Rating:
N/A
Esoteric - The Maniacal Vale
16 June 2008


Disc I
01. Circle
02. Beneath This Face
03. Quickening
04. Caucus Of Mind

Disc II
01. Silence
02. The Order Of Destiny
03. Ignotum Per Ignotius


Who needs a soul anyway?

For the last 16 years or so and with every consecutive release, Esoteric get just a little bit closer to finally condemning us all to hell, and I personally respect any band with a disposition this sunny. The Maniacal Vale is not only another step in this tortured evolution - it is the band's ultimate masterpiece and an experience so overwhelming that it will completely blow the mind and shatter the senses. Yes, for all intents and purposes, this is a perfect album and one that will be remembered for a long time as a phenomenal achievement in every way.

Like all masterpieces, The Maniacal Vale easily transcends any arbitrary genre tags and classifications. Sure, the band still specializes in extremely slow tempos and unadulterated extremity; however, beneath this omnipresent maelstrom of insanity and chaos, there are currents of tranquility, beauty and elation. Thus, the record presents a gamut of emotions, made all the more appealing by the fact that one has to dig deep to gain access to them. Produced in a way that makes the performance sound as if resonating from behind a wall of hellfire, it is up to you, the listener, to take that step and cross the line. Once you take this plunge, that's it - you are sucked into the infernal spiral of this album's genius and as terrified as you might be, you begin to love it and yearn for the current to envelop you again.

Clocking in at over 1 hour and 40 minutes and consisting of pieces that are intended to bend reality, it is pointless to favor any one track over the others. Sure, "Beneath This Face" contains one of the most incredible build-ups ever, while "Silence" and "Ignotum Per Ignotius" emanate a mood of somber contemplation. Greg Chandler provides his maniacal growls and inhuman screams throughout, while the band gracefully meanders between noise, ambiance, claustrophobic doom and catatonic psychedelia. Nevertheless, The Maniacal Vale is an experience. Gaining access to this esoteric knowledge comes at a price that not everyone is willing to pay. Succumb at your own peril and discover some of the best music you are likely to hear in your life.


Band profile: Esoteric
Album: The Maniacal Vale


 



Written on 11.07.2008 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 40  
Users visited: 364  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 11.07.2008 at 14:49  
The Maniacal Vale still has to unfold itself for me - or as you so nicely put it: "it is up to you, the listener, to take that step and cross the line."

I ordered this album together with Subconscious... and I am afraid that this band will continue to drain a lot of hard-earned money. But hey, they are worth it.
Lokomotiv - 11.07.2008 at 17:18  
I hadn't found the time to entirely listen to this album yet (these had bee nextremely stressful months for me), but since tomorrow I'll take some short winter vacations in the south and I'll certainly take this with me... and a big Esoteric fan and this is not the first time I read that The Maniacal Vale is their greatest album.
Trent - 11.07.2008 at 20:25  
Unbelievable good album, best of 08 so far.
Damnated - 11.07.2008 at 21:44  
heard so many good things about this album, that in some way i lost interest. that's why i keep avoiding the first listen. i was also rather busy with my exams, and i never bothered to listen to something new: been spinning the same 5-10 albums in the last weeks..

nevertheless, i do want to hear this. once i'm back from seeing Kreator, perhaps i'll get around it.
Omni - 12.07.2008 at 14:00  
Very good album. My favourite of 08 so far
Damnated - 16.07.2008 at 18:18  
so i finally heard it, breaking my non funeral doom marathon.

the album was great. i liked it from start to finish; the only turn down was it's length. not that i was bored, but this music really requires attention, and 2 hours is just a bit too much focus. so far, this is my favorite album from this year,
BloodTears - 28.07.2008 at 21:31  
I actually heard a lot about this album. I'm curious and want to listen to it.
LethargyMan - 01.08.2008 at 19:23  
Very engrossing. Though it's over two hours of funeral doom, it never really feels long because the songs are just so well constructed.
Sunioj - 01.08.2008 at 23:17  
Good for what its worth but too damn long for my standards.
Stuart - 03.08.2008 at 14:23  
bought this album yesterday, just finished listening to it for the first time, sounds great, but I don't know where I'm going to find the time enjoy it on a regular basis.
Darkside Momo - 09.09.2008 at 19:44  
Impressive. Surely won't be able to listen to it every day, but it's really... intense.

One of the best 2008 releases thus far, for sure.
DoomedTillDeath - 17.10.2008 at 01:12  
A Masterpiece like every Esoteric album.
K†ulu - 14.12.2008 at 14:03  
What a review! I guess I just have to check this out.
TheBigRossowski - 25.12.2008 at 21:05  
I'm going to have to check this album out and "experience" it. One hour and 40 minutes is a bit long, but I gotta hear this in the wake of my doom appreciation.
sraekman - 19.01.2009 at 15:34  
A good album and you can feel it much more after 3rd or 4th time, eventhough is difficult due to very long time of songs.Strong & atmospheric, nice work guys
Paradox0 - 17.03.2009 at 21:01  
Sure its a long album but it feels more like an experience than music in all reality. Listening to this like normal music would kill it. Just sit bakc, relax, and wait for your taste of "generic" music to simply die.
Dangerboner - 29.07.2009 at 14:16  
Is it just me, or could this album be as good, if not better, if it was on one disc? It gets a little too drawn out....

I love the high screams, and my favorite tracks are the first and last song \m/
Mr. Doctor - 29.07.2009 at 16:15  
Written by Dangerboner on 29.07.2009 at 14:16

Is it just me, or could this album be as good, if not better, if it was on one disc? It gets a little too drawn out....

I love the high screams, and my favorite tracks are the first and last song m/


Agree... I would love to have one disc instead of two. But I don't think that 100 min can be in one cd
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.07.2009 at 23:09  
Written by Dangerboner on 29.07.2009 at 14:16

Is it just me, or could this album be as good, if not better, if it was on one disc? It gets a little too drawn out....

I love the high screams, and my favorite tracks are the first and last song m/



This is the only album I play on my mp3 player cause then I have 100 minutes of continuous music and don;t have to change cd's
Darkside Momo - 30.07.2009 at 01:31  
Written by Dangerboner on 29.07.2009 at 14:16

Is it just me, or could this album be as good, if not better, if it was on one disc? It gets a little too drawn out....

I love the high screams, and my favorite tracks are the first and last song m/

It is drawn out, but I don't think you could shorten it in any way, or else it would lack this oh-so-intense mesmerizing feel.
Mr. Doctor - 30.07.2009 at 16:21  
Written by Darkside Momo on 30.07.2009 at 01:31

Written by Dangerboner on 29.07.2009 at 14:16

Is it just me, or could this album be as good, if not better, if it was on one disc? It gets a little too drawn out....

I love the high screams, and my favorite tracks are the first and last song m/

It is drawn out, but I don't think you could shorten it in any way, or else it would lack this oh-so-intense mesmerizing feel.


I think he means that all the 100 minutes should be in ONE cd. not that the songs should be shorter.
InnerSelf - 17.11.2009 at 13:25  
It actually took me a whole year to grasp the meaning of this masterpiece
now I can't believe this inhuman genuicity truely exists
every time I listen to this album my limbs shiver and it feels that I am drwan far away from the place I am in
every thing from the divine production to the best performance ever to the brutal screams to the songwriting that surpassed any other Doom album ever made ,this is music at its best (but not many would understand)
the solos are complexed as hell and are placed in the strangest yet best places , such as in the begining of "The Order of Destiny"
in the same song when it is about the 6:20 the circus-like riff starts off and it is by far the strangest riff I have ever heard yet the most appropriate in that specific place of the song

if I keep talking it will never end and I will have to write a reveiw but after the work jupitreas has done my words would sound silly

anyway , a perfect reveiw to a prfect album
advent - 08.01.2010 at 22:14  
Written by InnerSelf on 17.11.2009 at 13:25

It actually took me a whole year to grasp the meaning of this masterpiece
now I can't believe this inhuman genuicity truely exists
every time I listen to this album my limbs shiver and it feels that I am drwan far away from the place I am in
every thing from the divine production to the best performance ever to the brutal screams to the songwriting that surpassed any other Doom album ever made ,this is music at its best (but not many would understand)
the solos are complexed as hell and are placed in the strangest yet best places , such as in the begining of "The Order of Destiny"
in the same song when it is about the 6:20 the circus-like riff starts off and it is by far the strangest riff I have ever heard yet the most appropriate in that specific place of the song

if I keep talking it will never end and I will have to write a reveiw but after the work jupitreas has done my words would sound silly

anyway , a perfect reveiw to a prfect album

i tried to listen it when i was studing late at night..man i swear that i never felt fear before till that night...i felt that i was no alone:shit:
Slayer666 - 10.01.2010 at 23:59  
I listened to this one a bit. Well, I can certanly tell it's got values, it's quite haunting and mesmorizing, but.... I didn't quite feel anything that special. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, or something. I'll give it another try later.
So, what is usually mentioned as Esoteric's best album? This one?
InnerSelf - 11.01.2010 at 13:33  
Written by Slayer666 on 10.01.2010 at 23:59

I listened to this one a bit. Well, I can certanly tell it's got values, it's quite haunting and mesmorizing, but.... I didn't quite feel anything that special. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, or something. I'll give it another try later.
So, what is usually mentioned as Esoteric's best album? This one?


The Maniacal Vale is their best but Subconscious Dissolution Into The Continuum is just as amazing
Marcel Hubregtse - 11.01.2010 at 13:34  
Written by InnerSelf on 11.01.2010 at 13:33

Written by Slayer666 on 10.01.2010 at 23:59

I listened to this one a bit. Well, I can certanly tell it's got values, it's quite haunting and mesmorizing, but.... I didn't quite feel anything that special. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, or something. I'll give it another try later.
So, what is usually mentioned as Esoteric's best album? This one?


The Maniacal Vale is their best but Subconscious Dissolution Into The Continuum is just as amazing


All of their albums are brilliant imo. But I prefer The Maniacal Vale slightly over the rest.
InnerSelf - 11.01.2010 at 13:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.01.2010 at 13:34

Written by InnerSelf on 11.01.2010 at 13:33

Written by Slayer666 on 10.01.2010 at 23:59

I listened to this one a bit. Well, I can certanly tell it's got values, it's quite haunting and mesmorizing, but.... I didn't quite feel anything that special. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, or something. I'll give it another try later.
So, what is usually mentioned as Esoteric's best album? This one?


The Maniacal Vale is their best but Subconscious Dissolution Into The Continuum is just as amazing


All of their albums are brilliant imo. But I prefer The Maniacal Vale slightly over the rest.


I'm still caught up in the last two albums and I am glad that I still have their first two to "enjoy"
Marcel Hubregtse - 11.01.2010 at 13:42  
Written by InnerSelf on 11.01.2010 at 13:40

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.01.2010 at 13:34

Written by InnerSelf on 11.01.2010 at 13:33

Written by Slayer666 on 10.01.2010 at 23:59

I listened to this one a bit. Well, I can certanly tell it's got values, it's quite haunting and mesmorizing, but.... I didn't quite feel anything that special. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, or something. I'll give it another try later.
So, what is usually mentioned as Esoteric's best album? This one?


The Maniacal Vale is their best but Subconscious Dissolution Into The Continuum is just as amazing


All of their albums are brilliant imo. But I prefer The Maniacal Vale slightly over the rest.


I'm still caught up in the last two albums and I am glad that I still have their first two to "enjoy"


So you're not goiong to check out album number three, Metamorphogenesis, which s only a one cd?
InnerSelf - 11.01.2010 at 13:47  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.01.2010 at 13:42

Written by InnerSelf on 11.01.2010 at 13:40

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.01.2010 at 13:34

Written by InnerSelf on 11.01.2010 at 13:33

Written by Slayer666 on 10.01.2010 at 23:59

I listened to this one a bit. Well, I can certanly tell it's got values, it's quite haunting and mesmorizing, but.... I didn't quite feel anything that special. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, or something. I'll give it another try later.
So, what is usually mentioned as Esoteric's best album? This one?


The Maniacal Vale is their best but Subconscious Dissolution Into The Continuum is just as amazing


All of their albums are brilliant imo. But I prefer The Maniacal Vale slightly over the rest.


I'm still caught up in the last two albums and I am glad that I still have their first two to "enjoy"


So you're not goiong to check out album number three, Metamorphogenesis, which s only a one cd?


Me and my damn brain
I meant the ones before those two
Visioneerie - 12.03.2010 at 23:14  
Ordered this album along with Ahab's new release. My first of extreme doom albums, I'm curious.
Mr. Doctor - 13.03.2010 at 00:50  
Written by Visioneerie on 12.03.2010 at 23:14

Ordered this album along with Ahab's new release. My first of extreme doom albums, I'm curious.


I'll hope you'll enjoy them. Take your time to relax and sit in a soffa/ or be in your bed and The Maniacal Vale would probnably blow your socks off.

It's one of the albums that made me look at metal and music in general in a different way.
Visioneerie - 15.03.2010 at 20:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.03.2010 at 00:50

Written by Visioneerie on 12.03.2010 at 23:14

Ordered this album along with Ahab's new release. My first of extreme doom albums, I'm curious.


I'll hope you'll enjoy them. Take your time to relax and sit in a soffa/ or be in your bed and The Maniacal Vale would probnably blow your socks off.

It's one of the albums that made me look at metal and music in general in a different way.

Thanks for the heads up. I've already had a taste of Ahab by listening to a few songs off their debut and I have to say, the music is immense... like fucking gigantic. I really like the style so far. As for Esoteric I don't know what I'm in for but I'm giving all the good criticism a chance and it might be well worth it.
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2010 at 21:08  
Written by Visioneerie on 15.03.2010 at 20:25

Thanks for the heads up. I've already had a taste of Ahab by listening to a few songs off their debut and I have to say, the music is immense... like fucking gigantic. I really like the style so far. As for Esoteric I don't know what I'm in for but I'm giving all the good criticism a chance and it might be well worth it.


Damn man, I don't want to make you have too high expectations because sometimes high expectations make the album less good but I have to say it: While Ahab's debut is extremely huge like a tsunami [because I can really feel the ocean with that band]... Esoteric is just... Monstrous, like it's not even funny, it's just fucking intense that there was no way I could listen to both cds the first day.
Visioneerie - 15.03.2010 at 21:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.03.2010 at 21:08

Written by Visioneerie on 15.03.2010 at 20:25

Thanks for the heads up. I've already had a taste of Ahab by listening to a few songs off their debut and I have to say, the music is immense... like fucking gigantic. I really like the style so far. As for Esoteric I don't know what I'm in for but I'm giving all the good criticism a chance and it might be well worth it.


Damn man, I don't want to make you have too high expectations because sometimes high expectations make the album less good but I have to say it: While Ahab's debut is extremely huge like a tsunami [because I can really feel the ocean with that band]... Esoteric is just... Monstrous, like it's not even funny, it's just fucking intense that there was no way I could listen to both cds the first day.

I'm liking the sounds of "monstrous ...it's not even funny" haha. I'll make sure to keep a subjective mindset and keep my expectations reasonable, to let the music do the talking. Hope it comes sometime during this week.
BitterCOld - 15.03.2010 at 22:04  
Written by Visioneerie on 15.03.2010 at 21:18

I'm liking the sounds of "monstrous ...it's not even funny" haha. I'll make sure to keep a subjective mindset and keep my expectations reasonable, to let the music do the talking. Hope it comes sometime during this week.


i really don't think it matters how much we build it up. it's the type of album you'll either get and love or you won't (and there isn't necessarily anything wrong if you don't, i can see why people wouldn't like it) ... just make sure you clear about two hours out of your day for when you finally receive it and get a chance to listen.

and brace yourself.
Visioneerie - 22.03.2010 at 03:06  
Written by BitterCOld on 15.03.2010 at 22:04

Written by Visioneerie on 15.03.2010 at 21:18

I'm liking the sounds of "monstrous ...it's not even funny" haha. I'll make sure to keep a subjective mindset and keep my expectations reasonable, to let the music do the talking. Hope it comes sometime during this week.


i really don't think it matters how much we build it up. it's the type of album you'll either get and love or you won't (and there isn't necessarily anything wrong if you don't, i can see why people wouldn't like it) ... just make sure you clear about two hours out of your day for when you finally receive it and get a chance to listen.

and brace yourself.

Will do.
Didn't receive it yet. I hope it's as disturbing as everyone claims it to be. I don't want a cheap thrill, I'm in it for the mentally debilitating torture this Maniacal Vale is supposed to be.
Lucas - 24.06.2011 at 22:33  
Best. Album. Ever.
Daniell - 24.06.2011 at 22:53  
This is one of those albums that require a lot of effort from the listener. You can't just play it and listen to it. You need to WANT to listen to it. Otherwise you will never sit through 100 minutes of this aural dementia. But once you muster your strength and listen closely, and again, and again, you will discover what's hidden deep beneath the layers of repulsive insanity - sheer brilliance and genius.
Mr. Doctor - 10.07.2011 at 18:15  
Written by Lucas on 24.06.2011 at 22:33

Best. Album. Ever.


Heh after 3 years this album still makes me go all fanboy about it just like you.
Probably the best album I've heard so far, Acid Bath's debut is closer for me personaly but in a more technical point of view this music is just the best I've ever heard.
Death_95 - 19.06.2014 at 06:35  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.07.2011 at 18:15

Written by Lucas on 24.06.2011 at 22:33

Best. Album. Ever.


Heh after 3 years this album still makes me go all fanboy about it just like you.
Probably the best album I've heard so far, Acid Bath's debut is closer for me personaly but in a more technical point of view this music is just the best I've ever heard.

I agree with both of you, the best album I've ever heard... Simply makes me wanna cry EVERY SINGLE TIME.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Esoteric - The Maniacal Vale 7.5 20.08.2011 by Cynic Metalhead
Reviews Filter - Anthems For The Damned 4.5 09.05.2008 by Dane Train
Reviews Astra - The Weirding 4.5 13.05.2009 by Introspekrieg
Reviews Sybreed - The Pulse Of Awakening 4.5 09.12.2009 by bard
Albums Esoteric - Subconscious Dissolution Into The Continuum 4.5 02.10.2013 by mz



Hits total: 8468 | This month: 54