Burzum - Hvis Lyset Tar Oss review



Reviewer:
9.5

457 users:
8.58
Band: Burzum
Album: Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
Release date: April 1994


01. Det Som En Gang Var
02. Hvis Lyset Tar Oss
03. Inn I Slottet Fra Drømmen
04. Tomhet


For a long time I had overlooked most of Burzum's material. Not that it didn't sound appealing from what people were saying, but I just had the whole "I'll get to it later" attitude for a while. Well, I'm glad I didn't decide to wait any longer, because now I'm able to see why so many people enjoy Burzum.

Popping in "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss," right off the bat I'm reminded of Drudkh. Burzum is definitely more atmospheric than what I thought, especially with the long, drawn out synth & guitar beginning of "Det Som En Gang Var" (the first track). Around 3 minutes into the song, pounding drums come in, the synth backs off, and the song really gets going. Then at around 5 minutes in, we're confronted by Varg Vikernes himself.

Of all the black metal vocalists I've heard, Varg is definitely one of the most tortured-sounding individuals to have graced the genre. He screams as though he's being skinned alive...and to me that couldn't be more aesthetically pleasing. It's almost a shame that he went to prison. Almost.

Now I must say, while all of the songs on "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" are drawn out (the shortest song on the album clocks in at 7:53), they never cease to let go of your attention. Varg definitely knows when to trade off "brutal harshness" for "melancholy atmosphere," and vice-versa. His riffs are nice and heavy, and his synth melodies are pleasing to the ear. However, if I had to put my finger on one problematic track, it would be the last one, "Tomhet." Out of all of the songs on the album, "Tomhet" was the only one that felt needlessly drawn out. I'll admit that it was a very nice song, but it was a weak ending to a great album.

Other than that, "Hvis Lyset Tar Oss" was fantastic. It was minimalistic at times, but it was also wonderfully atmospheric and downright harsh at others. Definitely an essential black metal album.

Hope you're havin' fun in jail, Varg.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 8

Written by TombstoneHighway | 22.08.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 307 users
23.08.2007 - 15:15
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Absolutely agree man, this is an essential black metal album, the best Burzum album in my opinion... A MUST! Good review!
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
24.08.2007 - 19:18
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Definitely the best Burzum album out there. It rules.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
20.09.2007 - 23:27
W-Lash
Metal Master
Yeah, it doesn't fit in all other Burzum album list. As TombstoneHighway said, it's more like Drudkh's stuff.
Loading...
26.03.2008 - 01:37
Wintermute
Fantastic review! What a great album!
----
Life is a waste of time.... time is a waste of life.
Loading...
23.04.2008 - 07:35
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
hah! great news... another masterpiece from Burzum isnt that obvious??
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
02.05.2008 - 21:27
Metalhead2
Skinhead1
wow someone who likes cof and cob likes burzum... good advancing

great album anyway
Loading...
30.08.2009 - 22:46
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
My most favorite album by Varg and probably the best as well...Tomhet is one of my "destiny songs"
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
12.10.2009 - 18:57
alpinerocket

10
----
Never again
On your forcefed illusions to choke
You feed off my pain
Feed off my life..
Loading...
21.01.2010 - 23:28
Slayer666
Listening to it now.... What can I say, Varg may be an asshole as a person, but he's one sweet black metal artist.
Loading...
02.04.2010 - 11:51
JohnWayneGacy666
Written by Slayer666 on 21.01.2010 at 23:28

Listening to it now.... What can I say, Varg may be an asshole as a person, but he's one sweet black metal artist.

Euronymous was a feral mentally retarded ape, but a great guitarist Varg killed in self-defence personally i don't give a crap about his political views he's a musician not a facking politician, Det som en gang var is the best burzum album, but all vargs old stuff is awesome
Loading...
04.04.2010 - 00:31
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by JohnWayneGacy666 on 02.04.2010 at 11:51

Euronymous was a feral mentally retarded ape, but a great guitarist Varg killed in self-defence


Since when is stabbing an UNARMED person multiple times in the BACK self-defence? That is just pure lame cowardness.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.03.2011 - 21:10
KvltovKthvlhv
I agree with the entire review, except I really love Tomhet, I didn't at first, but after awhile I grew to enjoy, if there is a weak track on here I think it's the second one, and It's still pretty awesome, just a bit more boring then the rest of them.
----
When night falls she cloaks the world in impenatrable darkness, a chill rises from the soil and contaminates the air...suddenly life has new meaning
Loading...
05.10.2011 - 21:37
BeastOfMetal456
Account deleted
"Then at around 5 minutes in, we're confronted by Varg Vikernes himself. " So true...
Great review for one of the greatest black metal albums of all time.
Loading...
26.10.2011 - 09:44
Daniell
No, you don't
10 for performance... the guy couldn't play any instrument properly and you gave him max rating
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
16.01.2013 - 00:04
Evil Chip
Beautiful album. The last song sounds like a Donkey Kong water stage song. Probably the best Burzum album I've listened so far.
Loading...

Hits total: 7497 | This month: 48