Rating:
9.0
For My Pain - Fallen
2003


01. My Wound Is Deeper Than Yours
02. Dancer In The Dark
03. Queen Misery
04. Sea Of Emotions
05. Rapture Of Lust
06. Broken Days
07. Dear Carniwhore
08. Bed Of Dead Leaves
09. Autumn Harmony
10. Tomorrow Is A Closed Gate (Dead For So Long)


From Finland, the land of the eternal sorrow (or at least it seems so) comes For My Pain… a musical project from members of such great bands as Nightwish, Eternal Tears Of Sorrow and Kalmah. As you might figured out by now, they play Gothic Metal, I would say that this band falls in the same category of such bands like Charon, Entwine, HIM, Sentenced and To/Die/For, so if you absolutely hate any of this after mentioned bands, stop reading, this is not for you.
But if you do like Gothic Metal, come, let's enter the melancholic realm of For My Pain…

The good thing about this Gothic Metal Releases is that you can enjoy them with non-metal listeners, because the music is very accessible, to some people this is even considered metal, just pop rock or something like that, some of this songs could easily be a single o video in Mtv, but that's not the topic.

Back with the album, this is a really professional work, crystal clear production, nice arrangements , great vocals and musicianship. From the opener "My wound is deeper than yours" you know that you're up to a good trip with these guys.

The second song "Dancer In The Dark" is also a really good song, featuring some nice female vocals courtesy of Miriam Renvog of Ram-Zet. "Rapture of Lust" is another great song, very catchy, really good guitar line, the chorus sticks in your mind for weeks! I cant stop singing "I will take your heart because you took mine" "Broken days" is also a killer, but more melancholic, but if you're looking for a sad song to listen on a cold, windy day, listen "Bed Of Dead Leaves".

For My Pain… shows us that they can play top-quality Goth Metal, without sounding like a HIM or Sentenced clone, this definitively is one of the best records I heard this year, fans of Charon and Entwine, this is a MUST have!


Band profile: For My Pain
Album: Fallen


 


written by Undercraft | 08.10.2004

Guest review by
Milena

Rating:
8.0
When you look at the lineup of this band, the first thing you notice is that it's made almost exclusively of members of bands that have a certain gothic appeal. And before you attack me for not knowing my genres (I can already feel the "Nightwish is not gothic!"-slam on my face), let me rephrase myself: a certain part of people who are fans of those bands like to consider themselves as gothic, or are being considered as such by others. So, has this star lineup managed to give us the perfect gothic album? My thoughts are below, but remember - based on experience, mood and criteria, everyone can have his own.

Read more ››
published 09.04.2011 | Comments (5)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 96  
Search this topic:  


BloodTears - 27.10.2006 at 01:55  
This album is almost perfect for me. I love it so much, every song on it. Im just sorry its the only one that this band ever released.
Abys - 05.11.2006 at 14:09  
The song "broken days" is so great... I randomly chose this band to listen to because of it's name and i agree - they are a great band, and Broken Days is a killer!
Bash' - 29.03.2007 at 20:41  
Queen Misery & Autumn Harmony are so catchy songs
4look4rd - 13.07.2007 at 01:49  
Overrated band, I thought this album was very weak and a good example of finnish generic goth metal
º HoSTiLe º - 11.08.2007 at 22:27  
I personally enjoy listening to this band and this album is a relaxing one, who doesn´t like to relax and to dream with such fellings as love or sadness, we as human beings have plenty of different range of feel, so this album fullfill one part
Cassian - 14.05.2008 at 14:42  
Really great. I personally think the reason why this album is not a clone of Charon or Sentenced, is that Tuomas plays the keyboard. His Nightwish touch makes the whole album beautifully melancholic.
Powerslavex - 07.10.2008 at 23:41  
cant wait for the next album !!!!!!!!!!!!
BloodTears - 09.10.2008 at 16:52  
Written by Powerslavex on 07.10.2008 at 23:41

cant wait for the next album !!!!!!!!!!!!


since when will they release a new album?
Powerslavex - 09.10.2008 at 16:57  
I meant i wish they realese there next album
BloodTears - 09.10.2008 at 19:44  
Oh, but I'm afraid that won't happen anytime soon. The band has been inactive for quite a while now.
Brave - 02.03.2009 at 09:14  
"Autumn Harmony, Rapture of Lust, Sea of Emotions" my favourite songs from this album.
The Shape 1973 - 18.09.2009 at 21:12  
Will they ever release a new album, its been so long now, I'm not holding out much hope, not with the same line up anyway.
BloodTears - 19.09.2009 at 11:08  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 18.09.2009 at 21:12

Will they ever release a new album, its been so long now, I'm not holding out much hope, not with the same line up anyway.


If you go to their website you see then don't post anything since 2006. And I don't think they ever will, unfortunately.
The Shape 1973 - 20.09.2009 at 13:12  
Written by BloodTears on 19.09.2009 at 11:08

Written by The Shape 1973 on 18.09.2009 at 21:12

Will they ever release a new album, its been so long now, I'm not holding out much hope, not with the same line up anyway.


If you go to their website you see then don't post anything since 2006. And I don't think they ever will, unfortunately.

You never know, but I think you are right, they are too busy with their main bands, so I'm not holding my breath.
Did they ever tour with this line up, wonder if there are any live recordings hidden anywhere?
Abattoir - 21.11.2009 at 14:36  
Great album, definitely memorable for me.

Favourite songs: Rapture of Lust, Broken Days, Autumn Harmony.
Întunecatul - 19.12.2009 at 23:35  
This album is perfect...love every song in it...i would rate it at 9.5
Shovite - 10.04.2011 at 18:10  
Yeah, i love this album.... when I saw it at the store i buy it immediately xD !!! 10 points !!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews For My Pain - Fallen 7 10.04.2011 by Shovite
Albums For My Pain - Fallen 6 27.03.2010 by Justicelust
Reviews Radigost - For The Honor Of Our Truth... For The Honor Of Our Faith... 4.5 30.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Job For A Cowboy - Doom 4.5 23.09.2007 by
Reviews Total Devastation - Roadmap Of Pain 4.5 27.12.2006 by



Hits total: 4991 | This month: 60