Winters - Black Clouds In Twin Galaxies review



Reviewer:
9.0

1 user:
9.00
Band: Winters
Album: Black Clouds In Twin Galaxies
Release date: May 2007


01. Fried
02. Aftershown
03. Oh No
04. Endless Fight
05. Life Was So Simple
06. Mark My Word
07. Two Wrongs Make A Right
08. I'm a Destroyer
09. No Will
10. Did Me In
11. Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies


So you're sitting on the bathroom floor - wasted, numb and possibly (but not necessarily) on drugs.Your hands are searching for the perfect soundtrack for this state of nihilism. Well, allow me to help you - here's the British three-piece Winters' debut album „Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies". A seemingly simplistic piece of sludge-fueled stoner rock that radiates lively apathy. Doom has never been this much fun.

It has been said about Nirvana, that they had very powerful feelings about having no feelings. That description seems to describe Winters' soundscape aptly - this is one of the most emotionally dead, yet fun albums I've ever heard. It's extremely difficult to make a record that sounded apathetic and tasted sweet at the same time, but with „Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies" they seem to have gotten that just right - it's like bittersweet honey, slowly creeping down your spoon and dripping on your cold dead fingers. Winter's riffs paint a picture of an anthropomorphic hive of cuddly bumblebees carrying eight inch syringes filled with lactose, ready to attack. The music is fuzzy, relatively simple and extremely catchy, with some retro solo's to spice things up. What really sets this record apart though are the amazing, almost suicidal sounding vocals. The deeply nihilistic voice, in combination with the drone-like riffs works like a lullaby in a power-suit.

There's really no way I can describe all the feelings Winters evokes in me and if I wasn't so tuned out amidst all these sweet fuzzy tunes, I'd find that somewhat irritating. But I just can't - and even though all my problems are still out there in the real world, waiting for me like a hungry pack of wolves, I seriously don't care. I like them, even. And for some reason I seriously dig flowers right now. Yep - definitely dig the flowers. Also, I want to punch the Easter Bunny in the face. I know, I'm not making any sense but I don't care, I just do as I please.

Written by destroyah | 05.03.2008


 


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 74 users
06.03.2008 - 00:19
Damnated
Churchburner
mmmm, sounds interesting. i'll check them out.
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 01:12
Rupert
It does sound interesting. Is there a Myspace or other website where I can hear some stuff? I don't feel like looking through all the hits on Google with "winter" in them.
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 01:22
destroyah
supercharger
Written by Rupert on 06.03.2008 at 01:12

It does sound interesting. Is there a Myspace or other website where I can hear some stuff? I don't feel like looking through all the hits on Google with "winter" in them.



http://www.myspace.com/winterstheband



There you go. Apparently there's two new songs as well.
----
About me:

"The best out of all the people ever" - Washington Post

"We abandoned Christ for Destroyah's love!" - The Watchtower

"Simply amazing!" - Rolling Stone
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 01:59
Rupert
Thanks
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 10:47
FOOCK Nam
9.0 is two high for me. They arent too much down-tempo nor very psychedelic, or some problem with my ears
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 16:19
MetalManic
Written by FOOCK Nam on 06.03.2008 at 10:47

9.0 is two high for me. They arent too much down-tempo nor very psychedelic, or some problem with my ears


I am starting to see where jupitreas is coming from with his review approach on Metalstorm
----
MetalManic
www.MetalManic.com
Loading...
06.03.2008 - 17:45
destroyah
supercharger
Written by MetalManic on 06.03.2008 at 16:19

Written by FOOCK Nam on 06.03.2008 at 10:47

9.0 is two high for me. They arent too much down-tempo nor very psychedelic, or some problem with my ears


I am starting to see where jupitreas is coming from with his review approach on Metalstorm



Well, actually I too don't particularly like giving numeric ratings but I don't feel good about not giving them either. I am seriously considering ditching the system though. But I do encourage people to actually READ reviews instead of discussing over a NUMBER, that in the end, says absolutely nothing about an album.


As for this one, I couldn't rate it lower. I would've felt like shit, if I had - it's a really, really sweet album.
----
About me:

"The best out of all the people ever" - Washington Post

"We abandoned Christ for Destroyah's love!" - The Watchtower

"Simply amazing!" - Rolling Stone
Loading...
19.02.2011 - 13:13
Meller
Sleazy Rider
This album is a gem, having an imprint of genius on it. If The Beatles would've ever made Doom album, this would be it. I can't help but love it, unconditionally.
----
"Haloo? ...Mulla on sellainen tunne, ett' mä olen surmannut miehen."
Loading...

Hits total: 4999 | This month: 7