The Sarcophagus - Towards The Eternal Chaos review


8 users:
Band: The Sarcophagus
Album: Towards The Eternal Chaos
Release date: November 2009

01. Towards The Eternal Chaos
02. The Legend Sleeps Behind The Mountains
03. Hymn To Awakening
04. Age Of Demons
05. The Sarcophagus
06. A Funeral Opus
07. Anatolian Dragons
08. Under The Lunar Eclipse
09. Nothingness, Emptiness, Chaos
10. Misanthropic

Besides ...Aaaarrghh..., notorious for their highly unpronounceable name and the fact they put up all their music freely available for download, there are not many Turkish extreme Metal that make any difference in the current metal scene. The Sarcophagus hope to change that with their debut full-length Towards The Eternal Chaos.

After a supposedly intimidating intro a thick and fuzzy riff greets us. Underneath the distortion there's still plenty of riff present though, so all you drone-haters do not despair. Although the riffs aren't too impressive on their own, the dark and ominous distortion more than makes up for that. Their general aim seems to be to overwhelm you and with their high speed they certainly do. Combined with touches of melody and cool solo's they do their job well.

As for the vocals... it should be about time to announce they're handled by none other than the unholy Kvarforth (Shining, Den Saakaldte). And guess what... he sounds pretty pissed-off! He yells and screams his way through the album in unmistakable V - Halmstad-fashion, so rejoice! Even though the last Shining album was released only a couple of months ago and there's a new one in the pipeline, it's still good to hear Kvarforth's brutal screams and manic yells again.

It's not overly original, but it is blessed with a good dose of enthusiasm and inspiration. Obviously worth checking out for Kvarforth-adepts, but I'd argue that it is potentially interesting for every fast, melodic Black metal fan. Good job guys.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 7


Written on 27.02.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.

Hits total: 2802 | This month: 6