Rating:
8.5
Tenet - Sovereign
20 July 2009


01. Being And Nothingness
02. Indulge Me
03. Crown Of Thorns
04. Unnameable
05. Take A Long Line
06. Going Down
07. Hail! Hail!
08. Watching You Burn
09. Sovereign


Do you like your metal to hit hard and then repeatedly hit hard in a machine-like relentless assault on the ears? Well it is time to all hail the new flesh for another lesson in violence with this one. After years of struggle, the debut Tenet album is here. Tenet is Jed Simon from Strapping Young Lad's baby, which has grown into an absolute monster with the addition of Strapping Young Lad band mates Gene and Byron, Glen from previous Forbidden and Testament fame, and none other than previous Exodus singer Steve Souza to front this hydra of a band.

Sovereign isn't an album for the people who constantly whine for progression and new directions. Sovereign is an album that sounds just like you would imagine it to with the people involved. Tenet is clearly an illegitimate child of Strapping Young Lad and Exodus displaying the sheer relentless assault of Strapping Young Lad in their best days, and the catchy, thrash-tastic guitar riffs and voice of Exodus.

The album is a short one, but although it is over so soon it leaves a huge chasm of an impression. Sovereign is a constant battery of top quality thrash metal that sounds very contemporary, modern and easy to listen to but has the bite and vigour of those classic Exodus albums. It has been scientifically proved that any vertebrate animal will involuntarily bang its head if presented with Sovereign. Probably. The album is simply irresistible in the most metal of ways. Tenet punches with the power of two powerful and highly popular juggernauts of metal for devastating result.

Nothing new is to be learned from Sovereign, Tenet don't add anything unnecessary to their music and they haven't been influenced by anything we would have rather them not to have. This is straightforward, unoriginal if you will, ball-crushing thrash metal that doesn't care what you think of it. This is hybrid vigour at its best.

You are going to know where you stand with Tenet. If you're not keen on Exodus, or if Strapping Young Lad doesn't tickle your fancy, it is quite a logical conclusion to come to that Tenet aren't going to be up your alley either. If these two bands rock your world, then Tenet are just waiting here to offer you 35 minutes of pure metal to remind you just how great it felt to have a bomb like this explode in your face.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Tenet
Album: Sovereign


 



Written on 11.10.2009 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 147  
Search this topic:  


Daggon - 12.10.2009 at 02:32  
I like the album, yes unoriginal, but it's fucking thrash metal, I found it good, but I don't know why I still have the feeling that it lacks of something. But yes Baz, when I listen to this I have the urge to do some headbanging! Nice review.
SBGMetal - 12.10.2009 at 03:21  
Hell yea zetro is back! IMO best thrash vocalist
Derwood - 12.10.2009 at 08:13  
Written by SBGMetal on 12.10.2009 at 03:21

Hell yea zetro is back! IMO best thrash vocalist


Really? He sounds like a pissed off Munchkin to me.

There are some killer riffs here, but I find the vocals just destroy the atmosphere because they sound like they belong with a joke band. I can't listen to this without grinning because it just sounds so humorous, but somehow I don't think that's what the band was going for.
tulkas - 12.10.2009 at 10:40  
I agree with Derwood. Vocal just don't fit. It immediately reminded me of the movie "Who framed Roger Rabbit?", 'cause it sounds like a really pissed-off angry cartoon (maybe the baby from the beginning of the movie), screaming his guts out. The music is really cool, though. It does make you want to turn around and beat the crap of whoever you see first. That's thrash pureness to me
Syk - 12.10.2009 at 12:52  
Did Zetro write [m]any of the lyrics? IMO he was a major reason Exodus - Tempo kicked so much ass
Marfere - 12.10.2009 at 14:15  
Written by Derwood on 12.10.2009 at 08:13

Written by SBGMetal on 12.10.2009 at 03:21

Hell yea zetro is back! IMO best thrash vocalist


Really? He sounds like a pissed off Munchkin to me.

There are some killer riffs here, but I find the vocals just destroy the atmosphere because they sound like they belong with a joke band. I can't listen to this without grinning because it just sounds so humorous, but somehow I don't think that's what the band was going for.


Zetro got the fucking voice of thrash. He does it the oldschool way a'la screaming the guts out that fit the aggressive riffing just perfect. Please tell me who would fit better.
Derwood - 12.10.2009 at 21:07  
Written by Marfere on 12.10.2009 at 14:15

Zetro got the fucking voice of thrash. He does it the oldschool way a'la screaming the guts out that fit the aggressive riffing just perfect. Please tell me who would fit better.


Someone who didn't sound like they had inhaled a tank of helium before they started squeaking at the top of their lungs in such a humorous fashion would fit better.
SBGMetal - 13.10.2009 at 03:22  
Written by Derwood on 12.10.2009 at 21:07

Written by Marfere on 12.10.2009 at 14:15

Zetro got the fucking voice of thrash. He does it the oldschool way a'la screaming the guts out that fit the aggressive riffing just perfect. Please tell me who would fit better.


Someone who didn't sound like they had inhaled a tank of helium before they started squeaking at the top of their lungs in such a humorous fashion would fit better.

yes i would like to know as well... and tank of helium? whats wrong with that king diamond n halford sing like gods!
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.10.2009 at 03:30  
Written by SBGMetal on 13.10.2009 at 03:22

whats wrong with that king diamond n halford sing like gods!


Do they sing in a thrash-band?
Derwood - 13.10.2009 at 03:31  
Written by SBGMetal on 13.10.2009 at 03:22

yes i would like to know as well... and tank of helium? whats wrong with that king diamond n halford sing like gods!


Halford sings like a god, yes. King Diamond I have to take in small doses because he tends to get on my nerves pretty quickly, but neither of them sound like they have been huffing helium, which Steve Souza does on this album. Even the ever irritating Mustaine would sound better than Souza does here.
SBGMetal - 13.10.2009 at 03:37  
Written by Derwood on 13.10.2009 at 03:31

Written by SBGMetal on 13.10.2009 at 03:22

yes i would like to know as well... and tank of helium? whats wrong with that king diamond n halford sing like gods!


Halford sings like a god, yes. King Diamond I have to take in small doses because he tends to get on my nerves pretty quickly, but neither of them sound like they have been huffing helium, which Steve Souza does on this album. Even the ever irritating Mustaine would sound better than Souza does here.

good points.... i guess we all have different opinions
Derwood - 13.10.2009 at 03:44  
Written by SBGMetal on 13.10.2009 at 03:37

good points.... i guess we all have different opinions


Which is precisely what makes sites like this so entertaining.
SBGMetal - 13.10.2009 at 03:45  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.10.2009 at 03:30

Written by SBGMetal on 13.10.2009 at 03:22

whats wrong with that king diamond n halford sing like gods!


Do they sing in a thrash-band?

no but they have sung on thrash like songs... you cant really say a thrash vocalist sounds like this or that because they incorporate many metal styles...
SBGMetal - 13.10.2009 at 03:46  
Written by Derwood on 13.10.2009 at 03:44

Written by SBGMetal on 13.10.2009 at 03:37

good points.... i guess we all have different opinions


Which is precisely what makes sites like this so entertaining.

true eh who gives a hoot metal is awesome!
Sunioj - 13.10.2009 at 18:38  
I listened to this but I was kinda dissapointed. After the album, I found myself clueless to remembering any of the songs. With a collaboration from peeps in exodus, I wouldve expected much better riffage. But whatevs.
Syk - 13.10.2009 at 19:32  
Written by Sunioj on 13.10.2009 at 18:38
I listened to this but I was kinda dissapointed. After the album, I found myself clueless to remembering any of the songs. With a collaboration from peeps in exodus, I wouldve expected much better riffage. But whatevs.
It seems to me there's no Exo links other than the yelling Souza? I love Forbidden but they haven't really been strong riffmonsters since the 80s... haven't heard too much from SYL or Zimmers Hole. I'll have to try to hear this later this week
Sunioj - 14.10.2009 at 00:30  
Written by Syk on 13.10.2009 at 19:32

It seems to me there's no Exo links other than the yelling Souza? I love Forbidden but they haven't really been strong riffmonsters since the 80s... haven't heard too much from SYL or Zimmers Hole. I'll have to try to hear this later this week


Yeah, thats right. Didn't feel like looking into the exact details but yeah.. Haven't heard of Forbidden until now, I will check it out.
The Gaiaborne - 20.10.2009 at 04:52  
Quote:
Quote:

true eh who gives a hoot metal is awesome!



Amen brother, nothing is better than good ol Heavy Metal!!!
Novas - 18.02.2010 at 10:28  
New guy coming in the review convo !!! Since ya'll are thrash lovers like me, then ya'll should check out Warbringer, Evile, Destruction, Kreator, Sodom, & Lazarus A.D. (hard to find). Zetro is my favorite thrash singer..other than Warbringer's vocalist..since Exodus' Tempo of the Damned album. But on Tenet's debut, he tends to get annoying after a while. I wanna make a thrash metal band & i want Zetro to be the front man. But i got a question: Why did Zetro ever leave Exodus ? Was it cuz he quite or cuz he had fights with the members
Novas - 18.02.2010 at 10:34  
Well i take that back...Steve Souza has been my favorite trash singer since Testament's First Strike Still Deadly re-recorded version of Reign of Terror ...That song is my favorite from Testament too ...I love playing it on the drums
MiKill - 20.05.2010 at 12:46  
I think Zet was kicked out of Exodus because he bailed on them mid-tour or something, whatever the reasons, it was a pretty acrimonious split at the time, though they seem to have made peace now. I would love to see Tenet gig with Exodus, that would be badass.
RobHalford - 16.02.2011 at 22:53  
The sound quality of this album from a physical copy is surprisingly good. The Youtube videos definitely don't do it justice.
Baz Anderson - 16.02.2011 at 23:44  
Written by RobHalford on 16.02.2011 at 22:53

The sound quality of this album from a physical copy is surprisingly good. The Youtube videos definitely don't do it justice.

What do you expect from Youtube?
Destructo - 28.02.2011 at 16:21  
Written by Derwood on 12.10.2009 at 08:13

Written by SBGMetal on 12.10.2009 at 03:21

Hell yea zetro is back! IMO best thrash vocalist


Really? He sounds like a pissed off Munchkin to me.

There are some killer riffs here, but I find the vocals just destroy the atmosphere because they sound like they belong with a joke band. I can't listen to this without grinning because it just sounds so humorous, but somehow I don't think that's what the band was going for.

Haha....perfect description there. Pissed-off Munchkin. So damn true.
Destructo - 28.02.2011 at 16:26  
The musicianship on this album is just incredible. But the voclas can get get irritating after a while. That would be the only discernable drawback of the band. A slightly "growly" or "menacing" vocals would have been the right accompaniment to an otherwise ear-shatteringly awesome riff barrage !!!! But great album overall.
Baz Anderson - 28.02.2011 at 16:58  
I disagree... I am so fed up of hearing growling...
Freaktard - 08.10.2013 at 23:47  
I'm surprised at the general dislike of Zetro's vocals on this album...they were one of the highlights of it for me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Immortal - All Shall Fall 4.5 27.09.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Cathedral - The Guessing Game 4.5 28.03.2010 by Richard
Reviews Gates Of Winter - Lux Aeterna 4.5 20.01.2008 by HardSide
Reviews Blackguard - Profugus Mortis 4.5 28.03.2009 by ItalktotheWind
Reviews Terrordrome - Vehement Convulsion 4.5 23.04.2008 by __Az__



Hits total: 4047 | This month: 40