Rating:
8.0
Nile - Those Whom The Gods Detest
30 October 2009


01. Kafir
02. Hittite Dung Incantation
03. Utterances Of The Crawling Dead
04. Those Whom The Gods Detest
05. 4th Arra Of Dagon
06. Permitting The Noble Dead To Descend To The Underworld
07. Yezd Desert Ghul Ritual In The Abandoned Towers Of Silence
08. Kem Khefa Kheshef
09. The Eye Of Ra
10. Iskander Dhul Kharnon


Those Whom The Gods Detest is an intense, explosion of technical death metal that immediately upstages the band's most recent releases. Nile pulled out all the stops with this one, but unfortunately still produced nothing that will keep you addicted two months down the line. The Nile name can never be overlooked however, and within Those Whom The Gods Detest you will find a death metal album of all the usual Nile traits, which includes the band's usual inexplicable musicianship.

Early impressions of the album are the best ones you'll have of it. However some of these death metal eruptions such as "Hittite Dung Incantation" and "Permitting The Noble Dead To Descend To The Underworld" may simply never get old. When Nile are on the ball, they absolutely kill it. The good thing about Those Whom The Gods Detest is that the band are on the ball more than they have been for the best part of a decade. Where Nile struggle however, is pulling together a full-length album that is consistently relentless in its brilliance. Since the band started putting out longer albums, we have been haunted by longer songs such as the dragging "4th Arra Of Dagon" that sometimes even come close to ten minutes. Ambition is one thing, but if you look back at where Nile are in their element, it isn't there.

Egyptian influence, some of the best vocals in death metal, and some of the most punishing drumming this side of the pyramids. Those Whom The Gods Detest has it all, but unfortunately it also has too much. Take out the twenty most tedious minutes of this otherwise long death metal album, and we could have been staring at the best album the band have ever put out. When Nile are good, they are simply the best. The problem with Those Whom The Gods Detest is that once again the band tried to be too ambitious and the result is a dreary average song length of pushing six minutes.

Nile have such potential to put out one of those great death metal albums you'll always remember, and Those Whom The Gods Detest is the closest the band have come to making that dream a reality in recent years. But also, let us not overshadow the terrifying intensity the band have had ignited within once more with the shorter songs of the album. This is an at-times mesmeric and awe inspiring album, but unfortunately also a little dull at other times.

Once again Nile flash their unrivalled talent and ability to blow you away with the power of death, but also remind you that they have become incapable of condensing material down into that whole, manageable, complete album.

-

Death metal
Nuclear Blast
USA
Length: 56:36

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Nile
Album: Those Whom The Gods Detest


 



Written on 04.11.2009 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 69  
Users visited: 568  
Search this topic:  


ponderer - 04.11.2009 at 18:00  
Nice review Baz! I haven't snagged this yet but it's on the list now
BudDa - 04.11.2009 at 18:10  
I have never been bothered by their long boring songs. But like I said before, compared to the rest of the 2009 death metal releases, I find this one abit lacking. This would have been stellar if it were from another band..but this is Nile. I was slightly disappointed. I give it a 7

good review btw..
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.11.2009 at 18:13  
Why not cut the album down to eight tracks and you will get a nice 45 minute long album.
Another problem is that since Kollias has joined the drumming isn't as varied as when Laureano was there and that of course doesn't help at all when playing long songs on a long album.
Kollias might be fast and brutal but he sure as hell isn't up there with a true great such as Laureano who doesn't rely on speed and brutality alone.
spirit_inblack - 04.11.2009 at 18:38  
Marcel is right. Kollias can get utterly boring to these ears at times, but Laureano... look at what he even did with Nachtmystium. I find the drumming on Assassins to amazing, even though it's fairly simple.
Nuclear Blast... pretty much fucks over whoever signs to them. LOL!
BitterCOld - 04.11.2009 at 18:42  
Put off buying this album because so much other good shit was at the store this week (Slayer, Harvestman, an old Drudkh record, Jesu, Saviours)... seems i made the right call in which to omit for the short run.

i will check it out down the line, but a couple phrases in the review touched on why i haven't been able to fully enjoy "Annihilation of the Wicked" and probably won't fully enjoy this one.
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.11.2009 at 18:43  
Written by spirit_inblack on 04.11.2009 at 18:38

Marcel is right. Kollias can get utterly boring to these ears at times, but Laureano... look at what he even did with Nachtmystium. I find the drumming on Assassins to amazing, even though it's fairly simple.
Nuclear Blast... pretty much fucks over whoever signs to them. LOL!


Nile fucked themselves up by getting Kollias.

And why is it people think Nuclear Blast dictates the sort of music a band has to play? They don't do that, not even Roadrunner does that. It is only majore labels that try and dictate the music a band has to play.
spirit_inblack - 04.11.2009 at 19:52  
I was just being sarcastic, haha.
Pétur - 04.11.2009 at 19:58  
Boring standard death metal who will surely give Nuclear Blast lot's of money again and a contender for the MS Death metal awards 2009.
Valaskjalf - 04.11.2009 at 20:24  
And so the question arises....why give the album an 8/10 if it was pointed out in the review that the album has little longevity? That doesnt justify a "very good" then does it? Personally I agree with what you said, but I think your rating is a way off, because the fact that it seems to be relatively unmemorable as a whole is spot on and therfor deserves a 6/10 instead of an inflated 8/10
Damned-In-Black - 04.11.2009 at 21:57  
Each paragraph opens with "It's great" and develops into "It's not that great"... There is very little description of the album except for a bit about the song lengths. I could apply this review to almost every Nile album, with little alteration. Hopefully this won't be taken as anything other than constructive. It's fairly well written as a whole. Being more descriptive and/or less repetitive could be an improvement, though.

As for the album. 6/10 from me at this point, but I've only listened a few times and my opinion may change. It's an improvement on their previous one.
Solstafir! - 04.11.2009 at 22:17  
Another solid album by Nile, nothing groundbreaking though, but still beats Behemoth's Evangelion in my opinion..,found the opener, Kafir! very cheesy...
My fav track : Hittite Dung Incantation.
arj - 05.11.2009 at 00:39  
Kill me now, but this album is the only one of Nile that I like
Raiden - 05.11.2009 at 02:55  
Written by Valaskjalf on 04.11.2009 at 20:24

And so the question arises....why give the album an 8/10 if it was pointed out in the review that the album has little longevity? That doesnt justify a "very good" then does it? Personally I agree with what you said, but I think your rating is a way off, because the fact that it seems to be relatively unmemorable as a whole is spot on and therfor deserves a 6/10 instead of an inflated 8/10

I think he meant that it doesn't have quite the longevity as it potentially could, not that it doesn't have any at all or would become boring in a couple of weeks.

As for myself though I can't wait to get my hands on this album. Regarding Kollias, I don't understand the criticism of him, I think he's a great drummer. More or less as good as Nile's previous ones.
wormdrink414 - 05.11.2009 at 03:43  
Just finished listening to it for the first time and loved it. Nevertheless, it's too early to tell whether or not I disagree with your score and since that is at the heart of nearly all of my comments on reviews, I have little to say about this album thus far. "Those Whom the Gods Detest" and "Utterances of the Crawling Dead" are two of the most exciting tracks I have heard this year though.

On a separate note, where is all of this Kollias hate coming from? I may not be a drum connoisseur, but let's not get out of hand here. The guy is great and the mechanical perfection/speed suits Nile and Karl's guitar style wonderfully.
Visioneerie - 05.11.2009 at 05:17  
Written by Valaskjalf on 04.11.2009 at 20:24

And so the question arises....why give the album an 8/10 if it was pointed out in the review that the album has little longevity? That doesnt justify a "very good" then does it? Personally I agree with what you said, but I think your rating is a way off, because the fact that it seems to be relatively unmemorable as a whole is spot on and therfor deserves a 6/10 instead of an inflated 8/10

It's a question of opinion man, people interpret ratings differently. Personally, I just read on what important facts the reviewer has to point out about a particular album and get a much more detailed opinion than a number, 6 ! or 8 ! The rating shit is taken way too seriously, imo.
wormdrink414 - 05.11.2009 at 07:13  
Written by Visioneerie on 05.11.2009 at 05:17

Written by Valaskjalf on 04.11.2009 at 20:24

And so the question arises....why give the album an 8/10 if it was pointed out in the review that the album has little longevity? That doesnt justify a "very good" then does it? Personally I agree with what you said, but I think your rating is a way off, because the fact that it seems to be relatively unmemorable as a whole is spot on and therfor deserves a 6/10 instead of an inflated 8/10

It's a question of opinion man, people interpret ratings differently. Personally, I just read on what important facts the reviewer has to point out about a particular album and get a much more detailed opinion than a number, 6 ! or 8 ! The rating shit is taken way too seriously, imo.


If it weren't for the amount of tragic fun I have rating albums (and organizing said ratings), I would be all for the elimination of the numerical album rating system. Then again, the number rating system does serve a variety of organizational purposes.

By the way, does anyone else hear the Hammer Smashed Face intro riff in the intro riff to "Utterances of the Crawling Dead"?
BitterCOld - 05.11.2009 at 08:29  
Written by Valaskjalf on 04.11.2009 at 20:24

And so the question arises....why give the album an 8/10 if it was pointed out in the review that the album has little longevity? That doesnt justify a "very good" then does it? Personally I agree with what you said, but I think your rating is a way off, because the fact that it seems to be relatively unmemorable as a whole is spot on and therfor deserves a 6/10 instead of an inflated 8/10


"Take out the twenty most tedious minutes of this otherwise long death metal album, and we could have been staring at the best album the band have ever put out."

"When Nile are on the ball, they absolutely kill it. The good thing about Those Whom The Gods Detest is that the band are on the ball more than they have been for the best part of a decade."


i don't know. those sentences pretty much indicate Baz had an extremely favorable opinion of most the album. somewhere between "best they've ever done" (10) and an album of filler (5 to 6 if executed as well as Nile are capable of) and you get... an 8 or so.

8 for you is "inflated", 8 for many on this site sucks.

i can see why Baz might score it an 8 based solely on the description. blistering parts that are jawdropping... and a some filler thrown in because the band gets over-ambitious.
-N- - 05.11.2009 at 08:52  
I agree with you Baz.
And I think Behemoth's "Evangelion" is better than "Those Whom The Gods Detest"
Valaskjalf - 05.11.2009 at 09:18  
Written by BitterCOld on 05.11.2009 at 08:29

8 for you is "inflated", 8 for many on this site sucks.



Fair enough, I sort of try and give ratings according to their catagorization on MS with and 8 meaning very good and 6 average.
Valaskjalf - 05.11.2009 at 09:25  
Written by wormdrink414 on 05.11.2009 at 07:13

Written by Visioneerie on 05.11.2009 at 05:17

Written by Valaskjalf on 04.11.2009 at 20:24

And so the question arises....why give the album an 8/10 if it was pointed out in the review that the album has little longevity? That doesnt justify a "very good" then does it? Personally I agree with what you said, but I think your rating is a way off, because the fact that it seems to be relatively unmemorable as a whole is spot on and therfor deserves a 6/10 instead of an inflated 8/10

It's a question of opinion man, people interpret ratings differently. Personally, I just read on what important facts the reviewer has to point out about a particular album and get a much more detailed opinion than a number, 6 ! or 8 ! The rating shit is taken way too seriously, imo.


If it weren't for the amount of tragic fun I have rating albums (and organizing said ratings), I would be all for the elimination of the numerical album rating system. Then again, the number rating system does serve a variety of organizational purposes.



Same here, I enjoy rating albums but I also think it would perhaps be better if it were eliminated due to the randomness of people's interpretation on it. I for one wont give 10's very easily because not ever album in the world can be the best...it just doesnt make sense to do it so I give a lot more 7's which means it is "good". But yeah, I suppose it is being taken a little seriously.
Khaldi - 05.11.2009 at 10:29  
Currently this album is a my favorite number 1 .

at present I dont have a time to read review completely .
Tatras - 05.11.2009 at 10:40  
Best Death Metal album of 2009 year. It's brilliant album form me, maybe 1 h long, but if you hear such punishing music you can hear it over 2h long... It is one of 3 best albums by Nile in my opinion, better than Ithypalic and on the same or maybe better than "Anihillation of The Wicked"... for me it 10/10.
Year 2009 is great year for death Metal... Behemoth, Nile, Cannibal Corpse, Suffocation, Asphyx, Vader, Blood Red Throne, Azarath, Lost Soul... all this bands put out such great albums in current year!!
TormentoR. - 05.11.2009 at 13:49  
Originality: 8

-_______________________-
katafakingstrofa - 05.11.2009 at 14:50  
Stfu spoiled brats :S jfc
HiF - 05.11.2009 at 22:04  
Can anybody tell me what rating did this album get in Decibel Magazine review?
Opethian - 06.11.2009 at 06:30  
Written by Solstafir! on 04.11.2009 at 22:17

Another solid album by Nile, nothing groundbreaking though, but still beats Behemoth's Evangelion in my opinion..,found the opener, Kafir! very cheesy...
My fav track : Hittite Dung Incantation.


4th Arra of Dagon demolished "Evangelion" lol .. Insane track, love the new album !
The DungonMaster - 06.11.2009 at 09:02  
I think that the review of Nile's new album is a tad off the mark. I like their long epic songs, and the longer a nile album is the better. Yes I like the quick fast jams, but nothing beats the long doomy parts that they add to their albums. Nile, do what you do, cause I know you do it well! No complaints and keep the albums coming!:mad7:
Motionless - 06.11.2009 at 13:00  
If you want short songs go listen to Anal cunt. I like their songs being long and elaborate. Kolias is among the top 5 drummers at death metal and he is extremely technical. So is Laureanno. The album is by far the best death metal release of 2009 along with Ulcerates new album.
EPIC ALBUM
Solstafir! - 06.11.2009 at 15:51  
Written by Opethian on 06.11.2009 at 06:30

Written by Solstafir! on 04.11.2009 at 22:17

Another solid album by Nile, nothing groundbreaking though, but still beats Behemoth's Evangelion in my opinion..,found the opener, Kafir! very cheesy...
My fav track : Hittite Dung Incantation.


4th Arra of Dagon demolished "Evangelion" lol .. Insane track, love the new album !


So true man...so true...:D
Opethian - 07.11.2009 at 01:12  
I cant believe that there are people actually crying, whining on this album, Nile just kicked the Crap out of 2009 ! As far as Death Metal goes

LOL i cant wait to read the review for the new Slayer album, It will probably sound something like this " Slayer = Kings, Kerry is the #1 guitarist in the world, oh yeah by far "World Painted Blood" (What a BRUTAL album title isn't it) kills anything else that has came out this year" .... FAIL

Knowing how many other great bands are out there, and till this day ppl still get sucked in by anything that Slayer releases F@#$K Slayer and the Horse that they rode in on ..
Opethian - 07.11.2009 at 01:13  
Written by wormdrink414 on 05.11.2009 at 03:43

Just finished listening to it for the first time and loved it. Nevertheless, it's too early to tell whether or not I disagree with your score and since that is at the heart of nearly all of my comments on reviews, I have little to say about this album thus far. "Those Whom the Gods Detest" and "Utterances of the Crawling Dead" are two of the most exciting tracks I have heard this year though.

On a separate note, where is all of this Kollias hate coming from? I may not be a drum connoisseur, but let's not get out of hand here. The guy is great and the mechanical perfection/speed suits Nile and Karl's guitar style wonderfully.


Amen to that !
Baz Anderson - 07.11.2009 at 01:25  
You people have to understand that I wrote this review after having this album for two months before it came out.

Of course I went through my phase of listening to it non-stop, but now it just doesn't draw me like it did.

Still, like I wrote, it is an at-times amazing album.
wormdrink414 - 07.11.2009 at 03:04  
It is important to emphasize Baz's point that, although Nile does "miss", when they "hit" they "hit" like no other fucking band can. I agree with the range of his score. I'd have given it an 8.5. It is far more consistent than Ithyphallic (although it does not have an "Essential Salts") but feels more like a spiritual successor to Black Seeds than it does to an album like Annihilation of the Wicked, which I find a bit disappointing. This take exists only after 5 or 6 full listens though so I can hardly count on it remaining a concrete opinion of mine.
thesabbathfan - 07.11.2009 at 07:31  
I downloaded the album yesterday, still need to give'er a listen...
K†ulu - 07.11.2009 at 11:36  
The first impressions after two listens are: the don't offer anything new, but nevertheless they sound pretty good. The only song to have stood out so far is "Kem Khefa Kheshef."

And I do agree with most of the points of the review.
TormentoR. - 07.11.2009 at 20:04  
Originality: 8 -________________-
Originality: 8 -________________-
Originality: 8 -________________-
Originality: 8 -________________-
Originality: 8 -________________-
Originality: 8 -________________-
Originality: 8 -________________-


lawllll!!! :blasts his head off with a revolver:
ManthraXXX - 08.11.2009 at 15:10  
Guys Guys ,, what is this with all the lyrics that talk about muslim beliefs .... its akward strange !!!!!!
TormentoR. - 08.11.2009 at 17:17  
Written by ManthraXXX on 08.11.2009 at 15:10

Guys Guys ,, what is this with all the lyrics that talk about muslim beliefs .... its akward strange !!!!!!


there is no god but Allah deal with it
Dangerboner - 09.11.2009 at 08:51  
This is much better than Ithyphallic and the last two Behemoth albums. The only filler track I think is 4th Arra Of Dagon, as mentioned in the review. My favorite is either Hittite Dung Incantation (I like to pretend that the voice sound effects or whatever are actually brutal guttural vocals) or Yezd Desert Ghul Ritual In The Abandoned Towers Of Silence/Kem Khefa Kheshef.

I kinda wish that they would incorporate more Egyptian sounds like they did on Black Seeds of Vengeance, but without some of the odd filler. Making an album like this combined with BSoV would be Nile at it's best, I think.

Good review, but I'm disappointed that you didn't mention the brilliant drum production done by Erik Rutan. This is really the first time Nile has had impressive sound production.

@Joose
BitterCOld - 10.11.2009 at 01:30  
Hi. keep the discussion on topic. if you go wildly off topic, i will hunt you down and lash you to the slave stick, or something else particularly nasty that either Karl Sanders or Ahmose would approve of.
danielllewis - 16.11.2009 at 05:07  
This sounds like Annihilation Of The Wicked part 2, but less memorable. The song structures, and production are pretty much the same. The only difference is that it has islamic chants.

By no means is it a bad album, and it's also way better than ithyphallic. Nile is similar to deicide and behemoth now in that every album they release is overshadowed by their masterpiece (Annihilation, Stench Of Redemption, Demigod
Baz Anderson - 16.11.2009 at 13:32  
I don't get what it is with "Annihilation Of The Wicked"...
That was when they started to go downhill for me...
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.11.2009 at 14:58  
Written by Baz Anderson on 16.11.2009 at 13:32

I don't get what it is with "Annihilation Of The Wicked"...
That was when they started to go downhill for me...


Exactly. Their true masterpieces for me still are "In Their Darkened Shrines" and "Black Seeds Of Vengeance"

"Annihilation" is indeed where they started going downhill.
Nergal - 17.11.2009 at 18:40  
Bought today, I'm giving it a listening right now... third track, 1000 better than Ithyphallic... By the end, I think my ears will bleed...
InnerSelf - 18.11.2009 at 13:44  
I know I am going to bring down the wrath but it didn't convince me at all actually Obscura's 2009 is much better and much enjoyable
I know Nile tend to play a more Brutal approach but as a Death Metal album Cosmogenisis is better
Nergal - 18.11.2009 at 21:19  
Heard four times today... This album grows each time you listen to it... you need time to enjoy, btw great album!!!
Overlord_PT - 20.11.2009 at 17:59  
This album is really good
Uirapuru - 06.01.2010 at 01:22  
Very good! Not much to complain about

Just that, its 99% death metal, 1% Egyptian instruments or atmosphere... and this 1% is not even mixed within the Death metal... the bizarre instruments and sounds are what makes this death metal special. Its good, but they kinda lose it this time.
thewall30 - 29.01.2010 at 03:53  
Amazing album! It's my first Nile album and I plan to get the others as well...
Deadmeat - 13.04.2010 at 19:26  
This album has some MAGNIFICENT songs and also some others like kafir and 4th ara dagon that are completely hateable because of their stupid long-breaks.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nile - Those Whom The Gods Detest 10.5 18.04.2010 by J. N.
News Nile - Those Whom The Gods Detest N. American Tour II 10.5 28.04.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Events GBR, Derby - Nile: Those Whom The Gods Detest Tour Pt. II 9 18.01.2011 by Kingface
Events GBR, Wolverhampton - Nile: Those Whom The Gods Detest European Tour 9 17.09.2009 by Baz Anderson
Events POR, Lisboa - Nile: Those Whom The Gods Detest European Tour 9 20.11.2009 by Overlord_PT



Hits total: 13614 | This month: 73