Rating:
9.5
Burzum - Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
April 1994


01. Det Som En Gang Var
02. Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
03. Inn I Slottet Fra Drømmen
04. Tomhet


For a long time I had overlooked most of Burzum's material. Not that it didn't sound appealing from what people were saying, but I just had the whole "I'll get to it later" attitude for a while. Well, I'm glad I didn't decide to wait any longer, because now I'm able to see why so many people enjoy Burzum.

Popping in "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss," right off the bat I'm reminded of Drudkh. Burzum is definitely more atmospheric than what I thought, especially with the long, drawn out synth & guitar beginning of "Det Som En Gang Var" (the first track). Around 3 minutes into the song, pounding drums come in, the synth backs off, and the song really gets going. Then at around 5 minutes in, we're confronted by Varg Vikernes himself.

Of all the black metal vocalists I've heard, Varg is definitely one of the most tortured-sounding individuals to have graced the genre. He screams as though he's being skinned alive...and to me that couldn't be more aesthetically pleasing. It's almost a shame that he went to prison. Almost.

Now I must say, while all of the songs on "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" are drawn out (the shortest song on the album clocks in at 7:53), they never cease to let go of your attention. Varg definitely knows when to trade off "brutal harshness" for "melancholy atmosphere," and vice-versa. His riffs are nice and heavy, and his synth melodies are pleasing to the ear. However, if I had to put my finger on one problematic track, it would be the last one, "Tomhet." Out of all of the songs on the album, "Tomhet" was the only one that felt needlessly drawn out. I'll admit that it was a very nice song, but it was a weak ending to a great album.

Other than that, "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" was fantastic. It was minimalistic at times, but it was also wonderfully atmospheric and downright harsh at others. Definitely an essential black metal album.

Hope you're havin' fun in jail, Varg.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Burzum
Album: Hvis Lyset Tar Oss


 


written by TombstoneHighway | 22.08.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 268  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 23.08.2007 at 15:15  
Absolutely agree man, this is an essential black metal album, the best Burzum album in my opinion... A MUST! Good review!
Lucas - 24.08.2007 at 19:18  
Definitely the best Burzum album out there. It rules.
W-Lash - 20.09.2007 at 23:27  
Yeah, it doesn't fit in all other Burzum album list. As TombstoneHighway said, it's more like Drudkh's stuff.
Wintermute - 26.03.2008 at 01:37  
Fantastic review! What a great album!
Uirapuru - 23.04.2008 at 07:35  
hah! great news... another masterpiece from Burzum isnt that obvious??
Metalhead2 - 02.05.2008 at 21:27  
wow someone who likes cof and cob likes burzum... good advancing

great album anyway
Ellrohir - 30.08.2009 at 22:46  
My most favorite album by Varg and probably the best as well...Tomhet is one of my "destiny songs"
alpinerocket - 12.10.2009 at 18:57  

10
Slayer666 - 21.01.2010 at 23:28  
Listening to it now.... What can I say, Varg may be an asshole as a person, but he's one sweet black metal artist.
JohnWayneGacy666 - 02.04.2010 at 11:51  
Written by Slayer666 on 21.01.2010 at 23:28

Listening to it now.... What can I say, Varg may be an asshole as a person, but he's one sweet black metal artist.

Euronymous was a feral mentally retarded ape, but a great guitarist Varg killed in self-defence personally i don't give a crap about his political views he's a musician not a facking politician, Det som en gang var is the best burzum album, but all vargs old stuff is awesome
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.04.2010 at 00:31  
Written by JohnWayneGacy666 on 02.04.2010 at 11:51

Euronymous was a feral mentally retarded ape, but a great guitarist Varg killed in self-defence


Since when is stabbing an UNARMED person multiple times in the BACK self-defence? That is just pure lame cowardness.
KvltovKthvlhv - 14.03.2011 at 21:10  
I agree with the entire review, except I really love Tomhet, I didn't at first, but after awhile I grew to enjoy, if there is a weak track on here I think it's the second one, and It's still pretty awesome, just a bit more boring then the rest of them.
BeastOfMetal456 - 05.10.2011 at 21:37  
"Then at around 5 minutes in, we're confronted by Varg Vikernes himself. " So true...
Great review for one of the greatest black metal albums of all time.
Daniell - 26.10.2011 at 09:44  
10 for performance... the guy couldn't play any instrument properly and you gave him max rating
Evil Chip - 16.01.2013 at 00:04  
Beautiful album. The last song sounds like a Donkey Kong water stage song. Probably the best Burzum album I've listened so far.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Burzum - Hvis Lyset Tar Oss 9 29.08.2011 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Burzum - Filosofem 4.5 09.02.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews Burzum - Umskiptar 4 11.05.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Burzum - Dauði Baldrs 4 24.09.2010 by vezzy
News Burzum - More Anthology Details Available 3 12.04.2008 by Lucas



Hits total: 5939 | This month: 72