Korpiklaani - Korven Kuningas review



Reviewer:
8.0

282 users:
7.65
Band: Korpiklaani
Album: Korven Kuningas
Release date: March 2008


01. Tapporauta
02. Metsämies
03. Keep On Galloping
04. Northern Fall
05. Shall We Take A Turn
06. Paljon On Koskessa Kiviä
07. Ali Jäisten Vetten
08. Gods On Fire
09. Kipakka [Japanese bonus]
10. Kantaiso
11. Kipumylly
12. Suden Joiku
13. Runamoine
14. Syntykoski Syömmehessäin
15. Korven Kuningas
16. Nuolet Nomalan [digipack bonus]


Korpiklaani are not a band that need a formal introduction these days, they have been one of the core bands of the wave of folk metal moving into the mainstream, and are also deservedly one of the most popular bands in this area for several reasons. Here we are again though, another year - another Korpiklaani album packed full of accordion laced folk fun.

There have been enough albums in recent times to know what to expect from "Korven Kuningas", and your presumptions would not be wrong at all. We have a few great songs on this album such as the opener "Tapporauta" which sets a good pace for the album, but on the whole even when Korpiklaani are still one of the few bands that impose this much folk influence in the metal, the album cannot escape sounding just like the previous albums and making you question whether you accidentally bought the same album again instead.

Musically there has been no significant progression, but then again this is not the kind of music to be analysed and picked at like that. Korpiklaani thrive in the live environment where most people have had their share of beer and only care about enjoying themselves with some fun music to prance around to. In that sense, "Korven Kuningas" is an album that will satisfy audiences, as this is another instalment of quality folk music inspired by the forests of Finland and delivered with radiating cheerful warmth. "Keep On Galloping" will no doubt be a great sing-along live and also "Gods On Fire", maybe suited more for the CD, shows off the slower side that we know they can do so well, also.

Comparing to previous albums, maybe "Korven Kuningas" is not as punchy or constantly entertaining as previous albums. Nothing is as enchanting as "Pine Woods", nothing has the sheer enthusiasm behind it as, say "Happy Little Boozer" or "Beer Beer" and as a whole "Korven Kuningas" may not be as such of a solid album as "Tervaskanto", but these things will mean nothing when out there in a field hearing this material live. Korpiklaani are a band that just needs to be enjoyed without the analysis of performance or originality and such things.

Korpiklaani are one of the top dogs in this game, and "Korven Kuningas" is a worthy album. It may not be the best the band has ever put out over the years but it certainly still brings a smile to the face, and this is what this music is all about at the end of the day.


 



Written on 21.03.2008 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments

Comments: 26   Visited by: 272 users
21.03.2008 - 14:32
Bad English
Masterchief
Nice job and album Korpiklaani never change, hapy litle boozers
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
21.03.2008 - 14:43
GT
Coffee!!
No need for them to change...they're great fun and I bet they're even better live. Nice to know what to expect from the new album
----


Dreams are made so we don't get bored when we sleep
Loading...
21.03.2008 - 14:47
White Winter Sun
Laboratory's Rat
Nice review Barry.

With a Korpiklaani album, I'm only waiting myself to one thing: have an enjoyable moment during the listening, with melodies making me headbanging with a smile on face. And they do it again with this new release.
Korpiklaani still the same, musically there has been no significant progression, no originality, but who really expect to something different from them? Result will be the same on stage: fest and beers.

My rate: something between 7 and 8.
Loading...
22.03.2008 - 12:40
Abattoir
I totally agree with you...nice review.
Loading...
22.03.2008 - 20:21
Damnated
Churchburner
listening to a drill is more entertaining than this.

i don't understand what is the point in releasing the same music over and over again under a different album name ..
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
22.03.2008 - 20:49
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Damnated on 22.03.2008 at 20:21

listening to a drill is more entertaining than this.

i don't understand what is the point in releasing the same music over and over again under a different album name ..


I agree, but many more bands got away with it (best examples being Motorhead and AC/DC but those I prefer to KorPrickLaani) I really ONLY find Korpiklaani enjoyable when I am drunk out of my mind. Really, their music is even more shallow than AC/DC and Motorhead. This is metal that is so easy to digest it isn't a wonder it is popular. Hell, even HIM is harder to get into. But then again Korpiklaani is the epitome of 99% of the current folk metal scene (also see Turisas, Alestorm and other such bands). A total fad that will burn out quickly. I think Martin Walkier of Skyclad will certainly be ashamed of having started the folk metal trend way back in the early Nineties. At least his music had a meaning as did his lyrics, not being the pathetic drivel we get shelved out by bands such as Korpiklaani.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.03.2008 - 00:27
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
Good review, wow they sound the same, so what. When a band makes a song called "Beer Beer" we're not expecting them to progress into mind-blowing technical variation that changes the way we hear music. It's just straightforward drinking music. Who doesn't know this?

Maybe they should change their sound, become a death metal band named Corpsickle, and put out an album about killing forest creatures.
That would appease the segregates, meanwhile alienating their fanbase that just want music to get drunk to.
Loading...
24.03.2008 - 00:22
Iceland_Norway
Korven kuningas is the best ever for me together with TROLLFEST eheh.

It's the signal who someone do good music.

Go 'klaani goooooooooooooo
----
Føroyar mítt land

Tú alfagra land mítt

Føroyar mín Móðir
Loading...
24.03.2008 - 00:38
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
If I can be able to hear just ONE song from this damn album, I will be satisfied!!
Loading...
24.03.2008 - 13:24
Judas
Resident Quack
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 24.03.2008 at 00:38

If I can be able to hear just ONE song from this damn album, I will be satisfied!!

Because the rest will all sound exactly the same as that one?

Don't get me wrong, I think Korpiklaani make some really enjoyable music, but I don't see the point in buying any more of their stuff since it all sounds the same. I'm not going to enjoy this album any more than their first one.
----
"Once the game is over, the king and the pawn both go back into the same box."
Loading...
24.03.2008 - 17:10
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
Written by Judas on 24.03.2008 at 13:24

Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 24.03.2008 at 00:38

If I can be able to hear just ONE song from this damn album, I will be satisfied!!

Because the rest will all sound exactly the same as that one?

Don't get me wrong, I think Korpiklaani make some really enjoyable music, but I don't see the point in buying any more of their stuff since it all sounds the same. I'm not going to enjoy this album any more than their first one.


Some bands are just consistant like that, I view it as a beautiful thing, it worked for Motorhead
Loading...
25.03.2008 - 02:58
Judas
Resident Quack
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 24.03.2008 at 17:10

Written by Judas on 24.03.2008 at 13:24

Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 24.03.2008 at 00:38

If I can be able to hear just ONE song from this damn album, I will be satisfied!!

Because the rest will all sound exactly the same as that one?

Don't get me wrong, I think Korpiklaani make some really enjoyable music, but I don't see the point in buying any more of their stuff since it all sounds the same. I'm not going to enjoy this album any more than their first one.


Some bands are just consistant like that, I view it as a beautiful thing, it worked for Motorhead

Compilations for the win...
----
"Once the game is over, the king and the pawn both go back into the same box."
Loading...
29.03.2008 - 20:22
Cydfrey
Hmmm Im not a Korpik fan so I don't know really well the other albums but IMO this album is quite different from the previous : some songs are more "serious", it's not just 15 funny folk songs that make people feel like dancing (but not me...), and so it's quite more interesting to listen than the others...
I could speak about "Gods on fire" in example.
But maybe am I wrong...
Loading...
30.03.2008 - 02:16
Lasher
It´s a nice album, good for drinking a few beers and janging out with some friends jejeje... nice work as always...no need for them to change
----
Sold My Soul To Stay Alive
Loading...
20.04.2008 - 14:17
Piro
I hope it is in stock, I plan to buy it today
----
<Philosophy>Insert Intelligent Sounding yet meaningless Philosophical Quote Here</Philosophy>
Loading...
04.10.2008 - 22:59
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
Wow it's been long since I posted on this review. I now own this album!
I love it
The only problem is, THERE IS NO DRINKING SONG!!!
There's no
"Beer Beer", "Wooden Pints", "Happy Little Boozer" or "Let's Drink" kind of anthemn! That was greatly disappointing. But besides that, I like the album.
Loading...
05.10.2008 - 20:36
VPeter
Korpiklaani is like beer itself, it rarely changes with the year - only slight changes.
personally I liked it.
Loading...
05.10.2008 - 23:20
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by VPeter on 05.10.2008 at 20:36

Korpiklaani is like beer itself, it rarely changes with the year - only slight changes.
personally I liked it.



Please don't compare Korpiklaani to beer. There is a LOT more variation to beer than there is to Korpiklaani's music.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
16.11.2008 - 19:44
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 04.10.2008 at 22:59

The only problem is, THERE IS NO DRINKING SONG!!!
There's no
"Beer Beer", "Wooden Pints", "Happy Little Boozer" or "Let's Drink" kind of anthemn! That was greatly disappointing. But besides that, I like the album.


omfg you're right!!! Where is the drinkin song?!! Tervaskanto also didnt have one man thats a disappointment... good album thou..
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
17.11.2008 - 00:51
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
Written by Uirapuru on 16.11.2008 at 19:44

Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 04.10.2008 at 22:59

The only problem is, THERE IS NO DRINKING SONG!!!
There's no
"Beer Beer", "Wooden Pints", "Happy Little Boozer" or "Let's Drink" kind of anthemn! That was greatly disappointing. But besides that, I like the album.


omfg you're right!!! Where is the drinkin song?!! Tervaskanto also didnt have one man thats a disappointment... good album thou..

Yes it did, "Let's Drink"
Loading...
17.11.2008 - 22:33
DanielViking
This is just one of that albuns that just leave a smile on your face and a huge desire to party and drink beer... another great album from the folk finnish kings. 9!!
Loading...
01.12.2008 - 20:38
PM
Hail Lusitânia
I got it, and i really love the mood of it!

and i think they're the kings, by putting in the last song "korven kuningas" a 15 min. drum part...

Hails to the True Guardians of the Forest!!!

m/
----
PM is a pink elephant, and can be found at the bamboo forests of Greenland...
Loading...
07.04.2009 - 19:19
Feng
I have read various reviews around the net and am really surprised at how it was recieved in some places, people saying how Korpiklaani are tired and old now and need to make a change of direction. Who CARES if they have not changed their sound???
They are damn good at what they are doing! I think Korven Kuningas is actually the best release so far, catchy songs, great melodies, Jonne's vocals are tops... what more could you want?
Keep on Galloping, Northern Fall, Gods on Fire, Suden Joiku.... many many good songs.
Loading...
29.05.2009 - 14:03
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 17.11.2008 at 00:51

Written by Uirapuru on 16.11.2008 at 19:44

Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 04.10.2008 at 22:59

The only problem is, THERE IS NO DRINKING SONG!!!
There's no
"Beer Beer", "Wooden Pints", "Happy Little Boozer" or "Let's Drink" kind of anthemn! That was greatly disappointing. But besides that, I like the album.


omfg you're right!!! Where is the drinkin song?!! Tervaskanto also didnt have one man thats a disappointment... good album thou..

Yes it did, "Let's Drink"


pffff Geez The most obvious name and I miss it!
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
30.05.2009 - 06:27
Lord_Regnier
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.03.2008 at 20:49

Written by Damnated on 22.03.2008 at 20:21

listening to a drill is more entertaining than this.

i don't understand what is the point in releasing the same music over and over again under a different album name ..


I agree, but many more bands got away with it (best examples being Motorhead and AC/DC but those I prefer to KorPrickLaani) I really ONLY find Korpiklaani enjoyable when I am drunk out of my mind. Really, their music is even more shallow than AC/DC and Motorhead. This is metal that is so easy to digest it isn't a wonder it is popular. Hell, even HIM is harder to get into. But then again Korpiklaani is the epitome of 99% of the current folk metal scene (also see Turisas, Alestorm and other such bands). A total fad that will burn out quickly. I think Martin Walkier of Skyclad will certainly be ashamed of having started the folk metal trend way back in the early Nineties. At least his music had a meaning as did his lyrics, not being the pathetic drivel we get shelved out by bands such as Korpiklaani.


Korpiklaani is extremely accessible, indeed. This music has no depth at all. Superficial, shallow, commercial, pop-ish.

AC/DC and Motorhead can be enjoyable if you like their style (I like AC/DC) but they haven't evolved in 30 years. They just recycle the same formula over and over. So much we can consider it as self-plagiarism, imo.

As for Alestorm, the fact lots of people are so thrilled about it is a mystery to me. Alestorm is pure shit. I had the misfortune to check this garbage, thinking it could be something in the vein of Stormwarrior. Needless to say my disappointment has been huge.

The problem is not that these genres are bad in themselves, but there are way too many of those Pagan/Viking/Folk metal bands since a while and most of them play mediocre, ultra-generic music that gets boring quite fast. I get the feeling from this situation that bands who don't know which direction they should take tell themselves "Why not make some kind of Pagan or Folk metal, people are crazy for this stuff nowadays, no matter if it's good or not". (It's probably what Profugus Mortis thought when they changed their name for Blackguard, went from melodic BM to Pagan metal, and became generic as fuck - and the reason why I dropped this band and didn't buy the new album)

I would add that I dislike 'booze metal' in general. It has the same silly, superficial mentality as Cock Rock and pop music.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...
15.02.2010 - 04:27
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
After this album I'm done with korpiklaani. Sticking to their older stuff.
Loading...

Hits total: 9141 | This month: 5