Rating:
9.0
Bathory - Twilight Of The Gods
June 1991


01. Twilight Of The Gods
02. Through Blood By Thunder
03. Blood And Iron
04. Under The Runes
05. To Enter Your Mountain
06. Bond Of Blood
07. Hammerheart


A follow up album to Hammerheart, very epic indeed, and with wonderful musicianship involved, as always. A worthy album for it's predecessor.

The album indeed starts out with an eerie wind atmosphere, it slowly adds up to loud guitars and depthy drums, very powerful indeed. The first song I think, is very great, the weakest part is probably Quorthons vocals, which maybe could've been a tad louder, and maybe better sang? Not sure, the rest of the song is just amazing work, in my opinion. Very atmospheric and somewhat doomish. It's 14 plus minute length seems to fly by as you sit and enjoy the music, it fades out with great acoustics and atmospherics (the wind.) You can practically see the mist.

The album in itself is a very epic piece of work, often overlooked when compared to Hammerheart, but the whole mood is different I think it's so full and powerful. The solo's and drumming and everything just adds up into a huge masterpiece, I think. I know I am repeating myself, but it truly is an album you should sit and listen to with closed eyes, unless reading the lyrics, which adds a great effect to your imagery also.

Indeed an album to pick up and checkout, whether you are into this sort of thing or not. Stand out tracks? All of them, but really I would say "Blood and Iron", "Under the Runes", really all of them.

The lyrics are somewhat different on some of the lyrics, mostly though they stick to the epic "Viking" style lyrics, which some anger in here and there towards present time people. I think Twilight of the Gods, the song at least was somewhat comparing today with long ago? Maybe I am just way off.

Indeed a great album to pick up, I think, so powerful and full of atmosphere, and just damn good music.


Band profile: Bathory
Album: Twilight Of The Gods


 


written by Clintagram | 15.09.2004


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 134  
Search this topic:  


Unholy_Emperor - 14.10.2006 at 04:54  
I really love this album, good review.
Uirapuru - 15.04.2008 at 10:28  
Bathory has reach another level of music, above the others... legends are legends... and our good friend Quorthon certainly deserves his fame for everything he has done for black metal and viking/folk metal too.
About the album, another great piece of work. Its just my fourth favorite Bathory album, and still figures on my alltime fav list... this band change my way of feeling music, along with Burzum and Mayhem are on the best of all time for me.
LeChron James - 25.12.2008 at 11:21  
DEFINITELY a change from Blood Fire Death. waaay more relaxed and completely devoid of the frantic pace that BFD had. a mature change. Under the Runes is probably my favorite.
Elio - 11.06.2009 at 12:52  
Inferior to Hammerheart and also slightly to Blood Fire Death, still a great album. Damn, the first track is epic.
Smurfophagist - 13.06.2009 at 20:15  
I find this album to be every bit as good as Hammerheart. Blood on Ice comes close as well. All in all, this album is the most epic shit ever made, Quorthon was a genius.
Winterthrone - 02.05.2010 at 01:15  
I'm listening to the vynil reedition by Black Mark right now, it's so awesome.... I don't wanna say this word, but it's so...EPIC! I said it, awesome music by a legend. Hail Quorthon R.I.P.!
Cuca Beludo - 11.10.2011 at 19:30  
9,0... Are you crazy? This album is a masterpiece, this album deserves an 10, it's 7 holy songs! And Quorthon's vocals are awesome too, my friend. Who can sing raw black metal, epic viking metal, thrash metal, alternative metal and some rock-stuff? Nobodu, only Quorthon. I think Quorthon has the best vocal I've ever seen.
Troy Killjoy - 11.10.2011 at 19:38  
Written by Guest on 11.10.2011 at 19:30
9,0... Are you crazy? This album is a masterpiece, this album deserves an 10, it's 7 holy songs! And Quorthon's vocals are awesome too, my friend. Who can sing raw black metal, epic viking metal, thrash metal, alternative metal and some rock-stuff? Nobodu, only Quorthon. I think Quorthon has the best vocal I've ever seen.

Holy shit fanboy mode.
Cuca Beludo - 11.10.2011 at 19:44  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.10.2011 at 19:38

Written by Guest on 11.10.2011 at 19:30
9,0... Are you crazy? This album is a masterpiece, this album deserves an 10, it's 7 holy songs! And Quorthon's vocals are awesome too, my friend. Who can sing raw black metal, epic viking metal, thrash metal, alternative metal and some rock-stuff? Nobodu, only Quorthon. I think Quorthon has the best vocal I've ever seen.

Holy shit fanboy mode.



More or Less...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bathory - Twilight Of The Gods 7.5 10.06.2011 by garmling
Reviews Frontside - Twilight Of The Gods - A First Step To The Mental Revolution 5.5 23.10.2006 by HardSide
News Twilight Of The Gods - New Label, To Write Original Material 4.5 28.10.2011 by ANGEL REAPER
News Twilight Of The Gods - First Song Streaming Online 4.5 13.07.2013 by s_t_s
News Twilight Of The Gods - New Song Streaming Online 4.5 16.08.2013 by Bad English



Hits total: 4823 | This month: 27