Rating:
10
Wintersun - Wintersun
13 September 2004


Disc I
01. Beyond The Dark Sun
02. Winter Madness
03. Sleeping Stars
04. Battle Against Time
05. Death And The Healing
06. Starchild
07. Beautiful Death
08. Sadness And Hate
09. Winter Madness [demo] [Japanese bonus]
10. Beyond The Dark Sun [demo] [Japanese bonus]
11. Death And The Healing [demo] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Tour Edition DVD] [Live At Summer Breeze 2005]
01. Beyond The Dark Sun
02. Battle Against Time
03. Sleeping Stars
04. Beautiful Death
05. Death And The Healing
06. Winter Madness


When in 2004 Jari Mäenpää left Ensiferum, few people could imagine what impact that would leave on the metal community. Ensiferum got on pretty we'll, but what Jari did with his new band Wintersun was something quite unexpected. There are only few albums that deserve this kind of praise and hype, but I think this one is one of them.

Maybe it's hard do describe what genre Wintersun belongs to, but something like "Extreme Epic Power Metal" would suit well, although you can definitely hear many metal genres here from Blackish/Folk/Viking sound to Progressive parts. The key word here is Epic. From the first to the last second of the album, you have the feeling of listening to a masterpiece. First and foremost, all music and lyrics were written by Jari, and he played all the Guitars, Bass, Keys as well as sung all the vocals both harsh and clean ones. And what a fine job he did. He showed us his great abilities, where he proved to be extremely good both in clean and growl vocals, to the point where some might wonder if this is the same man singing. Guitars, both rhythm and solo, are perfectly played, giving distinctly unique atmosphere. Catchy, melodic riffs are backed up by powerful rhythms. Keyboards are geniously mixed in the music, not disturbing the balance and perfectly matching with guitars to create somewhat "Bodom-ish" Guitar-Keys sound. Drums, the only part of an album not played by Jari, were done by Kai Hahto. He has done his job flawlessly, from fast blast beats, to tricky rhythm changes, giving Wintersun a sound that will blow your mind out.

Production is another thing that's really important here. It is simply excellent; you can hear all the instruments, everything in it's place. The album is not overproduced, you don't get that feeling that the sound and music are lost in hyper production. It's production that serves the music, not vice versa. One could argue that there is still room for improvement on this field, which is probably true, but bear in mind that still, this is a very good part of an album, and that Wintersun is not a band that can afford expensive production.

Finally, one of the most important things, the lyrics. Jari proves himself to be a brilliant songwriter. Every song has it's own story. Lyrical themes vary from life and dreams, to winter and stars, but every song is just brilliant when it comes to lyrics. In general you can feel the melancholic, even sorrowful atmosphere of the album. But even if you don't pay that much attention to lyrics, find some time and read them, it will leave you wondering at least. In the end everything is packed up in great artistic picture on the cover of the album, together with distinctive band logo.

Considering this debut, Wintersun now have a hard task of giving us another masterpiece with their second effort, and it will be hard to overcome this one.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Wintersun
Album: Wintersun


 


written by RhaegarTargaryen | 21.12.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Hyvaarin

Rating:
10
Those readers who are familiar with the history of folk/power-metallers Ensiferum will doubtless be familiar with the history of Wintersun (i.e. that after walking out on Ensiferum, main man Jari Maënpäa formed the latter as a solo project). Speculation was rife in melodic metal circles - expectations for 'Wintersun' were largely high, though some suspected that Wintersun would be little more than Ensiferum Pt.II. In spite of the various similarities between this release and those of Maënpäa's former band (and make no mistake- they do exist), 'Wintersun' is very much an exceptional album, and will be reviewed as such.

Read more ››
published 16.06.2006 | Comments (79)

Guest review by
Black_Handed

Rating:
9.4
Ok, just to make it clear right at the beginning, I absolutely love/adore/worship (choose preferred term) this album. And I'm not alone, just check the number of fans in "Featured bands" section. So reviewing this album comes with great responsibility.
Jari Mäenpää started as a part of Ensiferum. Great black folk metal band if you'd ask me. So why did he leave? He came up with some interesting not-so-Ensiferum-like ideas. So he started his own project with drummer Kai Hahto of Rotten Sound grinders. But where are the others? Where are synth, bass, second guitar players we can hear in there? Well by the time Wintersun was recorded Jari Mäenpää did everything except drums. Yes, everything except drums. Later on Jukka Koskinken of Norther and Teemu Mäntysaari joined to finish the lineup.

Read more ››
published 07.07.2006 | Comments (25)

Guest review by
Talvi

Rating:
9.2
Wintersun is the band Jari Mäenpää started after leaving Ensiferum. Some people dispise this band because they compare it to Ensiferum and say it's worse. Big mistake. This probably isn't as bombastic and catchy as Ensiferum, of course, but, what is Wintersun?

I've seen them labelled as Melodic Death Metal, as well as Extreme Power Metal. The first thing that comes to my mind though, is Children Of Bodom. But Children Of Bodom they are not. They play somewhat epic, almost progressive Melodic Death/Black Metal with Folk influences. You may see it as less Folk-like, as only some riffs have Folk qualities, but more aggressive and complex Ensiferum. It's far more than just that however.

Read more ››
published 29.12.2006 | Comments (5)

Guest review by
Andro Maximus

Rating:
7.5
A most beautiful melancholic album cover, fast sweeping guitar solos, some fantastic melodies, and an epic, if slightly overproduced soundscape - Wintersun's debut album is clearly the result of a lot of passion and hard work and is obviously intended to be a monumental album. It is a shame then, that with so much going for it, Wintersun falls short of being the masterpiece that it is intended to be.

Read more ››
published 27.07.2014 | Comments (11)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 175  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 21.12.2007 at 05:22  
You gotta be joking. What a totally unnecessary terrible review. Theres already 3 other reviews for this same album giving the same overrated praise. I gotta be honest, I only got about halfway through your review before I figured I was wasting my time.
BurbotsRevenge - 21.12.2007 at 08:23  
i have to agree with Dr.Rock, sorry... but seriously, there are 3 other reviews, bassically exactly the same as this one... nice review, enough for this album already...
Introspekrieg - 21.12.2007 at 10:29  
Solitude, Dominance, Tragedy needs a review... wouldn't that have been a better choice for a first review? It's apparently one of your favorite albums...
Talvi - 04.01.2008 at 16:46  
I'd love to see a negative review of this album, the lowest I've seen was of 7.4
deadset61 - 08.01.2008 at 04:27  
Good review man this was a very good album no matter what anyone else says
Bow To Cheese!!! - 31.01.2008 at 01:31  
Not every "great" album deserves a 10... I like this album a lot but damn, one of the biggest flaws of this site is that people always give the albums they adore high 9's and 10's, and they give 1's to albums they hate.. album's a mid-high 8 for me.
Doc Godin - 31.01.2008 at 01:46  
Written by Guest on 31.01.2008 at 01:31

Not every "great" album deserves a 10... I like this album a lot but damn, one of the biggest flaws of this site is that people always give the albums they adore high 9's and 10's, and they give 1's to albums they hate.. album's a mid-high 8 for me.

Thank you, I think you put it exactly how I see it. It probably seems like I hate Wintersun, which I dont, I just hate the unnecessary worshiping this album gets, sure it is very good, but believe it or not, there are many flaws in it just like every other album on the planet.
Bow To Cheese!!! - 31.01.2008 at 02:07  
Written by Doc Godin on 31.01.2008 at 01:46

Written by Guest on 31.01.2008 at 01:31

Not every "great" album deserves a 10... I like this album a lot but damn, one of the biggest flaws of this site is that people always give the albums they adore high 9's and 10's, and they give 1's to albums they hate.. album's a mid-high 8 for me.

Thank you, I think you put it exactly how I see it. It probably seems like I hate Wintersun, which I dont, I just hate the unnecessary worshiping this album gets, sure it is very good, but believe it or not, there are many flaws in it just like every other album on the planet.

Thanks, haha when I saw that I got quoted on a Wintersun review I thought I was getting bashed by a worshiper. I agree with you, there is no such thing as perfection in an album, in fact I wouldn't even give my favourite album a rating as high as this one. Let's hope their next album is reviewed more fairly.
Doc Godin - 31.01.2008 at 02:12  
Written by Guest on 31.01.2008 at 02:07

Written by Doc Godin on 31.01.2008 at 01:46

Written by Guest on 31.01.2008 at 01:31

Not every "great" album deserves a 10... I like this album a lot but damn, one of the biggest flaws of this site is that people always give the albums they adore high 9's and 10's, and they give 1's to albums they hate.. album's a mid-high 8 for me.

Thank you, I think you put it exactly how I see it. It probably seems like I hate Wintersun, which I dont, I just hate the unnecessary worshiping this album gets, sure it is very good, but believe it or not, there are many flaws in it just like every other album on the planet.

Thanks, haha when I saw that I got quoted on a Wintersun review I thought I was getting bashed by a worshiper. I agree with you, there is no such thing as perfection in an album, in fact I wouldn't even give my favourite album a rating as high as this one. Let's hope their next album is reviewed more fairly.

we both know it wont be, its going to be given a 9.9 out of 10 and theres going to be 8 reviews stating the exact same thing & rating.
RhaegarTargaryen - 01.02.2008 at 03:11  
Maybe cause this album deserves 11 out of 10 if u ask me ))))
Warman - 05.02.2008 at 22:34  
Yeah the album is awesome in every way. I rate it a 9 though since it hasn't "changed" me like other albums worth 10.
Doc Godin - 07.02.2008 at 01:59  
Written by RhaegarTargaryen on 01.02.2008 at 03:11

Maybe cause this album deserves 11 out of 10 if u ask me ))))

I respect ones own opinions and such, but review master Jeff was kind enough to make this thread/announcement:
http://www.metalstorm.ee/forum/topic.php?topic_id=167

Read the first post very carefully and you'll find something very interesting.
Toast - 27.09.2008 at 02:40  
This album's alright, but why the hell are there 4 reviews lol...?

I swear one person decided to make a lame/overated review and rate it a 10, and then 3 others thought "Oh my gosh, I want to write the exact same thing!!! , wait, actually i'll only rate it 9.9 so I won't get bashed ".

I'd give it a 7.5 - 8.
Slayer666 - 07.02.2009 at 23:59  
God the f**k damn it, this is the only album I've seen on MS that has 4 reviews... And they are tottaly the same. I don't think this album is worth THAT much fuss... no album is, really. High time someone wrote something to trash this album... I'm getting a few ideas.
Doc Godin - 08.02.2009 at 00:05  
Written by Slayer666 on 07.02.2009 at 23:59

God the f**k damn it, this is the only album I've seen on MS that has 4 reviews... And they are tottaly the same. I don't think this album is worth THAT much fuss... no album is, really. High time someone wrote something to trash this album... I'm getting a few ideas.

As much as I like that idea, please don't write a review sheerly out of spite, though a more reasonable review might be nice.
Slayer666 - 08.02.2009 at 00:10  
Written by Doc Godin on 08.02.2009 at 00:05

Written by Slayer666 on 07.02.2009 at 23:59

God the f**k damn it, this is the only album I've seen on MS that has 4 reviews... And they are tottaly the same. I don't think this album is worth THAT much fuss... no album is, really. High time someone wrote something to trash this album... I'm getting a few ideas.

As much as I like that idea, please don't write a review sheerly out of spite, though a more reasonable review might be nice.

Mmmmm, I live off of spite. Just kidding, but, the album deserves a 8.5 at most. But, no, I won't give it a review because that will only help in it's overration. No, to truly show that this album is not that damn good, I must ignore it, therefore marking it as unworthy of my time.
Zmaj Ognjeni Vuk - 08.02.2009 at 00:20  
Yeah, I really don't understand all the hype about this album/band. I'm not saying its bad, but a strong 7/fragile 8 would fit just fine.
Doc Godin - 08.02.2009 at 00:20  
Written by Slayer666 on 08.02.2009 at 00:10

Mmmmm, I live off of spite. Just kidding, but, the album deserves a 8.5 at most. But, no, I won't give it a review because that will only help in it's overration. No, to truly show that this album is not that damn good, I must ignore it, therefore marking it as unworthy of my time.

That and you'll quickly become the most hated user on metalstorm. Let bygones be bygones I guess is a good path.

Written by Zmaj Ognjeni Vuk on 08.02.2009 at 00:20

Yeah, I really don't understand all the hype about this album/band. I'm not saying its bad, but a strong 7/fragile 8 would fit just fine.

Couldn't have put it better myself.
Slayer666 - 08.02.2009 at 14:25  
Written by Doc Godin on 08.02.2009 at 00:20

Written by Slayer666 on 08.02.2009 at 00:10

Mmmmm, I live off of spite. Just kidding, but, the album deserves a 8.5 at most. But, no, I won't give it a review because that will only help in it's overration. No, to truly show that this album is not that damn good, I must ignore it, therefore marking it as unworthy of my time.

That and you'll quickly become the most hated user on metalstorm. Let bygones be bygones I guess is a good path.

I think that I already am THE most hated user here. If not, than certanly one of the first three. I have nothing to loose.
Paradox0 - 24.02.2009 at 17:49  
This album took me AWHILE to get into, perhaps because I just felt it was over rated or that the "right" song just didn't kick off the album. "Sleeping Stars" is definitely the best song on this album, just so melodic, majestic, etc.....
After getting into that song I realized how precise this album was (in the 1st 5 tracks). Its nice how each song just seems to be so perfectly placed. Unfortunately this kind of ends after the 5th track and the rest of the songs come off as just too long and bland. the lyrics actually aren't that bad either. Pretty good album, but most of the songs just lacked any real punch to them. 8/10
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 08:51  
It's a good album and I like it but, imo, it's only good, not great.

It's probably because I'm basically a Black Metal fan (though I listened to Powermetal regularly until a few years ago) but I find the album a bit soft and production too clean. Still, I enjoy it but it's probably the softest album I listen to almost regularly.
Uirapuru - 02.01.2010 at 04:43  
Pretty enjoyable. But the constant sucking on Jari's balls pisses me off. I hated this album even before hearing it because of this constant sucking.

Its a very good album, the best in the style imo (Power/Melodic Death Metal), better than anything Kalmah, CoB, Norther and others ever did.

But nothing deserving 4 reviews with almost 10 rate...
Ellrohir - 02.01.2010 at 10:33  
Simply there are many listeners to this album...therefore there are many guest reviews...
Wes - 12.01.2010 at 13:13  
If people love Wintersun that's great.

For those who like this genre, it is the ultimate. That is why it will never get a low rating within a review.

If the best thrash album gets 4 10/10 ratings I wouldnt care.

The nice thing about Wintersun is that it bridges many genres, so there are many listeners. So therefore it gets many good ratings, isnt that a good thing?

I think only listening to this album half way is a joke.

Do not judge an album by listening to it halfway, this makes me laugh.

For all popular things there is always a backlash, please shut up and stop being predictable.

To criticize a band based on its praise is a mistake. Please be objective.
RhaegarTargaryen - 12.01.2010 at 14:20  
Written by Wes on 12.01.2010 at 13:13

If people love Wintersun that's great.

For those who like this genre, it is the ultimate. That is why it will never get a low rating within a review.

If the best thrash album gets 4 10/10 ratings I wouldnt care.

The nice thing about Wintersun is that it bridges many genres, so there are many listeners. So therefore it gets many good ratings, isnt that a good thing?

I think only listening to this album half way is a joke.

Do not judge an album by listening to it halfway, this makes me laugh.

For all popular things there is always a backlash, please shut up and stop being predictable.

To criticize a band based on its praise is a mistake. Please be objective.

Thank you
Doc Godin - 12.01.2010 at 22:49  
Written by Wes on 12.01.2010 at 13:13

If people love Wintersun that's great.

For those who like this genre, it is the ultimate. That is why it will never get a low rating within a review.

If the best thrash album gets 4 10/10 ratings I wouldnt care.

The nice thing about Wintersun is that it bridges many genres, so there are many listeners. So therefore it gets many good ratings, isnt that a good thing?

I think only listening to this album half way is a joke.

Do not judge an album by listening to it halfway, this makes me laugh.

For all popular things there is always a backlash, please shut up and stop being predictable.

To criticize a band based on its praise is a mistake. Please be objective.

Perhaps you should look at what people are saying about the review in particular. Yeah, it gets backlash, but notice most of the negative comments in here are because this is the 4th review for this album stating virtually the exact same thing as the other 3. Regardless of an albums quality, it does not need 4 reviews for it, unless there is something new and interesting to say in the review, this one does not.
Burning Winter - 14.01.2010 at 22:46  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.01.2010 at 22:49

Written by Wes on 12.01.2010 at 13:13

If people love Wintersun that's great.

For those who like this genre, it is the ultimate. That is why it will never get a low rating within a review.

If the best thrash album gets 4 10/10 ratings I wouldnt care.

The nice thing about Wintersun is that it bridges many genres, so there are many listeners. So therefore it gets many good ratings, isnt that a good thing?

I think only listening to this album half way is a joke.

Do not judge an album by listening to it halfway, this makes me laugh.

For all popular things there is always a backlash, please shut up and stop being predictable.

To criticize a band based on its praise is a mistake. Please be objective.

Perhaps you should look at what people are saying about the review in particular. Yeah, it gets backlash, but notice most of the negative comments in here are because this is the 4th review for this album stating virtually the exact same thing as the other 3. Regardless of an albums quality, it does not need 4 reviews for it, unless there is something new and interesting to say in the review, this one does not.


Totally agree with you, however I am wondering if MS staff published the review because of the liberty of expression, even if it says the exact same thing as the other review...

Anyway I must admit I gave this album a 10 after the first listen, but then I listened to it many times and I was then able to give a good judgement about that album.

Sure it kicks ass, but I think 10 is overrated, for me this album is a strong 8 bordering on a 8.5.

There are some songs that I find long for the purpose of being long (and repetitive...), or songs that I just can't get into,but they are a few.

I love their lyrics a lot and the majectic feeling atmosphere that flows within the album.

Jari has done a good job on this one, hope time will beat this S/T
Valentin B - 04.07.2010 at 22:16  
Written by Talvi on 04.01.2008 at 16:46

I'd love to see a negative review of this album, the lowest I've seen was of 7.4

in the future when you want to check that for every other album look it up on metal-archives.. http://metal-archives.com/review.php?id=50930 for example for this album the lowest rating(amid at least 11-12 100%'s or similar) is 24% yeah i know it's irrelevant to the topic but what the hell the topic itself is irrelevant too after all hahah.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Wintersun - Wintersun 4 29.12.2006 by Katatronik
News Wintersun - Jari Issues Second Update Regarding Nuclear Blast Situation 3 08.08.2014 by Alien1988
News Wintersun - Live Shows And Album Update 3 14.05.2011 by The Voyager
News Wintersun - New Album Release Date, Shows In Finland Confirmed 3 18.07.2012 by Alex Fenger
News Wintersun - Upcoming Album Details 3 21.07.2009 by Ghoulbache



Hits total: 11485 | This month: 30