Rating:
8.5
Peste Noire - La Sanie Des Siècles - Panégyrique De La Dégénérescence
2 August 2006


01. Nous Sommes Fanés
02. Le Mort Joyeux
03. Laus Tibi Domine
04. Spleen
05. Phalènes Et Pestilence - Salvatrice Averse
06. Retour De Flamme (Hooligan Black Metal)
07. Dueil Angoisseus (Christine De Pisan, 1362-1431)
08. Des Médecins Malades Et Des Saints Séquestrés


CD limited to 2000 copies


Peste Noire, the Bubonic Plague, is one of Europe's greatest trauma's. It killed one third of the European population at the time, so needless to say, it's an important source of inspiration for the Black metal scene. Cynic little bastards. One of the bands inspired by the plague is the highly notorious French Peste Noire. La Sanie Des Siècles - Panégyrique De La Dégénérescence is their debut.

La Sanie Des Siècles - Panégyrique De La Dégénérescence is quite the mouthful, but I'm told it means something along the lines of "The Pus Of The Ages - Eulogy Of Decadence". It's much revered for it's amazing solos, so let's start with them, shall we? Well, truth be told: they're fantastic. Yeah, maybe I'm not really someone you'd expect to enjoy a good bout of shredding and you'd be right, I don't look for that in music (except for the almighty Nevermore). But Peste Noire somehow took shredding and moulded it to "Black metal shredding". Where your normal Cacophony-solo would sound completely out of place, guitarist Famine offers dirty yet melodic, captivating solos with carefully placed notes instead of machine-gun rattle. They often sound 'epic', hell, they can even get quite emotional at times. They're surely something that has never been heard before.

Whenever there's no amazing solo or lead guitar captivating the listener, there's some pretty generic Black metal at work, unfortunately. You know the drill: simple riffs, lots of hard-hitting drums and the Nocturno Culto-esque scream. Although Famine actually does a fairly good job at the scream, while he's no tyrant of terror, he's better, harsher and intenser than most.

In conclusion, La Sanie Des Siècles is an album with good elements and bad elements - but the good definitely outweighs the bad. In fact, after a few play-throughs you know when to expect a new breathtaking solo and the generic Black metal passages offer you time to take a fresh breath and to get yourself ready for a new sonic assault. They lose their annoying, distracting edge almost completely. And that itself should tell you how amazing the guitar work often is.

A must-check, but make sure to spin it a few times before forming your opinion.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 7


 



Written on 05.03.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 108  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 05.03.2010 at 13:07  
Haha, I'm not a big fan of this album and you summed why: without the solo's there's little else redeeming about this release. Although I love solo's (I too sometimes listen to Nevermore just for the solo's) I don't think they should ever alter a score of an album. Nevermore would be just as incredible without them but remove them from this album and it's really nothing more than a yawnfest. I tried my hardest to like it over a period of at least a year but by third track it always frustrated me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.03.2010 at 13:12  
Also, I'm sick to death of Neige absorbing himself into bands that sound even vaguely like his own, Lantlos etc.
Mr. Doctor - 05.03.2010 at 18:33  
I disagree, without the solos I still feel a unique vibe that makes me think of the black plague and the medieval times. The riffs and lead guitarrs are most of the time really well doneand even if they are not the most original riffs ever they are still high quality. The vocals are also a good part of the cd.
So yeah, I mostly disagree with this review when it comes to the "bad parts" but yeah, the riffs are fantastic.

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.03.2010 at 13:12

Also, I'm sick to death of Neige absorbing himself into bands that sound even vaguely like his own, Lantlos etc.


Well... Neige did barely some stuff with Peste Noire, last time I checked the only thing he did was some guest vocals on Dueil Angoisseux and composed a big part of the song La Césarienne from the album Folkfuck Folie... So yeah... When I think of Peste Noire, Neige is the last thing I would ever think of.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.03.2010 at 18:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.03.2010 at 18:33


Well... Neige did barely some stuff with Peste Noire, last time I checked the only thing he did was some guest vocals on Dueil Angoisseux and composed a big part of the song La Césarienne from the album Folkfuck Folie... So yeah... When I think of Peste Noire, Neige is the last thing I would ever think of.


I know but he was still a member, and really don't the band or he as a member.
Mr. Doctor - 05.03.2010 at 19:02  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.03.2010 at 18:50

I know but he was still a member, and really don't the band or he as a member.


I wouldn't even call him a session member.... But only a guest member... Famine never considered him as a member of the band in many interviews and I agree with that because some vocal work in a song + half the composition of another song is almost nothing..
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.03.2010 at 19:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.03.2010 at 19:02

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.03.2010 at 18:50

I know but he was still a member, and really don't the band or he as a member.


I wouldn't even call him a session member.... But only a guest member... Famine never considered him as a member of the band in many interviews and I agree with that because some vocal work in a song + half the composition of another song is almost nothing..


Heh I'm not suggesting i don't like this release because of Neige, or dislike Niege because of this album, i'm just not a fan of Niege. I only mentioned it because i associate him with this band, mainly due to endless Last.fm discussions, if you can call them that.
Mr. Doctor - 05.03.2010 at 19:09  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.03.2010 at 19:06

Heh I'm not suggesting i don't like this release because of Neige, or dislike Niege because of this album, i'm just not a fan of Niege. I only mentioned it because i associate him with this band, mainly due to endless Last.fm discussions, if you can call them that.


No man, I wasn't thinking that! I understand why you don't like Peste Noire, It took my a while until I liked them so I see what you didn't like.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.03.2010 at 19:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.03.2010 at 19:09


No man, I wasn't thinking that! I understand why you don't like Peste Noire, It took my a while until I liked them so I see what you didn't like.


Yeah i did try my best with it, i even suprised myself by how many Last.fm listens i racked up without realising it. Just wasn't meant to be i guess.

Not the worst album i ever heard, that honour is reserved for Beherit's Engram for sheer disappointment >:(
TheBigRossowski - 09.03.2010 at 22:39  
Okay...quoting each other back and forth.

Good review once again, man! This album is great and you gave it a fair rating. Funny that you just submitted this, I was listening to that album a few days ago. It's ugly and that's probably the biggest reason why I find it so fascinating.
Mindheist - 20.03.2010 at 16:10  
Quite a good job. I read your review Lucas and I really liked it. Even though I realise that you're one of the best reviewers on MS, I think it would've been better if it was reviewed by someone who's more into the French black metal scene...Jeff maybe . I explain, I don't know if you agree with me about the fact that black metal bands focus (mostly) on the lyrics rather than the music itself, but,...well they do, and it does greatly affect the latter, for it's the case in here. You linked the weakest element (songwriting) with the highest score (9), are you really sure about that? Because black metal records are deemed too complex when it comes to songwriting and it's not the case in Peste Noire's debut.
Lucas - 20.03.2010 at 16:23  
Written by Mindheist on 20.03.2010 at 16:10

Quite a good job. I read your review Lucas and I really liked it. Even though I realise that you're one of the best reviewers on MS, I think it would've been better if it was reviewed by someone who's more into the French black metal scene...Jeff maybe . I explain, I don't know if you agree with me about the fact that black metal bands focus (mostly) on the lyrics rather than the music itself, but,...well they do, and it does greatly affect the latter, for it's the case in here.


Well, Jeff is not as much into Black metal as I am. And I never cared for lyrics, really, so it doesn't matter to me if they're in English, Dutch, French or Chinese.

Quote:
You linked the weakest element (songwriting) with the highest score (9), are you really sure about that? Because black metal records are deemed too complex when it comes to songwriting and it's not the case in Peste Noire's debut.


Well, songwriting is always a bit hard to rate because it's a bit ambiguous. I leave the lyrics out of it, for example, why other reviewers may include them. Yeah, they're a bit high maybe, but I focused on the guitar solos (is part of song writing, and is fantastic) rather than the generic Black metal parts (for the reason I gave in my review).

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Peste Noire - La Sanie Des Siècles - Panégyrique De La Dégénéresc 10.5 11.06.2010 by Got Mayhem?
Reviews Peste Noire - L'ordure à L'état pur 5.5 24.12.2011 by bif91
Albums Peste Noire - Les Démos 4.5 16.06.2012 by Lokaeda
Reviews Foudre Noire - The Dark Gods 4.5 25.10.2010 by Ag Fox
Albums Peste Noire - Peste Noire 4.5 22.06.2013 by Pazdzioch



Hits total: 4183 | This month: 67