Rating:
N/A
In Flames - The Mirror's Truth [EP]
7 March 2008


01. The Mirror's Truth
02. Eraser
03. Tilt
04. Abnegation


So In Flames return after "Come Clarity" and the huge tour that followed a couple of years ago to much anticipation. Anticipation from die-hard fans for their next instalment from the jesters of Gothenburg, and also on the other side anticipation from casual onlookers to see just how bad they have got these days.

"The Mirror's Truth" comes to us one month before the release of the next chapter in the In Flames story in the form of the full-length album "A Sense Of Purpose". This EP contains four tracks totalling not even quarter of an hour. The opening, title track to this CD is also the opening number of the forthcoming full-length but the other three tracks do not make any more appearances than on this teaser of a release.

Everyone knows the direction In Flames have taken in recent times and it would seem generally, people are used to this fact but whenever you come face to face with a cartoonish cover of this nature the only thoughts evoked are those that this band is aiming at the audience Korn did back in the 90's. Musically there is no standout track on this EP but there are no real bad ones either, the four tracks present quite a heavy side to In Flames that many people will be glad to hear. Of course we have our usual In Flames-isms, there is no lack of melody, Anders' distinctive voice is still ever-present as are the guitars and usual song structures that are much the same as they have been for the past few albums.

"The Mirror's Truth" is a nice little release although its main purpose is to draw attention for the full-length that will make its release early next month. This CD is easily accessible for young newcomers and very likeable. You would hope "A Sense Of Purpose" can continue this wave of positivity, but you will just have to wait and see how your expectations compare to the release everyone has their eyes on in a few weeks time.


Band profile: In Flames
Album: The Mirror's Truth


 



Written on 06.03.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 456  
Search this topic:  


Infidel - 06.03.2008 at 17:32  
Yeah, good review. I agree with all what is in this review. And I'm looking forward to their new full-lenght album a little bit.
Nyxgrinder - 06.03.2008 at 18:13  
O well "die hard", but wow they are so intrested to kill us, the god news is that we can always move on, or keep what they gave us a while ago
+{Jonas}+ - 06.03.2008 at 21:16  
Well, Abnegation kicks ass. I really like the new In Flames... *bring your bashing comments* and I'm really looking forward for the new album
=maD.Doc:. - 06.03.2008 at 21:35  
One more thing, this EP is released only in Europe. And with it the three non-album tracks (Eraser, Tilt and Abnegation). In the U.S it's release as a downloadable single only on iTunes. But about everyone with a computer, and decent internet can download it ^^ I think this EP is great, at least the non-album tracks, The Mirror's Truth (song) is a liiiiitle bit boring, not bad, but a bit boring. The rest of the songs are just flawless. It's the same with every In Flames release, just to see the name In Flames on a cover means 110% quallity!
Passenger - 06.03.2008 at 21:48  
Dark Tranquillity owns all and everything. That said, I'm still curious to hear this EP
Unconsecrated - 06.03.2008 at 21:58  
It seems that in this EP "Abnegation" is different from the other "Abnegation" (Viva la Bands or something like that).
Abattoir - 06.03.2008 at 22:03  
I have listened a few minutes ago to the songs and you can hear the difference between this and old staff. It is quite big. Anyway, I think that it is quite good announcement for the next opcoming album. Looking forward to it...hope it won't be a
disappointment.
Spyroid - 06.03.2008 at 23:33  
I really like the coverart, only heard the title track of the EP and I didn't like it. I'll check out Tilt because the title is cool
=maD.Doc:. - 07.03.2008 at 00:45  
Written by Unconsecrated on 06.03.2008 at 21:58

It seems that in this EP "Abnegation" is different from the other "Abnegation" (Viva la Bands or something like that).

Yeah, of course ^^ They needed to re-record it to fit with the sound of the rest of the songs. The Abnegation recorded for Viva La Bands Vol. 2 was quickly recorded so it wasn't how it was supposed to be. And it's cool that it's a non-album track also, and this EP is released in Europe only. In the U.S just for download at iTunes.
Unconsecrated - 07.03.2008 at 00:50  
Written by =maD.Doc:. on 07.03.2008 at 00:45


Yeah, of course ^^ They needed to re-record it to fit with the sound of the rest of the songs. The Abnegation recorded for Viva La Bands Vol. 2 was quickly recorded so it wasn't how it was supposed to be. And it's cool that it's a non-album track also, and this EP is released in Europe only. In the U.S just for download at iTunes.


Ok, thanks for clearing that out!
Ernis - 07.03.2008 at 00:51  
Well I'm afraid they won't be producing another "Jester Race" in nearer future.....But I hope the forthcoming album will have lots of enjoyable tracks....
Sepulchre - 07.03.2008 at 04:25  
Good review, but I didn't like the EP, but I don't like In Flames' new stuff very much. I wasn't very dissapointed bc this is exactly what I expected. As with all In Flames' new stuff, not terrible but definetly not good either.
Sepulchre - 07.03.2008 at 06:37  
Written by Unconsecrated on 06.03.2008 at 21:58

It seems that in this EP "Abnegation" is different from the other "Abnegation" (Viva la Bands or something like that).

The version on Viva La Bands, Vol. 2 was completely terrible imo. Anders tries way to hard to sing (which he is not good at). On the EP it is rerecorded and Anders' singing is changed/toned down, but Abnegation is still the weakest track on the EP imo. I'm glad it won't be released on A Sense Of Purpose.
dancingdecember - 07.03.2008 at 15:18  
i listened to mirror's truth from their myspace and i liked it very much.but also i find it's chorus very similiar to evil in a closet's chorus.i wont listen to other songs since it's not my tradition.but i think i can hope for a good album.
Jeeers - 08.03.2008 at 00:29  
If you expect a shit - you get shit! Well .... I got shit. I respect people who like new In Flames sound, but for me they are lost their power. I disagree wit those who didn't like "Soundtrack for your Escape" - it's really interesting album, but starting with "Come clarity" I think in Flames are dead in creative sense... They are boring - admit it! Not bad, just average.... Pheww.... it's a difference between such bands like Dark Tranquillity, Opeth and Katatonia - they make a step further, are innovative, become melodic, but never lose their true power and heaviness - they are never boring.... that's just my opinion, but look around and you see so many underground (and maybe just underrated like "The Old Dead Tree" and "Novembre") bands who has true potential, but like Metallica some of them are too blinded by glittering dollars or just ran out of fresh ideas... i'm sorry for them...
Jeeers - 08.03.2008 at 00:31  
OK, above post is really lame in sense of english language, but I think you got idea right
Warman - 08.03.2008 at 01:24  
Good review but what I've heard so far is pure shit. Can't stand todays In Flames.
Collin - 08.03.2008 at 13:30  
I like the songs on this EP, especially "The Mirror's Truth", I enjoy what they did with the guitar melodies on this track. I like new In Flames as much as the old one anyway, except STYE. Looking forward to the new release. Hopefully it has the same quality.
flamey - 08.03.2008 at 14:14  
I dont get all the bashing to this ep cos i think it's truly a step forward after the last 3 albums which lost In Flames' unique melodicness.(if such word exists:D) so to be honest i didnt expect this ep to be good, but hell,tilt is an amazing song. it reminds me of the old In Flames, guitar driven, melodic, different riffs, totally not boring. Drums and guitars' production is also better than the last three albums, cos i think they dont sound artificial like them. So, in general, i think this was a good ep and it gave me hopes once again for the next album.
Harbinger - 09.03.2008 at 05:04  
okay, so "the mirror's truth" (song, not EP) is boring. "tilt" and "eraser" are okay, and "abnegation" at least sounds better than the version they released last summer. the EP has some decent parts to it, but overall it's massively bland.

and dammit anders, stop singing. you sound like a whiny twelve year old.
DoomGuard - 09.03.2008 at 22:53  
I'm one of those casual onlookers described heh, and yea i can't wait to see how bad these guys have gotten...Their only good song is 'Episode 666' but i doubt this album is ever gonna sound like that...
flamey - 10.03.2008 at 23:23  
Written by DoomGuard on 09.03.2008 at 22:53

I'm one of those casual onlookers described heh, and yea i can't wait to see how bad these guys have gotten...Their only good song is 'Episode 666' but i doubt this album is ever gonna sound like that...


You seriously need to get your ears checked.
DoomGuard - 11.03.2008 at 15:45  
Written by flamey on 10.03.2008 at 23:23

Written by DoomGuard on 09.03.2008 at 22:53

I'm one of those casual onlookers described heh, and yea i can't wait to see how bad these guys have gotten...Their only good song is 'Episode 666' but i doubt this album is ever gonna sound like that...


You seriously need to get your ears checked.


I like my ears...they know well that Clean Vocals+Growling=wuss bands (examples are every screamo band and Opeth)
flamey - 11.03.2008 at 16:20  
Sorry DoomGuard, I can only laugh at you, seriously. Dont show your age that much boy, really. You will learn, in time, to appreciate Opeth, for now it is kinda too good for you. I wish you luck in your journey and good listenings in über brutal trve kvlt death metal, such as Blind Guardian and Iced Earth.
Plaguebearer - 17.03.2008 at 21:07  
Being my favouite band for some time, I've shrugged off comments about In Flames' genre changes and accepted them for who they are. But I must say this EP was the most dissapointing In Flames release I have listened too. I was greatly looking forward to this new album, and still intend to buy it. But after listening to abnegation and the mirror's truth (i couldn't find the rest of the album online, or in stores) I must say my faith in in flames has been shattered. I don't even hear the "death metal" in their music anymore. My final decision awaits the album, but at this time, it appears to me that the in flames death metal legacy has come to an end.
Unconsecrated - 19.03.2008 at 13:03  
Written by Plaguebearer on 17.03.2008 at 21:07

Being my favouite band for some time, I've shrugged off comments about In Flames' genre changes and accepted them for who they are. But I must say this EP was the most dissapointing In Flames release I have listened too. I was greatly looking forward to this new album, and still intend to buy it. But after listening to abnegation and the mirror's truth (i couldn't find the rest of the album online, or in stores) I must say my faith in in flames has been shattered. I don't even hear the "death metal" in their music anymore. My final decision awaits the album, but at this time, it appears to me that the in flames death metal legacy has come to an end.


I think that the song "The Mirror's Truth" is not that bad, actually it has been growing on me since the first time i listened to it (but i'm getting tired of the music). "Abnegation"is terrible but wait until you listen to "The Chosen Pessimist" (worst In Flames song ever). Anyway, from this EP, "Eraser" and "Tilt" are nice.
Plaguebearer - 19.03.2008 at 17:36  
Quote:
I think that the song "The Mirror's Truth" is not that bad, actually it has been growing on me since the first time i listened to it (but i'm getting tired of the music). "Abnegation"is terrible but wait until you listen to "The Chosen Pessimist" (worst In Flames song ever). Anyway, from this EP, "Eraser" and "Tilt" are nice.


I actually know what your talking about dude. Mirror is getting better, but its still not what i was hoping for. Im just finding new ways to appreciate in flames. I couldn't find eraser or tilt, but id like to hear them. I just can't stand the whiney crying parts, like in abnegation. It jsut ruins the song for me
Mr. Doctor - 19.03.2008 at 18:34  
Written by Warman on 08.03.2008 at 01:24

Good review but what I've heard so far is pure shit. Can't stand todays In Flames.


I didn't like it either...
I hate the vocals... they are going emo...
Harbinger - 19.03.2008 at 23:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.03.2008 at 18:34


I didn't like it either...
I hate the vocals... they are going emo...


you think the EP is bad? wait until you hear a sense of purpose. it's utter crap. in fact, it's so bad it makes abnegation (as bad as it is) sound brilliant.
muikaslin - 25.03.2008 at 21:31  
in flames was never bad. the sound goes emo??, i think you dont know... they are the best melodic death band ever. if you google for some studio videos, your right, the vocals are like moaning. but i think alltogether the sound is so great.
also their songs are unbeatable in goetheborg, or melodic, how you like. the new ones too.
in flames became more musically in the last years. first they were a goo deathmetal band, but nowadays, they are on of the greatest melodic death metal groups ever. now calles goetheborg, but i don't really like that name.
they should go on like that
ß - 25.03.2008 at 23:18  
I don't really consider anything after Clay Man Melodic Death Metal.
Harbinger - 25.03.2008 at 23:31  
Written by Guest on 25.03.2008 at 21:31

in flames was never bad. the sound goes emo??, i think you dont know... they are the best melodic death band ever.

in flames have been far from melodic death metal since clayman. they may have been nu-gothenburg for a few years but come clarity, the mirror's truth, and (soon to be) a sense of purpose should convince anyone that they're now far from that genre, as well. at best, i'd tag them as alternative metal. if carnal forge is considered as such, in flames should be, too. especially since carnal forge's latest is harder than anything in flames has come out with since clayman.
muikaslin - 27.03.2008 at 19:38  
gothenburg is a not very old genre, i know everbody is talking about that now. also sonic syndicate is gothenburg, now even in flames. do think in flames wouldn't be melodic death, if there wasn't goethenburg??
of course, the metal got less hard, youre absolutely right. but i dont agree with "melodic death hast to be hard". i like them. i like if people say they are melodic death.., if it makes you happy, i say ok i like goethenburg. but is this true?...
Harbinger - 27.03.2008 at 23:08  
Written by Guest on 27.03.2008 at 19:38

gothenburg is a not very old genre, i know everbody is talking about that now. also sonic syndicate is gothenburg, now even in flames. do think in flames wouldn't be melodic death, if there wasn't goethenburg??
of course, the metal got less hard, youre absolutely right. but i dont agree with "melodic death hast to be hard". i like them. i like if people say they are melodic death.., if it makes you happy, i say ok i like goethenburg. but is this true?...

in flames would be neither MDM or gothenburg, no matter what genres existed at this point. gothenburg is a fairly new genre, yeah, but it's a mixture of all styles of metal, from grindcore to death to thrash to melodic death. bands like mors principium est, fall of serenity, scarpoint, or darkane are gothenburg because they fuse influences from a bunch of selective genres, even metalcore, but they leave the clean vocals aside. it's kind of like the melting pot of metal, or a hybrid, persay.

i really don't think you could dub in flames or sonic syndicate as gothenburg. like i said in my last post, i'd consider in flames to be alternative metal. their sound has reached a point that's comparable to korn or system of a down, as well as their overkill with clean vocals. when speaking about melodic death metal, it has to be heavy, else it wouldn't be "death". if it isn't, it's simply melodic metal. as for sonic syndicate, i consider them to be metalcore...through and through.

i found a thread on MS a while ago about "nu-gothenburg", and how it's a less heavy form of gothenburg. bands like the haunted (rEVOLVEr and on) and soilwork (figure number five and on) fall into that genre, so you could possibly say in flames play that type of metal as well. either way, they're a far cry from true gothenburg IMO.
muikaslin - 28.03.2008 at 23:16  
yes, but if you say these bands are gothenburg, or even metalcore". metalcore is a mixture too, punk, metal you know.
i wouldn't put in flames together with system. they are completely different. the drums, the guitars, vocals. everything. the way of playing, genre... but of course both i greath bands. i heard system fours years ago, it was the beginning of listening metal and so on. i wouldn't say they are rock, but more rock than in flames-like

melodic metal sounds nice,
i don't think they are alternative, of courss death has to be hard, but they were and now they got melodic too. if you say hard,. i think you mean the vocals?
sonic syndicate... i agree with the meaning metalcore. if you listen to bullet, youre right. but killswitch or caliban... so different. metalcore is a great genre. but maybe they are a part of it.,

now i have to ask you, do you like in flames? , when not what doyou?
Harbinger - 29.03.2008 at 01:21  
i see what you're saying. alternative metal is a wide open genre because it's "alternative". some people on MS would call tool and SoaD alternative metal, but they're both distinctively different and uncomparable. IMO it's only called alternative metal because, when referring to the music, it doesn't fit into any other style.

at this point i'll retract what i said about in flames being alternative metal because i'd have to say they fall into nu-gothenburg more than alternative. the reason being that they used to be considered gothenburg/melodic death metal, then eventually went soft and started taking influences from nu-metal. the same goes for soilwork and the haunted. they kind of created their own sub-genre of gothenburg because they couldn't hang with the big dogs...lol. nonetheless, it makes sense to me.

they may have been melodic death or gothenburg at one time, but they eventually crossed over to a sound that's a lot different. perhaps they're metalcore, or maybe nu-gothenburg. all i know is that they aren't comparable to the typical melodic death/gothenburg you'd find out there. as an example, listen to a sense of purpose, then listen to anything by a band that's tagged as MDM or gothenburg. (i can give you examples if you're interested. just PM me if you want.)

as for metalcore, all of those bands you mentioned have similarities in their music. the endless contrast between growls/screams with clean vocals, the simplistic song-structuring thanks to punk/hardcore, and so on. no matter what, no band will sound exactly like another, but you'll always find aspects of each band that are comparable to others that fall into the same genre.

as for myself, i like anything previous of RTR; colony and clayman being my favorites. i also like STYE a lot. i don't hate in flames, i'm just a critic because i feel there's a difference between a band's sound maturing alongside the musicians, and forcefully changing your sound for more exposure.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Bereavement - The Advent Of Loss 6 07.09.2007 by Aylee_Bodom
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder 6 03.11.2008 by ArcesseEum
Reviews Neonfly - Outshine The Sun 6 05.10.2011 by Susan
Reviews Krisiun - The Great Execution 6 28.10.2011 by JD
Reviews Rebellion - Miklagard: The History Of Vikings Part II 6 29.07.2007 by



Hits total: 9560 | This month: 46