Rating:
8.0
Deicide - Till Death Do Us Part
28 April 2008


01. The Beginning Of The End
02. Till Death Do Us Part
03. Hate Of All Hatreds
04. In The Eyes Of God
05. Worthless Misery
06. Severed Ties
07. Not As Long As We Both Shall Live
08. Angel Of Agony
09. Horror In The Halls Of Stone
10. The End Of The Beginning
11. The Great Lance [deluxe edition bonus]


After reading so many reviews all over the internet, and after almost feeling sick of so many people comparing this new effort with Deicide's 2006 record, I told myself the following: "-Myself, please don't talk about The Stench Of Redemption in your review...PLEASE!!". And now, to be perfectly honest with you, that task is in one word...impossible. The only thing that makes this album less impressive, is the fact that it drags the shadow of "The Stench Of Redemption", one of the band's best releases to date.

That said, "Till Death Do Us Part" is one of the most intense records this year, the music is brutal, raw, and the album comes with a surprisingly relentless execution; this is Death Metal eroding your ears with fast drumming and catchy riffs, something everyone in the scene must hear and appreciate, believe me, you'll find your reasons.

Still...this is no "Stench Of Redemption"...I can't believe how many people was disappointed by this CD, they were waiting for the same color this time, but instead the band offered something different, neither good nor bad, just something different. Let me explain, one of the most interesting features of "The Stench Of Redemption" were the melodious guitar-solos, they were slow, incredibly complex and long, thus creating a polished atmosphere that enriched the entire concept, it was marvelous to be honest...those solos are long gone, instead we have speedy leads with spastic signatures and a very raw style, again, those are not bad, just not what we were looking for in the first place...I could go on with at least 10 more features, but comparing albums is just boring to tell you the truth.

"Til Death Do Us Part" has a lot of other things that will make you want to eat babies for breakfast; the music is seriously addictive, the patterns and beats have a lot of funky moments where you'll be head-banging like a maniac, I mean, I've been hearing this piece daily for over a week now, and I'm not even tired. The rest of the album is truly franctic, the speedy execution is total madness and it keeps you interested to the very end, while the band manages to keep things coherent, everything is less explosive than previous works though. The artwork is...well...not good, yes, naked women are really sexy, but only when they are not fat, ugly and neck-less; oddly enough, I guess it does matches with the title.

All in all this is a good album, if it's not a re-make of "The Stench Of Redemption" then the joke's on you for expecting it to be. Still, I understand your grief, and while I gave "The Stench Of Redemption" an awesome 9.6 (Almost Perfect), "Til Death Do Us Part" receives just an 8...hopefully they'll outdo themselves next time.

Best Tracks: "Till Death Do Us Part", "Horror In The Halls Of Stone", "Hate Of All Hatreds".

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Deicide
Album: Till Death Do Us Part


 


written by Herzebeth | 07.07.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 253  
Search this topic:  


SlaytallicA - 08.07.2008 at 13:34  
"The only thing that makes this album less impressive, is the fact that it drags the shadow of "The Stench Of Redemption", one of the band's best releases to date."

Indeed, this is a really good album but the cloud of "The Stench Of Redemption" will be hanging forever above this one(and perhaps above all the others to come). But I'm not disappointed, this is a great effort.
theflyingmachine - 08.07.2008 at 17:26  
This album kind of reminded me of In Torment In Hell. I wasn't really impressed with it, but then again, I wasn't impressed with The Stench of Redemption or really, anything past Serpents of the Light, so it's probably expected that I didn't like this one.
Sunioj - 08.07.2008 at 18:15  
While I liked 'Stench of Redemption' this album on its own doesn't really impress me that much either. Don't get me wrong, I like Deicides old school efforts the most, but this.....
deathovertime - 08.07.2008 at 18:32  
The Stench Of Redemption was probably one of their best albums, but I think this one comes very close to competing with it. It may not be better, but it comes close. I think "In The Eyes Of God" is the best song on the album, was half expecting to see that as one of yours.
mankvill - 08.07.2008 at 23:59  
Great review, this album really is great.
dancingdecember - 09.07.2008 at 01:40  
"yes, naked women are really sexy, but only when they are not fat, ugly and neck-less"

haha brilliant, neck-less
Southern Wind - 09.07.2008 at 03:15  
I found this album pretty boring... the vocals suck and it tries to reach a technical edge that is badly done.
Nyxgrinder - 09.07.2008 at 05:18  
I like the album, the songwriting is rated 7 I think that cause jesus is so boring this days...........
But that's who they are.....Jack Owen refreshed Deicide tho
Dangerboner - 09.07.2008 at 06:08  
Considering how great Deicide is, this album is definitely lacking. I still like it though (Severed Ties rules), but I wish the guitars were louder, and the intro and outro is pretty lame.
lenesu - 10.07.2008 at 01:21  
That said, "Till Death Do Us Part" is one of the most intense records this year, the music is brutal

Are you kiddind me? You must be a blind Deicide fan to say so. This album is less than average.
Dangerboner - 10.07.2008 at 03:03  
^^^ huh? Brutal doesn't always mean good. This really is one of their fastest and most brutal albums, but surely nowhere near their best.

For the most part, I agree with Herz, but I'd rate it lower.
Herzebeth - 10.07.2008 at 08:32  
Written by Dangerboner on 10.07.2008 at 03:03

^^^ huh? Brutal doesn't always mean good. This really is one of their fastest and most brutal albums, but surely nowhere near their best.

For the most part, I agree with Herz, but I'd rate it lower.

Damn man, something's happening here...you said you'd rate this lower...you said you'd rate Origin's album higher... I remember when we used to be you know...on the same channel.... wanna hold my hand?
Dangerboner - 10.07.2008 at 13:12  
Written by Herzebeth on 10.07.2008 at 08:32

Written by Dangerboner on 10.07.2008 at 03:03

^^^ huh? Brutal doesn't always mean good. This really is one of their fastest and most brutal albums, but surely nowhere near their best.

For the most part, I agree with Herz, but I'd rate it lower.

Damn man, something's happening here...you said you'd rate this lower...you said you'd rate Origin's album higher... I remember when we used to be you know...on the same channel.... wanna hold my hand?


lol only slightly man. I agree for the most part

But....I prefer to cuddle, ya know? Something nice...
Baz Anderson - 10.07.2008 at 13:37  
Hahaha. I'll have to listen to this album again because from when I first heard it I really wasn't impressed at all.
NeoSe7en - 11.07.2008 at 02:22  
I liked Stench of Redemption, Deicide always has solid albums.
a MasT - 21.07.2008 at 02:31  
"In the Eyes of God" is a really cool song IMO because it has that little hiccup in the music before the intro/chorus goes into the verse. For me this kind of reflects the entire album: a return to old school death metal, and thats a rare find for new releases in death metal today.
Hamird - 22.07.2008 at 19:46  
Good review, But I thing after 2006 album most expected a well album like that!
Nego - 23.07.2008 at 18:26  
this is my first deicide album and i think its pretty good
Metal Freak - 25.07.2008 at 20:30  
Written by Guest on 23.07.2008 at 18:26

this is my first deicide album and i think its pretty good


Well, then you have plenty to look forward too. This album blows compared to old Deicide. Check out "Legion".

I wanted to like this album, but it is sooooo boring.
Uirapuru - 25.04.2009 at 20:42  
Good enough, not a big deal, just another ok death metal work. And it is also a lttle bit disappointing after ''The Stench of redemption''. Maybe nothing to worry about depending on the next album this year.

But to be fair: ''Horror In The Halls Of Stone'' is a death metal epic in the models of Nile.. really good.
Deadmeat - 28.12.2009 at 01:01  
I find this review completely spot on. this one should not be compared to the magnificent masterpiece called stench of redemption... this one is a nice album but it is unfair to do that comparison.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Deicide - Till Death Do Us Part 7.5 01.01.2010 by Deadmeat
Reviews Deicide - Legion 6 21.01.2007 by Dangerboner
Reviews Napalm Death - Scum 4.5 02.09.2006 by LethargyMan
Reviews The Disciples Of Zoldon - Unto Thine Darkness, Death Doth Deliver 4.5 08.02.2007 by Arian Totalis
News Deicide - Part Ways With Ralph Santolla 4.5 29.05.2007 by Mega-Slayer



Hits total: 5650 | This month: 72