazilian band and its new sound.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Angra
Album: Rebirth


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 26.08.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 95  
Search this topic:  


Carrion - 12.02.2007 at 21:23  
I've heard Nova Era and Heroes of Sand.. Boy they're good I should check out this record sometime.
Spyroid - 07.05.2007 at 18:26  
Listened to it yesterday for the first time since half a year or so, and God, how could I ever have doubted this masterpiece? I though it was a bit mediocre when it came, and well, it still is in a way, compared to the first two and Temple of Shadows, but compared to 95 % of any other power metal band it is incredibly awesome in every way, except from the last track which actually is very boring, maybe the worst Angra song in the first 5 albums (the only bad one?). Easily 9/10 anyway, and I agree with all your ratings.
Arcaliz666 - 28.06.2007 at 22:06  
Great debut of Edu Falaschi in Angra. It's the "Rebirth" of Angra

Best Tracks : Acid Rain, Rebith, Millenium Sun

Killing Track : Nova Era
Kib Thanyarath - 24.11.2007 at 19:25  
my fav songs: Nova Era, Rebirth and Heroes of Sand =)
Evil Chip - 11.03.2008 at 02:32  
Not their best album though it was their first album before the split up with the old members. Rebirth sounds too european for me and it has not much too offer like other albums. There's nothing new that I haven't seen in this album though it has great songs like Nova Era, Millenium Sun, Acid Rain, Running Alone and the adaptation from Chopin (I think) Visions Prelude.
Mountain King - 30.03.2009 at 00:11  
Falaschi is good and Acid Rain is one of Angra's best songs!
Uirapuru - 10.04.2009 at 13:04  
One of the most worshiped albums in Brazil, along with Iron Maiden's ''Somewhere In Time''. And I can't say that its not fair, since this album stabilished Angra as one of the best bands not only in Brazil, but all over the world.

Even thou its not their best work, it marks the succeceful transition of vocalist that end up perfectly replaced. And with him Angra produced classics of Progressive/Power metal: Rebirth, Nova Era and Heroes of Sand.

But to me, ''Unholy Wars'' its the track that represents the importance of this album, an brazillian epic, perfect in structure and execution.. best song in the album.
MeTalRea|istiK - 19.09.2010 at 17:09  
I have no fav track in this album bcoz all song MOTHERFUCKING RULE!!!!awesome!!
BlankFile - 23.02.2011 at 23:46  
This was an outstanding return by Angra. One of my favourite albums of them!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Angra - Freedom Call 7.5 05.03.2008 by Evil Chip
Reviews Angra - Holy Live 7.5 22.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Sigh - Gallows Gallery [re-edit] 4.5 22.05.2008 by Paradox0
Reviews Dawn Of Tears - Descent 4.5 24.03.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Virgin Black - Requiem - Fortissimo 4.5 08.12.2007 by Katatronik



Hits total: 5274 | This month: 55