Deicide - Till Death Do Us Part review



Reviewer:
8.0

198 users:
7.18
Band: Deicide
Album: Till Death Do Us Part
Release date: April 2008


01. The Beginning Of The End
02. Till Death Do Us Part
03. Hate Of All Hatreds
04. In The Eyes Of God
05. Worthless Misery
06. Severed Ties
07. Not As Long As We Both Shall Live
08. Angel Of Agony
09. Horror In The Halls Of Stone
10. The End Of The Beginning
11. The Great Lance [deluxe edition bonus]


After reading so many reviews all over the internet, and after almost feeling sick of so many people comparing this new effort with Deicide's 2006 record, I told myself the following: "-Myself, please don't talk about The Stench Of Redemption in your review...PLEASE!!". And now, to be perfectly honest with you, that task is in one word...impossible. The only thing that makes this album less impressive, is the fact that it drags the shadow of "The Stench Of Redemption", one of the band's best releases to date.

That said, "Till Death Do Us Part" is one of the most intense records this year, the music is brutal, raw, and the album comes with a surprisingly relentless execution; this is Death Metal eroding your ears with fast drumming and catchy riffs, something everyone in the scene must hear and appreciate, believe me, you'll find your reasons.

Still...this is no "Stench Of Redemption"...I can't believe how many people was disappointed by this CD, they were waiting for the same color this time, but instead the band offered something different, neither good nor bad, just something different. Let me explain, one of the most interesting features of "The Stench Of Redemption" were the melodious guitar-solos, they were slow, incredibly complex and long, thus creating a polished atmosphere that enriched the entire concept, it was marvelous to be honest...those solos are long gone, instead we have speedy leads with spastic signatures and a very raw style, again, those are not bad, just not what we were looking for in the first place...I could go on with at least 10 more features, but comparing albums is just boring to tell you the truth.

"Til Death Do Us Part" has a lot of other things that will make you want to eat babies for breakfast; the music is seriously addictive, the patterns and beats have a lot of funky moments where you'll be head-banging like a maniac, I mean, I've been hearing this piece daily for over a week now, and I'm not even tired. The rest of the album is truly franctic, the speedy execution is total madness and it keeps you interested to the very end, while the band manages to keep things coherent, everything is less explosive than previous works though. The artwork is...well...not good, yes, naked women are really sexy, but only when they are not fat, ugly and neck-less; oddly enough, I guess it does matches with the title.

All in all this is a good album, if it's not a re-make of "The Stench Of Redemption" then the joke's on you for expecting it to be. Still, I understand your grief, and while I gave "The Stench Of Redemption" an awesome 9.6 (Almost Perfect), "Til Death Do Us Part" receives just an 8...hopefully they'll outdo themselves next time.

Best Tracks: "Till Death Do Us Part", "Horror In The Halls Of Stone", "Hate Of All Hatreds".


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Herzebeth | 07.07.2008


 


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 261 users
08.07.2008 - 13:34
SlaytallicA
Lycanthropy
"The only thing that makes this album less impressive, is the fact that it drags the shadow of "The Stench Of Redemption", one of the band's best releases to date."

Indeed, this is a really good album but the cloud of "The Stench Of Redemption" will be hanging forever above this one(and perhaps above all the others to come). But I'm not disappointed, this is a great effort.
----
One Pound Of Flesh, No More No Less, No Cartilage, No Bones, But Only Flesh...
Loading...
08.07.2008 - 17:26
theflyingmachine
This album kind of reminded me of In Torment In Hell. I wasn't really impressed with it, but then again, I wasn't impressed with The Stench of Redemption or really, anything past Serpents of the Light, so it's probably expected that I didn't like this one.
Loading...
08.07.2008 - 18:15
Sunioj
While I liked 'Stench of Redemption' this album on its own doesn't really impress me that much either. Don't get me wrong, I like Deicides old school efforts the most, but this.....
Loading...
08.07.2008 - 18:32
deathovertime
Account deleted
The Stench Of Redemption was probably one of their best albums, but I think this one comes very close to competing with it. It may not be better, but it comes close. I think "In The Eyes Of God" is the best song on the album, was half expecting to see that as one of yours.
Loading...
08.07.2008 - 23:59
mankvill
Great review, this album really is great.
Loading...
09.07.2008 - 01:40
dancingdecember
"yes, naked women are really sexy, but only when they are not fat, ugly and neck-less"

haha brilliant, neck-less
----
i'm super, thanks for asking
Loading...
09.07.2008 - 03:15
Southern Wind
Account deleted
I found this album pretty boring... the vocals suck and it tries to reach a technical edge that is badly done.
Loading...
09.07.2008 - 05:18
Nyxgrinder
I like the album, the songwriting is rated 7 I think that cause jesus is so boring this days...........
But that's who they are.....Jack Owen refreshed Deicide tho
Loading...
09.07.2008 - 06:08
Dangerboner
:D
Considering how great Deicide is, this album is definitely lacking. I still like it though (Severed Ties rules), but I wish the guitars were louder, and the intro and outro is pretty lame.
Loading...
10.07.2008 - 01:21
lenesu
That said, "Till Death Do Us Part" is one of the most intense records this year, the music is brutal

Are you kiddind me? You must be a blind Deicide fan to say so. This album is less than average.
Loading...
10.07.2008 - 03:03
Dangerboner
:D
^^^ huh? Brutal doesn't always mean good. This really is one of their fastest and most brutal albums, but surely nowhere near their best.

For the most part, I agree with Herz, but I'd rate it lower.
Loading...
10.07.2008 - 08:32
Herzebeth
Written by Dangerboner on 10.07.2008 at 03:03

^^^ huh? Brutal doesn't always mean good. This really is one of their fastest and most brutal albums, but surely nowhere near their best.

For the most part, I agree with Herz, but I'd rate it lower.

Damn man, something's happening here...you said you'd rate this lower...you said you'd rate Origin's album higher... I remember when we used to be you know...on the same channel.... wanna hold my hand?
----
Loading...
10.07.2008 - 13:12
Dangerboner
:D
Written by Herzebeth on 10.07.2008 at 08:32

Written by Dangerboner on 10.07.2008 at 03:03

^^^ huh? Brutal doesn't always mean good. This really is one of their fastest and most brutal albums, but surely nowhere near their best.

For the most part, I agree with Herz, but I'd rate it lower.

Damn man, something's happening here...you said you'd rate this lower...you said you'd rate Origin's album higher... I remember when we used to be you know...on the same channel.... wanna hold my hand?


lol only slightly man. I agree for the most part

But....I prefer to cuddle, ya know? Something nice...
Loading...
10.07.2008 - 13:37
Baz Anderson
Hahaha. I'll have to listen to this album again because from when I first heard it I really wasn't impressed at all.
Loading...
11.07.2008 - 02:22
NeoSe7en
I liked Stench of Redemption, Deicide always has solid albums.
Loading...
21.07.2008 - 02:31
a MasT
"In the Eyes of God" is a really cool song IMO because it has that little hiccup in the music before the intro/chorus goes into the verse. For me this kind of reflects the entire album: a return to old school death metal, and thats a rare find for new releases in death metal today.
Loading...
22.07.2008 - 19:46
Hamird
HIV+
Good review, But I thing after 2006 album most expected a well album like that!
Loading...
23.07.2008 - 18:26
Nego
Account deleted
this is my first deicide album and i think its pretty good
Loading...
25.07.2008 - 20:30
Metal Freak
Written by Guest on 23.07.2008 at 18:26

this is my first deicide album and i think its pretty good


Well, then you have plenty to look forward too. This album blows compared to old Deicide. Check out "Legion".

I wanted to like this album, but it is sooooo boring.
----
"Religion is an insult to human dignity. With or without it, you'd have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things, but for good people to do evil things, that takes religion."
--Steven Weinberg
Loading...
25.04.2009 - 20:42
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Good enough, not a big deal, just another ok death metal work. And it is also a lttle bit disappointing after ''The Stench of redemption''. Maybe nothing to worry about depending on the next album this year.

But to be fair: ''Horror In The Halls Of Stone'' is a death metal epic in the models of Nile.. really good.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
28.12.2009 - 01:01
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
I find this review completely spot on. this one should not be compared to the magnificent masterpiece called stench of redemption... this one is a nice album but it is unfair to do that comparison.
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...

Hits total: 7125 | This month: 17