Rating:
9.2
Evoken - A Caress Of The Void
20 November 2007


01. A Caress Of The Void
02. Mare Erythraeum
03. Of Purest Absolution
04. Astray In Eternal Night
05. Descend the Lifeless Womb
06. Suffer A Martyr's Trial (Procession At Dusk)
07. Orogeny


Probably THE most anticipated extreme doom release of 2007 is finally upon us. And that after only a two-year wait. So Evoken have speeded up their song-writing pace, but thank God they didn't speed up the music itself.

Putting the cd into the player with trembling hands and sweaty palms I press the play button and in typical Evoken fashion "suddenly the horizon darkens, swallowing every single ray of light that tries to penetrate the gloomy clouds" © DerRozzengarten 2005. And I am instantly being enveloped by the majestic treacly riffs which suck me into a void while caressing me.

Though this time around the music seems to treat me less hateful, not wanting to cause any pain. It is as if I have passed away and gone to meet my maker and Evoken is my guide trying to comfort me with a warm damp blanket lulling me into a false sense of security. A false sense of security? Yes, cause at first listen A Caress Of The Void might seem lighter, almost optimistic compared to The Antithesis Of Light, but that is only on a superficial level. Once you get immersed you will still find the hatred and pain there brooding like a looming Elder underneath the surface of the earth. Every single chance it gets it grabs you by the throat and slowly suffocates you and just before your last breath leaves you It softens its hold again.
It is this interaction between evil and good, dark and light, hate and love, that makes A Caress Of The Void such a more interesting proposition and more mature release than The Antithesis Of Light. At its best moments it comes damn close to Evoken's masterpiece Quietus.

The production is once again top-notch and totally befitting this brand of extreme funeral death doom. Heavy, woolly, and even light and breathing where needed, accentuating the instruments at the right moments.

Overall combination of the songs, execution, atmosphere, production will get you hooked pretty quickly if you're willing to listen through the first superficial layer of hopefulness.
Sit back in a comfortable chair, light a good Cuban cigar, pour yourself a Lagavulin, switch off the lights and let the Beast draw you into its void.

Highlights? Seven black holes is more like it. Just go out and run to your record store and get hold of this masterpiece. And if it is too slow and dark for you, may I recommend you some flowery European power metal instead?

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Evoken
Album: A Caress Of The Void


 


written by Marcel Hubregtse | 29.12.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 29.12.2007 at 15:03  
So people, you know what to do... BUY BUY BUY
Damnated - 29.12.2007 at 15:12  
i should really listen to this
Richard - 29.12.2007 at 16:23  
Good review.. They sure make a lot of 'that' guitar sound on this album!
White Winter Sun - 29.12.2007 at 16:37  
Good review and nice conclusion.

After reading this, I should really listen the album and why not purchase it ... if I like it.
velvet - 29.12.2007 at 23:18  
Gods - DEFINITELY going to get this. Thanks
Southern Wind - 29.12.2007 at 23:21  
By one side, I agree with the rating because this is indeed a magnifiscent, soul-crushing album. This is not Doom, this is DOOOOM. On the other hand, I still liked more Antithesis Of Light, which was probably my favourite album of 2005. It had a somehow mysterious, narcotic atmosphere that made it especially extraordinary and this one lacked. This one seems like a comeback in musical terms to Quietus, maybe more mature, ok, but I still prefer the crushing "heviosity" (as woody allen would say) of the previous one. Anyway... I can't wait until this shit is in amazon to order it, in the meanwhile I will destroy my burnt copy by listening to it.
Bad English - 30.12.2007 at 00:33  
When I saw title abd band name, before I saw who rewiew it i know its Marcel
good album, IMO one of best from this year, top 3 for shore, for me from doom its in secend and 3th place
gid - 30.12.2007 at 00:55  
Nice review. This album is definitely one of the highlights of 2007 for me. While it doesn't quite achieve the standard of Quietus, it's still a bloody good album.
DragonSlayer - 30.12.2007 at 03:03  
"riffs which suck me into a void while caressing me"

IMO it surpasses every Evoken album in sheer atmosphere. Antithesis Of Light was a awesome album but it felt too much like Disembowlment worship. This one however has this suffocating almost evil feeling to it. It feels like a Beast slowly lurking in the dark background and, at some moments, taking a huge bite at you! The true highlight of the album has to be Mare Erythraeum, with its slowly but steady repetitive riff that builds into a awesome crescendo and a truly inspired solo.

Top 5 this year? Definitely!
Bhavok - 30.12.2007 at 09:22  
I just love this album...
BestMetalstormer - 30.12.2007 at 10:41  
Too much extreme, if it could be a little more melodic, like Colosseum, which is also funeral doom, then that would captivate me
Southern Wind - 30.12.2007 at 22:15  
naaah, THIS shit is DOOM. Colosseum is goth music for fags in comparison
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.12.2007 at 22:19  
Written by Southern Wind on 30.12.2007 at 22:15

naaah, THIS shit is DOOM. Colosseum is goth music for fags in comparison


Although I really like that Colosseum album I more or less agree with you here COlosseum ahas that typical light finnish funeral doom sound to it
Southern Wind - 30.12.2007 at 22:36  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2007 at 22:19

Written by Southern Wind on 30.12.2007 at 22:15

naaah, THIS shit is DOOM. Colosseum is goth music for fags in comparison


Although I really like that Colosseum album I more or less agree with you here COlosseum ahas that typical light finnish funeral doom sound to it


I don't know, for me Colosseum was the typical finnish band with the typical finnish goth-like mood with nothing to add to the genre... they're for me in the same cathegory than senseless bands like Depressed Mode, Terhen or Swallow The Sun (although I confess that I regulary listen to StS).

Talking about Finnish doom, I'm dying for listening to this debut Profetus EP, do you have anything to say about them?

And sorry for the off-topic
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.12.2007 at 22:38  
Written by Southern Wind on 30.12.2007 at 22:36

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2007 at 22:19

Written by Southern Wind on 30.12.2007 at 22:15

naaah, THIS shit is DOOM. Colosseum is goth music for fags in comparison


Although I really like that Colosseum album I more or less agree with you here COlosseum ahas that typical light finnish funeral doom sound to it


I don't know, for me Colosseum was the typical finnish band with the typical finnish goth-like mood with nothing to add to the genre... they're for me in the same cathegory than senseless bands like Depressed Mode, Terhen or Swallow The Sun (although I confess that I regulary listen to StS).

Talking about Finnish doom, I'm dying for listening to this debut Profetus EP, do you have anything to say about them?

And sorry for the off-topic


A bit more off-topicness, no I don't have anything to say about Prfoetus cause I don't even knwo their name, damn, gonna check their myspace site out right away. Thanks for naming something new to check out though.
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.12.2008 at 22:50  
Written by Southern Wind on 30.12.2007 at 22:36


Talking about Finnish doom, I'm dying for listening to this debut Profetus EP, do you have anything to say about them?

And sorry for the off-topic


Weird thing happened... A couple of months ago I found the Profetus cd-r ep on my doormat sent to me by the band. I really dig it. As I understand they are currently recording new material and will be toruing with Tyranny some time next year.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Evoken - A Caress Of The Void 7.5 03.03.2013 by serega25
Reviews Fall Of The Leafe - Aerolithe 4.5 28.02.2009 by HardSide
News Evoken - To Enter The Studio 4.5 11.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Holy Grail - Ride The Void 4 16.03.2013 by bard
Reviews Dark Tranquillity - We Are The Void 4 20.06.2010 by Carl Berg



Hits total: 8442 | This month: 31