Total Fucking Destruction - Zen And The Art Of Total Fucking Destruction review

Band: Total Fucking Destruction
Album: Zen And The Art Of Total Fucking Destruction
Release date: 2007

01. Beat Up
02. Intense Negative Vibe
03. Warfinger
04. Mad Pig Disease
05. We Are All Elvis Now
06. The Speed of Noise
07. Armed Response
08. Enslaved by Propaganda [Terrorizer cover]
09. Corpse Position
10. YARN
11. Bio-Satanic Terroristic Attack
12. Kill the Jocks And Eat Their Brains
13. Boxcutter
14. Nihilism Emptiness Nothingness Nonsense

Rich Hoak from Brutal Truth is the main brain in Total Fucking Destruction! and we surely can notice his effort; that statement alone will be enough for many people to rush themselves into buying this little piece. Now for the rest..."Zen And The Art Of Total Fucking Destruction" is supposed to be their debut full-length, though the first 10 songs are the only "previously un-released" ones actually, this is truly their first monumental album, their debut in popular grounds, a monstrous Grindcore attack!

This record has three individual segments, "T: Electric" covers the new material from this Philadelphia Grinders and we'll talk about this insane part a little later, then "F:acoustic" stands for the un-plugged section, songs that some of us heard already in their early EP's and Splits but with a really bizarre touch in them, I'm not a huge fan of this side but it gets entertaining once in a while; the final segment is the enhanced CD, "D: video" has 10 videoclips, the songs in here are both from the new repertoire and old songs, it's a very cool thing actually.

The really important juice comes in the first 10 tracks of this piece, we're talking about total madness here man! the new songs from Total Fucking Destruction are chaotic pieces with some mid-paced riffs to balance the stage, most of the time you'll be drowned in speedy riffing and ultra-fast beats (Rich Hoak is handling this part so we expect no less). Music-wise this album is just marvelous, but then we read the lyrics and something feels just wrong here, their "Everything Sucks And We Criticize Everything" concept crashes with their "We don't care about anything" scheme, I'm sure they'll call this "Nihilistic" or a "Nonesense" approach, but it's just way too trippy to contradict themselves so much, well...nevermind.

When we finally swallow the lyrical content everything just falls into the best position, the music is incredibly amazing and that's all that matters, then again, the acoustic part might be difficult for some to digest as it's not even very funny...Hoak is even playing with those drumsticks that look like small brooms, can't remember the name damn it!... but the first 10 tracks are totally worthwhile none the less.

This is Total Fucking Destruction ladies and gentlemen, 10 "unreleased" songs or just 2 of them will be enough for most Grinders to buy this piece with a big smile on their faces, chances are that you haven't even heard the previously released songs anyway, so give it a go already.

Best Tracks: The first 10.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8

Written by Herzebeth | 09.07.2007



Comments: 1   Visited by: 14 users
09.12.2011 - 02:39
This is actually really good. And I hate grindcore and Brutal Truth lol. It almost reminds me a bit of later era Gorguts too.

Hits total: 2773 | This month: 15