Rating:
7.8
Jennifer Scream - It's Rock, You Suck!
2 December 2009


01. High Life
02. It's Rock, You Suck!
03. Sick Of Pleasure
04. Up And Down
05. She's Saint
06. Last Farewell
07. Can You Know Love
08. Stand Up
09. Party Time
10. Wonderfall
11. You're Just Waiting To Grow Up
12. Hot Stuff [Donna Summer cover]


Oh yeah, now this is rock with an attitude! Jennifer Scream is an Italian rock band (without the typical/annoying heavy Italian accent attached to the vocals!) with some sleaze and minor punk influences, cool riffs and lyrics about booze and blow jobs.

"I see your hair
Going up and down
I Feel your tongue
Turning up and down
Up and down!
Up and fucking down!"


That's right, there should be more songs about blow jobs, everyone loves blow jobs. So what else does the album have to offer? There's some champagne, great riffs, whiskey, cool solos, wine, a single surprising ballad, beer, samples of a horny woman on the phone and presumably the same woman's moaning later on and a pool table and sexy police women on the front and back of the CD.

Do you really need more descriptions than that? Well, as you can't tell me you don't before I'm done writing this anyway I suppose I'll go on. On the downsides the songwriting is rather simplistic, but hey, what did you expect of an album with this name? The other and more relevant downside is the vocalist. He's not all bad and you do somewhat get used to him, but I firmly believe the music would be better if his voice had a rougher, tougher, 'ballier' (as in balls) edge to it.

All in all this album is far from perfect, but it's straightforward and fun, exactly what one would look for in this kind of release to begin with. It also ends with a pretty awesome cover of Donna Summer's "Hot Stuff". There isn't really much else to say, after all it's rock, you suck!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 7


 


written by Bas | 14.04.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 89  
Search this topic:  


BudDa - 15.04.2010 at 12:08  
Haha. Bas, this is brilliant!!!
From your review and the song titles I think its safe too assume that this album is too juvenile for its own good. Nonetheless, looks like something I can actually get around to listening (guilty pleasure).
Bas - 16.04.2010 at 11:11  
Written by BudDa on 15.04.2010 at 12:08

Haha. Bas, this is brilliant!!!
From your review and the song titles I think its safe too assume that this album is too juvenile for its own good. Nonetheless, looks like something I can actually get around to listening (guilty pleasure).

Thanks
Well yeah, it is pretty juvenile, but if you can get into that kind of stuff it's a fun and pretty enjoyable album, although I can also imagine a lot of people being turned off by it.
Promonex - 16.04.2010 at 15:16  
Turned off by blowjobs? No way!
Bas - 16.04.2010 at 18:30  
Written by Promonex on 16.04.2010 at 15:16

Turned off by blowjobs? No way!

Perhaps some of the more prude female audience?
destroyah - 17.04.2010 at 00:53  
I actually do find the accent annoying . But overall the whole thing does sound like something I'd enjoy rocking to at some hazy underground rock club.
Fat & Sassy! - 29.04.2010 at 18:31  
Written by Bas on 16.04.2010 at 11:11

Well yeah, it is pretty juvenile, but if you can get into that kind of stuff it's a fun and pretty enjoyable album, although I can also imagine a lot of people being turned off by it.


Yeah, I sometimes like blatant humor and all, but these lyrics ARE a little juvenile and rudimentary for this cat. If the lyrics had just a little bit of wit to them, I'd probably be all over this.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Articles You Suck!! 3 30.05.2008 by Herzebeth
Albums Consciousness Removal Project - Do You Ever Think It's The End Of The World? 3 03.10.2010 by Thanntos
Albums AC/DC - For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) 3 02.03.2012 by Vod52
Funny stuff In Space, Nobody Can Hear You Rock - feat. Dave Mustaine 3 30.10.2009 by The Shape 1973
Albums Kiss / King's X / Slaughter - God Gave Rock & Roll To You II [Split] [Single] 3 08.03.2011 by 90IRONMAIDEN



Hits total: 2730 | This month: 6