Candlemass - Death Magic Doom review



Reviewer:
8.9

320 users:
8.28
Band: Candlemass
Album: Death Magic Doom
Release date: April 2009


Disc I [CD]
01. If I Ever Die
02. Hammer Of Doom
03. The Bleeding Baroness
04. Demon Of The Deep
05. House Of 1000 Voices
06. Dead Angel
07. Clouds Of Dementia
08. My Funeral Dreams
09. Lucifer Rising [US/Limited Edition bonus]
10. White God [bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Limited Edition bonus]
+ Studio & Tour Report


Throughout their lengthy career, Candlemass has shown various faces. Well, what do you expect when your sound is very vocal-driven and you change vocalist on numerous occasions in your career? When Messiah left/got kicked out of the band in '06, they quickly introduced the -other- guy with the dazzling voice - Robert Lowe. Known for his works with the long-running Solitude Aeturnus, there were no doubts concerning his skills, but still their first album together felt a little uncomfortable and lacking in chemistry.

That, my doomed companions, is now no longer an issue. With their second album together "Death Magic Doom", and the tenth full-length album in Candlemass' life, both parties have found each other in a magnificent album. What Candlemass is today is a groovy, doomy and relentless killing machine. The characteristic despairing wails of Messiah have been replaced with Lowe's angry, bellowing lines. Still, the biggest change that this band went through in recent times has to do with the riffs. Where they used to be lead-heavy and pummelling, they are now fast(er) and full of catchy firework (especially the solos). This band has matured a lot, despite how superfluous and meaningless such a term actually is.

As opposed to the previous vocalists of Candlemass, who peaked early in their Candlemass-career, Lowe seems to work the other way around. "Death Magic Doom" is a definite step-up from their previous album and a very accessible, but nonetheless very enjoyable album. At times, they even sound more like a US Power metal act than a Traditional Doom metal one, with "If I Ever Die" as best example. Don't fear though, only on a few occasions and well, the band has always possessed a fair amount of cheese, right? Besides, the opener is compensated by the jaw dropping "Hammer Of Doom", with its stunning vocal performance and ditto main riff. And when the riffs are subtly accentuated by the keyboard in the background, things get even better (House Of Thousand Voices). Not every song is worth its weight in gold, but there are certainly no below-average tracks on this. Hell, "My Funeral Dreams" and "Clouds Of Dementia" are my least favourite songs on this album but they still kick the ass of a ton of Doom bands out there.

Lowe brought a significant amount of change and keeps the band fresh and vibrant, however paradoxical that may sound. "Death Magic Doom" is another great release from this highly prolific and important band. I personally think it is amazing how this band manages to maintain an interesting sound, even if the changes were forced upon them and Lowe is certainly not my favourite of the Candlemass vocalists. And truth be told: no Doom metal lover will be able to resist this baby. Swinging The Hammer Of Doooooooooooom!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 15.04.2009 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 75   Visited by: 377 users
22.03.2011 - 02:09
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Apothecary on 22.03.2011 at 01:52

Well like I said, Death Magic Doom wasn't that bad. Neither was King of the Grey Islands. Matter of fact, I actually think that Of Stars and Smoke was one of their best songs in a while.
But part of me wonders, when I listen to those two albums, what it'd be like if Messiah had sung on them. Idk, I guess I'm just a little obsessed with him.
I'm biased, lol

Of Stars and Smoke was a very excellent song, no argument there. They just need more of that kind of thing. They aren't bad albums but I just think they're a bit behind on their game these days.
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 02:19
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 21.03.2011 at 23:57

Why the hell are WE talking about Messiah vs. Rob when in fact the best vocalist was Johan on Epicus. That album is the true definition of Candlemass' sound.

Agreed, Langquist > all.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 15:58
Stigmatized
..........
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 21.03.2011 at 20:53

As for Candlemass being hit or miss nowadays... Ffs they have been hit or or miss on ALL their albums since Ancient Dreams (and even there there are some near misses) imo Messiah is the most overrated part of their history. Plus the only thing he ever contributed was his voice. Didn't write a single note or even lyrics the lazy ****


Do you like Messiah's voice?
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 16:30
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Stigmatized on 22.03.2011 at 15:58

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 21.03.2011 at 20:53

As for Candlemass being hit or miss nowadays... Ffs they have been hit or or miss on ALL their albums since Ancient Dreams (and even there there are some near misses) imo Messiah is the most overrated part of their history. Plus the only thing he ever contributed was his voice. Didn't write a single note or even lyrics the lazy ****


Do you like Messiah's voice?


Yes, I do.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
22.03.2011 - 19:48
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Guest on 22.03.2011 at 02:09

Written by Apothecary on 22.03.2011 at 01:52

Well like I said, Death Magic Doom wasn't that bad. Neither was King of the Grey Islands. Matter of fact, I actually think that Of Stars and Smoke was one of their best songs in a while.
But part of me wonders, when I listen to those two albums, what it'd be like if Messiah had sung on them. Idk, I guess I'm just a little obsessed with him.
I'm biased, lol

Of Stars and Smoke was a very excellent song, no argument there. They just need more of that kind of thing. They aren't bad albums but I just think they're a bit behind on their game these days.


Agreed. It would be cool if they got Johan Langqvist (sang on Epicus Doomicus Metallicus) back as their singer, cuz his operatic baritone vocals are out of this world. Go on youtube and search "Candlemass A Sorcerer's Pledge Live." I do believe there's a video from 07 or 08 of them playing in Sweden, and Rob Lowe introduced Johan to the stage to sing it. And he did an AMAZING job, in my opinion anyway.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 02:14
Stigmatized
..........
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.03.2011 at 16:30

Written by Stigmatized on 22.03.2011 at 15:58

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 21.03.2011 at 20:53

As for Candlemass being hit or miss nowadays... Ffs they have been hit or or miss on ALL their albums since Ancient Dreams (and even there there are some near misses) imo Messiah is the most overrated part of their history. Plus the only thing he ever contributed was his voice. Didn't write a single note or even lyrics the lazy ****


Do you like Messiah's voice?


Yes, I do.


I like him and Rob Lowe, but I've always thought Messiah brought a nice "theatrical" touch to their music.
Loading...
14.10.2011 - 22:33
serega25
Loading...
14.10.2011 - 22:48
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Apothecary on 22.03.2011 at 19:48

Written by Guest on 22.03.2011 at 02:09

Written by Apothecary on 22.03.2011 at 01:52

Well like I said, Death Magic Doom wasn't that bad. Neither was King of the Grey Islands. Matter of fact, I actually think that Of Stars and Smoke was one of their best songs in a while.
But part of me wonders, when I listen to those two albums, what it'd be like if Messiah had sung on them. Idk, I guess I'm just a little obsessed with him.
I'm biased, lol

Of Stars and Smoke was a very excellent song, no argument there. They just need more of that kind of thing. They aren't bad albums but I just think they're a bit behind on their game these days.


Agreed. It would be cool if they got Johan Langqvist (sang on Epicus Doomicus Metallicus) back as their singer, cuz his operatic baritone vocals are out of this world. Go on youtube and search "Candlemass A Sorcerer's Pledge Live." I do believe there's a video from 07 or 08 of them playing in Sweden, and Rob Lowe introduced Johan to the stage to sing it. And he did an AMAZING job, in my opinion anyway.


Saw Candlemass perfrom Epicus Doomicus Metallicus in its entirety last April at Roadburn with Johan doing the vocals for that album and it left me behind with goosebumps all over. Probably the single most moving performance I have ever seen in my life (remember I have been going to gigs since June 1983 ) There are rumours that that perfromance will eb releasedon cd some time soon.
Johan's vocals now are even better than back in the day. Probably has to do with all the musical singing he does.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.10.2011 - 02:53
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.10.2011 at 22:48

Saw Candlemass perfrom Epicus Doomicus Metallicus in its entirety last April at Roadburn with Johan doing the vocals for that album and it left me behind with goosebumps all over. Probably the single most moving performance I have ever seen in my life (remember I have been going to gigs since June 1983 ) There are rumours that that perfromance will eb releasedon cd some time soon.
Johan's vocals now are even better than back in the day. Probably has to do with all the musical singing he does.


No kidding man... I still can't believe that performance. My jaw dropped to the center of the earth when he sang "earth to earth... AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaashes"... It was just insane. I'll buy the crap out of that live cd if it's true.

It would be awesome if I could hear myself on that cd since I screamed at them in swedish in between songs when it was quite silent....
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
15.10.2011 - 11:48
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.10.2011 at 02:53



No kidding man... I still can't believe that performance. My jaw dropped to the center of the earth when he sang "earth to earth... AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaashes"... It was just insane. I'll buy the crap out of that live cd if it's true.

It would be awesome if I could hear myself on that cd since I screamed at them in swedish in between songs when it was quite silent....

Yeah apparently you were shouting something like:

"God, I wish Ana were here with me!" (Then sobbing sounds could be heard).
Loading...
15.10.2011 - 13:01
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 15.10.2011 at 11:48

Yeah apparently you were shouting something like:
"God, I wish Ana were here with me!" (Then sobbing sounds could be heard).


Well that was the "sane" part of what I told them.


PS: You guys will never drop that joke right? XD
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
15.10.2011 - 13:08
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.10.2011 at 13:01

Written by Guest on 15.10.2011 at 11:48

Yeah apparently you were shouting something like:
"God, I wish Ana were here with me!" (Then sobbing sounds could be heard).


Well that was the "sane" part of what I told them.


PS: You guys will never drop that joke right? XD

Not until your manboobs sag from old age.
Loading...
30.12.2011 - 06:59
adace1
Such an epic record. This stands up as one of my favorite doom metal albums of all time along with Dopethrone, Welcome to Sky Valley and Paranoid.
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 00:09
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Candlemass, I love you!
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
03.03.2017 - 18:48
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by adace1 on 30.12.2011 at 06:59

Such an epic record. This stands up as one of my favorite doom metal albums of all time along with Dopethrone, Welcome to Sky Valley and Paranoid.


I have to agree, it strands as many bands wrote in 80's rare example that old fuckers can write good album,
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Hits total: 11585 | This month: 45