Rating:
8.9
Sepultura - Arise
20 March 1991


01. Arise
02. Dead Embryonic Cells
03. Desperate Cry
04. Murder
05. Subtraction
06. Altered State
07. Under Siege (Regnum Irae)
08. Meaningless Movements
09. Infected Voice
10. Orgasmatron [Motörhead cover] [bonus]
11. Intro [bonus]
12. C.I.U. (Criminals In Uniform) [bonus]
13. Desperate Cry [Scott Burns mix version] [bonus]


Sepultura has always had an incredibly straightforward approach to writing music. This is not to say that their music lacks complexities, in fact quite the opposite, but it does mean that their songs are structured in a very accessible manner. This album is no exception as it contains every element you could want from a Thrash Metal album and yet doesn't sound clichéd for a moment. The Death Metal leanings of their previous three full length efforts are far less obvious and on this album they hit the mark perfectly between their earlier style and the tribal feel which would emerge later on in their career.

Max is at his potent best here with his screams of frustration at religion and third world despair and despite his limitations with the English language it actually adds to the songs in hammering home their message through the use of clear and concise phrases lacking any over-complex subtlety.

Igor really comes into his own behind the drum kit on this record and proves that he really is the heartbeat of the band as his unique style does a lot to propel the riffs along. There are numerous breaks throughout the album where the drumming takes centre stage and drives the album forward with complete fluidity. You get the feeling that a few of these riffs were written to the beat rather than the other way around.

Every single song on this album is utter class and stands up alone just as easily as they do in the context of the album. It is not very often you hear a band sounding this tight and it is not only due to the excellent production but because Max and Igor Cavalera have a unique musical understanding of each other like only two brothers who grew up learning music together can share. Over their strong rhythm section Andreas Kisser layers the album with powerful and memorable guitar solos and Paulo Jnr does the necessary in his bass duties.

There are some strange intros to a few of these songs and for the very first time we are exposed to the tribal edge they developed, with the intro to "Altered State", which sounds as though it comes straight out of the jungle.

The song "Arise" has become an anthem and this album will definitely stand test of time. It is one Sepultura's best, if not the best, and its sheer quality gained them a lot of respect in the metal world, it lifted them beyond simply being that pretty good Brazilian band to being just a pretty damn good band.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Sepultura
Album: Arise


 


written by Stuart | 16.04.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 180  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 16.04.2008 at 21:20  
Masterpiece of Death Metal, I love old Sepultura albums!
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.04.2008 at 21:26  
Written by Katatronik on 16.04.2008 at 21:20

Masterpiece of Death Metal, I love old Sepultura albums!


Thrash metal actually
Mr. Doctor - 16.04.2008 at 21:34  
Their last masterpiece...
The first 4 albums are my favorite thrash.
I think that this one is my least favorite than the three others.. But don't get me wrong.
This shit is still awesome and kick ass every day... But it just that I like the raw and not so talented albums [for example "Morbid Vision] that they did first ^^

I think Im gonna buy this one anyway...


edit post:

Ok.. I'm listening to this cd right now... This shit.. start to grown on me... VERY FAST.
Very good cd man, It can't top my favorite [Schizophrenia] but that cause I have a personal connection with it.
But this will be maybe the second best... awesome!!!

Under A Pale Grey Sky
WE SHALL ARISE!!!!!!!

That line.. is soooo metal.
Deadmeat - 21.10.2008 at 18:13  
Excellent thrash metal, great production, great riffs and insane drumming! To me the lyrics of this album are a must.They are straight and hit flesh!
Uirapuru - 13.06.2009 at 08:16  
Damn you Sepultura!! When Beneath the Remains seemed unreacheble, you release something equaly perfect. Golden age of Sepultura.
terrorist - 19.06.2009 at 10:38  
Written by Uirapuru on 13.06.2009 at 08:16

Damn you Sepultura!! When Beneath the Remains seemed unreacheble, you release something equaly perfect. Golden age of Sepultura.

I Agree,Arise is amazing album!!!If only they could do it again:)
Panterica - 18.06.2010 at 14:18  
The fourth track, Murder, is a killer!
Moosh666 - 16.04.2011 at 19:28  
This and it's 3 predecessors are apart of the Bible of Thrash Metal. I honest to God wouldn't know where I would be if it wasn't for this landmark album, when I only realised my love for Thrash from Kill 'Em All and Fabulous Disaster, I immediately became almost obsessed when I gave this my first listen, and even after years of listening to it I still love it so much it brings joy to my heart just hearing that pure aggression and speed that music these days cannot come close to (except maybe those from the Thrash revival wave, like my favourite band Evile), the existence of this much talent just keeps me at peace in the late night hours.
- Moosh
Angelic Storm - 16.04.2011 at 21:28  
This is my fave Seps album, as well as being the first album I heard by them. What I love about it, is the songwriting is more intelligent and thought out than before, while still remaining firmly in the same genre as it's predecessor. It took all that was great about "Beneath The Remains", and just expanded on that sound, without changing like they started doing with "Chaos AD". Although I love the whole album, "Altered State" has always been the song I love most from it. It has an amazingly dark atmosphere, accenuated all the more by the creepy as hell intro/outro which still gives me the chills to this day! Definitely IMO one of metal's most classic albums, and the pinnacle of Sepultura. Just amazing stuff.
Array - 16.04.2011 at 21:39  
Hmm, dig all the stuff in this, but I could say my personal key tracks are "Arise", "Subtraction" & "Under Siege (Regnum Irae)".
Boxcar Willy - 14.01.2012 at 19:14  
Written by Panterica on 18.06.2010 at 14:18

The fourth track, Murder, is a killer!

I see what you did there.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Articles Sepultura: Should they arise? 4.5 22.06.2009 by Haddonfield
Albums Sepultura - Arise 4.5 19.01.2010 by
Reviews Sepultura - Chaos AD 4 22.09.2006 by
News Sepultura - Ex-Slayer Drummer To Guest On New Album 3 20.06.2013 by Lit.
News Sepultura - Audio Samples Of Entire New Album 3 11.12.2008 by SlaytallicA



Hits total: 6646 | This month: 75