Rating:
7.5
Echoes Of Eternity - The Forgotten Goddess
20 February 2007


01. Burning With Life
02. Expressions Of Flesh
03. Voices In A Dream
04. Towers Of Silence
05. The Forgotten Goddess
06. The Kingdom Within
07. Circles In Stone
08. Garden Of The Gods
09. Lost Beneath A Silent Sky
10. Adrift


Female fronted bands have been hip in recent years, with the commercial success encountered by After Forever, Within Temptation, Nightwish and in a different style Arch Enemy. But don't be fooled, Echoes of Eternity is not a re-hash of those bands. Operating into a symphonic progressive Thrash registry, the US combo presents a one-of-a-kind album with their sophomore full-length album The Forgotten Goddess. And as with all Nuclear Blast new signings, any reviewer is more expectant.

The general response to this album - as far as I can tell - is halfway where the band wanted to be. While the concept of female singer fronting a progressive Thrash band has been regarded as innovative, some have called the result uneven. The charming Québécoise Francine Bouché singing style might be too crystalline or lyrical to fit the project, despite her great energy and her alluring physique. Some songs really click in while others almost sound like two bands are playing at the same time, which is the real downfall of The Forgotten Goddess.

For having seen the band on stage recently, I can tell you that the production of this record is far from giving the right light on their songs. This album sounds flat while the sound on stage was more like Meshuggah with a female singer. From the CD, it is almost impossible to guess that they have a dynamic duo of talented guitar players. Even the live rendering of their softer single 'Voices in a Dream' was a powerful deed to behold.

Songs like 'The Kingdom Within' or 'Circles in Stone' represent Echoes of Eternity to perfection, with softer lyrical passages mixed in with harsh riffs and a progressive entwine.

Hopefully, their undergoing first major tour is giving them some exposure to the right audience. People who can see the potential of Echoes of Eternity and foresee their next album as a more polished unique blend that will swoop their initial critics away. For now, The Forgotten Goddess is a more than decent debut album, but suffers from a case of tune-down production and a recurring spasm attack of strange dissonance between the vocals and the music. At the end of the day, Echoes of Eternity is surely a band to follow in the coming years.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 5


Band profile: Echoes Of Eternity
Album: The Forgotten Goddess


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 22.07.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 77  
Search this topic:  


Lupas - 23.07.2007 at 08:43  
Nice review DemonicTutor. I perfectly agree with this. The band wants more than this result for this Cd but by time i guess that this band will be a landmark in female fronted bands. I never saw them at stage like you do but they surely have talent. This was their first Cd , they have time to improve , especial with their highly motivated singer that they have. I mean that she has talent but in this production some songs where too overated by her voice . But they surely diserve to listen to this albmun, in a way they produce something different - trash metal with a female singer.
About the points that you gave , i must agree with them

great one
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 23.07.2007 at 19:56  
I saw them live a while ago, they kicked ass. I haven't heard the cd, but i got to listen to a couple songs, and i agree, the production is nothing compared with how they actually sound, o wanted to sound in the album, they're still a good band anyway btw, it's Francine Bouche dude xD not Sandrine cheers, good review.
nb - 23.07.2007 at 20:16  
I haven't heard the CD, just some samples. But I saw them on friday in support of Symphony X, and I enjoyed the good live sound they had. I have got to say though, that some of the guitar riffs sounded similar from song to song. Still they were good riffs. The singer did a good job, too.
Demonic Tutor - 24.07.2007 at 03:59  
Alright, Francine it is then. [Edited]. Thanks.
dismaleuphony - 24.07.2007 at 07:07  
Well, you've got me really curious to see them live now! It looks like they are doing at least 2 more stops in my area in the next 6 months, so I should have the chance I can't really comment on your thoughts about the drastic difference in the live sound versus the studio sound until then... but, I do like the asymmetrical and just weird combinations that the mix has given the vocals to the music on the studio sound at least. I don't think the production is quite that poor because it has created a unique sound that just may not be appealing to everyone. So I'd end up giving the CD a low 8 instead (for now). Other than that, a clear review - I think I'll make up my final decision on the disc once I see them live though
Soliloquy - 28.09.2007 at 18:05  
idk. i havnt seen them live. but truth be told, i was actually quite blown away by the album production. all their guitar solos, their bass, drums, and vocals somehow manage to be in the foreground. and this is something i havent seen in many albums. most of the time the guitarist tends to become egomaniac, and keep his/her volume much higher than the rest of the band, thus drowning the vocals, and bass.

as much as i liked the album, i gotta say that the first half of the album kicked total ass. with tracks 1, 3, 4, and 5 being what the the height of the album.

lyrically i didnt pay them much attention, but then i picked up their booklet to read along, and was laughing more often than being amused by em. the lyrics werent bad, but the booklet had so many spelling mistakes. which is weird because i have followed the band for about a year and a half before the album came out(on myspace) and the lyrics they posted up there had no spelling, or punctuation mistakes. making you think if the album was thrown together at the last minute.

but either way, the album moved em. and am waiting for their second album impatiently
PowerMetal - 10.10.2007 at 03:16  
I got to see them live with Symphony X, and they sounded great live. I completely agree with the production on the cd, the songs didn't always blend the instruments and vocals. Francine has a good voice, I just hope they can figure out the best way to use it.
KaoticKraker - 23.12.2007 at 11:24  
The first time I saw them was a couple of years ago when they played at the Nuclear Blast Christmas show with Dream Evil. I've seen them a couple of times. They are pretty good live, but the music and the vocals just don't go together that well. I thought they were a nice change to the norm though. What was awsome too is that I was at the Heaven and Hell show in cali and I saw Francine there in the crowd with everyone else. Nobody probably knew who she was, but she is cool I got her autograph and shit.
Lian - 28.12.2007 at 21:42  
Originality: 9 ?!?!...
U CRAZEH???!!!

Production is GOOD, originality, I would give them 4-5.
Stalker - 22.01.2008 at 22:49  
Sounds nice, and the production isnt bad at all IMO, Ive used to lot worse.... It seems interesting anyway, well see for how long, Ive heard it just for first time.
dismaleuphony - 23.01.2008 at 04:02  
Okay, I had the chance to see them live this past Saturday, and was interested to see what differences would arise in the live show versus the studio production... However, I found the band's sound very similar, except for the vocal effects found on the album were not present live, and therefore gave Francine a much more natural sound. Other than that though, I think they sounded identical to the CD, just better because it's a live show and I certainly don't have speakers that large in my home . And the two songs they played of new material sounded equally as good as their debut, if not better in the case of one of the songs!
rohgue123 - 29.01.2008 at 07:50  
I think the record actually focuses more on the vocals, they add wuite a bit of effects to her voice and everything else is n the background, I feel like the producer or whoever wanted to make this album appeal more to 14 y/o hot topic girls than actual metalheads. I talked to the band, the guitarist himself says the album has alot more ambience then he would've like and that next album will have a completely different sound,
rohgue123 - 29.01.2008 at 07:51  
Written by rohgue123 on 29.01.2008 at 07:50

add wuite a bit


sorry that should be 'quite'
Marcel Hubregtse - 23.10.2009 at 19:50  
Okay, please help me out what's Symphonic Progressive about their music? I really can't figure it out.
Daggon - 07.02.2010 at 10:05  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 23.10.2009 at 19:50

Okay, please help me out what's Symphonic Progressive about their music? I really can't figure it out.


The name of the subgenre Nothing else I guess.
treptolemus - 07.03.2010 at 22:05  
Nice album with nice lyrics too.

This is a mettlesome effort from the band. I think that music is contradictory with the vocals - but this is a characteristic not progressive of course, just some colours and style...

All in all an album that probably i can listen many times (this is quite important nowadays with this chaotic music industry)


Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Into Eternity - The Scattering Of Ashes 7.5 19.11.2006 by Spyroid
Reviews Redemption - The Origins Of Ruin 6 08.03.2008 by GT
Reviews Vintersorg - Visions From The Spiral Generator 6 29.03.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Amon Amarth - Versus The World 6 04.12.2007 by BurbotsRevenge
Reviews Scarpoint - The Silence We Deserve 6 13.11.2007 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 3475 | This month: 39