Rating:
7.0
Judas Priest - Nostradamus
13 June 2008


01. Dawn Of Creation
02. Prophecy
03. Awakening
04. Revelations
05. The Four Horsemen
06. War
07. Sands Of Time
08. Pestilence And Plague
09. Death
10. Peace
11. Conquest
12. Lost Love
13. Persecution
14. Solitude
15. Exiled
16. Alone
17. Shadows In The Flame
18. Visions
19. Hope
20. New Beginnings
21. Calm Before The Storm
22. Nostradamus
23. Future Of Mankind


Judas Priest, metal Gods, arguably the inventers of heavy metal as it is today. These guys haven't got the track record they have from sitting on their arses and plopping the same album out over and over again; Judas Priest have taken risks and re-invented themselves numerous times, from "Sad Wings Of Destiny" to "British Steel" to "Turbo" to "Painkiller" and now once more with this year's modern epic opus "Nostradamus". Over the years these risks have sometimes worked in their favour producing some of metal's timeless classics, but also on occasions, as far as the masses are concerned, in an unfavourable way. The running theme of all these years though, being that Judas Priest has kept true to themselves and has done everything just the way they wanted to.

Now, "Nostradamus" brings a whole new perspective to the world of Judas Priest. This is on a completely different level to anything the band has ever done before. Gone are the clear, razor sharp guitar riffs and straight-forward heavy metal sound the band put out since the "Painkiller" album, and its a hello and warm welcome to an overblown, pompous, slightly dark, theatrical kind of metal. Two CDs of over the top, dramatic stage show music that could easily be turned into a classic piece at a musical theatre in the west end of London depicting the life of Nostradamus. The guitars and the legendary singing of Rob Halford have always been the strongest points in the music of Judas Priest, but on "Nostradamus" both seem to have had the edge sandpapered off them. Both guitars and vocals lack the clarity and piercing qualities they should have, and more focus is placed upon a whole, full, multi-layered, bombastic sound you would imagine from a film soundtrack. The album is also littered with annoying little interludes that prevent any kind of real flow to the album's progression.

This is Judas Priest however, keeping to tradition there will always be quality on a Judas Priest album, you just need to know where to look to find it. Even though the first twenty minutes of the album, although puffing its chest out in grand fashion, is nothing much to keep your attention; most of the actual songs on "Nostradamus" have some of that melodic Priest magic about them we have come to expect. "Pestilence And Plague" has a bit more bite about it and with a magnificent Italian chorus is the first standout of the double album opus. "Lost Love" has an incredibly sad charm, as does the slightly drawn out but pleasant "Alone". "Visions" may be the highest point of the album with its deep guitars and catchy chorus, "New Beginnings" also gently brushes the listeners ears with a slow, sombre but satisfying affair. Title track "Nostradamus" has the most conviction the album sees though, and is the closest you will get to speed metal on this whole overblown, overdrawn musical work.

Indeed, the chocolate chips are buried in the cookie somewhere, the diamonds are lodged somewhere inside this endless mine. "Nostradamus" has the quality expected from a band as such as is Judas Priest, but this quality is just surrounded and cluttered with fillers, interludes, and a few songs that could have done with being dropped at the final cut, which makes the whole two CD final piece a hard pill to swallow in one sitting making it not the easiest album to listen to as a whole. If you have the time and patience, you will be able to appreciate "Nostradamus" and the highlights found within, but if you seek a quick, metallic, speed metal fix you got from "Painkiller" or even "Screaming For Vengeance", then unfortunately "Nostradamus" is definitely not the answer to your problem. One thing is for sure though, and that is that the Priest have put out yet another controversial record that will split fans right down the middle.


Band profile: Judas Priest
Album: Nostradamus


 



Written on 05.09.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 46  
Users visited: 401  
Search this topic:  


Southern Wind - 05.09.2008 at 05:42  
There is some great symphinic heavy metal in this album, but most of it is absolute shit. Maybe with half of its lenth Nostradamus could a a very worthy album, but I simply can't listen to it entirely without dying of boredom.
destroyah - 05.09.2008 at 09:29  
I actually reviewed it for a magazine some time ago and gave "Nostradamus" a 4/10 rating

Imho this is one of the most boring albums I have ever listened to, hands down.
hard_tom - 05.09.2008 at 09:30  
I totally agree with Baz (as usual). Nostradamus is in some parts veeery booooring and definitely not good enough for and album of Metal Gods. As Southern Wind says (modified) : get the best parts of Nostradamus, increase speed a lot and then will be the result better...
Dr.W.Gy. - 05.09.2008 at 10:04  
The song Pestilence And Plague is really great. Especially as it fades in from the previous one.
shadow616 - 05.09.2008 at 14:12  
7?

in my opinion this album should be nominate to the worst CD 2008

boooooring... and there are 23 tracks, 1h 42min of boring, boring, boring music

3/10 ;]
Valentin B - 05.09.2008 at 15:24  
yup, i'm disappointed with this release too, and i'm a rabid fan of theirs. the first two and the last two tracks are the only ones which i would listen to

EDIT the first two are awesome and as inseparable as The Hellion and Electric Eye, they work pretty good as a intro, but for concerts, nothing could match Hellion as the intro... too damn epic
Raziel X - 05.09.2008 at 15:29  
I liked the record, and it seems ppl who are used to prog releases will be able to get into this since it requires hell a lot of listens, a clear 8/10 as for me
juanopereira - 05.09.2008 at 17:33  
The first time I listened the album I didn't like it but now I think it's a great album. It deserves an 8
dancingdecember - 05.09.2008 at 18:30  
as a big fan i was reaaaally disappointed with this album and yes its veeeeerry boring, unfortunately.i really hate the symphonic things in the album, it just doesnt sound right or good.

i dont like concept albums anyway, its like they always feel the need to add symphonical things to make it more theatrical but in the end its just lame and boring.

besides; an intro before every song is my worst nightmare.i hate intros...any kind of.
shadow616 - 05.09.2008 at 21:16  
old fans can see difrent between old and new JP... horrible...
Murder - 05.09.2008 at 22:49  
yeah, this album wasn't like the old ones, even Angel of Retribution owns the power and force of the JP heavy metal, but this album doesn't have the same concept... at least I think, songs like Persecution or Nostradamus have the closest sound of their "past" concept and style of music...


but well, not of my favorites, I really don't like the album at all...
Iron Priest - 05.09.2008 at 23:42  
Wow I found many of the tracks on here incredible. I suppose if all you want is straight up, heavy metal riffing then you can't get into this album. But as a fan of symphonic metal I really enjoyed this album.

8.5/10
Doc Godin - 06.09.2008 at 04:24  
Yeah luckily I got a preview of this at my work when I was tempted to buy it, but I found it incredibly boring. Can't say I was too pleased.
Daggon - 06.09.2008 at 05:22  
Oh yeah, you need to listen it many many many times to actually like the entire album jaja (23 songs!!! are you insane?), I liked "Nostradamus" and "Persecution" since the first time I listened the entire thing, but If I were almost dead and had the choice to listen to one last song between Nostradamus and Painkiller you know which one I would choose. Ok ok, fans from hell will like it (and I like Judas too much) maybe as a symphonic album it is... ok, but if you are searching for a more powerful Judas Priest maybe you should listen other releases like "Painkiller" or "Screaming for Vengeance" and even "Ram it Down".
ghost - 06.09.2008 at 21:38  
ok they change their style from the begining but i really like this album 9/10
dismaleuphony - 08.09.2008 at 08:59  
I stopped listening or caring about anything Priest after "Painkiller," and this is not even close to changing my mind. Terrible, sloppy, and just a poorly arranged concept. I enjoy a lot of symphonic metal, but this just is not working. Good review in the sense that there is a lot of honest criticism of the album though

I guess the only thing that keeps me from being too angry about the album is that I'm just apathetic toward the band now that did so much for me when I was a kid getting into metal.
Emerencios - 09.09.2008 at 14:20  
No, simply no. Tedious, boring, not worthy of the legacy of Judas Priest. I agree with the 7/10 only in terms of the musicianship involved.
enumaelis - 09.09.2008 at 14:21  
Loooooooooong and boring.
My question would be... worst than Demolition? Difficult to answer..
sevendeadlysins - 10.09.2008 at 17:38  
I agree.This is indeed a boring album...Too bad for a big band...
MortalTheory - 11.09.2008 at 04:52  
i think it's got some good moments, but overall, a dissappointment...
Valentin B - 23.09.2008 at 12:29  
Written by Valentin B on 05.09.2008 at 15:24

yup, i'm disappointed with this release too, and i'm a rabid fan of theirs. the first two and the last two tracks are the only ones which i would listen to

EDIT the first two are awesome and as inseparable as The Hellion and Electric Eye, they work pretty good as a intro, but for concerts, nothing could match Hellion as the intro... too damn epic

i take back my words, the album sounds pretty good as a whole, it flows really good, there's not one stop, it's perfect for a musical, but i don't think they would be able to pull it all off, like acting, singing, etc. at the same time, maybe if they had actors and they appeared at certain key points in the show, all the while playing the instruments in the back or something. it seems too much, especially for their age. should be REALLY interesting to see the whole stage show though. Halford said he wants "as much theatricality as possible"
BORT - 06.10.2008 at 07:38  
i liked it, it was different and the production was fantastic. it did have some dull parts but even some of the slow songs were catchy.
amerislave - 14.12.2008 at 10:21  
I heard a song from this on the radio when it first came out and it stopped me from getting it. the other day i saw it used for a few bucks and picked it up. i am going to give it one or two more tries before i sell it for a couple bucks. very disappointing. i have never traded in a judas priest album before (ok....you got me.....not one with halford on it)
Daggon - 12.02.2009 at 00:13  
This album has grown a bit inside me, thinking of it Judas Priest have always changed their style when they wanted to, so they do not fear to experiment something new. So by now I think this album is very good in it's own way, it is not the classic heavy metal Judas have always done, it's something fresh and new, at least for the history of the Metal Gods.
IronBlackZepp - 18.02.2009 at 05:27  
This album is only at 7.5? that is not cool. I think that it deserves at least an 8.5. It is a new stile for Judas Priest thathas never been shown before. Plus a lot of the songs on this album are great. Sure their are filler tracks but they are all short. Most of the longer songs are great.
Ozman - 18.02.2009 at 12:24  
Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 05:27

This album is only at 7.5? .


It was actually rated a 7 by Baz. Btw, I totally agree with that rating.
BloodTears - 18.02.2009 at 13:00  
The fact that it is something new for a band doesn't make it more special, oftentimes bands try new stuff, add new elements and it doesn't work.

So, I think that it should only be a factor when the end result is actually something good.
IronBlackZepp - 18.02.2009 at 20:05  
Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 12:24

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 05:27

This album is only at 7.5? .


It was actually rated a 7 by Baz. Btw, I totally agree with that rating.


Actually I was talking about the overall rating, which is currently a 7.5.
Ozman - 18.02.2009 at 20:57  
Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 20:05

Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 12:24

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 05:27

This album is only at 7.5? .


It was actually rated a 7 by Baz. Btw, I totally agree with that rating.


Actually I was talking about the overall rating, which is currently a 7.5.


I find that about half a point too high as well.
IronBlackZepp - 19.02.2009 at 01:36  
Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 20:57

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 20:05

Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 12:24

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 05:27

This album is only at 7.5? .


It was actually rated a 7 by Baz. Btw, I totally agree with that rating.


Actually I was talking about the overall rating, which is currently a 7.5.


I find that about half a point too high as well.


Its not that the music on this album is bad. The biggest problem is that their are so many little filler songs. It is true that the band mabey should have made nostradamus a one disc album instead of two. However I still think it is a good album. Their are worse Priest albums out their, in fact their are many metal albums in general that are much worse. You have to admit that this is better then Turbo, Point of entry, Rocka Rolla. And it is certainly better then the stuff they did with Owens.
Ozman - 19.02.2009 at 10:49  
Written by IronBlackZepp on 19.02.2009 at 01:36

Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 20:57

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 20:05

Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 12:24

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 05:27

This album is only at 7.5? .


It was actually rated a 7 by Baz. Btw, I totally agree with that rating.


Actually I was talking about the overall rating, which is currently a 7.5.


I find that about half a point too high as well.


Its not that the music on this album is bad. The biggest problem is that their are so many little filler songs. It is true that the band mabey should have made nostradamus a one disc album instead of two. However I still think it is a good album. Their are worse Priest albums out their, in fact their are many metal albums in general that are much worse. You have to admit that this is better then Turbo, Point of entry, Rocka Rolla. And it is certainly better then the stuff they did with Owens.


It is better than Rocka Rolla, Point Of Entry, Turbo, Ram It Down, Demolition, but NOT Jugulator. Btw, which can been seen in my voting of the Priest discography.
IronBlackZepp - 19.02.2009 at 21:14  
Written by Ozman on 19.02.2009 at 10:49

Written by IronBlackZepp on 19.02.2009 at 01:36

Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 20:57

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 20:05

Written by Ozman on 18.02.2009 at 12:24

Written by IronBlackZepp on 18.02.2009 at 05:27

This album is only at 7.5? .


It was actually rated a 7 by Baz. Btw, I totally agree with that rating.


Actually I was talking about the overall rating, which is currently a 7.5.


I find that about half a point too high as well.


Its not that the music on this album is bad. The biggest problem is that their are so many little filler songs. It is true that the band mabey should have made nostradamus a one disc album instead of two. However I still think it is a good album. Their are worse Priest albums out their, in fact their are many metal albums in general that are much worse. You have to admit that this is better then Turbo, Point of entry, Rocka Rolla. And it is certainly better then the stuff they did with Owens.


It is better than Rocka Rolla, Point Of Entry, Turbo, Ram It Down, Demolition, but NOT Jugulator. Btw, which can been seen in my voting of the Priest discography.


Jugulator was not bad, but it could have been much better without Owens. If Priest would have made the right choice and got Ralf Scheepers the album would have been better. But I would agree that Jugulator has its gems, just like all of the albums talked about above.
Mountain King - 06.03.2009 at 00:51  
This album is good. Really good! Baz got some things right and some things wrong! well u can't expect every song to be a Painkiller, Riding on the Wind, Hellrider or Beyond the Realms...other than some really good songs (Alone, Pestilence And Plague, Lost Love etc...), the thing that makes this album really good is it's idea. It has a lot of marvelous symphonic parts that make it a distinctive album. I really liked it and i hope everyone who says he is a fan of Priest to listen carefully to this album, because it is some good piece of Judas Priest metal
BloodTears - 20.03.2009 at 17:48  
Dare I say that this album is for the prog metal fans? Because all others seem to be bored by it

I listened to the album for the first time and I like it. I think it is because I'm used to long songs and long instrumental pieces.

They wanted to make something grand, something that would stand out and I believe they achieved that.
Ozman - 22.03.2009 at 22:10  
Written by BloodTears on 20.03.2009 at 17:48

Dare I say that this album is for the prog metal fans? Because all others seem to be bored by it

I listened to the album for the first time and I like it. I think it is because I'm used to long songs and long instrumental pieces.

They wanted to make something grand, something that would stand out and I believe they achieved that.


It isn't because of the long songs and long instrumental pieces it bores me, hell I LOVE doom and then especially funeral doom. It is because the songs are repetitive, not well-constructed, meandering aimlessly that they bore me to tears.
Why do prog fans always think it has to do with the length of songs that people find some music boring?
BloodTears - 23.03.2009 at 10:49  
Written by Ozman on 22.03.2009 at 22:10

Written by BloodTears on 20.03.2009 at 17:48

Dare I say that this album is for the prog metal fans? Because all others seem to be bored by it

I listened to the album for the first time and I like it. I think it is because I'm used to long songs and long instrumental pieces.

They wanted to make something grand, something that would stand out and I believe they achieved that.


It isn't because of the long songs and long instrumental pieces it bores me, hell I LOVE doom and then especially funeral doom. It is because the songs are repetitive, not well-constructed, meandering aimlessly that they bore me to tears.
Why do prog fans always think it has to do with the length of songs that people find some music boring?


I said that because a lot of people complained about the long (supposedly uninteresting) interludes or a big intrumental sections. And we can have a lot of that in prog albums but I was only making a joke with the prog fans, don't be so serious!

I think the guy who played keyboards on this one actually did a good job and I don't find it boring.
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 02:51  
Like many people already mentioned, I find this album quite boring and way too long for its own good.
Ph0eNiX - 30.04.2009 at 09:16  
Great idea for a concept album. Don't get me wrong I do like this album but it's misisng the same fire as the older stuff. I just miss the fast writing Priest used to do. Like relisten to the painkiller, Screaming for Vengance or Defenders of the Faith albums & rewrite this album and it would be 10X's better.

This album would be better as "Judas Priest: The musical for Broadway". To be honest it feels like it would have gone a lot better as a theatrical event.
Lord_Regnier - 27.05.2009 at 19:06  
I almost fell asleep the first (and only) time I listened to "Nostradamus". It drags on and on and on. Eternally. Cut it of half of its lenght and it would still be too long.

Over-the-top pretentious album that ultimately bites the dust.


EDIT: Sorry for my lack of attention. I just realize I commented on this album already. Damn you Lord, you deserve to be whipped for your distraction.
Judas The Priest - 09.12.2010 at 21:22  
Pretty sweet album, its got some sentimental value cause its the first priest album I heard, but its really overlooked. this has got to be the most underground album of priest's I've seen, and as different from classic priest as it is, its still fuckin sweet.
Angelic Storm - 09.12.2010 at 21:59  
I pretty much agree with the review, and think the score is bang on what I would give it myself. There are some great Priest songs to savour on the album, but they're surrounded by so much filler, that it's impossible for the album to build any momentum. So while some of the individual songs are very good, as a cohesive whole, the album fails.

Disc 1 is definitely the stronger of the 2 discs, with the majority of the fillers being on the second half of the album. "Death" is the only song that I initially had down as filler which has since grown on me. All the other songs that I thought were boring at first, I still think that about them. Also, most of the interludes dont add anything to the album, which just makes it drag all the more. Had all the best songs been put on a single disc, Id be praising this as another great album by Priest. As it is, its far too long and ambitious for its own good. And as much as it pains me to say it as a massive Priest fan, they were not able to pull off the huge task of making such a long album with a consistently high quality. *shrugs*
RavenKing - 10.12.2010 at 22:03  
Written by Angelic Storm on 09.12.2010 at 21:59

Also, most of the interludes dont add anything to the album, which just makes it drag all the more.


"Nostradamus" indeed suffers from the "Nightfall In Middle-Earth" syndrome.
SBGMetal - 29.05.2011 at 07:47  
I like it epic as fuk!
Draven Edge - 12.10.2013 at 03:03  
I'm into all kinds of music, I thought this was an excellent album. I appreciated it because it was different. I thought it was an epic production also, and Bloodtears said it well "They wanted to make something grand, something that would stand out." I agree, that being said, I will add however that this is a 'stand alone' album for me. In other words I usually listen to it in it's entirety. After all it is a concept album, and so shuffling it in a playlist doesn't ever appeal to me. I keep all my concept albums as a separate genre to avoid this. Personally I think a lot of time and effort went into this production, I liked the instrumental "interludes", and some of Halford's lyrics were excellent. I consider it a theatrical production, not just another Priest album. It would be great to see it played out onstage in it's entirety..
Supernaut - 26.10.2013 at 16:59  
The score on this one is kinda low because so many guys that don't appreciate this kind of thing voted. I mean, it kicks Queensryche's Operation Mindcrime in every department. Maybe not as good as Angel of Retribution, but then what is? These guys really have to be commended for not playing it safe YET AGAIN - one of very few bands where the entire catalog should be listened to, because if you've heard one you HAVEN'T heard them all. Best metal band post-Black Sabbath, in other words, no 2 heavy metal band ever.
Daniell - 26.10.2013 at 18:22  
The album is quite good, but suffers from being too bloated.

One song however is as good as anything they recorded in the past, and it's the title song of course. Fucking brilliant. I think I'll blast it now.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Judas Priest - Jugulator 9 17.09.2006 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Judas Priest - Demolition 9 08.01.2007 by Baz Anderson
Articles Getting Into: Judas Priest 8 18.07.2007 by Bad English
Articles Judas Priest - Doncaster, England, 17th July 2011 8 18.07.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Articles Judas Priest - Sheffield, England, 13th February 2009 8 15.02.2009 by Ozman



Hits total: 8196 | This month: 77