Rating:
8.0
Ador Dorath - Bestiari
2008


01. She's In My Veins
02. Moments Of Evolution
03. Space Odyssey
04. Attitude Gyroscope
05. As Free Act And Deed
06. Only The Man Has The World
07. Dead On Arrival
08. Race For Life
09. Words
10. Egoistic Empathy
11. Postscriptum


Ador Dorath is a black metal tandem from the Czech Republic, combining operatic female vocals with grating black metal shrieks and scattered death metal growls. Having been in the scene for more than a decade, the band have only released three full-length albums, none of which can ultimately be compared to any of their other works. These musicians are incredibly original, talented, and driven to produce varied material.

Bestiari marks several significant changes from its predecessor; firstly, the bludgeoning operatic vocals of Lenka Machová have been replaced with Anna Neuwirthová's softer melodies. Secondly, the album begins immediately at a frantic pace, charging the gates with keyboards aflame. Where Symbols sounded more relaxed, Bestiari is more of an assault. Thirdly, the drumming is more solidified; in its simplicity, there is an essence of rhythm and heaviness. Overall, these elements join together to create a very solid release.

That being said, the band members deserve recognition for their involvement on such a transformation. Ivos Dosedel's bordering on the lines of gothic metal's depth, black metal's pitches, and death metal's grunts carries the album from beginning to end. Neuwirthová was used sparingly -- perhaps a personal sacrifice; regardless, her vocals add that much more weight when they are heard. Martin Roženek's keyboard abuse tends to hinder the abilities of guitarist Kamil Pfeffer, therefore Kamil Kottek's bass work is inaudible beneath the overwhelming duo.

"Moments of Evolution" sets the overall tone for the album, and should have been used as the introduction in place of "She's in My Veins", which in my opinion is better suited for the album's body. "Attitude Gyroscope" features varied layered vocals, adding to the aggression of the album, much like "As Free Act and Dead", which sets the stage for Dosedel and Neuwirthová to exchange vocal approaches. These two obviously have chemistry, seemingly playful in their artistic battle -- an element that adds character and soul. "Postscriptum" is the true standout track here, albeit not for its brutality or technical efficiency. No, here we have an epic track, a narrative opera that drags the listener into oblivion, casting them off into a psychedelic euphoria and bringing them back into a dismal void. It's far from any heavy metal sub-genre, but this whale of a píseň.

Throughout the line-up changes and years spent creating new material, Ador Dorath have grown stronger with each release, maintaining their seemingly untouchable level of originality, yet approaching a happy medium of independence and marketability. Shindy Records is very fortunate to have this band on their roster, as they should be a force in the metal scene for years to come.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Ador Dorath
Album: Bestiari


 


written by Troy Killjoy | 13.09.2009


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 57  
Search this topic:  


Nosurper - 13.09.2009 at 04:43  
Haven't heard this, but that was a very well written review killjoy. nice job, may even check it out.
Troy Killjoy - 13.09.2009 at 05:27  
Written by Nosurper on 13.09.2009 at 04:43

Haven't heard this, but that was a very well written review killjoy. nice job, may even check it out.


Ah, it's great stuff, if only for its originality. Thanks for the comment! Hopefully you check out the album and enjoy it. She's definitely a diamond in the rough.
Ellrohir - 13.09.2009 at 10:08  
I was always amazed by their song "Adon Nin Edeleth Ador Dorath", but rest of their stuff isnt that interesting for me...
Troy Killjoy - 13.09.2009 at 16:19  
Written by Ellrohir on 13.09.2009 at 10:08

I was always amazed by their song "Adon Nin Edeleth Ador Dorath", but rest of their stuff isnt that interesting for me...


If you haven't heard this album you should definitely give it a try. They've come a long way since Adon Nin Edeleth Ador Dorath, which isn't to say it was a bad album, but I find their sound differs so much between releases. Then again that may be why you don't like their other songs, as Collin pointed out in his review of Symbols, each of their songs tends to have its own universe.
BudDa - 26.02.2010 at 17:29  
Good review Troy. It certainly gave me alot to think about esp seeing as I didn't find it all that mainly coz the riffing on this album is average at best.

"Martin Roženek's keyboard abuse tends to hinder the abilities of guitarist Kamil Pfeffer"..whose abilities show alot of potential if explored and given time to impose themselves on the songs. Sadly, they don't and thats why I give this album a 6
Troy Killjoy - 26.02.2010 at 18:52  
Written by BudDa on 26.02.2010 at 17:29

Good review Troy. It certainly gave me alot to think about esp seeing as I didn't find it all that mainly coz the riffing on this album is average at best.

"Martin Roženek's keyboard abuse tends to hinder the abilities of guitarist Kamil Pfeffer"..whose abilities show alot of potential if explored and given time to impose themselves on the songs. Sadly, they don't and thats why I give this album a 6


Thanks! It's a bit old (in fact I think this was my first or second review on this site) so there are the average mistakes like not tagging the band properly...instead I bolded the name.

My opinion on this album has definitely changed; I mean the information in the review hasn't really, but my overall rating would go down from an 8.4 to maybe a 7.4. I agree that the riffs aren't very good, but the originality struck me as something worthy of a high rating.
BudDa - 26.02.2010 at 19:09  
Well, it should..but am such a riff driven person..lol
Wishmaster - 01.09.2010 at 14:26  
Nice band name, might check it out. Are these guys are similar to Darzamat in any way?
Troy Killjoy - 01.09.2010 at 14:58  
Written by Guest on 01.09.2010 at 14:26

Nice band name, might check it out. Are these guys are similar to Darzamat in any way?

Kind of like Darzamat/Cradle Of Filth/Theatres Des Vampires.

Also be sure to check out Interitus (another female-fronted Gothic symph-black band from the Czech Republic) if this kind of music is your thing.
Wishmaster - 01.09.2010 at 15:06  
I never liked Theatres Des Vampires.
I know Interitus, but thanks for suggesting.
Blasphemer1992 - 03.12.2010 at 21:51  
I think it's a good combination to misx growls with soprano vocals:)
Fucking awesome gothic influences:thumbup:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ador Dorath - Symbols 5.5 31.08.2007 by Talvi
Reviews Kronos - The Hellenic Terror 3 20.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Zonaria - The Cancer Empire 3 15.09.2009 by Valaskjalf



Hits total: 2544 | This month: 27