Njiqahdda - Nji. Njiijn. Njiiijn. review



Reviewer:
8.9

7 users:
8.00
Band: Njiqahdda
Album: Nji. Njiijn. Njiiijn.
Release date: June 2008


01. Nortii Maatu
02. Aasklamatii Ligmett Aursag
03. Sigmaatiiolaa
04. Urmae Copistrum Xaaqa Qahdda


If you ever need something to illustrate the point "never judge a book by its cover", seek no more. You've found it. I mean – what the fuck. Excuse my language, but really... what the...? Just look at that album cover... it's almost worse than the notorious The Fate Worse Than Death. Sooooooo... let's get on with it, shall we?

Njiqahdda's Nji. Njiijn. Njiiijn. (yeah... I know... sigh... for both physical and mental health reasons, do NOT try to pronounce that) may sound as if it is a terrible curse in the dead language of Chtulhu, and for all I know it might just as well be, but don't let that distract you. What it offers is high-quality Psychedelic Black metal in four intricate songs that all average somewhere around the eightteen minute mark, each captiviting you in their swirling might.

With their sound Njiqahdda is the wet dream of every rabid namedropper. Pink Floyd (psychedelic touches), Drudkh (warm-blooded melodies) and Velvet Cacoon (omnipresent droning buzz) are all easily mentioned. They are far more than just an amalgam of the bands mentioned, though. Opener "Nortii Maatu" is the harshest of the bunch with it's constant menacing whispers and abundance of cymbals and pulsating circling riffs. The booming bass is everpresent and a provides strong capricious undercurrent. Halfway during the song the first Drudkh-ish riff makes it appearance and the song goes dream-wards. The two followers "Aasklamatii Ligmett Aursag" and "Sigmaatiiolaa" continue with dreamy soundscapes, mellow buzzes and slight psychedelic twists, although noise-threats are never far away.

"Urmae Copistrum Xaaqa Qahdda", the closer of the album, is the proverbial cherry on top and an absolute monster of a song clocking in at 21:05. Inhumane croaked whispers, morphed beyond belief, give way to waves of flushed noise, which in their turn brood endlessly before evolving into a droning Floydian tour de force giving this album an ending it deserves.

Nji. Njiin. Njiiin. is unique, twisted and ethereal. An acquired taste, no doubt, but a delicious record till the very core. Headphones are mandatory, as are multiple spins before judgment. There's always more to explore than you might suspect at first. A mind-blower in disguise.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


 



Written on 23.09.2009 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 22   Visited by: 278 users
23.09.2009 - 21:07
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
The cover actually reminds me a lot of Drudkh
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.09.2009 - 21:31
Dane Train
Beers & Kilts
Might be worth it. I'll check it just because it looks so ridiculous.
----
(space for rent)
Loading...
23.09.2009 - 21:32
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
So I guess I have to check this out.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
23.09.2009 - 21:56
silenius
Most fucked up album name ever:D
Loading...
23.09.2009 - 21:56
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
I was told by a friend of mine about this band and it was strongly recommend to me...but i somehow didnt liked it at all...
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
23.09.2009 - 22:11
Hamird
HIV+
I think they might blindly typed on keyboard to make a name for their album.. Just like what they'd done for making their band name..
But of course I'm going to check them out..
Loading...
23.09.2009 - 22:18
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I always trust your reviews, Lucas. I checked them out and found out what I expected, good music with great atmosphere. I will check this out without doubt.

Thanks for the review!
Damn... what an annoying name of a band and album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
23.09.2009 - 22:44
Smurfophagist
The proper way to pronounce the album title: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIV4poUZAQo
----
Having a signature is an absolute must.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 07:09
Raiden
Down Under Staff
I think the band name + album title is more fucked up than the cover art, fucked up as it is. As long as the music is good though I'll consider checking this out!
----
"Scream for me Melbourne!!!!"
- Bruce Dickinson

"I don't see any god up here"
- Yuri Gagarin (while in orbit, 1961)
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 08:47
BudDa
The band and album name are enough for me to wanna check them out..

Nice review Lucas
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 13:08
Biddle127
I was expecting them to be from some weird and unheard of country, lol they're American.

Still nice review, think i'll have to check them out sometime.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 14:21
Dark Cornatus
Powerslave
I actually liked the cover art LOL. Thats why i am here. It was just different. The name is messed up though. Sounds wierd enough to check out.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 15:07
Slayer666
Nagh, this is really not my thing... I don't like it one bit. The name is seriously f**ked, gotta give them that.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 15:21
Elio
Red Nightmare
I wonder why these fucktard names.
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
24.09.2009 - 18:09
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Elio on 24.09.2009 at 15:21

I wonder why these fucktard names.


Aye, I found the music amazing but I still can't get an answer about the band's name and lyrics themes- Maybe they just like too much weed
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
25.09.2009 - 08:23
spirit_inblack
harshhead
I quite like these guys and their other project Oaks of Bethel, which is drone with field recordings in it. Good review.
Loading...
25.09.2009 - 11:33
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Sounds very nice....But Lucas, is that tree flipping me off?
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
25.09.2009 - 21:02
Hamird
HIV+
I listened to the album recently.. Actually I didn't understand anything at all, then it was playing via my laptop speakers so I had to listen to it with my earphones.. Well I'm not a big fan of such works, but the second track blew my brain. I liked that one..
By the way I've just taken a look to their MA profile and I found the band members are / and _
Loading...
18.10.2009 - 13:26
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
Really great album. Their wall of sound totally overwhelms the senses. Its like the noise of Nature being created from scratch.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
21.03.2010 - 23:31
Insineratehymn
Account deleted
I'm listening to the album right now, and it is beautiful.
Loading...
24.07.2013 - 13:49
Daniell
No, you don't
I've never seen this review before, so my reaction is 4 years late. But seriously, what is supposed to be wrong with the cover? What's wrong with a tree against a background of mountains?
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
24.07.2013 - 16:25
theFIST
That title made me expect djent
----
http://metalstormmusicianscorner.bandcamp.com
Written by Warman on 07.11.2007 at 22:39
Haha, that's like saying "compose your own Metal album and upload it here, instead of writing a review of an album". :lol:
Loading...

Hits total: 5433 | This month: 27