Rating:
N/A
Gojira - The Way Of All Flesh
13 October 2008


01. Oroborus
02. Toxic Garbage Island
03. A Sight To Behold
04. Yama's Messengers
05. The Silver Cord
06. Adoration For None
07. All The Tears
08. The Art Of Dying
09. Esoteric Surgery
10. Vacuity
11. Wolf Down The Earth
12. The Way Of All Flesh


Without a doubt, Gojira is one of those bands that are being talked about a lot in the metal community these days and with good reason. The Frenchmen are taking part in progressively higher profile tours and their albums are achieving respectable notoriety all over the world, something that is made all the more impressive by the fact that the band's music is far from commercial sounding or easy to digest. The Way Of All Flesh, Gojira's latest album is supposed to be the next step in the band's ascent into super-stardom and I can say with a degree of certainty that it will serve this purpose successfully, even if it is not an entirely flawless release.

Gojira plays a hybrid style that seems to be inspired by a number of other bands' music. The angular, rhythmic riffs remind me of Meshuggah and Textures, the clinical drums and precise kick drum work brings to mind Raymond Herrera of Fear Factory, while the fondness for heavy mid-tempo structures echo that provided by many a groove thrash band, including Lamb Of God, the vocalist of which is conveniently featured as a guest performer on "Adoration For None". Those familiar with the forgotten American band Beyond will also pick up an uncanny resemblance between their 1995 album Reassemble and the sound that Gojira pursues on The Way Of All Flesh. This amalgam of influences results in an album that one needs to train themselves to enjoy, a status highlighted by the fact that the album also contains overtly ecological lyrics, which is an approach that not everybody needs to agree with or even find intriguing. Another issue is that the album is not an entirely consistent effort, with some songs being less memorable than others.

With all this said, Gojira still manages to infuse each and every song with some sort of interesting break, riff, groove or otherwise intriguing element. Case in point - "Yama's Messengers", an otherwise quite repetitive and even redundant mid-tempo stomper, is saved by the crescendoing blast beats that appear towards the end of the track. Likewise, the failed attempt at a more robotic sound that can be heard in "A Sight To Behold" is saved by the great breaks featured in this song. Luckily, the vast majority of the remainder of this album is very impressive, with the real excellent tracks being located in the second half. From "The Art Of Dying" till the end, we are treated to an essentially flawless combination of groove and brutality, highlighted by intelligent song writing. These 5 tracks alone will make this album an immense success.

So there we have it - The Way Of All Flesh could certainly use some pruning and more consistency; however, even in its current state it is a more than listenable and powerful record. I think the fans and the curious will be more than happy to overlook the small faults, while I hope that the next album will not contain any at all.


Band profile: Gojira
Album: The Way Of All Flesh


 



Written on 15.10.2008 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 463  
Search this topic:  


hearts_alive - 15.10.2008 at 16:17  
Good review! I saw this band quite a few years ago (I think they supported Trivium at Hammersmith Apollo) and they were really good but I never got around to actually buying one of their albums. This seems as good a place as any to start with Gojira - I will add this album to the list of albums I need to buy!

Just curious - how come there is no score associated with your review?
addiction - 15.10.2008 at 16:36  
good review indeed! i too saw them live 2 weeks ago and i loved it! also this album is excellent! very few flaws as you said and definitely more than listenable.

answer to the previous guy's question: he doesn't give ratings to albums anymore cos it is not really necessary, it is more a necessary evil (thats one way of looking at it of course).
Collin - 15.10.2008 at 16:58  
Excellent review jup! I'm really happy to see an objective review of this album, one that points out its few flaws instead of just raving at how Gojira is so perfect.

I for one really enjoy this album - especially the second half, with The Art Of Dying being the real turning point and the highlight of the album - though I can't help but feel a bit disappointed at it. I was expecting something that would surpass From Mars To Sirius, but Gojira failed at it. With this being said, this release is way above the majority of metal albums released this year in terms of songwriting and execution and will certainly be way up in my annual top 10. It just lacks the surprising factor.
infydreams - 15.10.2008 at 17:19  
Nice review there.
I got into these guys after hearing 19 seconds of "Ocean Planet" which I minutes later bought (this was at a point where I was only starting to get into the heavier side of metal). Over a period of a couple of weeks I couldn't stop listening to the song and I got the whole "From Mars to Sirius" Album which I never regretted buying. Not too long ago I got myself "The Link" album as well and when I heard of the new release here I was ecstatic, which in my opinion I had every right to be. This album for me is even better than the two later releases (I've not got Terra Incognita *yet*) and I've been playing the new album pretty much constantly since I got it on Monday.
There are indeed a couple of tracks that might not be as good as the others, but the likes of 'Toxic Garbage Island' , 'The Art of Dying' and 'Vacuity' are certainly all a great listen and very much songs I'll be playing a lot in the future.

Now I'm on a mission to see them live, something that will hopefully happen sooner rather than later.
hearts_alive - 15.10.2008 at 19:07  
Written by addiction on 15.10.2008 at 16:36

answer to the previous guy's question: he doesn't give ratings to albums anymore cos it is not really necessary, it is more a necessary evil (thats one way of looking at it of course).


thanks!
LeChron James - 16.10.2008 at 00:20  
good review. this album shows Gojira's truly progressive nature in true form.
-DC-002- - 16.10.2008 at 07:11  
I'm kinda weary about this release. I want to buy it but I may download 2-3 songs to get a general feel for it first. I know it wont be like other releases, and I want it that way. In the back of my head though, I expect it to be like From Mars To Sirius. I need to stop doing that or else the new album won't have the effect I want it to.
hearts_alive - 16.10.2008 at 17:44  
Written by -DC-002- on 16.10.2008 at 07:11

I'm kinda weary about this release. I want to buy it but I may download 2-3 songs to get a general feel for it first.


I listened to the entire album on deezer dot com and have to say I was really impressed. Having never listened to a Gojira album I then listened to From Mars To Sirius in its entirity and couldnt really decide which I liked the most. Safe to say I will be buying them both ASAP! Vacuity is the best track from the new album IMO.
hearts_alive - 16.10.2008 at 17:49  
In case anyone wants to listen to the album:

http://www.deezer.com/#music/album/215576
matos - 17.10.2008 at 00:24  
Yeah a really quality review! i think they band them self would appreciate it, because more than just "Wow! great album dudes!".
Written by Collin on 15.10.2008 at 16:58

I for one really enjoy this album - especially the second half, with The Art Of Dying being the real turning point and the highlight of the album - though I can't help but feel a bit disappointed at it.
I was expecting something that would surpass From Mars To Sirius, but Gojira failed at it. With this being said, this release is way above the majority of metal albums released this year in terms of songwriting and execution and will certainly be way up in my annual top 10. It just lacks the surprising factor.

The same here, at least for the first part, the album is a piece of art, but it doesn't top FMTS. But i can't say album disappointed me, because i wasn't expecting the perfection of the previous album (which cannot be reached again). Then the album surprised me with "happy tunes at the beginning and robo voice, but later i kinda start so like. So i'm quite pleased with this release, although there is something is still missing in it.
septi¢ - 17.10.2008 at 15:51  
Written by Collin on 15.10.2008 at 16:58

I for one really enjoy this album - especially the second half, with The Art Of Dying being the real turning point and the highlight of the album - though I can't help but feel a bit disappointed at it. I was expecting something that would surpass From Mars To Sirius, but Gojira failed at it. With this being said, this release is way above the majority of metal albums released this year in terms of songwriting and execution and will certainly be way up in my annual top 10. It just lacks the surprising factor.

Also They unfortunately had dead lines to abide with I believe. They spent a lot of time touring those last years, more stress and probably lacked time to compose. I don't say It would have been better than From Mars to Sirius, neither The Way of All Flesh is not good, actually, it's still damn good, but it could have probably been even better.
Jeff - 19.10.2008 at 17:20  
Well just to add my little word about the review to say that I agree too and that I like it.

Though of course, I think that it's a really good album despite this little lack of suprise that's right.
LeChron James - 23.10.2008 at 04:44  
Its a really good album, definitely a Gojira album. not as good as "From Mars to Sirius" IMO but still a very good album.
misanthroman - 27.10.2008 at 23:27  
From Mars To Sirius seemed to tread along a less traveled path witch is why I like this band so much,after hearing that album I went and got The Link,also an impressive album. I do have pretty high expectations for the new one and can't wait to hear it. Being that I've only heard one song so far I can't really rate it but by the sounds of this review it must be fair cause From Mars To Sirius seems it would really be tough to surpass.
benvolent - 02.11.2008 at 21:02  
Good review, indeed. I'm quite courious about this album now! But for a gojira-virgin (just have listened to the bunch of songs on myspace so far..), what's the best album to step in? I never start with the latest - bit superstitious, I guess...
munson - 20.02.2009 at 07:12  
Written by benvolent on 02.11.2008 at 21:02

Good review, indeed. I'm quite courious about this album now! But for a gojira-virgin (just have listened to the bunch of songs on myspace so far..), what's the best album to step in? I never start with the latest - bit superstitious, I guess...


The Link, then this album, then From Mars To Sirius. Only touch Terra Incognita if you really dig the other stuff.

ANYWAY

I really can't see any "flaws" in the album, just things that some people might not dig. I personally think that there is almost nothing that they could have changed to improve the album. I'm sure, though, that their next release will prove me wrong...
GULCH OF ROT - 23.04.2009 at 22:14  
GREAT REVIEW
THIS ALBUM IS GOD DAM ADDICTING LIKE CRACK COCAINE
Introspekrieg - 06.05.2009 at 23:25  
This album is quite a grower, wasn't too fond of it at first but it has some staying power. "A Sight To Behold" was surprising to me, but turns out to be an excellent track. Nice review Jup, hit the nail on the head.
EntityOfMalice14 - 29.08.2009 at 22:25  
Great percussive sound. it does have its flaws, but the good things about the album definately out weigh the bad

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Gojira - The Way Of All Flesh 9 12.11.2011 by Regolith
Albums Gojira - The Flesh Alive 6 04.06.2012 by bazinko
Reviews The Order Of Apollyon - The Flesh 6 05.06.2010 by Chainer
Reviews Dolorian - When All The Laughter Has Gone 4 20.08.2006 by Passenger
Albums Cradle Of Filth - The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh 3 28.01.2012 by musicalkaratekid



Hits total: 9339 | This month: 50