Rating:
7.2
Ava Inferi - Blood Of Bacchus
25 May 2009


01. Truce
02. Last Sign Of Summer
03. Colours Of The Dark
04. Black Wings
05. Appeler Les Loups
06. Be Damned
07. Tempestade
08. Blood Of Bacchus
09. Memoirs


Norway’s Rune Erickson is a productive musician. After more than a decade as Mayhem guitar player, he is now actively involved with several bands. Aura Noir and Mezzerschmitt are two of those. But closer to his heart right now is Ava Inferi. Rune lives in Portugal so he naturally teamed up with Portuguese musicians to form the band in 2005. Exploring the field of dark Gothic atmospheres, Ava Inferi’s third album Blood of Bacchus seems to follow its precursors. Slow tempos and haunting female vocals create a genuine gloomy ambiance throughout the record.

Relying on Rune’s experience with crafting darkness and on the enchanting operatic vocals of Carmen Simões, who collaborated with no other than Moonspell, Ava Inferi is a straightforward doom generator. The songs are all slow-paced, leaving a lot of room to fill for Carmen, a choir, and of course Rune’s melancholic riffs. The guitar work and sound are not without evoking Opeth’s Damnation at times, although way darker. The artwork has been nicely picked to reflect the mood and production is nothing short of perfect for the music.

They major shortcoming of the album is the lack of “in-your-face” power today’s bands deliver, even in a similar musical style. However, it really depends on your need for speed. And at the end of the day, this is done with intent to deliver gloominess.

If forlorn tunes on a doom-like tempo are your thing, Ava Inferi is your band. They do it slowly but surely. Impressive operatic female vocals and sound songwriting are the two key elements of Blood of Bacchus.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Ava Inferi
Album: Blood Of Bacchus


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 06.06.2009



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 145  
Search this topic:  


annodomini - 06.06.2009 at 18:54  
Well, you quite surprised me. When I saw a review i Thought at least 8.5. Well I believe it's your oppinion. In my point, this one is more familiar with their debut, which was marvelous. Portugal music influences, that was used here, also gives some freshness. Very solid album.
Dustspell - 06.06.2009 at 18:58  
As annodomini said "Blood of Bacchus" , deserves a higher ratting when it's the best work from Ava Inferi..When also The voice of Carmen simões goes better on each album ...I would give also 8.5
Dark Forever - 07.06.2009 at 03:36  
This album as a lot of songwriting work and the performance deserves more than a 7. I'd give it a 9. The atmosphere is very intense, Carmen's voice is better than ever and the lyrics are awesome, especially those in portuguese.
Sunioj - 07.06.2009 at 07:39  
I'm gay for Ava Inferi. I actually like this album more than 'Silhouette'! Great to for sitting back and puffing a spliff to.
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.06.2009 at 02:08  
Although I am usually all gloomn and doom and don'tr give a rat's ass about speed I do agree with you 100% when you say "They major shortcoming of the album is the lack of "in-your-face" power today's bands deliver, even in a similar musical style."

but I TOTALLY disagree with you when you say: "If forlorn tunes on a doom-like tempo are your thing, Ava Inferi is your band. They do it slowly but surely. Impressive operatic female vocals and sound songwriting are the two key elements of Blood of Bacchus"

Nope they are not my band because of the ANNOYING OPERATIC female vocals and the music also puyts me to sleep. I have heard this a thousand times before.

About a 6.4 at most from me for this effort.
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.06.2009 at 02:10  
Oh btw they lack POWER and even in this sort of music POWER is what it is all about.
Shadowcross - 09.06.2009 at 09:12  
Written by Sunioj on 07.06.2009 at 07:39

I'm gay for Ava Inferi. I actually like this album more than 'Silhouette'! Great to for sitting back and puffing a spliff to.


LOL i will take your advice for my first listen
I really enjoyed their other two releases. They remind me of The 3rd And The Mortal and other atmospheric doom metal. I'm betting i'll enjoy.
Shadowcross - 09.06.2009 at 09:18  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.06.2009 at 02:10

Oh btw they lack POWER and even in this sort of music POWER is what it is all about.

This would be the last doom release I would expect you to enjoy.
Undread - 12.06.2009 at 04:43  
Im glad am not the only one who think this is probably their best release...
I give it a 9
BudDa - 30.11.2009 at 08:58  
7.2 is the rating i would give it after listening to it over 50 ten times. Right now though, i think It deserves slightly more than that. The album grows on you as you keep listening. Plus for maximum effect, I think it would depend on the mood with which u listen to this album..

Btw, I love Appeler Les Loups to no end..
THE_BLACK_GOD - 12.01.2010 at 21:15  
Nice album, specially female vocals rule. weird screams in some songs, I really liked them.
Entropic Silence - 02.02.2010 at 08:00  
Good album, has its moments, I'd give it an 8...

Really lacked a song with the calibre of 'A Glimpse of Sanity' from Burdens. I think Bacchus beats Burdens for consistency, but Burdens wins on sound and structure... the new stuff is quite linear...
R'Vannith - 07.12.2012 at 10:18  
That's a shame because she has an amazing voice.
R'Vannith - 07.12.2012 at 15:43  
Written by Guest on 07.12.2012 at 11:32

Written by R'Vannith on 07.12.2012 at 10:18

That's a shame because she has an amazing voice.

who, tarja or carmen? Yea i know someone into operatic metal will adore them, but for me id suck oxygen out of every cell of a lady who sings in the style if we happen to be in the same room.

I was talking about Carmen but both are more than competent vocalists. I don't think you have to adore them or operatic metal to know that they have some talent, but perhaps it has something more to do with the combination of their vocal style and metal. The two just don't mix together well for you and that's perfectly understandable. That doesn't mean they have no vocal talent though.
Unless of course you just can't stand the style with which they sing. That I can't understand as it doesn't seem like something that could offend anyone's ears really.. but I know.. opinions and whatnot.
R'Vannith - 07.12.2012 at 16:29  
Written by Guest on 07.12.2012 at 16:12

Written by R'Vannith on 07.12.2012 at 15:43

Unless of course you just can't stand the style with which they sing. That I can't understand as it doesn't seem like something that could offend anyone's ears really.. but I know.. opinions and whatnot.

imagine thats the case, i can't stand that style. Rapes my ears more than even grindcore which i also detest. I do know though im not that much of a music person, perphaps that why i can't appreciate it.

I'm with you on grindcore, rarely can I stand that stuff. Nah it doesn't have anything to do with being a "music person" just a matter of taste of course. From my perspective I've never had any problems with those sort of vocals, but it's naive of me to assume that's the case with everyone.
Mr. Doctor - 07.12.2012 at 19:43  
Pffff Grindcore is awesome.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Suidakra - Crógacht 4.5 07.06.2009 by Elio
Reviews Echoes - Nature|Existence 4.5 16.01.2011 by Evil Chip
Reviews Blackfield - Blackfield II 4.5 30.06.2012 by Ag Fox
Albums Ava Inferi - Onyx 4.5 14.02.2011 by Blasphemer1992
Reviews Haggard - Tales Of Ithiria 4.5 19.09.2008 by schwanderen



Hits total: 4628 | This month: 28