Rating:
6.9
Farsot - IIII
29 October 2007


01. Thematik: Hass
02. Hass - Angst
03. Thematik: Angst
04. Angst - Tod
05. Thematik: Tod
06. Tod - Trauer
07. Thematik: Trauer


Farsot is a German five-headed Black Metal monster that spawned into this wicked world in 1999 AD. After eight years of sweat and blood and two demos (which are unknown to me), they have finally released their début album "IIII." No, that's not a spelling mistake and yes, that should have been "IV" if they are intended to be Roman characters. It seems to be some sort of tradition of this band to name their music and members with random codes. Their first demo bears the name of "042103Freitod" and one of the band members calls himself 10.XIXt (the vocalist).

Despite all this, the music is hardly as unique as the aforementioned examples. Farsot offers a dark and slightly sad form of well produced Black Metal, with some hints of ambient (the interludes) and acoustic guitars. The problem with this band is that the music itself isn't all that bad: a good riff here and a cold scream there; it just does not "last" long enough. As soon as I've turned off the album I have already forgotten what I just heard. Don't get me wrong, the music itself is rather enjoyable when listening to it, but it doesn't nestle itself in side my head like music should.

Luckily, there is one track that saves this album the grey and misty fields of the average. Taking up roughly half of the album, Themathik: Trauer, contains everything that was good about the previous tracks and a bit more. Strongly relying on Shining with it's dark riffs, the acoustic guitars and the vocals this is easily the best song of the album. It doesn't touch the maniacal madness of the Swedish band, but it is a good attempt.

One could argue whether originality is important, and too which degree. However, doing so will get you nowhere. It is better to state the facts and they are 'IIII' is indeed a pretty strong album, especially for Black Metal fans. I aim my thoughts to the future and will keep track of this band, because they already show a good deal of potential.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 7


Band profile: Farsot
Album: IIII


 



Written on 04.11.2007 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 77  
Search this topic:  


Queen Of Hippies - 04.11.2007 at 21:20  
Haha, i'm being honest here, really, I did listen to the album before you review it, and now I have to listen to it again to be able to post this comment. I couldn't even believe I did listen to it and gave a rating already. And I gave it a good rating. So I couldn't agree more with this review.
Also, the name of the album and the song titles remind me of Shining, so it is not just the music that's similar.
Damnated - 05.11.2007 at 20:53  
i was surprised to hear an extract from Allegri's Miserere, but disappointed that it wasn't used. it was just there. rather cheap and uninspired, imo. The album overall is forgettable, but still better than half of today's bm.
Lucas - 05.11.2007 at 20:55  
Written by Damnated on 05.11.2007 at 20:53

forgettable, but still better than half of today's bm.


exactly my point
Opium - 31.01.2008 at 01:14  
I love this album, I don't care for originality here, the music alone just makes it brilliant, a 9 from me.
Marcus - 29.04.2008 at 22:44  
Even after reading this review, I expected the music to be somewhat unique, after all, all of their song titles and member names are quite odd. But for the most part, the music does a nice job of mixing up pacing, although it all starts to sound the same in the end. Oddly enough, the album got some pretty good reviews from different sites, and IMO, it deserved more than a 6.9, but I've never heard Shining, so I couldn't comment on originality.
TheBigRossowski - 24.04.2009 at 19:11  
Don't know why I've never read this before now

However, I feel like it was a little better than that. I even talked with Promonex about them at the show in October.. or September. I still see a glimpse of light from the band and not such direct Shining influences. After all, aren't we ALL allowed to hate life? lol. I'm going to give it a bit better rating.
Lucas - 08.11.2009 at 14:29  
Checked back on this album a week or two ago. It's getting quite a lot of praise whenever they're mentioned, so I thought maybe I was wrong concerning this band.

But once again I was disappointed by this band. I somewhat liked it when it was playing, but once again, nothing stuck.
DreadfulYgg - 30.07.2010 at 08:10  
I don't think they sound like Shining at all. Sure, they're also dark and depressing at times, often having a progressive bent, but that doesn't mean it makes them a Shining clone. Far from it. I think this is a really promising debut album from a very talented band. I see Farsot getting better with each new album. As for IIII, it gets a 8 from me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Acid Witch - Witchtanic Hellucinations 3 24.11.2008 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Shores Of Sheol - Eternal Sin - The Great Conquest 3 26.02.2009 by AncientOrigins
Reviews Dodsferd - Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow 3 17.05.2009 by Italics
Reviews Luctus - Jauciant Pabaiga Arti 3 07.09.2009 by Doc Godin
Reviews Beyond Black Void - Desolate 3 14.07.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 4791 | This month: 32