Rating:
8.9
Njiqahdda - Nji. Njiijn. Njiiijn.
June 2008


01. Nortii Maatu
02. Aasklamatii Ligmett Aursag
03. Sigmaatiiolaa
04. Urmae Copistrum Xaaqa Qahdda


If you ever need something to illustrate the point "never judge a book by its cover", seek no more. You've found it. I mean – what the fuck. Excuse my language, but really... what the...? Just look at that album cover... it's almost worse than the notorious The Fate Worse Than Death. Sooooooo... let's get on with it, shall we?

Njiqahdda's Nji. Njiijn. Njiiijn. (yeah... I know... sigh... for both physical and mental health reasons, do NOT try to pronounce that) may sound as if it is a terrible curse in the dead language of Chtulhu, and for all I know it might just as well be, but don't let that distract you. What it offers is high-quality Psychedelic Black metal in four intricate songs that all average somewhere around the eightteen minute mark, each captiviting you in their swirling might.

With their sound Njiqahdda is the wet dream of every rabid namedropper. Pink Floyd (psychedelic touches), Drudkh (warm-blooded melodies) and Velvet Cacoon (omnipresent droning buzz) are all easily mentioned. They are far more than just an amalgam of the bands mentioned, though. Opener "Nortii Maatu" is the harshest of the bunch with it's constant menacing whispers and abundance of cymbals and pulsating circling riffs. The booming bass is everpresent and a provides strong capricious undercurrent. Halfway during the song the first Drudkh-ish riff makes it appearance and the song goes dream-wards. The two followers "Aasklamatii Ligmett Aursag" and "Sigmaatiiolaa" continue with dreamy soundscapes, mellow buzzes and slight psychedelic twists, although noise-threats are never far away.

"Urmae Copistrum Xaaqa Qahdda", the closer of the album, is the proverbial cherry on top and an absolute monster of a song clocking in at 21:05. Inhumane croaked whispers, morphed beyond belief, give way to waves of flushed noise, which in their turn brood endlessly before evolving into a droning Floydian tour de force giving this album an ending it deserves.

Nji. Njiin. Njiiin. is unique, twisted and ethereal. An acquired taste, no doubt, but a delicious record till the very core. Headphones are mandatory, as are multiple spins before judgment. There's always more to explore than you might suspect at first. A mind-blower in disguise.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Njiqahdda
Album: Nji. Njiijn. Njiiijn.


 



Written on 23.09.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 263  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 23.09.2009 at 21:07  
The cover actually reminds me a lot of Drudkh
Dane Train - 23.09.2009 at 21:31  
Might be worth it. I'll check it just because it looks so ridiculous.
K†ulu - 23.09.2009 at 21:32  
So I guess I have to check this out.
silenius - 23.09.2009 at 21:56  
Most fucked up album name ever:D
Ellrohir - 23.09.2009 at 21:56  
I was told by a friend of mine about this band and it was strongly recommend to me...but i somehow didnt liked it at all...
Hamird - 23.09.2009 at 22:11  
I think they might blindly typed on keyboard to make a name for their album.. Just like what they'd done for making their band name..
But of course I'm going to check them out..
Mr. Doctor - 23.09.2009 at 22:18  
I always trust your reviews, Lucas. I checked them out and found out what I expected, good music with great atmosphere. I will check this out without doubt.

Thanks for the review!
Damn... what an annoying name of a band and album.
Smurfophagist - 23.09.2009 at 22:44  
The proper way to pronounce the album title: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIV4poUZAQo
Raiden - 24.09.2009 at 07:09  
I think the band name + album title is more fucked up than the cover art, fucked up as it is. As long as the music is good though I'll consider checking this out!
BudDa - 24.09.2009 at 08:47  
The band and album name are enough for me to wanna check them out..

Nice review Lucas
Biddle127 - 24.09.2009 at 13:08  
I was expecting them to be from some weird and unheard of country, lol they're American.

Still nice review, think i'll have to check them out sometime.
Dark Cornatus - 24.09.2009 at 14:21  
I actually liked the cover art LOL. Thats why i am here. It was just different. The name is messed up though. Sounds wierd enough to check out.
Slayer666 - 24.09.2009 at 15:07  
Nagh, this is really not my thing... I don't like it one bit. The name is seriously f**ked, gotta give them that.
Elio - 24.09.2009 at 15:21  
I wonder why these fucktard names.
Mr. Doctor - 24.09.2009 at 18:09  
Written by Elio on 24.09.2009 at 15:21

I wonder why these fucktard names.


Aye, I found the music amazing but I still can't get an answer about the band's name and lyrics themes- Maybe they just like too much weed
spirit_inblack - 25.09.2009 at 08:23  
I quite like these guys and their other project Oaks of Bethel, which is drone with field recordings in it. Good review.
Doc Godin - 25.09.2009 at 11:33  
Sounds very nice....But Lucas, is that tree flipping me off?
Hamird - 25.09.2009 at 21:02  
I listened to the album recently.. Actually I didn't understand anything at all, then it was playing via my laptop speakers so I had to listen to it with my earphones.. Well I'm not a big fan of such works, but the second track blew my brain. I liked that one..
By the way I've just taken a look to their MA profile and I found the band members are / and _
-DC-002- - 18.10.2009 at 13:26  
Really great album. Their wall of sound totally overwhelms the senses. Its like the noise of Nature being created from scratch.
BreadGod - 21.03.2010 at 23:31  
I'm listening to the album right now, and it is beautiful.
Daniell - 24.07.2013 at 13:49  
I've never seen this review before, so my reaction is 4 years late. But seriously, what is supposed to be wrong with the cover? What's wrong with a tree against a background of mountains?
theFIST - 24.07.2013 at 16:25  
That title made me expect djent

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Moss - Cthonic Rites 3.5 28.07.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Dråpsnatt - I Denna Skog 3 25.02.2010 by Krankheit
Reviews Synaptic Fracture - The Lunatic Transmissions 3 04.04.2010 by spirit_inblack
Reviews Horna - Vihan Tiellä 3 24.06.2010 by Bitter Dawn
Reviews Self-Inflicted Violence - A Perception Of Matter And Energy 3 15.12.2009 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 4611 | This month: 54