Rating:
9.0
Dismember - Dismember
18 February 2008


01. Death Conquers All
02. Europa Burns
03. Under A Bloodred Sky
04. The Hills Have Eyes
05. Legion
06. Tide Of Blood
07. Combat Fatigue
08. No Honor In Death
09. To End It All
10. Dark Depths
11. Black Sun


Wow! It's only the beginning of 2008 and we already have what could probably be the best Death Metal album this year? Let me reiterate that first word... fucking WOW!

Anyway, not so long ago we had the pleasure to hear a Dismember album called "The God That Never Was", people received it well, but that year had everyone focusing on Deicide, Suffocation and Cannibal Corpse... This time Dismember are leading the way and they finally created an album that could easily surpass everything they did in their golden years.

The album jumps immediately on brutal grounds with "Death Conquers All", the whole Old-School vibe is found everywhere but the band managed to add a fresh layer into every song, it then ends up sounding catchy and quite hostile... very creative to say one thing; the album keeps going higher with each tune, there's no place for weakness in this piece and they won't let you breathe for a single second as almost everytime, after the catchy mid-paced breakdown, the band blasts a headbanging riff that will break some faces inside the moshpit.

It's always hard to judge the big names right? There's a reason why they are in the top right now, so most of the albums they release will be a weapon of mass destruction. I'm just saying this time this particular record went beyond all my expectations, it threw me miles away from my original idea of this Swedish act... Their fans are already waiting in line to buy this thing I'm sure, but I urge the people who don't follow Dismember to the grave to at least give this piece a chance. It all comes down to one thing: it will be hard enough to release something that blurs this title. You can safely buy this when it gets released and wait for the battle to begin.


Best Tracks: "Death Conquers All", "Europa Burns", "To End It All", "Legion", "The Hills Have Eyes"

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Dismember
Album: Dismember


 


written by Herzebeth | 07.02.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 276  
Search this topic:  


Syk - 08.02.2008 at 16:52  
Legion, huh? That should be interesting... Looks like this is the new Xecutioner's Return
CyGuy6587 - 08.02.2008 at 16:53  
I love the song Under A Bloodred Sky purely because of the Maiden-flavoured solo at the end! The rest of the album's rather good as well
Talvi - 08.02.2008 at 17:19  
Adding it to my wishlist
Infidel - 08.02.2008 at 17:22  
I'm looking forward to this album !
Thryce - 08.02.2008 at 19:24  
Written by CyGuy6587 on 08.02.2008 at 16:53

I love the song Under A Bloodred Sky purely because of the Maiden-flavoured solo at the end!

Cool. Had the same feeling about that solo.
I this album!! Indeed a very big likely candidate for Best Death Metal Album Of 2008 already. And good review too Herzebeth!
BloodTears - 08.02.2008 at 19:24  
I'm curious too.
Unconsecrated - 08.02.2008 at 19:30  
I can't wait to hear this one!
Martin_metal - 08.02.2008 at 19:36  
Looking forward to listen to this one =)
Metal Maiden - 08.02.2008 at 19:52  
Written by Syk on 08.02.2008 at 16:52

Looks like this is the new Xecutioner's Return


Hah, it may seem funny, but my thoughts exactly
I (accidentally ) found a promo of this, and must say that EVERY FUCKIN' WORD in this review is absolutely true!!!The album is insanely good, it way surpassed my expectations, especially given the fact I was a bit dissapointed by Dismember's previous effort!!!It's a real must-buy, simply mindblowing...It would definately be one of the best death metal releases of 2008, if not the best!!!
Now, as Herz said...let the battle begin...
And remember kids - WE ARE LEGION
dancingdecember - 08.02.2008 at 21:04  
hey you are making me excited !!! (no not in a sexual way )
Sunioj - 08.02.2008 at 23:08  
Brilliant stuff. They've really redeemed themselves with me.
Herzebeth - 09.02.2008 at 01:55  
Don't forget to post your thughts once the album gets released
HardSide - 09.02.2008 at 03:52  
Better then Hate Campaign? Hard to top that album...
dismaleuphony - 09.02.2008 at 05:15  
I didn't like their last album at all, and had the inclination to give up until I saw this. The new album sounds great, very cool review. "Under A Bloodred Sky" is a killer track
Stigma - 09.02.2008 at 13:52  
I'll be checking it when it comes.
Passenger - 09.02.2008 at 14:33  
Dismember is underrated. It's a shame, their first album is one of the most perfect Death Metal albums ever made, and I really like Where Ironcrosses Grow as well. Can't wait to hear this one.
AnarChrist - 09.02.2008 at 23:18  
This album is a blast. They have appropriately titled it too - my first thought when "Death Conquers All" started rolling, was - "Holy shit, this IS Dismember!! - the way it should be - the very essence of their sound". All in all, this just simply owns, period. 2008 is getting a pretty good start with Ayreon, Sculptured and Dismember driving the way.
CrypticMyth - 10.02.2008 at 07:06  
I'm waiting to get my hands on this.
kackbratze - 11.02.2008 at 20:43  
Really nice, fuckin' intense album. It's like my entry ticket to the world of Dismember (could never really get into the much hailed LAEFS)!
Sunioj - 11.02.2008 at 20:49  
Written by kackbratze on 11.02.2008 at 20:43

Really nice, fuckin' intense album. It's like my entry ticket to the world of Dismember (could never really get into the much hailed LAEFS)!


You should try Indecent and Obscene, its their most aggressive album IMO. LAEFS is good but sometimes the praise that album gets, causes people to ignore the rest of their discography.
kackbratze - 12.02.2008 at 00:00  
Written by Sunioj on 11.02.2008 at 20:49

You should try Indecent and Obscene, its their most aggressive album IMO. LAEFS is good but sometimes the praise that album gets, causes people to ignore the rest of their discography.

Thanks, I will definitely try that one out then.
flamey - 12.02.2008 at 20:37  
It's good to see a lot of people share my thoughts about "Under a Bloodred Sky". The last two minutes is like heaven.. hopefully i'll see them live soon!
MadTinus - 16.02.2008 at 15:41  
I became a Dismember fan when I saw the "Dreaming in Red" and "Skinfather" videos on Headbangers Ball some 15 years ago. "Indecent & Obscene" is still by far their best album i.m.o. Every and each song on that album just completely slays. Much better than LAEFS...

Also the albums that came afterwards never managed to grab me like I&O, same story with the new one..
erctus-seth - 19.02.2008 at 17:56  
Good review! I must have it!
Varegan - 19.02.2008 at 21:53  
after a long time, maybe I can enjoy this one.
the napalm rain - 18.12.2008 at 23:15  
This is the band.. With music, with lyrics, with band members... *****Dismember***** They had never get what they really deserve, whatever I got used to that.. "If you are only making your album and if you aren't flirting with record labels, you can't be on top"
Maxx666 - 01.07.2009 at 21:28  
Great album! Dismember have managed to top their previous releases(i mean releases after massive killing capacity).Definitely one of the milestone of swedish death.
Don Martin - 27.03.2010 at 22:50  
Brilliant album, Combat Fatigue is my favorite track!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dismember - Death Metal 6 03.06.2006 by .:Jux:.
Reviews Malignancy - Inhuman Grotesqueries 3 15.10.2007 by Dangerboner
Reviews Folkearth - By The Sword Of My Father 3 02.02.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Vengeful - Karma 3 18.07.2008 by Visioneerie
Reviews The Locust - Plague Soundscapes 3 17.09.2007 by sev7en77



Hits total: 8133 | This month: 31