Rating:
7.0
Master - The Human Machine
26 April 2010


01. The Human Machine
02. It's What Your Country Can Do For You
03. Twisted Truth
04. True Color
05. Suppress Free Thinking
06. A Replica Of Invention
07. Faceless Victims Expelled
08. Worship The Sun
09. The Lack Of Space
10. Impale To Kill


Master are a very important name in extreme metal (in particular, death metal), yet so unnoticed. Forming in 1983, back when thrash metal was still only developing and death metal was practically non-existent, they were a big name in the underground yet never got a chance to sign a record deal. Well, it happened eventually with Nuclear Blast and they have been releasing full-length albums since. In 2010, they released their tenth studio album The Human Machine.

Although a death metal band, Master have always had thrash elements in their music and politically charged lyrics. This is no exception. The whole album is based on a concept of a totalitarian society, in the vein of writers such as George Orwell. As for the music, I have to say, it has sort of lost the raw and powerful edge of Master's earlier works (such as On The Seventh Day). This time around the sound is cleaner and smoother. The variation and liveliness has been opted out for a more simplistic style. The riffs are now basic, muffled thrash-style with the typical chugging. Speckmann's sick "gurgle-growl" fits well here and as always, is nicely done and he plays some slick bass licks. Another plus side is the melodic solos and fine drumming.

Highlight tracks are "The Human Machine", "It's What Your Country Can Do For You" (Speckmann's vocals are great here, plus some energy in the instrumental), "True Color" (nice thrash vibe), "A Replica of Invention" (old school) and "Impale to Kill" (not bad for a closing track, has that old school feeling again).

In the end, this is a more minimal approach from Master. If you are into thrash-death in the vein of Possessed, only less fierce, you might appreciate this. I recommend listening to it from another source before buying, as it is generally hit-and-miss and it seems to be more intended for a casual listen than anything else.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Master
Album: The Human Machine


 


written by vezzy | 27.07.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 42  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 27.07.2010 at 21:09  
REVIEW INTERESTING ALBUMS.
vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 21:21  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:09

REVIEW INTERESTING ALBUMS.


Make me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.07.2010 at 21:25  
Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:21

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:09

REVIEW INTERESTING ALBUMS.


Make me.

I will. You won't be expecting it, but it'll happen.
vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 21:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:25

Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:21

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:09

REVIEW INTERESTING ALBUMS.


Make me.

I will. You won't be expecting it, but it'll happen.


Besides, it's Master. What more could ya want?
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.07.2010 at 21:30  
Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:25

Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:21

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:09

REVIEW INTERESTING ALBUMS.


Make me.

I will. You won't be expecting it, but it'll happen.


Besides, it's Master. What more could ya want?

Axis of Perdition?
vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 21:38  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:30

Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:25

Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:21

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:09

REVIEW INTERESTING ALBUMS.


Make me.

I will. You won't be expecting it, but it'll happen.


Besides, it's Master. What more could ya want?

Axis of Perdition?


Enough of your stupid industrial black metal artists.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.07.2010 at 21:39  
Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:38

Enough of your stupid industrial black metal artists.

Haha, never.
vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 21:52  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.07.2010 at 21:39

Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 21:38

Enough of your stupid industrial black metal artists.

Haha, never.


Then my death metal reviews shall continue.
Actually, they always shall.
Troy Killjoy - 28.07.2010 at 04:33  
Were you just biding your time for that 3-month guest review probation period to expire so you could review this?

"- Guest reviewers are not allowed to review fresh releases. Please wait for at least 3 months after the album has been released before submitting a review. It won't be accepted otherwise."

Release date: April 26
Review date: July 27

vezzy - 28.07.2010 at 13:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.07.2010 at 04:33

Were you just biding your time for that 3-month guest review probation period to expire so you could review this?

"- Guest reviewers are not allowed to review fresh releases. Please wait for at least 3 months after the album has been released before submitting a review. It won't be accepted otherwise."

Release date: April 26
Review date: July 27




...
Purely coincidental.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sarcófago - The Worst 4.5 12.07.2010 by vezzy
Reviews UCK Grind - The Human Race Must Be Destroyed 4 23.06.2006 by CrypticMyth
Reviews Rage Against The Machine - Rage Against The Machine 4 03.03.2008 by Katatronik
Reviews Ayreon - The Human Equation 4 15.02.2007 by Doc Godin
Reviews The Dillinger Escape Plan - Miss Machine 4 15.09.2008 by Hyvaarin



Hits total: 2480 | This month: 18