Rating:
8.2
Death Angel - Killing Season
26 February 2008


Disc I
01. Lord Of Hate
02. Sonic Beatdown
03. Dethroned
04. Carnival Justice
05. Buried Alive
06. Soulless
07. The Noose
08. When Worlds Collide
09. God VS God
10. Steal The Crown
11. Resurrection Machine
+ Dethroned [promo video][Blood Pack edition bonus]

Disc II [DVD: Live In Strasburg, France, April 17, 2003][Blood Pack edition bonus]
01. The Ultra-Violence, Pt. I - Intro
02. Seemingly Endless Time
03. Voracious Souls
04. Mistress Of Pain
05. 3rd Floor
06. Evil Priest
07. Stagnant
08. Bored
09. Kill As One


American thrashers Death Angel return once more with their brand of thrash metal with attitude. "Killing Season" is the band's second album back in business and once again these ultra violent Americans deliver the goods with a punch. Death Angel have not seemed to follow trends of what is popular at the time, they just lay down good old traditional thrash metal the way the thrash scene seems starved and dry of in the modern today. By no means could you accuse Death Angel of being stuck in the past, as "Killing Season" is a modern sounding album that breathes freshness and life but has its core rooted in the school of thrash metal where there is no obligation to fill every verse and chorus with frantic double bass, and more emphasis is placed upon diversity and staying interesting while still being music to bang your head along and punch the air to as "Carnival Justice" and "Buried Alive" are just two shining examples of how this is achieved.

The cleanly produced album plods along with its fair share of twists and turns and bursts of speed, the seemingly forgotten component these days in the form of the bass guitar creeps in for more of a look-in than with most modern albums these days, and even though "Killing Season" is not over the top and crammed with as much action as musically possible, it is still both suitably heavy and catchy with the odd injection of attitude and a good dose of old fashioned rage in there as well; "When Worlds Collide" and "God vs God" illustrate these aspects to a tee.

"Killing Season" has many great songs in its arsenal, you will find your head banging or foot tapping or yourself generally humming along with pretty much everything during the album's nearly-fifty minute duration, this is catchy material but not to the extent that you will be kept awake at night with the same damn song going through your head over and over again. This may mean that you struggle to find any real high points that stand above anything else throughout the album, and also in general the album may not be one of the most memorable albums you could ever hear, but these are not huge issues as "Killing Season" is a fun sounding album that would do a good job at providing entertainment at a party or as the soundtrack to some road trip with your good friends. This album will be a huge breath of fresh air to most people as these days so-called thrash metal bands more often than not either have no balls to them or sound like they were put together by businessmen or just try to replicate what has already been done before - but with "Killing Season" we have the sound of the traditional and the shine of the modern rolled all into one.


Band profile: Death Angel
Album: Killing Season


 



Written on 28.02.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 259  
Search this topic:  


DrunkenFuck - 29.02.2008 at 09:50  
Can't wait to get this one!
_-Blackbird-_ - 29.02.2008 at 15:12  
Yep good album and review is great
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.02.2008 at 15:17  
Mmmm, Killing Season is definitely Death Angel's weakest album and most boring one as well (not enough variation on it to keep me interested for the entire ride). I would rate it 7.4 at most.
RhysTerk - 29.02.2008 at 15:45  
I consider this a masterpiece
Lokomotiv - 29.02.2008 at 16:38  
I usually hate "comebacks" of classic bands, but "The Art Of Dying" was indeed an AMAZING comeback (it is indeed my favourite Death Angel album) so I'm certainly interested in listening to this shit.
Damnated - 29.02.2008 at 16:51  
overall a good album, but it indeed gets boring.
TheCybershifter - 29.02.2008 at 18:46  
I agree with review and the rating. Very good album, but I think the last album was still a bit better.
Abattoir - 29.02.2008 at 20:43  
Quite good album indeed, but not so souvereign.
Collin - 29.02.2008 at 22:22  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.02.2008 at 15:17

Mmmm, Killing Season is definitely Death Angel's weakest album and most boring one as well (not enough variation on it to keep me interested for the entire ride). I would rate it 7.4 at most.


Less good than The Art Of Dying, but still miles better than that lousy "Frolic Through The Park" piece of dump (DA's weakest album IMO). I'd rate it around 7.5 as well. It's a fun listen altogether
BurbotsRevenge - 01.03.2008 at 00:54  
seems to have a mixed response from the comments ive read, but sounds like a good listen
Dangerboner - 01.03.2008 at 01:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.02.2008 at 15:17

Mmmm, Killing Season is definitely Death Angel's weakest album and most boring one as well (not enough variation on it to keep me interested for the entire ride). I would rate it 7.4 at most.


Same here. I don't even think I'll buy it!
DrunkenFuck - 03.03.2008 at 22:00  
Yep, it's done now. Just ordered it Digipak of course ^^
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.03.2008 at 22:17  
ALthough I find it their weakest album I did buy the digipak today cause I am a completist and it came with a bonus live dvd.
DrunkenFuck - 04.03.2008 at 21:50  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.03.2008 at 22:17

ALthough I find it their weakest album I did buy the digipak today cause I am a completist and it came with a bonus live dvd.


Yeah, same here. I always have to buy the limited or digipak version of.. well anything. About the album (which I haven't heard yet), I just can't say no to some good ol' 80's thrash. I live for that stuff.
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.03.2008 at 21:56  
Written by DrunkenFuck on 04.03.2008 at 21:50

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.03.2008 at 22:17

ALthough I find it their weakest album I did buy the digipak today cause I am a completist and it came with a bonus live dvd.


Yeah, same here. I always have to buy the limited or digipak version of.. well anything. About the album (which I haven't heard yet), I just can't say no to some good ol' 80's thrash. I live for that stuff.



well, the album has started to grow on me ever since I got and now it is a tad above Frolic for me
DrunkenFuck - 04.03.2008 at 22:01  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 04.03.2008 at 21:56

Written by DrunkenFuck on 04.03.2008 at 21:50

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.03.2008 at 22:17

ALthough I find it their weakest album I did buy the digipak today cause I am a completist and it came with a bonus live dvd.


Yeah, same here. I always have to buy the limited or digipak version of.. well anything. About the album (which I haven't heard yet), I just can't say no to some good ol' 80's thrash. I live for that stuff.



well, the album has started to grow on me ever since I got and now it is a tad above Frolic for me


The best albums are the ones who needs to grow on you. That's what I always say.
Talvi - 08.03.2008 at 18:34  
Written by DrunkenFuck on 04.03.2008 at 22:01

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 04.03.2008 at 21:56

Written by DrunkenFuck on 04.03.2008 at 21:50

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.03.2008 at 22:17

ALthough I find it their weakest album I did buy the digipak today cause I am a completist and it came with a bonus live dvd.


Yeah, same here. I always have to buy the limited or digipak version of.. well anything. About the album (which I haven't heard yet), I just can't say no to some good ol' 80's thrash. I live for that stuff.



well, the album has started to grow on me ever since I got and now it is a tad above Frolic for me


The best albums are the ones who needs to grow on you. That's what I always say.


Even if I'm not a Death Angel fan, I wanted to quoe this for massive truth.
.:Jux:. - 16.04.2008 at 16:16  
Masterpiece. Agree with the reviewer. Nice punch to the face to the modern tharsh metal.
Desertman - 05.06.2008 at 03:21  
a classic sick!!!!!!!!!! 10/10
K†ulu - 13.06.2008 at 20:01  
One of those few 2008 albums that I liked. The review is very accurate I must admit. So good job. As far as the rating would probably give it the same 8.2.
Murder - 16.06.2008 at 10:16  
I liked this album a lot!!

All the songs have power and I can see they keep the thrash sound and it likes me more! a very good album in my opinion!
MultipleX - 16.06.2008 at 13:07  
Death angel are back!! thrash as it's best!
Metalbound7 - 13.12.2008 at 10:00  
Very Good album, it have some weak songs like dethroned, but also have nice old-school Thrashers like Sonic Beatdown and nice slow but heavys like Souless. I think the 8.2 is o'right.
skee1411 - 26.02.2009 at 01:32  
All of you that says this album suxx.. you r crazy.. This album rocks in every way possible:banger2: HEADBANGER 4 LIFE
Dangerboner - 26.02.2009 at 02:58  
Yeah this album grew on me so much. I've been playing it a lot lately.
Daggon - 07.08.2009 at 07:31  
I liked this album a lot, the magic of this one, at least, IMO, is that every song is different, this is not a "one song" album, every song is great and well done, even if it is not a crushing album, it deserves attention, and I think that it is as good as other Thrash albums released in 2008. I usually have some favorite songs on albums but every song here is great, or, at least, different from each one
tea[m]ster - 07.08.2009 at 16:25  
For me, anything after Act III is a bit of a letdown. I feel Act III is one of the greatest metal records of all time.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Angel Of Eden - The End Of Never 6 25.11.2007 by
Reviews Avantasia - Angel Of Babylon 6 29.05.2010 by corrupt
Articles Killing Joke - Sheffield, England, 9th March 2012 5 13.03.2012 by Darkside Momo
Photo galleries Metallica, Death Magnetic Release Celebration - London, England, 15th September 2008 5 16.09.2008 by Khashitallica
Articles Morbid Angel - Sheffield, England, 21st November 2011 5 22.11.2011 by AtrumHiberna



Hits total: 8131 | This month: 3