Success Will Write Apocalypse Across The Sky - The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry review

Bandcamp music player

8 users:
Band: Success Will Write Apocalypse Across The Sky
Album: The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry
Release date: April 2009

01. 10,000 Sermons, One Solution
02. The Realization That Mankind Is Viral In Its Nature
03. Cattle
04. Agenda
05. Pity The Living, Envy The Dead
06. Despot
07. A Path
08. Automated Oration And The Abolition Of Silence
09. One Must Imagine Sisyphus Happy
10. Colossus
11. Retrograde And The Anointed
12. Of Worms, Jesus Christ, And Jackson County Missouri
13. The Tamagotchi Gesture

Lets have some of that ball crushing metal back shall we? It's a bit of a mouthful, but Success Will Write Apocalypse Across The Sky (S.W.W.A.A.T.S.) is the name of the band to bring some brutal music to the masses. S.W.W.A.A.T.S. are an American band and are Florida's next biggest death metal export releasing their first album, another mouthful, "The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry" through Nuclear Blast.

Imagine going to a destruction derby and listening to the sweet sound of metal crunching on metal; it may sound somewhat like this debut from these American lunatics. "The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry" is thirteen short but aggressive tracks of death metal structured in a typical grindcore manner. No song over three and a half minutes in length, the album is soon over but it takes you on an adrenaline pumping, destruction derby of its own. This is fast and extreme, double kick filled, blastbeat laden, tempo changing, pure unadulterated carnage. S.W.W.A.A.T.S. mix it up a bit, they do not fall into the typical grindcore role and churn out the same song thirty times on one album, rather they do try a bit of one thing and slam it next to something different. The running theme of "The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry" is quite clearly utter brutality in a clean and chaotic but controlled manner.

This is Nuclear Blast we are dealing with here, and that seemingly automatically coats each album out of the pressing factory with a nice and glossy production finish. The album is produced well, even though the music itself isn't as brutal as the likes of Defeated Sanity or Wormed, it is produced as you would like to hear a brutal death album. The members of the band come from all over the United States and this translates into the styles of brutality. There are little hints of Suffocation influence, Vital Remains perhaps in places, and many more, "The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry" is a varied album and this is what keeps the album interesting for more than one spin.

If you're a more hardened and underground brutal death metal follower, the album may drag from time to time as you find yourself telekinetically willing the speakers to give you some more of those sweet blastbeats when the band are grooving into a slower section. But on the whole the album should come with a warning sticker raising awareness of actual head loss due to excessive headbanging. Enjoy at your own risk; make sure your head is firmly attached before playing.


Written on 09.04.2009 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments: 2   Visited by: 135 users
09.04.2009 - 07:43
I like your style, and I definitely think I have changed my mind and will check the album out. I always played them off as being a shitty faux-deathcore band that has every songs that flows like this: shitty riff, boring breakdown, screaming, riff, breakdown, clean vox, breakdown, end song.
09.04.2009 - 09:10
What a pretentious name. It looks like that's a staple for a lot of grindcore/metalcore band- and song-names. Kinda bizzare considering the music all sounds so similar (from their myspace this band doesn't seem to be all that different to the rest)

Hits total: 6566 | This month: 14