Bathory - Twilight Of The Gods review



Reviewer:
9.0

344 users:
8.55
Band: Bathory
Album: Twilight Of The Gods
Release date: June 1991


01. Twilight Of The Gods
02. Through Blood By Thunder
03. Blood And Iron
04. Under The Runes
05. To Enter Your Mountain
06. Bond Of Blood
07. Hammerheart


A follow up album to Hammerheart, very epic indeed, and with wonderful musicianship involved, as always. A worthy album for it's predecessor.

The album indeed starts out with an eerie wind atmosphere, it slowly adds up to loud guitars and depthy drums, very powerful indeed. The first song I think, is very great, the weakest part is probably Quorthons vocals, which maybe could've been a tad louder, and maybe better sang? Not sure, the rest of the song is just amazing work, in my opinion. Very atmospheric and somewhat doomish. It's 14 plus minute length seems to fly by as you sit and enjoy the music, it fades out with great acoustics and atmospherics (the wind.) You can practically see the mist.

The album in itself is a very epic piece of work, often overlooked when compared to Hammerheart, but the whole mood is different I think it's so full and powerful. The solo's and drumming and everything just adds up into a huge masterpiece, I think. I know I am repeating myself, but it truly is an album you should sit and listen to with closed eyes, unless reading the lyrics, which adds a great effect to your imagery also.

Indeed an album to pick up and checkout, whether you are into this sort of thing or not. Stand out tracks? All of them, but really I would say "Blood and Iron", "Under the Runes", really all of them.

The lyrics are somewhat different on some of the lyrics, mostly though they stick to the epic "Viking" style lyrics, which some anger in here and there towards present time people. I think Twilight of the Gods, the song at least was somewhat comparing today with long ago? Maybe I am just way off.

Indeed a great album to pick up, I think, so powerful and full of atmosphere, and just damn good music.

Written by Clintagräm | 15.09.2004


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 150 users
14.10.2006 - 04:54
Unholy_Emperor
I really love this album, good review.
Loading...
15.04.2008 - 10:28
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Bathory has reach another level of music, above the others... legends are legends... and our good friend Quorthon certainly deserves his fame for everything he has done for black metal and viking/folk metal too.
About the album, another great piece of work. Its just my fourth favorite Bathory album, and still figures on my alltime fav list... this band change my way of feeling music, along with Burzum and Mayhem are on the best of all time for me.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
25.12.2008 - 11:21
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
DEFINITELY a change from Blood Fire Death. waaay more relaxed and completely devoid of the frantic pace that BFD had. a mature change. Under the Runes is probably my favorite.
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
11.06.2009 - 12:52
Elio
Red Nightmare
Inferior to Hammerheart and also slightly to Blood Fire Death, still a great album. Damn, the first track is epic.
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
13.06.2009 - 20:15
Smurfophagist
I find this album to be every bit as good as Hammerheart. Blood on Ice comes close as well. All in all, this album is the most epic shit ever made, Quorthon was a genius.
----
Having a signature is an absolute must.
Loading...
02.05.2010 - 01:15
Winterthrone
I'm listening to the vynil reedition by Black Mark right now, it's so awesome.... I don't wanna say this word, but it's so...EPIC! I said it, awesome music by a legend. Hail Quorthon R.I.P.!
Loading...
11.10.2011 - 19:30
Cuca Beludo
Account deleted
9,0... Are you crazy? This album is a masterpiece, this album deserves an 10, it's 7 holy songs! And Quorthon's vocals are awesome too, my friend. Who can sing raw black metal, epic viking metal, thrash metal, alternative metal and some rock-stuff? Nobodu, only Quorthon. I think Quorthon has the best vocal I've ever seen.
Loading...
11.10.2011 - 19:38
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 11.10.2011 at 19:30
9,0... Are you crazy? This album is a masterpiece, this album deserves an 10, it's 7 holy songs! And Quorthon's vocals are awesome too, my friend. Who can sing raw black metal, epic viking metal, thrash metal, alternative metal and some rock-stuff? Nobodu, only Quorthon. I think Quorthon has the best vocal I've ever seen.

Holy shit fanboy mode.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
11.10.2011 - 19:44
Cuca Beludo
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.10.2011 at 19:38

Written by Guest on 11.10.2011 at 19:30
9,0... Are you crazy? This album is a masterpiece, this album deserves an 10, it's 7 holy songs! And Quorthon's vocals are awesome too, my friend. Who can sing raw black metal, epic viking metal, thrash metal, alternative metal and some rock-stuff? Nobodu, only Quorthon. I think Quorthon has the best vocal I've ever seen.

Holy shit fanboy mode.



More or Less...
Loading...

Hits total: 6525 | This month: 29