Metallica - ...And Justice For All review



Reviewer:
9.0

2541 users:
8.85
Band: Metallica
Album: ...And Justice For All
Release date: August 1988


01. Blackened
02. ...And Justice For All
03. Eye Of The Beholder
04. One
05. The Shortest Straw
06. Harvester Of Sorrow
07. The Frayed Ends Of Sanity
08. To Live Is To Die
09. Dyers Eve
10. The Prince [Japanese bonus]
11. One [live] [digital reissue bonus]
12. ...And Justice For All [live] [digital reissue bonus]


When I came across Aguirre's review of Metallica's '...And Justice For All', I immediately spewed Coca-Cola everywhere and threatened the non-stickiness of my keyboard. I didn't see it coming, I guess. Aguirre is entitled to his opinion, but what follows is my review of Metallica's 'last great' and 'progressive' album.

Within 30 seconds of listening to the album it is easy to tell it has a sound unlike any other album before it. The guitars are paper-thin, the drums are 'clinky', and sometimes you forget the band has a bassist. However, the sound fits the songs perfectly and it would be hard to imagine them with 'Ride The Lightning' or 'Master Of Puppets' era production.

The album starts off fantastically with 'Blackened'. It's about the end of the earth through nuclear war, much like 'Fight Fire With Fire' from Ride The Lightning. The title track is excellent and progressive. "One" is great (though it is overrated). I crank up my speakers while driving 80 mph down the freeway at 3:54. It's one of my all time favourite parts to any Metallica song. Other highlights are up, down, abound and around such as the slower 'Harvester Of Sorrow', the semi-instrumental 'To Live Is To Die' with a few lyrics penned by the late great Cliff Burton (RIP), and the farewell to Thrash speed of 'Dyers Eve'. The only song I find boring is 'Eye Of The Beholder', and even then I love the chorus.

This is an angry album. James is at his rage-spitting best here. It's great to listen to now and I can't imagine what the people thought when they heard this back in 1988. Plus it sounds even better today standing next to the following three Metallica albums beginning with 'Load'. It's a great, angry, slightly progressive, slightly slower album that deserves respect. It gets criticized due to its sound and progressiveness. I do not think this is a Progressive Metal album. It has progressive tinges and dabbles in it a little, but this is still a Thrash album.

...And Justice For All is not as good as the previous two Metallica albums in my opinion, but it is still a classic Metallica release and shouldn't be considered otherwise. Crank it up!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8

Written by Powerslave16 | 29.09.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Joey Jo Jo
Rating:
5.0
Hmmm, so this is the last "true" Metallica classic? Let me start off by saying a lot of fans consider this to be their "progressive" album, while after hearing it through, the only thing I can point out that has "progressed" is the band's ability to bore the listener into a deep coma after a couple tracks.

Read more ››
published 05.08.2005 | Comments (89)

Guest review by
!Mac!
Rating:
8.0
It can easily be said that music is a photo in time. A fragment in where society is once shot, forever leaving the remembrance of where and who we were. This translates directly and more so intently to an artist or band, and where they were in their lives and careers when a piece of work was released. For Metallica in 1988, two-years removed from a loss of a brother, a friend and a band mate, bassist Cliff Burton, they showed their scars in an album that I can only help but adore. "…And Justice For All" is a long, (65-minutes long, 10 less than the maximum) drawn out, epic, loud, angry, and emotionally charged record that sweeps its listeners up into its messages and endless musicianship.

Read more ››
published 03.12.2008 | Comments (5)

Guest review by
Hermann Langke
Rating:
8.9
Metallica! Need we say anything more about this band? They are the biggest Heavy Metal band ever to have existed, sold more records than any other Metal band and have performed in almost all the countries on the planet. They are the fathers of Thrash Metal and are one of the most influential bands of all time. Most of you know a great deal about them so I won't be elaborating anymore.

Read more ››
published 04.07.2010 | Comments (27)


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 40   Visited by: 171 users
29.06.2009 - 02:09
HALOOOOOOOO
Account deleted
Written by Lord_Regnier on 13.04.2009 at 05:21

Written by Deadmeat on 13.04.2009 at 04:32

Yeah you are right. dyers eve is a bit faster. i checked it. but generally i think blackened is one of the fastest songs metallica ever wrote.


"Blackened" is one of their fastest songs, indeed. "Dyer's Eve" is the fastest song Metallica have ever made.

Actually, Battery, Blackened, and Fight Fire with Fire (near the start) are all at equal tempo with Dyer's Eve. FFWF slows down over the course of the song but whatever. And I think My Apocalypse on DM is as fast as these songs too.
Loading...
30.11.2009 - 17:35
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Dyer's Eve is intense one of the best metal songs ever!!!
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
25.01.2010 - 16:09
macraigma
The Shortest Straw AWESOME!
----
"Now for the weak an abortion
Celebrate perfection that grows
The flesh, a gift of science
The soul a fault of a god"
Loading...
13.12.2012 - 13:10
Fritillaria
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.11.2008 at 12:41

Written by LeChron James on 11.11.2008 at 05:24


really to be honest, Dyer's Eve and sometimes One. but aside from that i can pass on this one without any second thoughts.


Wow, and not even Battery? And I thought I was hard on this album

And I actually thought that it was only people of my generation that would dislike this album and not of your generation.

Well, good to hear that are actually other sensible (younger in this case) people around

BUT how about To Live Is To Die ?
Loading...
13.12.2012 - 13:18
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 13.12.2012 at 13:10


BUT how about To Live Is To Die ?


snoozefest galore
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
13.12.2012 - 13:22
Fritillaria
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2012 at 13:18

Written by Guest on 13.12.2012 at 13:10


BUT how about To Live Is To Die ?


snoozefest galore

oh I'm really shocked, is there anything wrong with my ears or with my taste,I should find it out asap!
Loading...
14.12.2012 - 09:33
Daniell
_爱情_
When I listened to this album in 1988 I was totally amazed and I thought it was a masterpiece. But the more time passed the less I liked some of the songs. Right now I think that only 4, or maybe 5 songs are really good: Dyers' Eve, One, Blackened, Shortest Straw amd maybe the title song.
When one looks at this album closely, it becomes blatantly obvious how important Cliff Burton was for Metallica.
----
Now loving:
Naglfar - I Am Vengeance
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Depeche Mode - Going Backwards
Flotsam & Jetsam - Forbidden Territories
Immolation - When the Jackals Come
Suffocation - Your Last Breaths
Loading...
15.12.2012 - 23:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Really like this album, don't understand the hate.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
16.12.2012 - 01:57
Fritillaria
Account deleted
Written by Boxcar Willy on 15.12.2012 at 23:47

Really like this album, don't understand the hate.
well Perhaps this is not my first fav by Metallica but still I'd really have great amount of interest in it, so I don't understand the hate either!
Loading...
29.07.2016 - 00:08
Bad English
Masterchief
I have to add that opening track in most boring in whole band discography, in other older and newer all has better openers
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Hits total: 6170 | This month: 23